DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 26, 2025 is considered by the examiner.
Specification
3. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 3 objected to because of the following informalities: Line 3, "a display abnormality" should be "the display abnormality" since already mentioned in Claim 2. Appropriate correction is required.
5. Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities: Line 3, "a display abnormality" should be "the display abnormality" since already mentioned in Claim 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 7 and 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
8. Regarding claim 7, claim 7 recites the limitation "the partial pictures in the digest image" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 only claims that the digest image is created by “extracting, from each of a plurality of frame pictures constituting a video to be verified, partial pictures”. Claim 1 does not claim that the partial pictures are in the digest image. Thus, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation cited in claim 7.
9. Regarding claim 11, claim 11 recites the limitation "the starting points” in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Furthermore, claim 11 states on line 6 “verifies the contents of the video on a basis of the plurality of digest images”. However, claim 1 claims verifying the contents of the video on a basis of just one digest image. It is unclear to the Examiner whether the contents of the video can be required using one digest image or if it is required that a plurality of digest images is needed to verify the contents of the video. Thus, claim 11 is unclear and indefinite.
The Examiner will examine claims 7 and 11 as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim recites "a program" without any structural limitations. MPEP 2106.03(I) states that “Products that do not have a physical or tangible form, such as information (often referred to as "data per se") or a computer program per se (often referred to as "software per se") when claimed as a product without any structural recitations” are not directed to any of the statutory categories. MPEP 2106.03(I) also states “a product claim to a software program that does not also contain at least one structural limitation (such as a "means plus function" limitation) has no physical or tangible form, and thus does not fall within any statutory category”. Thus, claim 13 is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claimed program does not define any structural and functional interrelationships between the program and the computer which permit the program’s functionality to be realized. In contrast, a claimed non-transitory computer-readable medium encoded with a program is a computer element which defines structural and functional interrelationships between the program and the rest of the computer which permit the program’s functionality to be realized, and is thus statutory. Accordingly, it is important to distinguish claims that define descriptive material per se from claims that define statutory inventions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
13. Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noro et al. (Japanese Patent Application Publication No. 2019212970 A – cited in IDS), hereinafter referred to as Noro.
14. Regarding claim 1, Noro teaches an image processing apparatus comprising: one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors creates at least one digest image by extracting, from each of a plurality of frame pictures constituting a video to be verified, partial pictures of positions different from each other (Paragraph 15-16 teaches extracting lines from a plurality of frames from a video at different time intervals. The extracted lines teach partial pictures and the different time intervals teach different positions; Paragraph 46-47, Figure 9-1, and Figure 9-2 teach a digest image created by extracting lines from each frame and calculating the differences in their brightness values. The lines extracted as taught in Paragraph 15-16 teach partial pictures and the different time intervals the frames come from teach positions different from each other),
and verifies contents of the video on a basis of the digest image (Paragraph 48 teaches the lines in the digest image as taught in Figures 9-1 to 9-3 are shown when the difference value exceeds a certain threshold which can help detect when images are frozen. Detecting when images are frozen teaches verifying the contents of the video on a basis of the digest image).
15. Regarding claim 2, Noro teaches the limitations of claim 1. Noro further teaches the image processing apparatus wherein the one or more processors detects a display abnormality included in the video on the basis of the digest image wherein the one or more processors detects a display abnormality included in the video on the basis of the digest image (Paragraph 48 teaches the bolded lines in the digest image as shown in Figures 9-1 and Figure 9-2 are shown when the difference value exceeds a certain threshold which can help detect when images are frozen. A frozen image teaches an abnormality under broadest reasonable interpretation since the Applicant does not define the abnormality in the claim. Thus, an abnormality in the video is taught to be detected).
16. Regarding claim 3, Noro teaches the limitations of claim 2. Noro further teaches the image processing apparatus wherein the one or more processors detects a line included in the digest image, and detects a display abnormality included in the video on a basis of the detected line (Paragraph 48 teaches the bolded lines in the digest image as taught in Figures 9-1 and Figure 9-2 are displayed when the difference value exceeds a certain threshold. These bolded lines can help detect when images are frozen. Thus, an abnormality in the video can be detected based on the lines in the digest image).
17. Regarding claim 4, Noro teaches the limitations of claim 3. Noro further teaches the image processing apparatus wherein the one or more processors detects a display abnormality included in the video by detecting a line that extends along a boundary between the partial pictures (Paragraph 46-47, Figure 9-1, and Figure 9-2 teach a digest image created by extracting lines from each frame and calculating the differences in their brightness values. The lines extracted as taught in Paragraph 15-16 teach partial pictures; Paragraph 48 teaches the bolded lines in the digest image as shown in Figures 9-1 and Figure 9-2 are shown when the difference value exceeds a certain threshold which can help detect when images are frozen. When lines are extracted from the frames horizontally, as taught in Paragraphs 15-16 and Paragraphs 46-47, the bolded lines in Figure 9-1 teaches detecting a line extending along a boundary between partial pictures. Thus, an abnormality in the video can be detected based on the lines in the digest image).
18. Regarding claim 6, Noro teaches the limitations of claim 3. Noro further teaches the image processing apparatus wherein the one or more processors divides the digest image into a plurality of regions on a basis of a line extending in a direction along a boundary between the partial pictures, and verifies, for each of the plurality of regions, the contents of the video of a time period corresponding to the region (Paragraph 46-47, Figure 9-1, and Figure 9-2 teach a digest image created by extracting lines from each frame and calculating the differences in their brightness values. The lines extracted as taught in Paragraph 15-16 teach partial pictures and the different times the frames come from teach positions different from each other. The lines of the digest image teach a plurality of regions; Paragraph 48 teaches the lines in the digest image as shown in Figures 9-1 and Figure 9-2 are shown when the difference value exceeds a certain threshold which can help detect when images are frozen during the time period the digest image was created for. Checking the differences for the lines which detects any freezing or abnormalities teaches verifying the contents of the video at a time period corresponding to the region).
19. Regarding claim 7, Noro teaches the limitations of claim 1. Noro further teaches the image processing apparatus wherein the one or more processors identifies a time period of the video during which no display change occurs (Paragraph 21 teaches "it determines whether the change in the sum of the brightness for each image data extracted with a time difference falls within a predetermined range … If it falls within the predetermine range for a certain period of time, it determines that this is a condition … such as screen freezing (stopping)". This teaches identifying a period of the video during which no display change occurs),
by detecting a region that includes continuous contents along a direction intersecting a boundary between the partial pictures in the digest image (Paragraph 46-47 teaches detecting regions with continuous contents as long as there is no bolded line, as taught in Figures 9-1 to 9-3, which indicate movement or changes in the display. The regions with no bolded lines teach continuous contents in every direction as long as a line is not present. Thus, it teaches a continuous content along a direction intersecting a boundary between the partial pictures; Paragraph 46-47, Figure 9-1, and Figure 9-2 teach a digest image created by extracting lines from each frame and calculating the differences in their brightness values. The lines extracted as taught in Paragraph 15-16 teach partial pictures and the different times the frames come from teach positions different from each other. Thus, each row or column in the Figures 9-1 to 9-3 teaches a boundary).
20. Regarding claim 11, Noro teaches the limitations of claim 1. Noro further teaches the image processing apparatus wherein the one or more processors creates a plurality of digest images starting from a plurality of time points different from each other in the video on a basis of frame pictures to be displayed after the starting points, and verifies the contents of the video on a basis of the plurality of digest images (Paragraph 15 teaches outputting digest images every specified time interval. This teaches a plurality of digest images; Paragraph 29 teaches continuously determining at regular time intervals the difference in values between frames to verify the contents of the video. Paragraph 46 teaches the detection results based on the differences in values between frames are output as shown in Figures 9-1 to 9-3. Thus, if differences between frames are calculated continuously at regular time intervals as taught in Paragraph 29, then this teaches creating plurality of digest images starting at different time points in a video to verify the video contents).
21. Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is the method claim of image processing apparatus claim 1 and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which is set for with respect to claim 1.
22. Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is the program claim (Paragraph 10 and 14 teaches a program executed by the CPU to execute an application) of image processing apparatus claim 1 and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which is set for with respect to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
24. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noro et al. (Japanese Patent Application Publication No. 2019212970 A), hereinafter referred to as Noro, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Abiko (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0004031 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Noro teaches the limitations of claim 3. However, Noro is not relied upon for the below claim language: wherein the one or more processors detects a display abnormality included in the video by detecting a line that extends in a direction intersecting a boundary between the partial pictures and that has a discontinuous section.
Abiko teaches wherein the one or more processors detects a display abnormality included in the video by detecting a line that extends in a direction intersecting a boundary between the partial pictures and that has a discontinuous section (Paragraph 2 teaches combining a plurality of partial images. Thus, there are boundaries between the combined partial images. Figure 11A and 11B teach combined partial regions; Paragraph 124 teaches an image is formed by combining partial images along the direction of a living body and that discontinuous portions appear in the orthogonal direction. The discontinuous portions appearing in the orthogonal direction teach the discontinuous lines intersect boundaries between the partial pictures; Paragraph 137-138 and Figure 11B teaches detecting a discontinuous portion 102 which is caused by the combination of partial images).
Noro are Abiko are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of combining images to detect abnormalities. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of verifying video content taught by Noro with detecting lines intersecting a boundary between partial pictures with a discontinuous section taught by Abiko in order to enhance convenience for users by easily determining any distortions in the combined image (Abiko Paragraph 70).
25. Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noro et al. (Japanese Patent Application Publication No. 2019212970 A), hereinafter referred to as Noro, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (Korean Patent Application Publication No. 20160068053 A), hereinafter referred to as Kim.
26. Regarding claim 8, Noro teaches the limitations of claim 1. However, Noro is not relied upon for the below claim language: wherein the one or more processors verifies the contents of the video by comparing the digest image with a given comparison image.
Kim teaches wherein the one or more processors verifies the contents of the video by comparing the digest image with a given comparison image (Paragraph 44 teaches comparing a composite frame with another partial frame and if they match, then the display is normal. The composite frame teaches a digest image and the partial frame teaches a given comparison image. This teaches verifying contents of the video by comparing the digest image with a given comparison image).
Noro and Kim are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of detecting abnormalities in video frames. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of verifying video contents taught by Noro with the comparing of a digest image with another image in order to automatically detect screen abnormalities like flickering or intermittent blackout (Kim Paragraph 2 and 4).
27. Regarding claim 9, Noro teaches the limitations of claim 1. However, Noro is not relied upon for the below claim language: wherein the one or more processors determines an attention region in the video, extracts, as the partial picture, an image of a portion of the attention region included in each of the plurality of frame pictures, and creates the digest image.
Kim teaches wherein the one or more processors determines an attention region in the video, extracts, as the partial picture, an image of a portion of the attention region included in each of the plurality of frame pictures, and creates the digest image (Paragraph 32 teaches a partial frame is a specific region in a video frame. The specific region teaches an attention region that is then extracted as the partial picture to create the digest image as taught in Paragraph 39; Paragraph 39 teaches creating a partial composite frame by combining a part of the video frame and a part of the adjacent frame).
Noro and Kim are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of detecting abnormalities in video frames. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of verifying video contents taught by Noro with determining an attention region to create the digest image in order to automatically detect screen abnormalities like flickering or intermittent blackout (Kim Paragraph 2 and 4).
28. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noro et al. (Japanese Patent Application Publication No. 2019212970 A), hereinafter referred to as Noro, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication No. 106503652 A), hereinafter referred to as Liu.
Regarding claim 10, Noro teaches the limitations of claim 1. However, Noro is not relied upon for the below claim language: wherein the one or more processors executes prescribed affine transformation on the partial pictures extracted from each of the plurality of frame pictures, and then combines resultant partial pictures to create the digest image.
Liu teaches wherein the one or more processors executes prescribed affine transformation on the partial pictures extracted from each of the plurality of frame pictures, and then combines resultant partial pictures to create the digest image (Paragraph 21 teaches scaling frames of the video sequence to form a three layer image pyramid. The three layer image pyramid teaches a digest image. Scaling teaches a prescribed affine transformation).
Noro and Liu are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of detecting abnormalities in a video. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of verifying video contents through a digest image taught by Noro with the affine transformation on the partial pictures extracted from frames taught by Liu in order to create an automated and rapid method for detecting anomalies that can deal with various patterns and multi-scale variations of features (Liu Paragraphs 4 and 5).
Conclusion
29. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kake et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20040130637 A1) teaches creating an image that combines partial pictures along a time axis from multiple frames constituting a video.
/CHRISTINE YERA AHN/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/ALICIA M HARRINGTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2615