DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the liquid" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, though it appears that the proper basis is in claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-10, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US 4264862 to Koelle et al.
Regarding claim 1, Koelle discloses a water exclusion apparatus for a geophysical imaging tool, the water exclusion apparatus 27 configured to be placeable around an exterior surface of the geophysical imaging tool 13 and being operable to force at least some water away from the exterior surface of the geophysical imaging tool (fig. 1; col. 2, line 48-col. 3, line 7; col. 5, lines 3-23; col. 1, lines 8-28 state that the tool is used for mapping, which is a form of imaging).
Regarding claim 2, the water exclusion apparatus of claim 1, wherein the water exclusion apparatus 27 is operable by expansion from a first diameter (non-inflated state, which is not shown) to a second diameter that is larger than the first diameter (inflated state in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, the water exclusion apparatus of claim 2, further comprising a driver 26 to drive the expansion (26 is an oil pump).
Regarding claim 4, the water exclusion apparatus of claim 1 being an inflatable packer including an inflatable bladder, an inner chamber for accommodating the geophysical imaging tool, a fluid inflation system 25/26 for inflating the bladder, and a connection for coupling to the geophysical imaging tool (fig. 1 shows the unlabeled connection points at the top and the bottom of the bladder 27).
Regarding claim 6, Koelle discloses a method for preparing a geophysical imaging tool 13 for operation in a borehole 11, the method comprising: positioning a geophysical imaging tool in the borehole and manipulating a water exclusion apparatus 27 to remove water from an annular area around the geophysical imaging tool, without removing all the water in the borehole above the tool (fig. 1; col. 2, line 48-col. 3, line 7; col. 5, lines 3-23; col. 1, lines 8-28 state that the tool is used for mapping, which is a form of imaging).
Regarding claims 7 and 9, the method of claim 6 wherein manipulating includes positioning the water exclusion apparatus or the geophysical imaging tool such that the water exclusion apparatus is in the annular area and forces at least some water away from the exterior surface of the geophysical imaging tool (col. 5, lines 3-23).
Regarding claim 10, the method of claim 9 wherein inflating expands the water exclusion apparatus close to but out of contact with a wall of the borehole (col. 5, lines 18-20 state that about 1mm of fluid is in the annulus between the bladder and the borehole).
Regarding claim 12, Koelle discloses a wellbore tool for geophysical survey comprising: a geophysical imaging tool 13 including a housing with an interior chamber and an exterior surface radially outwardly of the interior chamber; geophysical survey equipment 32-35 within the interior chamber; and a water exclusion apparatus 27 coupled to the housing, the water exclusion apparatus being operable to force at least some water away from the exterior surface of the geophysical imaging tool (fig. 1; col. 2, line 48-col. 3, line 7; col. 5, lines 3-23; col. 1, lines 8-28 state that the tool is used for mapping, which is a form of imaging).
Regarding claim 13, the wellbore tool for geophysical survey of claim 12, wherein the water exclusion apparatus is operable by expansion from a first diameter (non-inflated state, which is not shown) to a second diameter that is larger than the first diameter (inflated state in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, the wellbore tool for geophysical survey of claim 13, further comprising a driver 26 to drive the expansion (26 is an oil pump).
Regarding claim 15, the wellbore tool for geophysical survey of claim 12, wherein the water exclusion apparatus includes an inflatable packer with an inner chamber for accommodating the exterior surface, a fluid inflation system 25/26 for inflating the inflatable packer, and a connection between the geophysical imaging tool and the inflatable packer (fig. 1 shows the unlabeled connection points at the top and the bottom of the packer 27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koelle et al in view of US 20120168177 to Moeny.
Koelle teaches the fluid inflation system of claim 15 above, wherein it is taught that the inflation fluid is oil. However, it is not taught what kind of oil is used or the dielectric permittivity of said oil.
Moeny teaches the use of castor oil in a downhole environment, and the oil has a dielectric permittivity of approximately 4.45, which is between the claimed 2 and 5 (paragraph 0136). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use castor oil as taught by Moeny as the oil for inflation of Koelle. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because castor oil was a well-known oil for use in the downhole environment as taught by Moeny.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8, 11, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20070296810 teaches a wellbore imaging tool 14 with packers 18 and 20 that keep out fluids from above and below the tool (fig. 1). US 20150136385 teaches wiper 34b scrapes/cleans the imaging tool 22b, wherein fluid flow F is used to rotate the wiper (fig. 3).
/SHANE BOMAR/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3674