DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application 19/115,665 filed on 03/26/2025.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for domestic priority to which application is a 371 of PCT/US2023/034948 10/11/2023 which claims benefit of 63/415,444 10/12/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 03/26/2025 and 11/07/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RUAN et al. (US 2021/0099848 A1); in view of Li et al. (US 2020/0404069 A1).
Regarding claim 1, RUAN teaches a computing device, comprising: communications circuitry configured to perform communications with a network experience function of a mobile network; and processing circuitry configured to ([paragraph 0007,0126] describes a multi-access edge computing (MEC) environment and MEC platform of a mobile network [paragraph 0011, 0019, 0126, 0157] describes computing system comprising a communication circuitry configured to perform with a network exposure function (e.g. network experience function) of a mobile network and processing circuitry configured to):
receive network information from an edge computing platform, via the network experience function of the mobile network, the edge computing platform including an edge computing application ([paragraph 0014, 0018-0019, 0126, 0138] describes receiving radio network information includes radio network conditions from a multi-access edge computing (MEC) (e.g.an edge computing) platform via the network exposure function (e.g. network experience function) of the mobile network and the multi-access edge computing (MEC) (e.g. edge computing) platform includes MEC application (e.g. edge computing application));
RUAN doesn't explicitly disclose transmit a request to the edge computing platform via the communications circuitry, based on the received network information, the request including an application data traffic configuration action to perform on the edge computing application; and receive a response to the request from the edge computing platform via the communications circuitry, the response indicating a status of the application data traffic configuration action performed on the edge computing application.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Li discloses transmit a request to the edge computing platform via the communications circuitry, based on the received network information, the request including an application data traffic configuration action to perform on the edge computing application ([paragraph 0090] describes radio network information includes radio network conditions [paragraph 0073-0078, 0083, 0090] describes transmitting a request to edge platform (e.g. edge computing platform) via communication circuitry based on received radio network information includes radio network conditions and request includes configuration information to enable the exchange of Application Data Traffic with the Edge Application Server, establish traffic rule etc. (e.g. an application data traffic configuration action) on edge computing applications. the edge server is a physical computer system that may include an edge platform (e.g., MEC platform) are disposed at an edge of a corresponding access network, and are arranged to provide computing resources and/or various services (e.g., computational task and/or workload offloading, cloud-computing capabilities, IT services, and other like resources and/or services);
and receive a response to the request from the edge computing platform via the communications circuitry, the response indicating a status of the application data traffic configuration action performed on the edge computing application ([paragraph 0056, 0073-0078, 0083, 0092] describes receiving a response to the request from the edge platform (e.g. edge computing platform) via the communication circuitry which response indicates status of configuration information to enable the exchange of Application Data Traffic with the Edge Application Server, establish traffic rule etc. (e.g. an application data traffic configuration action) on edge computing applications).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of RUAN to include transmit a request to the edge computing platform via the communications circuitry, based on the received network information, the request including an application data traffic configuration action to perform on the edge computing application and receive a response to the request from the edge computing platform via the communications circuitry, the response indicating a status of the application data traffic configuration action performed on the edge computing application as taught by Li. One ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of RUAN in the Li system in order to provide traffic management services ([paragraph 0069] in Li).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of RUAN and Li teaches the computing device, wherein subsequent communications that conduct application data traffic with a client, performed at the edge computing application, are modified based on the application data traffic configuration action (Li [paragraph 0061-0062, 0076, 0083-0084, 0151] describes another communication that communicate application data traffic with a user performed at the edge computing applications which are modified based on configuration information to enable the exchange of Application Data Traffic with the Edge Application Server, establish traffic rule etc. (e.g. an application data traffic configuration action)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of RUAN to include wherein subsequent communications that conduct application data traffic with a client, performed at the edge computing application, are modified based on the application data traffic configuration action as taught by Li. One ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of RUAN in the Li system in order to provide traffic management services ([paragraph 0069] in Li).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of RUAN and Li teaches the computing device, wherein transmitting the request is performed using an application programming interface (API) of the edge computing platform (Li: [paragraph 0073, 0328-0332] describes transmitting the request is performed using an application programming interface (API) of the edge platform).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of RUAN to include wherein transmitting the request is performed using an application programming interface (API) of the edge computing platform as taught by Li. One ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of RUAN in the Li system in order to provide an interface and offload processing of wireless communication traffic ([paragraph 0152] in Li).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of RUAN and Li teaches the computing device, wherein the application data traffic configuration action includes to establish or update a traffic rule for communications at the edge computing application (Li: [paragraph 0083-0084, 0087-0088, 0096] describes the application data traffic configuration action includes to establish a traffic rule for communications at the edge computing application).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of RUAN to include wherein the application data traffic configuration action includes to establish or update a traffic rule for communications at the edge computing application as taught by Li. One ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of RUAN in the Li system in order to executes respective traffic rule ([paragraph 0083] in Li)..
Regarding claim 5, the combination of RUAN and Li teaches the computing device, wherein the application data traffic configuration action is determined by an orchestrator associated with the edge computing platform, and wherein the application data traffic configuration action is based on an application requirement or Quality of Service (QoS) requirement provided by the mobile network to the orchestrator (Li: [paragraph 0075-0076, 0096, 0143-0144] describes the application data traffic configuration action is determined by multi-access edge orchestrator associated with MEC platform and the application data traffic configuration action is based on QoS requirement provided by the mobile network to the multi-access edge orchestrator).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of RUAN to include wherein the application data traffic configuration action is determined by an orchestrator associated with the edge computing platform, and wherein the application data traffic configuration action is based on an application requirement or Quality of Service (QoS) requirement provided by the mobile network to the orchestrator as taught by Li. One ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of RUAN in the Li system in order to manage the life cycle of applications including informing the multi-access edge orchestrator (MEC-O) of relevant application related events ([paragraph 0096] in Li)..
Regarding claim 6, the combination of RUAN and Li teaches the computing device, wherein the application requirement or the QoS requirement corresponds to use of a client application of a user equipment (UE) of the mobile network, the use of the client application to provide application data traffic to the edge computing application (Li: [paragraph 0075-0076, 0096, 0101] describes the QoS requirement corresponds to use of a client application to provide application data traffic to the edge computing application of a user equipment (UE) of the mobile network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of RUAN to include wherein the application requirement or the QoS requirement corresponds to use of a client application of a user equipment (UE) of the mobile network, the use of the client application to provide application data traffic to the edge computing application as taught by Li. One ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of RUAN in the Li system in order to manage the life cycle of applications including informing the multi-access edge orchestrator (MEC-O) of relevant application related events ([paragraph 0096] in Li).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of RUAN and Li teaches the computing device, wherein the edge computing platform and the edge computing application are configured in accordance with a standard from an European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) Multi-Access Edge Computing (MEC) standards family, wherein the edge computing platform is a MEC platform, and wherein the edge computing application is a MEC application (RUAN: [paragraph 0176] describes European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) Multi-access Edge Computing (MEC) is a system that provides an Information Technology (IT) service environment and cloud-computing capabilities at the edge of an access network (e.g., a cellular network, a WLAN, etc.) [RUAN: [paragraph 0104, 0126] describes a multi-access computing (MEC) environment includes the edge computing platform is a MEC platform and the edge computing application is a MEC application).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of RUAN and Li teaches the computing device, wherein the edge computing platform and the edge computing application are configured in accordance with a standard from an 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) EDGEAPP standards family, wherein the edge computing platform is a EDGEAPP Edge Enabler Server (EES), and wherein the edge computing application is an Edge Application Server (EAS) application (Li: [paragraph 0075-0076, 0322-0325] describes edge computing platform and the edge computing application are configured in accordance with a standard from 3GPP Third Generation Partnership Project edge app(e.g. EDGEAPP), the edge computing platform is a EDGEAPP Edge Enabler Server and the edge computing application is an Edge Application Server (EAS) application. 3GPP-based application architecture for enabling Edge Applications (see e.g., 3GPP TR 23.758 v0.3.0 (2019-07-18)). In FIG. 11, the Edge Enabler Server is a functional entity resident in the Edge Hosting Environment providing services for the Edge Application Servers and Edge Enabler Clients).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of RUAN to include wherein the edge computing platform and the edge computing application are configured in accordance with a standard from an 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) EDGEAPP standards family, wherein the edge computing platform is a EDGEAPP Edge Enabler Server (EES), and wherein the edge computing application is an Edge Application Server (EAS) application as taught by Li. One ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of RUAN in the Li system in order to provide supporting functions needed for Edge Application Servers to run in an Edge Data Network ([paragraph 0076] in Li).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of RUAN and Li teaches the computing device, wherein the mobile network is a 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) fifth generation (5G) network, and wherein the network experience function is a NEF function of the 5G network (RUAN: [paragraph 0016, 0019, 0031, 0178, 0298] describes the mobile network is a Third Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) radio communication technology including, for example, 3GPP Fifth Generation (5G) or New Radio (NR) and the network experience function is a Network Exposure Function (NEF function) of the 5G cellular network).
Regarding claim 11, this claim contains limitations found within that of claim 1 and the same rationale to rejection is used except for the claim 11 A method for configuration of an edge computing application, performed by a session management function application, the method comprising. In the combination, RUAN teaches A method for configuration of an edge computing application, performed by a session management function application, the method comprising (RUAN: [paragraph 0009, 0124-0126] describes a method for configuration of an edge computing application performed by a session management function application).
Regarding claims 12-16, these claims contain limitations found within that of claims 2-6 and the same rationale to rejections are used.
Regarding claims 18-20, these claims contain limitations found within that of claims 8-10 and the same rationale to rejections are used.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RUAN et al. (US 2021/0099848 A1); in view of Li et al. (US 2020/0404069 A1); and further in view of Pateromichelakis et al. (US 2025/0055902 A1).
Regarding claim 7, RUAN and Li fails to teach the computing device, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: calculate end-to-end application performance, based on the received network information and at least one traffic rule; and determine the application data traffic configuration action, based on the calculated end- to-end application performance.
However, Pateromichelakis teaches the computing device, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: calculate end-to-end application performance, based on the received network information and at least one traffic rule; and determine the application data traffic configuration action, based on the calculated end- to-end application performance ([paragraph 0064, 0073-0074, 0101-0102, 0149-0151] describes calculating end to end application session performance based on received radio network information and traffic information and determining data traffic appropriate configuration actions based on calculated end to end application session performance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of RUAN/Li to include calculate end-to-end application performance, based on the received network information and at least one traffic rule; and determine the application data traffic configuration action, based on the calculated end- to-end application performance as taught by Pateromichelakis. One ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of RUAN/Li in the Pateromichelakis system in order to determine application data ([paragraph 0007] in Pateromichelakis).
Regarding claim 17, this claim contains limitations found within that of claim 7 and the same rationale to rejection is used.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- Parvataneni et al., US 2020/0366733 A1, A method, a device, and a non-transitory storage medium are described in which a lifecycle management service is provided.
- YOON et al., US 2021/0243264 A1, An example method, performed by an edge data network configuration server, of relocating at least one service, currently provided from a source edge data network to at least one terminal.
- Kuravangi-Thammaiah et al., US 2023/0379696 A1, A network device executing a Network Exposure Function (NEF) receives, from a requestor.
/M.J.S/Examiner, Art Unit 2459 /TONIA L DOLLINGER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2459