DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6, 9, 13-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. This appears to be exemplary claim language. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, the features following the phrase are considered optional.
Claim 9 recites “the ratio of binder to pigment”. The claim is indefinite because parent claim 1 establishes “at least one conductive pigment” and “an anticorrosion pigment” and it is not clear which “pigment” is being referred to in claim 9.
Regarding claim 13, the phrase "in particular" in lines 2 and 5 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. This appears to be exemplary claim language. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Dependent claims are rejected for the same reason. For purposes of examination, the features following the phrase are considered optional.
Claims 2, 4, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Each of claims 2, 4, 5, and 7 recites a range of weight percentages for a given component of the composition of claim 1; however, the range in each dependent claim is the same as the range first recited in claim 1. Therefore, the dependent claims fail to further limit the parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marten (US 2010/0021741) in view of Tanaka et al. (EP 1178093).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9, and 13:
Marten discloses a coating composition for metal surfaces comprising 3-5% by weight of 55% phenolic resin (i.e., 1.65-2.75% relative to solids), 1-3% by weight of epoxy resin, and 11-17% by weight of 75% blocked polyisocyanate (i.e., 8.25-12.75% relative to solids) [abstract; 0001; 0013-0017; 0037; claim 13]. The composition further comprises 0.5 to 4 parts by weight of zinc conducting pigment relative to 1 part of bonding agent and 2-20% by weight of anticorrosion pigments [0032; 0048; claim 14]. Marten further teaches the use of solvent to provide the desired processing, evaporation time, etc. as needed [0045; Tables 1-3].
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amounts of each component, including over values falling within the presently claimed ranges, to provide a coating composition as suggested by Marten having the properties desired (e.g., conductivity, viscosity, crosslinking density, etc.), and thereby arrive at the claimed composition.
Marten is silent with regard to the use of a polyester resin.
Such resins were known in the art to have utility. For example, Tanaka discloses a coating composition for metal surfaces that has good corrosion resistance [abstract; 0001; 0006]. The composition comprises a film forming resin comprising 5-90 parts of a polyester resin, 5-70 parts of an epoxy resin, and 5-40 parts of a curing agent comprising a blocked polyisocyanate [0008-0009]. The polyester resin possesses good fabrication properties and corrosion resistance [0022].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to additionally use a polyester resin, including over amounts falling within the claimed range, to provide an additional film-forming resin having improved properties as suggested by Tanaka.
Regarding claim 3:
Marten discloses anticorrosion pigments but is silent with regard to zinc phosphate or aluminum triphosphate.
Such pigments were known in the art to have utility. Tanaka teaches zinc phosphate and aluminum triphosphate can be used as anticorrosive pigments [0066].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use these pigments for their known anticorrosive properties.
Regarding claim 6:
Marten is silent with regard to an epoxy resin that is a phenoxy resin.
Such resins were known in the art to have utility. For example, Tanaka discloses epoxy resins that are phenoxy resins (e.g., formed from bisphenol) [0023-0027].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to phenoxy resins as disclosed by Tanaka as a known film-forming epoxy resin.
Regarding claim 8:
Marten discloses aliphatic polyisocyanate [0037]. The reference further teaches an overlapping weight amount which renders the claimed amount obvious as explained above.
Regarding claim 10:
Marten teaches solvents include esters, ketones, and hydrocarbons can be used [0045].
Regarding claims 11-12:
Marten teaches the coated metal can be flash hardened at 170°C for 30 seconds, which provides a formable product (i.e., the product can be broadly shaped) [0003-0004; 0013; 0024; 0039].
Regarding claim 14:
Marten teaches an example thickness of 3.6 µm, but states other values can be selected to provide the desired performance [0025].
Regarding claim 15-16:
The examiner considers the phrase “battery casing” to describe an intended use of the metal sheet or object (i.e., a battery is not required to be present). Applicant's attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Given that Marten in view of Tanaka discloses a metal object as presently claimed, it is clear it would be capable of performing the presently claimed intended use as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP.
Conclusion
/JOHN D FREEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787