DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “such a caregiver” should read “such as a caregiver”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
According to Step 1 of the eligibility analysis, the claim(s) are directed to an “apparatus”, a “method”, and a “non-transitory computer-readable medium” which are each within a statutory category of invention
According to Revised Step 2A, Prong One of the eligibility analysis, the claims recite(s) details of mental steps to “detect” a possible disturbance from received signals.
According to Revised Step 2A, Prong Two of the eligibility analysis, these judicial exceptions (abstract idea: mental process) are not integrated into a practical application because the claims only provide details drawn to generic measurement aspects beyond the judicial exception, as the claims merely require the processor to be provided the necessary data via an interface circuitry that is configured to receive the data. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as indicated, the additional elements relate to nominally recited circuitry to acquire the measurement data, but do not serve to meaningfully limit the manner in which a processor acts to apply the analysis to data. Examiner notes that in the broadest claims, there are no positively claimed sensing elements, merely a component to receive signals from sensing components outside of the claim scope. The processor is further indicated to perform a nominal, post-processing function to trigger an output, but there are no details to establish that this serves to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as indicated, any additional elements in the claims are merely recited in a generalized/high level manner or do not positively limit the claim scope.
Further, no details in any dependent claim are sufficient to show integration of the judicial exception, nor do any of those claims recite details that are considered to amount to significantly more under the eligibility analysis Step 2B, since they merely recite aspects of the judicial exception and/or mere generalized details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 8, 10 – 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Virtanen et al. (USPGPub 2007/0167858 – cited by Applicant). Virtanen et al. discloses an apparatus and related method (Fig. 1, 6 and 7) for controlling an electroencephalography, EEG, measurement (paragraphs [0036]-[0064]), comprising:
interface circuitry (Fig. 1 and 6 (3)) configured to receive an input signal (paragraphs [0038], [0042], [0048]-[0050]) comprising information indicative of a behavior of a user (paragraphs [0038], [0050]) based on an output signal of a sensor; and
processing circuitry (Fig. 7 (73)) configured to:
detect a possible disturbance of the EEG measurement (Fig. 2-3) based on the received input signal (paragraphs [0048]-[0054, [0058]-[0060]); and
trigger an output to the user (Fig. 7 (74)) to inform the user about the possible disturbance of the EEG measurement (paragraph [0060]). The apparatus may be part of a device including the sensing elements as illustrated in Figure 7.
Further, Virtanen et al. teach detecting an undesired behavior, including eye blinking (paragraphs [0038], [0050]), assessing EEG device movement from the signal (paragraphs [0048]-[0051], [0058]-[0060]); controlling EEG measurement interrupt/correct and resuming data collection (Fig. 4-5; paragraphs [0052]-[0054]). The data output may provide a visual output (paragraph [0060]).
Further, one would recognize that the processing circuitry of the arrangement responds to and executes code provided on a computer-readable medium (Figure 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 14, and 16 – 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Virtanen et al. in view of Banerji (USPGPub 2018/0301054). Virtanen et al. teaches an EEG measuring apparatus, consistent with the details as discussed above. As such, Virtanen et al. teaches all of the features of the claimed invention except for detection and analysis of humidity in relation to the EEG signal. However, Banerji teaches an alternate EEG/biofeedback device and method in which data from additional sensors, including humidity sensors, (Figures 4A, 7; Summary, particularly paragraphs [0011] – [0013], paragraphs [0070] – [0074]) is collected and analyzed in assessing/controlling operation of the measurement system. It would have been within the skill level of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Virtanen et al., to collect and analyze humidity data as part of their analysis, as taught by Banerji, since this provides additional information to control measurements/assure high quality measurements are being obtained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mershin et al. (USPGPub 2016/0235324) teach an EEG/neurofeedback system and method in which EEG and other data, including humidity information, (paragraph [0130]) are collected and analyzed.
/ERIC F WINAKUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791