Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the web (34) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the at least one recess (16a-16c)" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner assumes this limitation is the same as “at least one opening (16a-16c)” in lines 2-3.
Claim 4 recites the term “a dot.” Applicant uses the term “dot” to describe a protrusion on the hose clamp. However, the term “dot” is inconsistent with common terminology used in the art. The term dot does not give any indication of what constitutes the protrusion. Could a pyramid shape protrusion or square shape indentation be a dot? Examiner suggests amending “dot” to be “protrusion” or “dimple.”
Claims dependent on a rejected claim are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miessmer US 8875354.
Regarding Claim 1, Miessmer discloses a band clamp including a clamping band (10) with an outer band end (annotated Fig 1) and an inner band end (11), the outer band end including at least one opening (13, 14) and an ear-like tightening structure (15) with two radially out-ward extending legs (22 right, 22 left) and a web (23) interconnecting the outer ends of the legs and a tongue recess (annotated Fig 1), wherein the web includes a depression (24) to prevent buckling the inner band end including at least one hook (20, 21) and a tongue (17),
wherein, in a pre-assembled configuration of the band clamp, the at least one hook engages in the at least one recess (13, 14, Examiner assumes this is the same as “at least one opening”) in the outer clamping band end and a tip of the tongue engages in the tongue recess and the tongue is configured to be moved into the togue recess when the clamp is being tightened by narrowing the ear-like tightening structure,
wherein the inner band end includes a longitudinal rib (25) configured to be arranged below the depression of the web in the pre-assembled configuration, wherein at least an end portion (26) of said rib has a height continuously decreasing towards the tongue (Col 3 lines 27-29“shallow chamfer”) (Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 5, Miessmer discloses wherein a longitudinal end of the rib (27) opposite to the end portion (26) of the rib (19) with decreasing height is configured to be arranged underneath one of the legs (22) of the ear-like tightening structure (15) in the untightened configuration (Miessmer, Fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miessmer US 8875354.
Regarding Claim 2, Miessmer discloses the invention except wherein the height of the end portion of the rib decreases linearly over a length corresponding to at least twice a width of the rib.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the height of the rub decrease over a length corresponding to at least twice a width of the rib to promote gradual insertion of the band, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 3, Miessmer discloses the claimed invention except wherein the height of the end portion of the rib decreases linearly over a length corresponding to at least one third of the ear-like tightening structure in the untightened configuration.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the higher of the end portion of the rib decrease linearly over a length corresponding to at least one thirds of the ear-like tightening structure to promote gradual insertion of the band, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 6, Miessmer discloses the claimed invention except wherein the clamping band is degreased.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that is known in the art to have ungreased hose clamps to avoid slippage between the clamp and to avoid potential degradation of material due to grease.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the clamping band of Miessmer be ungreased as known in the art to increase friction and create a stronger hold.
Claims 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miessmer US 8875354 in view of Crouse US 20140237772.
Regarding Claim 4, as best understood, Miessmer discloses wherein the inner band end includes a shoulder portion where a width of the band is reduced from a full band width to a reduced width of the tongue (17) (Miessmer Fig 2).
Miessmer does not disclose wherein a dot protruding toward the outer band end is provided at the shoulder portion, wherein a position of the center of the dot in the longitudinal direction of the band set at a portion where the width of the band is larger than the reduced width of the tongue.
Crouse discloses a dimple (Crouse 44, Fig 2) on the top head floor (Crouse 40).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the band of Miessmer to include dimples as taught by Crouse to increase friction on the band and create a stronger connection for the clamp.
Conclusion
/ANNA S RASHID/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677