DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 17 is separate category of invention and must be re-written into independent form. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1 (CN 112878036 A).
Regarding claim 17, D1 teaches aramid fiber nanofibers based on deprotonation of Kevlar, comprising: stirring and preprocessing a mixed system of aramid fiber, organic solvent and alkali to obtain aramid fiber dispersion; Proton donors and/or ionic reaction assistants are added to the aramid fiber dispersion to control the degree of deprotonation, thereby obtaining the aramid nanofiber colloidal dispersion (see abstract). It is noted that “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process; determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 598, 227 USPQ 954, 955 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Also see MPEP section 2113 Product-by-process [R- 1]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: regarding claim 1, the closest prior art D1 (CN 112 878 036 A) (aerospace res Inst Special Material and Process Tech) teach a process for manufacturing an aramid solution by combining components comprising a base, a proton donor, aramid and aprotic solvent wherein the base which is also named ionic reaction aid is dissolved in the proton donor to obtain a base solution, the aprotic solvent, the aramid and the base are combined to obtain an aramid-solvent-base mixture, the base mixture are combined and mixed to obtain an aramid nanofiber colloidal dispersion. However, D1 fails to teach in that the first step or aramid solvent mixture does not contain a base and that a solution is obtained and is thus novel. The specification discloses that the materials are combined in step-wise manner to obtain para-amid with high elongation at break (see page 15 lines 1-15, page 27 table 6), similarly claims are reflected.
Regarding claim 8, D2 (WO 2021/070042 A1) is the closest prior art to the subject matter of claim 8 and discloses a meta-aramid fiber having an elongation at break of at least 15% and a toughness at rupture of at least 40J/g (tables 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11). However, D2 fails to teach fiber is para-aramid and is thus novel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2024/0337046 A1; US 2024/0183079 A1; US 2022/0073744 A1.
NAHIDA SULTANA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1743
/NAHIDA SULTANA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743