DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 27, 2026 is considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement filed March 27, 2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.98(a)(4) because it lacks the appropriate size fee assertion. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 2 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2, "a user skin tone analysis device" should be "the user skin tone analysis device" Appropriate correction is required.
4. Claims 6 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1-2, “an unprocessed skin tone image” should be “the unprocessed skin tone image”. Appropriate correction is required.
5. Claims 14 and 28 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the computing device” should be “the first computing device” to maintain consistent terminology.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“computing device” in claims 1, 2, 14-16, and 28.
“user skin tone analysis device” in claims 1-2, 4, and 15-16.
Structure for the computing device can be found in Paragraph 2 and 38. Structure for the skin tone analysis device can be found in Paragraph 42.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. Claim 27 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the extracted skin tone snippet" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Does the Applicant mean for claim 27 to be dependent on claim 26 instead?
For examination purposes, the examiner is treating claim 27 as if it depends from claim 26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
12. Claim(s) 1, 12-15, 26, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Sethi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0142042 A1), hereinafter referred to as Sethi.
13. Regarding claim 1, Sethi teaches a system for improved skin tone rendering, of a user skin tone of a user, in digital images, (Abstract and Paragraphs 6-9 teaches a system for skin tone assisted digital image color matching to modify the input image. This teaches a system of improving the skin tone rendering) the system comprising:
a first computing device configured to: receive a set of user skin tone images of the user, comprising at least an unprocessed user skin tone image of the user obtained from a computing device camera (Paragraph 59 and Figure 3 teach a set of input images 304 that are a set of user skin tone images comprising unprocessed user skin tone images of the user. They are unprocessed user skin tone images because they have not yet passed through the color editing system 104 as shown in Figure 3; Paragraph 36 teaches the input images can come from a camera or computing device camera);
obtain a skin tone assembly user skin tone image for the user, the skin tone assembly user skin tone image taken using a user skin tone analysis device (Paragraph 36 and Figure 1 teach a selected reference image 110. The reference image teaches a skin tone assembly user skin tone image for the user; Paragraph 36 also teaches "the reference image 110 can be selected as any other video frame, digital photo, or digital image". The digital photo or image is taken by a camera which can teach a user skin tone analysis device under broadest reasonable interpretation. Thus, the skin tone assembly user skin tone image is taken using a user skin tone analysis device);
extract a user skin tone color value of the user from each image in the set of user skin tone images and the skin tone assembly user skin tone image of the user (Paragraph 42 teaches the skin tone model 124 determines a skin tone value for the faces in the user skin tone image 108 and skin tone assembly user skin tone image 110; Paragraph 66 and Figure 3 teaches the skin tone model determining a skin tone value of each image in the set of user skin tone images 304);
calculate a set of user skin tone rendering adjustment factors from the skin tone color values; apply one or more user skin tone rendering adjustment factors from the set of user skin tone rendering adjustment factors to the unprocessed user skin tone image to obtain an adjusted user skin tone image; and output the adjusted user skin tone image (Paragraph 50 teaches "The color matching module 126 of the color editing system 104 can then generate the modified image 112 from the input image 108 based on the color features of the reference image 110, where the color features can include using the face skin tones of the respective faces in the face group pair as part of the color features applied to modify the input image". The color features applied to output the modified image teach calculating the set of user skin tone rendering adjustment factors based on the skin tone color values. This also teaches applying the user skin tone adjustment factors to the unprocessed user skin tone image, or input image 108, to obtain and output the adjusted user skin tone image 112; Paragraph 85 teaches generating the modified image by applying color features from the reference image to the input image and can include pixel color values in the image regions that represent the face skin tones. This teaches applying the skin tone rendering adjustment factors to the unprocessed user skin tone image to obtain and output an adjusted user skin tone image).
14. Regarding claim 12, Sethi teaches the limitations of claim 1. Sethi further teaches wherein each user skin tone image in the set of user skin tone images comprises an extracted skin tone snippet of the user (Paragraph 6 teaches a “skin tone model to determine a skin tone value reflective of a skin tone of each of the faces that are detected by the facial detection module in the input image and/or in the reference image”. The faces detected and skin tone values extracted teach an extracted skin tone snipped of the user from the user skin tone image. The same process is applied in Figure 3 which teaches a set of input images or a set of user skin tone images).
15. Regarding claim 13, Sethi teaches the limitations of claim 12. Sethi further teaches wherein the applying is to the extracted skin tone snippet in the unprocessed user skin tone image (Paragraph 103 teaches applying the color features to alter the appearance of the skin tone in the input image when the difference between the input and reference face skin tones is within a threshold. Applying color features to alter the appearance of the skin tone in the input image teaches applying the adjustment factors to the extracted skin tone snippet in the unprocessed user skin tone image).
16. Regarding claim 14, Sethi teaches the limitations of claim 1. Sethi further teaches wherein outputting comprises one or more of displaying the adjusted user skin tone image on a screen of the computing device or storing the adjusted user skin tone image on a memory of the computing device (Paragraph 35 and Figure 1 teach the adjusted user skin tone image 112 displayed on the screen of a computing device 102).
17. Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is the method claim of system claim 1 and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which is set for with respect to claim 1.
18. Regarding claim 26, Sethi teaches the limitations of claim 15. Claim 26 is similar in scope to claim 12. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 12 applies herein.
19. Regarding claim 28, Sethi teaches the limitations of claim 15. Claim 28 is similar in scope to claim 14. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 14 applies herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
21. Claim(s) 2-4, 16-18, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sethi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0142042 A1), hereinafter referred to as Sethi, as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Rattner et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0125249 A1), hereinafter referred to as Rattner.
22. Regarding claim 2, Sethi teaches the limitations of claim 1. However, Sethi is not relied upon for the below claim language: wherein the first computing device further comprises a first computing device camera and a user skin tone analysis device that attaches to the first computing device in front of first computing device camera and wherein the obtaining is via the first computing device camera with the user skin tone analysis device in front of the computing device camera and wherein the skin tone assembly user skin tone image for the user is an image of the user.
Rattner teaches wherein the first computing device further comprises a first computing device camera and a user skin tone analysis device that attaches to the first computing device in front of first computing device camera (Figure 1 and Paragraphs 238-240 teach a skin analysis device 20a that attaches in front of a first computing camera 12 that is on a first computing device 10)
and wherein the obtaining is via the first computing device camera with the user skin tone analysis device in front of the computing device camera and wherein the skin tone assembly user skin tone image for the user is an image of the user (Paragraph 215 teaches the skin analysis device can capture images of a human face. This teaches a skin analysis device obtaining skin tone assembly user skin tone images which are images of the user or human. The skin analysis device is also in front of the computing device camera as taught in Figure 1 and Paragraphs 238-240).
Sethi and Rattner are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of analyzing skin tones. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of outputting an adjusted user skin tone image taught by Sethi with the skin analysis device taught by Rattner in order to analyze skin of users more accurately with low cost (Rattner Paragraph 4-5).
23. Regarding claim 3, Sethi in view of Rattner teaches the limitations of claim 2. However, Sethi is not relied upon for the below claim language: wherein the skin tone assembly user skin tone image is at a magnification of not less than 10x.
Rattner teaches wherein the skin tone assembly user skin tone image is at a magnification of not less than 10x (Paragraph 270 teaches the skin analysis device can take pictures of the skin surface at 30x lens. The 30x lens teaches a magnification of not less than 10x. Thus, the skin tone assembly user skin tone image is an image taken at a magnification not less than 10x).
Sethi and Rattner are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of analyzing skin tones. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of outputting an adjusted user skin tone image taught by Sethi with the skin analysis device taught by Rattner in order to analyze skin of users more accurately with low cost (Rattner Paragraph 4-5).
24. Regarding claim 4, Sethi teaches the limitations of claim 1. Sethi further teaches the system further comprising a database of skin tone assembly skin tone images from a second computing device camera (Paragraph 36 teaches the reference image can come from another digital photo stored on cloud storage or downloaded from the internet. It also teaches digital photos are photos captured with a camera device which can teach a second computing device camera. Thus, the reference image originates from a second computing device camera)
and wherein the obtaining is from the database of skin tone assembly skin tone images (Paragraph 36 further teaches the reference image 110 can be "stored on the tablet device, accessible from cloud storage, downloaded from the Internet…". This teaches the skin tone assembly user skin tone image can be selected from a database)
and the skin tone assembly user skin tone image for the user is not an image of the user (Figure 1 and Paragraph 36 teach a reference image 110 selected that is not an image of the user. The reference image teaches a skin tone assembly user skin tone image) and is selected based on comparing the unprocessed user skin tone image of the user to a set of skin tone assembly user skin tone images in the database of skin tone assembly skin tone images (Paragraph 36 teaches "The user can also select any reference image 110 that has the overall color features, style, and brightness to transfer or apply to the selected input image for the color matching". The selected input image teaches the unprocessed user skin tone image of the user. This teaches the reference image or skin tone assembly user skin tone image is selected based on the unprocessed user skin tone image. Paragraph 36 further teaches the reference image 110 can be "stored on the tablet device, accessible from cloud storage, downloaded from the Internet…". This teaches the skin tone assembly user skin tone image can be selected from a database).
However, Sethi is not relied upon for the below claim language: with a second user skin tone analysis device in front of the second computing device camera
Rattner teaches a second computing device camera with a second user skin tone analysis device in front of the second computing device camera (Figure 1 and Paragraphs 238-240 teach a skin analysis device 20a that attaches in front of a camera 12 that is on a device 10; Paragraph 2 teaches the skin analysis device can attach to multiple smartphones. Thus, it teaches a second device, second user skin tone analysis device, and second computing device camera; Paragraph 93 teaches there are a set of electronic devices each with their own skin characteristic measurement device or skin tone analysis device. Thus, it teaches a second device, second user skin tone analysis device, and second computing device camera).
Sethi and Rattner are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of analyzing skin tones. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of outputting an adjusted user skin tone image taught by Sethi with the skin analysis device taught by Rattner in order to analyze skin of users more accurately with low cost (Rattner Paragraph 4-5).
25. Regarding claim 16, Sethi teaches the limitations of claim 15. Claim 16 is similar in scope to claim 2. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 2 applies herein.
26. Regarding claim 17, Sethi in view of Rattner teaches the limitations of claim 16. Claim 17 is similar in scope to claim 3. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 3 applies herein.
27. Regarding claim 18, Sethi teaches the limitations of claim 15. Claim 18 is similar in scope to claim 4. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 4 applies herein.
28. Regarding claim 27, Sethi in view of Rattner teaches the limitations of claim 16. Claim 28 is similar in scope to claim 14. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 14 applies herein.
29. Claim(s) 5 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sethi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0142042 A1), hereinafter referred to as Sethi, as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Lewis et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0341442 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lewis.
30. Regarding claim 5, Sethi teaches the limitations of claim 1. However, Sethi is not relied upon for the below claim language: wherein the user skin tone color value comprises a L* channel, an a* channel and a b* channel.
Lewis teaches wherein the user skin tone color value comprises a L* channel, an a* channel and a b* channel (Paragraph 48 teaches the colors of the pixels in the face region can be in the LAB color space. The colors of the pixels in the face region teach the user skin tone color value).
Sethi and Lewis are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of analyzing skin tones and adjusting images. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of outputting an adjusted user skin tone image taught by Sethi with the user skin tone color value comprising an L*, a*, and b* channel taught by Lewis in order to analyze the luminance and pixel colors separately (Lewis Paragraph 48).
31. Regarding claim 19, Sethi teaches the limitations of claim 15. Claim 19 is similar in scope to claim 5. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 5 applies herein.
32. Claim(s) 6, 10, 20, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sethi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0142042 A1), hereinafter referred to as Sethi, in view of Lewis et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0341442 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lewis, as applied to claims 5 and 19 above, and further in view of Felt (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0258118 A1).
33. Regarding claim 6, Sethi in view of Lewis teaches the limitations of claim 5. However, Sethi and Lewis are not relied upon for the below claim language: wherein the set of user skin tone images comprises an unprocessed skin tone image and a human processed skin tone image.
Felt teaches wherein the set of user skin tone images comprises an unprocessed skin tone image and a human processed skin tone image (Paragraph 23 teaches the image data 110 can include un-calibrated and calibrated images. The image data 110 teaches a set of user skin tone images; Paragraph 21 teaches the system can receive user input to generate a skin tone template or calibrate an image. This teaches the calibrated images are human processed skin tone images and un-calibrated images teach unprocessed skin tone images; Paragraph 30-31 teach the input camera image 202 can be an unedited or edited camera image. The unedited camera image teaches an unprocessed skin tone image and the edited camera image teaches a human processed skin tone image).
Sethi, Lewis, and Felt are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of analyzing skin tones and adjusting images. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of outputting adjusted user skin tone images taught by Sethi in view of Lewis with the set of user skin tone images comprising an unprocessed skin tone image and a human processed skin tone image taught by Felt in order to produce a more desirable appearance of a person (Felt Paragraph 30-31).
34. Regarding claim 10, Sethi in view of Lewis and Felt teaches the limitations of claim 6. However, Sethi and Lewis are not relied upon for the below claim language: wherein the human processed skin tone image is created from the unprocessed skin tone image, by a human adjusting the unprocessed skin tone image, using image processing software, to make the user skin tone in the human processed skin tone image look empirically more similar to how the human sees the user skin tone in real life.
Felt teaches wherein the human processed skin tone image is created from the unprocessed skin tone image, by a human adjusting the unprocessed skin tone image, using image processing software, to make the user skin tone in the human processed skin tone image look empirically more similar to how the human sees the user skin tone in real life (Paragraph 31 teaches "camera image 202 may be a camera image that has been captured by a digital camera and subjected to manual editing to produce a desirable appearance of the person (e.g., preferred skin tones of the face 208 of the person". The initial camera image captured by a digital camera teaches the unprocessed skin tone image and after being manually edited, teaches the human process skin tone image; Paragraphs 34 teaches the manual edit is by a human adjusting the unprocessed skin tone image through image editing tools to produce a more desirable appearance of the person that "reflect and/or simulate skin tones of the person as they would naturally appear in a camera image captured in preferred lighting conditions such as daylight conditions". This teaches using an image processing software to match the skin tone to how the human sees the user skin tone in real life).
Sethi, Lewis, and Felt are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of analyzing skin tones and adjusting images. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of outputting adjusted user skin tone images taught by Sethi in view of Lewis with the human processed skin tone image creation taught by Felt in order to produce a more desirable appearance of a person (Felt Paragraph 30-31).
35. Regarding claim 20, Sethi in view of Lewis teaches the limitations of claim 19. Claim 20 is similar in scope to claim 6. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 6 applies herein.
36. Regarding claim 24, Sethi in view of Lewis and Felt teaches the limitations of claim 20. Claim 24 is similar in scope to claim 10. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 10 applies herein.
37. Claim(s) 7 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sethi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0142042 A1), hereinafter referred to as Sethi, in view of Lewis et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0341442 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lewis, and Felt (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0258118 A1) as applied to claims 6 and 20 above, and further in view of Yamamoto et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,556,210 B1), hereinafter referred to as Yamamoto.
38. Regarding claim 7, Sethi in view of Lewis and Felt teaches the limitations of claim 6. However, Sethi and Felt are not relied upon for the below claim language: wherein the extracting further comprises, for each image in the set of user skin tone images: identifying a set of image pixels comprising a skin surface of the user; summing, for each pixel in the set of image pixels, the L* channel, the a* channel and the b* channel; and dividing the summing, for L* channel, the a* channel and the b* channel, by a number of pixels in the set of image pixels, to arrive at an average L* channel, an average a* channel and an average b* channel.
Lewis teaches identifying a set of image pixels comprising a skin surface of the user (Paragraph 3 teaches "determining the associated face mask includes determining an average color of pixels within the face region". The face mask teaches a set of image pixels comprising the skin surface of the user); channel (Paragraph 48 teaches the pixels in the face region can be in a LAB color space; Paragraph 3, 53, and Figure 3 block 308 teach taking average color by taking the average color component in each channel. In Paragraph 48, if the color space chosen is LAB then the average color component in each channel would be L, a, and b.).
Sethi, Lewis, and Felt are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of analyzing skin tones and adjusting images. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of outputting an adjusted user skin tone image taught by Sethi with average L*, a*, and b* channel taught by Lewis in order to determine the face pixels and create a face mask (Lewis Paragraph 3).
However, Sethi, Lewis, and Felt are not relied upon for the below claim language: summing, for each pixel in the set of image pixels, the L* channel, the a* channel and the b* channel; and dividing the summing, for L* channel, the a* channel and the b* channel, by a number of pixels in the set of image pixels.
Yamamoto teaches summing, for each pixel in the set of image pixels, the L* channel, the a* channel and the b* channel; and dividing the summing, for L* channel, the a* channel and the b* channel, by a number of pixels in the set of image pixels, to arrive at an average L* channel, an average a* channel and an average b* channel (Figure 7 and Column 10, lines 29-34 teach the luminance average calculation process in Figure 7 can be substituted with the L*, a*, and b* channels. calculating the average L*, a*, and b* values by summing for each pixel the L*, a*, and b* channels and dividing the sum by the number of pixels.).
Sethi, Lewis, and Felt are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of analyzing skin tones and adjusting images. Yamamoto is considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of analyzing pixel colors in the LAB color space to adjust an image. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of outputting an adjusted user skin tone image taught by Sethi in view of Lewis and Felt with the calculation to create an average L*, a*, and b* channel taught by Yamamoto in order to create proper color matching between two images (Yamamoto Column 1, lines 33-48).
39. Regarding claim 21, Sethi in view of Lewis and Felt teaches the limitations of claim 20. Claim 21 is similar in scope to claim 7. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 7 applies herein.
40. Claim(s) 8-9 and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sethi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0142042 A1), hereinafter referred to as Sethi, in view of Lewis et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0341442 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lewis, Felt (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0258118 A1), and Yamamoto et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,556,210 B1), hereinafter referred to as Yamamoto, as applied to claims 7 and 21 above, and further in view of Kajiwara (Japanese Patent Application Publication No. 2004343365 A).
41. Regarding claim 8, Sethi in view of Lewis, Felt, and Yamamoto teach the limitations of claim 7. However, Sethi, Lewis, Felt, and Yamamoto are not relied upon for the below claim language: wherein the set of skin tone rendering adjustment factors comprises a first skin tone rendering adjustment factor comprising a first difference between the a* channel between the skin tone assembly skin tone images and the unprocessed skin tone image and a second skin tone rendering adjustment factor comprising a second difference between the b* channel between the skin tone assembly skin tone images and the unprocessed skin tone image.
Kajiwara teaches wherein the set of skin tone rendering adjustment factors comprises a first skin tone rendering adjustment factor comprising a first difference between the a* channel between the skin tone assembly skin tone images and the unprocessed skin tone image and a second skin tone rendering adjustment factor comprising a second difference between the b* channel between the skin tone assembly skin tone images and the unprocessed skin tone image (Paragraph 41 teaches "Next, the relative distance (color difference) between the user representative color obtained in step 101 and the representative color of the original image in the reference data group obtained in step 103 is calculated". Paragraph 39 teaches the representative color obtained in step 101 comes from history output image data. The history output image data can teach the skin tone assembly skin tone images. Thus, the representative color teaches the skin tone color in the skin tone assembly skin tone images.
Equation 5 teaches an equation including (org_a - a). (org_a - a) teaches a difference between the a channel in the skin tone assembly image (a) and the a channel in the unprocessed skin tone image (org_a). This difference teaches a first skin tone rendering adjustment factor. Equation 5 teaches an equation also including (org_b - b). (org_b - b) teaches a difference between the b channel in the skin tone assembly image (b) and the b channel in the unprocessed skin tone image (org_b). This difference teaches a second skin tone rendering adjustment factor).
Sethi, Lewis, Felt, and Kajiwara are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of color adjusting images. Yamamoto is considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of analyzing pixel colors in the LAB color space to adjust an image. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of outputting an adjusted user skin tone image taught by Sethi in view of Lewis, Felt, and Yamamoto with determining the difference between the a and b channels for the skin tone assembly skin tone images and unprocessed skin tone image taught by Kajiwara in order to reduce user burden when color correcting an image (Kajiwara Paragraph 15).
42. Regarding claim 9, Sethi in view of Lewis, Felt, Yamamoto, and Kajiwara teach the limitations of claim 8. However, Sethi, Lewis, Felt, and Yamamoto are not relied upon for the below claim language: wherein the set of skin tone rendering adjustment factors further comprises a third skin tone rendering adjustment factor comprising a third difference between the L* channel between the human processed skin tone image and the unprocessed skin tone image.
Kajiwara teaches wherein the set of skin tone rendering adjustment factors further comprises a third skin tone rendering adjustment factor comprising a third difference between the L* channel between the human processed skin tone image and the unprocessed skin tone image (Paragraph 41 and Equation 5 teaches an equation also including (org_L - L). (org_L - L) teaches a difference between the L channel in the skin tone assembly image (L) and the L channel in the unprocessed skin tone image (org_L). This difference teaches a third skin tone rendering adjustment factor).
Sethi, Lewis, Felt, and Kajiwara are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of color adjusting images. Yamamoto is considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of analyzing pixel colors in the LAB color space to adjust an image. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of outputting an adjusted user skin tone image taught by Sethi in view of Lewis, Felt, and Yamamoto with determining the difference between the L channels for the skin tone assembly skin tone images and unprocessed skin tone image taught by Kajiwara in order to reduce user burden when color correcting an image (Kajiwara Paragraph 15).
43. Regarding claim 22, Sethi in view of Lewis, Felt, and Yamamoto teach the limitations of claim 21. Claim 22 is similar in scope to claim 8. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 8 applies herein.
44. Regarding claim 23, Sethi in view of Lewis, Felt, Yamamoto, and Kajiwara teach the limitations of claim 22. Claim 23 is similar in scope to claim 9. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 9 applies herein.
45. Claim(s) 11 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sethi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0142042 A1), hereinafter referred to as Sethi, and Lewis et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0341442 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lewis, as applied to claims 5 and 19 above, and further in view of Kajiwara (Japanese Patent Application Publication No. 2004343365 A).
46. Regarding claim 11, Sethi in view of Lewis teaches the limitations of claim 5. Sethi further teaches wherein the extracting further comprises: identifying a first set of image pixels comprising a skin surface of the user in the unprocessed skin tone image and a second set of image pixels comprising a skin surface of the user in the skin tone assembly user skin tone image for the user (Paragraph 78 and Figure 4 teach detecting faces 424 in the input image 418 and reference image 420. The pixels in the faces detected teach a first and second set of image pixel comprising a skin surface of a user in the unprocessed skin tone image 418 and the skin tone assembly user skin tone image 420);
However, Sethi and Lewis are not relied upon for the below claim language: deducing a first mean L* channel for the first set of image pixels and a second mean L* channel for the second set of image pixels; setting a mapping of L* channel values from the first set of image pixels and the second set of image pixels, based on the deducing; using the mapping to create, for each pixel in the first set of image pixels, a pixel skin tone rendering adjustment factors comprising an a* channel adjustment factor and a b* channel adjustment factor; employing, for each pixel, the a* channel adjustment factor and a b* channel adjustment factor.
Kajiwara teaches deducing a first mean L* channel for the first set of image pixels and a second mean L* channel for the second set of image pixels (Paragraph 25 teaches the representative color can be calculated through an average value. The average value teaches the representative color is the mean for the set of image pixels. Paragraph 39-41 teaches calculating a difference between the representative color of the output image data and the representative color of the original image. The representative color of the original image teaches the first mean color of the first set of image pixel. The representative color of the output image data teaches the second mean color of the second set of image pixels. The mean color is in the LAB space so thus includes a L* channel. The value of the L* channel in the representative color teaches the mean L* channel.);
setting a mapping of L* channel values from the first set of image pixels and the second set of image pixels, based on the deducing; using the mapping to create, for each pixel in the first set of image pixels, a pixel skin tone rendering adjustment factors comprising an a* channel adjustment factor and a b* channel adjustment factor (Paragraph 41 teaches "Next, the relative distance (color difference) between the user representative color obtained in step 101 and the representative color of the original image in the reference data group obtained in step 103 is calculated". This relative distance teaches a mapping between the L, a, and b channels from the first set of pixels and second set of pixels. Paragraph 39 teaches the representative color obtained in step 101 comes from history output image data. The history output image data can teach the skin tone assembly skin tone images. Thus, the representative color teaches the skin tone color in the skin tone assembly skin tone images. Equation 5 also teaches an equation including (org_a - a) and (org_b – b). (org_a - a) teaches a difference between the a channel in the skin tone assembly image (a) and the a channel in the unprocessed skin tone image (org_a). This difference teaches an a* channel adjustment factor. (org_b - b) teaches a difference between the b channel in the skin tone assembly image (b) and the b channel in the unprocessed skin tone image (org_b). This difference teaches a b* channel adjustment factor.);
employing, for each pixel, the a* channel adjustment factor and a b* channel adjustment factor (Paragraph 45 teaches calculating a color correction parameter based on the distance calculated to minimize the difference. Paragraph 51 teaches applying the color correction onto the input image or unprocessed skin tone image. Thus, the a* and b* channel adjustment factors are applied through the color correction.).
Sethi, Lewis, and Kajiwara are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of color adjusting images. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of outputting an adjusted user skin tone image taught by Sethi in view of Lewis with deducing a first mean L channel, mapping L channel values, and creating a* and b* channel adjustment factors from the skin tone assembly skin tone images and unprocessed skin tone image taught by Kajiwara in order to reduce user burden when color correcting an image (Kajiwara Paragraph 15).
47. Regarding claim 25, Sethi in view of Lewis teaches the limitations of claim 19. Claim 25 is similar in scope to claim 11. Therefore, similar rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 11 applies herein.
Conclusion
48. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Corcoran et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0372108 A1) teaches receiving user skin tone images of a user, extracting user skin tone colors, and calculating a set of user skin tone rendering adjustment factors.
Zeng et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0004070 A1) teaches determining a skin tone color and adjusting it to the preferred skin tone.
Tuan et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,064,279 B1) teaches identifying a skin tone using a scanning device.
/CHRISTINE YERA AHN/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/ALICIA M HARRINGTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2615