DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
“a first change in a first electromagnetic field…” (Claim 1) and
“a second change in a second electromagnetic field…” (Claim 2)
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
3. The claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) 21 does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because “computer program” may be interpreted as software and/or transitory wave/signal.
To overcome the rejection, amendment may be made to exclude software and/or transitory wave/signal and won’t be considered as New Matter by the Examiner. For example, “a non-transitory computer readable medium storing program comprising instructions and a processor to cause the system of claim 1 to execute the steps of the method of claim 15.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the limitation “a first change in a first electromagnetic field…” is NOT clear because there’s NOT enough information and illustration in the Specification and Drawings to disclose to one ordinary skill in the art to clearly understand how the electromagnetic field (physical field that exists in space and time, representing the combined influence of electric and magnetic forces generated by electric charges) is changing upon the engagement between the base station and the input module.
Similarly in Claim 2, the limitation “a second change in a second electromagnetic field…” is NOT clear because there’s NOT enough information and illustration in the Specification and Drawings to disclose to one ordinary skill in the art to clearly understand how the electromagnetic field (physical field that exists in space and time, representing the combined influence of electric and magnetic forces generated by electric charges) is changing upon the engagement between the base station and the input module.
To further advance prosecution, the Examiner interprets “a first/second change in a first/second electromagnetic field…” as an engagement between the base station and the input module consistent with the Specification.
Appropriate actions required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1-3, 13, 15, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by MOMCHILOV et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20220413629).
Regarding Claim 1, (Original)
MOMCHILOV et al. teach
a system for providing an input ([0049], FIG. 3, i.e. graphical pointer) for a computing device ([0049], FIG. 3, i.e. computing system), comprising:
a base station ([0050], FIG. 3, i.e. local computing device 230), wherein the base station (i.e. please see above citation(s)) comprises a first interface having a transceiver ([0050], FIG. 3, i.e. wireless transceiver 240); and
at least one input module ([0049], FIG. 3, i.e. mobile device 204; [0074], FIG. 9, i.e. mobile device 204 … left, right and the scroll wheel as mouse buttons and a pointer centering) for connection to ([0049], FIG. 3, i.e. transmit that graphical pointer data … over a wireless communications signal to a local computing device) the base station, wherein the at least one input module (i.e. please see above citation(s)) comprises a second interface having a transceiver ([0049], FIG. 3, i.e. wireless transceiver 210) corresponding to the transceiver of the base station (i.e. please see above citation(s)),
wherein the base station (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is configured to detect configuration ([0049], FIG. 3, i.e. configured to sense orientation of the mobile device) of the at least one input module in a manner that the transceiver of the base station is engaged with ([0049], FIG. 3, i.e. transmit that graphical pointer data via the wireless transceiver 210 over a wireless communications signal to a local computing device … and a wireless transceiver 240 configured to receive the graphical pointer data) the transceiver of the at least one input module (i.e. please see above citation(s)), thereby causing a first change in a first electromagnetic field in the transceiver of the at least one input module (i.e. alternative limitation(s) omitted) and/or the transceiver of the base station so as to establish electrical connection ([0049], FIG. 3, i.e. transmit that graphical pointer data … over a wireless communications signal to a local computing device … and a wireless transceiver 240 configured to receive the graphical pointer data (that is establishing electrical connection wirelessly)) between the transceiver of the base station and the transceiver of the at least one input module (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 2, (Original)
MOMCHILOV et al. teach
the system according to claim1,
wherein the transceiver of the base station (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is a receiver ([0050], FIG. 3, i.e. wireless transceiver 240 (please note that a transceiver would have a receiver)) and the transceiver of the at least one input module (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is a transmitter ([0049], FIG. 3, i.e. wireless transceiver 210 (please note that a transceiver would have a transmitter)),
wherein the first interface of the base station (i.e. please see above citation(s)) further comprises a transmitter ([0050], FIG. 3, i.e. wireless transceiver 240 (please note that a transceiver would have a transmitter)) and the second interface of the at least one input module (i.e. please see above citation(s)) further comprises a receiver ([0049], FIG. 3, i.e. wireless transceiver 210 (please note that a transceiver would have a receiver)),
wherein the base station (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is further configured to detect configuration ([0049], FIG. 3, i.e. configured to sense orientation of the mobile device) of the at least one input module in a manner that the transmitter of the base station is engaged with ([0049], FIG. 3, i.e. transmit that graphical pointer data via the wireless transceiver 210 over a wireless communications signal to a local computing device … and a wireless transceiver 240 configured to receive the graphical pointer data) the receiver of the at least one input module (i.e. please see above citation(s)), thereby causing a second change in a second electromagnetic field in the transmitter of the base station (i.e. alternative limitation(s) omitted) and/or the receiver of the at least one input module so as to establish further electrical connection ([0050], FIG. 3, i.e. by changing orientation of the mobile device 204, the movement or orientation of the graphical pointer 248 on the display 234 may be controlled (that is further establishing electrical connection wirelessly for controlling the graphics of the pointer)) between the transmitter of the base station and the receiver of the at least one input module (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 3, (Original)
MOMCHILOV et al. teach
the system according to claim 2, wherein the at least one input module (i.e. please see above citation(s)) further comprises a further interface having a further transmitter and a further receiver ([0049], FIG. 3, i.e. wireless transceiver 210 (please note that a transceiver would have a transmitter and a receiver)) arranged at an edge (FIG. 3, i.e. top edge as shown by the figure(s)) of the at least one input module in a manner that the base station is configured to detect the configuration ([0049], FIG. 3, i.e. configured to sense orientation of the mobile device) of the at least one input module by its interface (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 13, (Original)
MOMCHILOV et al. teach
the system according to claim 1, wherein the configuration of the at least one input module comprises position and orientation ([0048], FIG. 3, i.e. mobile device's controller captures the device orientation updates and maps the angles to X-Y positions) of the at least one input module (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 15, (Original)
MOMCHILOV et al. teach
a method ([0011], FIG. 3, i.e. method of controlling from a mobile device a graphical pointer) implemented in the system of claim 1 (i.e. please see above citation(s)), comprising:
detecting, by the base station, configuration ([0049], FIG. 3, i.e. configured to sense orientation of the mobile device) of the at least one input module in a manner that the transceiver of the base station is engaged with ([0049], FIG. 3, i.e. transmit that graphical pointer data via the wireless transceiver 210 over a wireless communications signal to a local computing device … and a wireless transceiver 240 configured to receive the graphical pointer data) the transceiver of the at least one input module, thereby causing a first change in a first electromagnetic field in the transceiver of the at least one input module (i.e. alternative limitation(s) omitted) and/or the transceiver of the base station so as to establish electrical connection ([0049], FIG. 3, i.e. transmit that graphical pointer data … over a wireless communications signal to a local computing device … and a wireless transceiver 240 configured to receive the graphical pointer data (that is establishing electrical connection wirelessly)) between the transceiver of the base station and the transceiver of the at least one input module (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 21, (Original)
MOMCHILOV et al. teach
a computer program ([0027], FIG. 2, i.e. computer program) comprising instructions ([0027], FIG. 2, i.e. executable instruction) to cause the system of claim 1 to execute the steps of the method of claim 15 (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOMCHILOV et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20220413629) in view of Hourmand et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20090098504).
Regarding Claim 7, (Original)
MOMCHILOV et al. teach
the system according to claim 1.
However, MOMCHILOV et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein the receiver of the base station comprises a reed switch and the transmitter of the at least one input module comprises a magnet in a manner that the receiver of the base station is engaged with the transmitter of the at least one input module, thereby closing the reed switch.
In the same field of endeavor, Hourmand et al. teach
wherein the receiver of the base station ([0028], FIG. 3, i.e. block 100) comprises a reed switch ([0028], FIG. 3, i.e. reed switch 160) and the transmitter of the at least one input module ([0028], FIG. 3, i.e. sub-block 200) comprises a magnet ([0028], FIG. 3, i.e. magnet 240) in a manner that the receiver of the base station is engaged with ([0028], FIG. 3, i.e. probe must be brought to close proximity of the base unit) the transmitter of the at least one input module (i.e. please see above citation(s)), thereby closing the reed switch ([0028], FIG. 3, i.e. so that the reed switch 160 is close).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine MOMCHILOV et al. teaching input device comprising radio communication between a remote and a base unit with Hourmand et al. teaching input device comprising radio communication between a remote unit and a base unit utilizing reed switch coupling to magnet to effectively and wirelessly transfer data in at close proximity (Hourmand et al.’s [0028]).
7. Claim(s) 8-9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOMCHILOV et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20220413629) in view of HARAN et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20240085995).
Regarding Claim 8, (Original)
MOMCHILOV et al. teach
the system according to claim 1.
However, MOMCHILOV et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein the receiver of the base station comprises a capacitive sensing receiver and the transmitter of the at least one input module comprises a capacitive sensing transmitter in a manner that the receiver of the base station is engaged with the transmitter of the at least one input module, thereby causing a capacitive change between the capacitive sensing receiver and transmitter.
In the same field of endeavor, HARAN et al. teach
wherein the receiver of the base station ([0062], FIG. 4, i.e. host device 20) comprises a capacitive sensing receiver ([0062], FIG. 4, i.e. signal receiver (SRx) 250) and the transmitter of the at least one input module ([0062], FIG. 4, i.e. stylus 10) comprises a capacitive sensing transmitter ([0054], FIG. 4, i.e. signal transmitter (DTx) 150) in a manner that the receiver of the base station is engaged with ([0054], FIG. 4, i.e. converts the detected force or pressure to an output signal … and communicates the output signal RP to a digitizer (not shown) at the host device 20) the transmitter of the at least one input module, thereby causing a capacitive change ([0017], FIG. 4, i.e. sensing methods based on changes in the capacitive coupling) between the capacitive sensing receiver and transmitter (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine MOMCHILOV et al. teaching input device comprising radio communication between a remote and a base unit with HARAN et al. teaching input device comprising radio communication between a remote unit and a base unit utilizing capacitive changes to effectively and wirelessly provide location of an input device (HARAN et al.’s [0017]).
Regarding Claim 9, (Original)
MOMCHILOV et al. teach
the system according to claim 1.
However, MOMCHILOV et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein the base station is further configured to pair with the at least one input module, and wherein, after pairing, the base station is configured to wirelessly communicate with the at least one input module.
In the same field of endeavor, HARAN et al. teach
wherein the base station ([0062], FIG. 4, i.e. host device 20) is further configured to pair with ([0047], FIG. 4, i.e. when pairing the stylus 10 with the host device 20) the at least one input module ([0062], FIG. 4, i.e. stylus 10), and wherein, after pairing, the base station (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is configured to wirelessly communicate with ([0051], FIG. 4, i.e. wireless communication unit 170 is configured to communicate with the host device 20) the at least one input module (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine MOMCHILOV et al. teaching input device comprising radio communication between a remote and a base unit with HARAN et al. teaching input device comprising radio communication between a remote unit and a base unit utilizing pairing between them to correctly and wirelessly identify an input device for communication with a host(HARAN et al.’s [0051]).
Regarding Claim 11, (Original)
MOMCHILOV et al. teach
the system according to claim 1.
However, MOMCHILOV et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein the at least one input module comprises a built-in wirelessly or wired chargeable battery.
In the same field of endeavor, HARAN et al. teach
wherein the at least one input module ([0062], FIG. 4, i.e. stylus 10) comprises a built-in wirelessly or wired chargeable battery ([0051], FIG. 4, i.e. battery may be rechargeable).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine MOMCHILOV et al. teaching input device comprising radio communication between a remote and a base unit with HARAN et al. teaching input device comprising radio communication between a remote unit comprising a rechargeable battery to effectively provide power for an input device (HARAN et al.’s [0051]).
8. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOMCHILOV et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20220413629) in view of Files et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 10719145).
Regarding Claim 12, (Original)
MOMCHILOV et al. teach
the system according to claim 1.
However, MOMCHILOV et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein the at least one input module comprises a factory default identifier, and a user customizable identifier is addable to the at least one input module.
In the same field of endeavor, Files et al. teach
wherein the at least one input module (Col. 22, Ln. 5-25, FIG. 5, i.e. active pen 102) comprises a factory default identifier (Col. 22, Ln. 5-25, FIG. 5, i.e. such IDs may be assigned (or allocated) to the computing devices and active pens at the time of their manufacture), and a user customizable identifier is addable to (Col. 22, Ln. 5-25, FIG. 5, i.e. application may allow a user to select a screen ID and/or a pen ID) the at least one input module (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine MOMCHILOV et al. teaching input device comprising radio communication between a remote and a base unit with Files et al. teaching input device comprising radio communication between a remote unit comprising a manufacturing ID and user select ID to effectively provide identification for an input device by default and customization (Files et al.’s Col. 22, Ln. 5-25).
9. Claim(s) 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOMCHILOV et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20220413629) in view of Cooper (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20020008690).
Regarding Claim 14, (Original)
MOMCHILOV et al. teach
the system according to claim 1.
However, MOMCHILOV et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein the transmitter of the at least one input module is configured to send an interrupt to the base station to start polling for the at least one input module.
In the same field of endeavor, Cooper teaches
wherein the transmitter ([0094], FIG. 21B, i.e. RF field of a reader (transceiver); [0104], FIG. 23-24, i.e. transponder 2400) of the at least one input module ([0069], FIG. 11-12, i.e. input device a radio frequency identification (RFID) reader 1142) is configured to send an interrupt ([0104], FIG. 23-24, i.e. switch 2405 interrupts the signal) to the base station ([0070], FIG. 11-12, i.e. RFID tag 1248/binder 1200) to start polling ([0104], FIG. 23-24, i.e. response provided to the polling transceiver) for the at least one input module (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine MOMCHILOV et al. teaching input device comprising radio communication between a remote and a base unit with Cooper teaching input device comprising radio communication between a remote unit and a base unit utilizing interrupt polling to effectively and correctly provide position of an input device (Cooper’s [0105]).
Regarding Claim 16, (Original)
MOMCHILOV et al. teach
the method according to claim 15.
However, MOMCHILOV et al. do not explicitly teach
sending by the transceiver of the at least one input module, an interrupt to the base station to start polling for the at least one input module.
In the same field of endeavor, Cooper teaches
sending by the transceiver ([0094], FIG. 21B, i.e. RF field of a reader (transceiver); [0104], FIG. 23-24, i.e. transponder 2400) of the at least one input module ([0069], FIG. 11-12, i.e. input device a radio frequency identification (RFID) reader 1142), an interrupt ([0104], FIG. 23-24, i.e. switch 2405 interrupts the signal) to the base station to start polling ([0104], FIG. 23-24, i.e. response provided to the polling transceiver) for the at least one input module (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine MOMCHILOV et al. teaching method sensing an input device comprising radio communication between a remote and a base unit with Cooper teaching method sensing an input device comprising radio communication between a remote unit and a base unit utilizing interrupt polling to effectively and correctly provide position of an input device (Cooper’s [0105]).
10. Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOMCHILOV et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20220413629) in view of Cooper (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20020008690) and Morris et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20060035590).
Regarding Claim 17, (Original)
MOMCHILOV et al. and Cooper teach
the method according to claim 16.
However, MOMCHILOV et al. and Cooper do not explicitly teach
sending, by the base station, an interrupt to the at least one input module to inquire for an identifier of the at least one input module.
In the same field of endeavor, Morris et al. teach
sending, by the base station ([0162], FIG. 1-3, i.e. host wireless unit 112), an interrupt ([0162], FIG. 1-3, i.e. PS/2 interrupt) to the at least one input module to inquire for an identifier ([0118], FIG. 1-3, i.e. device ID is dynamically generated … and communicated to the host wireless unit 112) of the at least one input module ([0118], FIG. 1-3, i.e. keyboard/mouse wireless unit 114, 116).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine MOMCHILOV et al. and Cooper teaching method sensing an input device comprising radio communication between a remote and a base unit with Morris et al. teaching method sensing an input device comprising radio communication between a input unit and a base unit utilizing interrupt with identifier to effectively and wirelessly pair input to host for communication (Morris et al.’s [0118]).
Regarding Claim 18, (Original)
the method according to claim 17,
MOMCHILOV et al. teach
further comprising:
assigning, by the base station (i.e. please see above citation(s)), location ([0059], FIG. 1-3, i.e. initial location) and orientation information ([0059], FIG. 1-3, i.e. initial orientation) to the at least one input module (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Response to Amendment
11. Applicants’ Response to the Preliminary Amendment dated 03/27/2025, has been entered and made of record. Claim(s) 19 is/are amended, Claim(s) 20 and 22 is/are cancelled. Thus, Claim(s) 1-19 and 22 is/are pending in this application.
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claim(s) 4-6, 10, and 19 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
13. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
MOMCHILOV et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20220413629) teach a computing system includes a mobile device having a wireless transceiver and an orientation sensor that senses orientation of the mobile device and generates orientation data based on the sensed orientation. A controller converts the orientation data to graphical pointer data, which is transmitted via the wireless transceiver to a local computing device, which translates the graphical pointer data to represent a graphical pointer being displayed on its display. The graphical pointer is controlled on the display of the local computing device by changing orientation of the mobile device
HARAN et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20240085995) teach an apparatus and method for adapting a conversion of a force or pressure sensed at a stylus into a converted output used for an inking process at a host device, wherein samples of the converted output are collected over a predetermined time period. Then, the collected samples are evaluated and at least one parameter of the conversion is controlled in response to a result of the evaluation. Thereby, a user-specific probability distribution of the sensed force or pressure can be matched to a desired probability distribution of the inking process.
The subject matter of the independent claims could either not be found or was not suggested in the prior art of record. The subject matter not found was an input device including
“…wherein the at least one input module has a rectangular, hexagonal or square shape and has a further interface of transmitter and receiver arranged at each edge of the rectangular, hexagonal or square shape.” (Claim 4),
“…wherein the at least one input module comprises a first input module and a second input module, the first input module having the second interface and a further interface, the second input module having a third interface,
wherein the base station is configured to detect configuration of the first input module through the second interface of the first input module,
wherein the second input module is configured to connect to the first input module through the further interface of the first input module, and the base station is configured to detect configuration of the second input module via the first input module.” (Claim 5),
“…wherein the base station further comprises an additional interface having an additional transmitter and an additional receiver, and the at least one input module comprises a first input module and a second input module, the first input module having the second interface and the second input module having a third interface,
wherein the base station is configured to detect configuration of the first input module through the first interface of the base station,
wherein the base station is configured to detect configuration of the second input module through the additional interface of the base station.” (Claim 6),
“…wherein the at least one input module comprises a first input module and a second input module, the first input module having the second interface and a further interface, and the second input module having a third interface,
wherein the base station is configured to detect configuration of the first input module through the second interface of the first input module and further configured to pair and wirelessly communicate with the first input module,
wherein the second input module is configured to connect to the first input module through the further interface of the first input module, and the base station is configured to detect configuration of the second input module via the first input module.” (Claim 10),
“…pairing the at least one input module with the base station; and
wirelessly communicating between the base station and the at least one input modules,
wherein the at least one input module comprises a first input module and a second input module, the first input module having the second interface and a further interface, and the second input module having a third interface,
the method further comprising:
detecting, by the base station, configuration of the first input module through the second interface of the first input module;
pairing and wirelessly communicating between the base station and the first input module;
connecting the second input module with the first input module through the further interface of the first input module;
relaying, by the first input module, signals/information from the second input module to the base station; and
detecting, by the base station, configuration of the second input module based on the signals/information relayed by the first input module.” (Claim 19),
in combination with the other elements (or steps) of the device or apparatus and method recited in the claims.
Conclusion
/VINH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628