DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication filed 3/27/2025. Claims 1-12 are pending for examination, the rejection cited as stated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter as follows. Claim 12 is drawn to functional descriptive material recorded on a recording medium. However, the neither the specification nor the claim limits the recited “recording medium” to non-transitory. The examiner presumes for the sake of examination that the term “recording medium" comprises both transitory and non-transitory medium.
“A transitory, propagating signal … is not a “process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.” Those four categories define the explicit scope and reach of subject matter patentable under 35 U.S.C. § 101; thus, such a signal cannot be patentable subject matter.” (In re Petrus A.C.M. Nuijten; Fed Cir, 2006-1371, 9/20/2007).
Because the full scope of the claim as properly read in light of the disclosure appears to encompass non-statutory subject matter, the claim as a whole is non-statutory. The examiner suggests amending the claim to include the disclosed non-transitory recording medium, while at the same time excluding the transitory media such as signals, carrier waves, etc. Any amendment to the claim should be commensurate with its corresponding disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
a) Claim 1, element “a first receiving unit that receives a first instruction…” is a means (or step) plus function limitation that invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or 112 (pre-AIA ), sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for the claimed function.
Claim 1 recites the functional limitation: “a first receiving unit that receives…. Although the phrase "means for" or "step for" is not used in this limitation, the claim limitation is written as a function to be performed and does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function which would preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112 six paragraph. Therefore this claim limitation is considered invoking 35 USC § 112, ¶ 6.
35 USC § 112 (f) or 112 (pre-AIA ), ¶ 6, requires such claim to be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. “If one employs means plus function language in a claim, one must set forth in the specification an adequate disclosure showing what is meant by that language. If an applicant fails to set forth an adequate disclosure, the applicant has in effect failed to particularly point out and distinctly claim the invention as required by the second paragraph of section § 112.” In re Donaldson Co., 16 F.3d 1189, 1195, 29 USPQ 1845, 1850 (Fed. Cir. 1994)(in banc.). For a computer-implemented means-plus-function claim limitation that invokes 35 USC § 112, ¶ 6, the corresponding structure is required to be more than simply a general purpose computer. Aristocrat Technologies, Inc. v. International Game Technology, 521 F.3d 1328, 1333, 86 USPQ2d 1235, 1239-40 (Fed. Cir. 2008). The corresponding structure for a computer-implemented function must include the algorithm as well as the general purpose computer. WMS Gaming, Inc. v. International Game Technology, 184 F.3d 1339, 51 USPQ2d 1385 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The written description must at least disclose the algorithm that transforms the general purpose microprocessor to a special purpose computer programmed to perform the claimed function. Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1338, 86 USPQ2d at 1242.
Claim 1, element “a content receiving unit that receives the first type of content transmitted from the streamer terminal…” is similarly rejected.
Claim 1, element “a first streaming unit that streams the first type of content received by the content receiving unit to the user terminal from which the first instruction was transmitted…” is similarly rejected.
Claim 1, element “a second receiving unit that receives a second instruction…” is similarly rejected.
Claim 1, element “a second streaming unit that acquires the second type of content 20 corresponding to the second instruction received by the second receiving unit and streams the second type of content to the user terminal from which the second instruction was transmitted…” is similarly rejected.
Claim 1, element “a third receiving unit that receives a third instruction, which is an 30 instruction to stream a third type of content that is streamed on demand…” is similarly rejected.
Claim 1, element “a third streaming unit that acquires the third type of content corresponding to the third instruction received by the third receiving unit…” is similarly rejected.
Claims 2-10 are similarly rejected based on the dependencies.
b) Claim 2, element “a user video receiving unit that receives user videos respectively from the two or more user terminals while the first type of content is being streamed…” is similarly rejected.
c) Claim 3, element “a user video receiving unit that receives user videos respectively from the two or more user terminals while the second type of content is being streamed…” is similarly rejected.
e) Claim 4, element “an input information receiving unit that receives, from each of two or more user terminals from which the first type of content…” is similarly rejected.
e) Claim 4, element “a statistical processing unit that performs statistical processing on the input information received by the input information receiving unit…” is similarly rejected.
f) Claim 6, element “a first reservation receiving unit that receives a first reservation instruction for specifying a viewing reservation for the first type of content…” is similarly rejected.
g) Claim 6, element “a second reservation receiving unit that receives a second reservation instruction for specifying a viewing reservation for the second type of content, from a user terminal…” is similarly rejected.
h) Claim 7, element “a recommendation acquiring unit that acquires recommendation information on content using the statistical processing results” is similarly rejected.
i) Claim 7, element “a recommendation transmitting unit that transmits the recommendation information to a user terminal” is similarly rejected.
j) Claim 9, element “a communication unit that receives communication information from a user of the user terminal and transmits the communication information to the streamer terminal while the first type of content is being streamed” is similarly rejected.
k) Claim 10, element “a screen instruction receiving unit that receives a screen instruction, which is an instruction associated with a content identifier for identifying a piece of content and is an instruction to output a first-size screen…” is similarly rejected.
l) Claim 10, element “a screen acquiring unit that acquires screen information for configuring a screen regarding the piece of content…” is similarly rejected.
m) Claim 10, element “a screen transmitting unit that transmits the screen information acquired by the screen acquiring unit…” is similarly rejected.
n) Claim 10, element “a switching support unit that receives information corresponding to an instruction for the user interface component” is similarly rejected.
Applicant is required to:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be a means (or step) plus function limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or 112 (pre-AIA ), six paragraph; or
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that is expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts so that one of ordinary skilled in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant is required to clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP 2181 and 608.01(o).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by RIEDEL et al (US 2017/0289597 hereafter RIEDEL).
As to Claim 1, RIEDEL discloses a streaming apparatus comprising:
a first receiving unit that receives a first instruction, which is an instruction to stream a first type of content that is transmitted from a streamer terminal of the content, from a user terminal, in a time period that is specified with first streaming time information ([0004], “receiving a programming request from a media player, the programming request identifying a channel to be tuned on the media player”; abstract, “portions of the broadcast day are scheduled for globally shared viewing events,…The system includes….a live event server streaming live performances”. Here, the user selects channels, the system receives programing requests that can include live event content (equivalent to a first type of content) during scheduled/shared viewing periods, wherein live content is handled by a dedicated live event server, and wherein the scheduled time for the live event streaming is first streaming time information that a time period of the respective live event streaming is specified with);
a content receiving unit that receives the first type of content transmitted from the streamer terminal, in the time period that is specified with the first streaming time information (see citation above, wherein the dedicated live event server receives and streams live performances, according to the scheduled time, wherein receiving content from a streamer terminal is implied due to the disclosed “live event server streaming”);
a first streaming unit that streams the first type of content received by the content receiving unit to the user terminal from which the first instruction was transmitted, in the time period that is specified with the first streaming time information (see citation in the preceding limitations. Also see abstract, “assembly services stitching the elements to create a continuous experience of video and graphics for a media player to receive and render for each channel selected by the viewer”, wherein the assembly services stitch live content into the continuous experiences and deliver it (via CDN) to the media player for the selected channel during the relevant time window. See [0004], “transmitting the programming schedule, the A/V manifest, and the graphics manifest to the media player”);
a second receiving unit that receives a second instruction, which is an instruction to stream a second type of content that is streamed in a time period that is specified with second streaming time information, from a user terminal (user selects channels; the system generates and uses a programming schedule (linear schedule) that defines ordered playout of assets (including recorded/on-demand assets) at predetermined times, see [0004], “receiving a programming request from a media player, the programming request identifying a channel to be tuned on the media player; generating a programming schedule for the media player, the programming schedule defining an ordering for playout of audio/visual (AN) assets and graphics assets associated with the channel; generating an AN manifest for the media player, the AN manifest identifying the AN assets for the media player to request the A/V assets from a content delivery network (CDN); generating a graphics manifest for the media player, the graphics manifest identifying the graphics assets for the media player to request the graphics assets from the CDN; and transmitting the programming schedule, the A/V manifest, and the graphics manifest to the media player”; [0020], “The scheduling module 110 may be configured to determine a programming schedule in which a plurality of content ( e.g., video, graphics, and interactivity) is scheduled into a predetermined order such that each of the media content is played through the media player 150”; [0002], “a programming schedule may be fixed and the user tunes in to watch desired media content at the predetermined slotted time.. Here, the linear recorded content is equivalent to second type of content);
a second streaming unit that acquires the second type of content corresponding to the second instruction received by the second receiving unit and streams the second type of content to the user terminal from which the second instruction was transmitted, at the time that is specified with the second streaming time information corresponding to the second type of content, the second type of content being acquired from a second storage unit in which the second type of content is stored that is associated with the second streaming time information and that is streamed to the user terminal in the time period that is specified with the second streaming time information (Origination service publish schedules and assets to a distribution cache; assembly services generate manifests and deliver the scheduled content (including from stored/on-demand assets) at the scheduled times to create the continuous/virtual-linear experience. See abstract, “The system includes origination services transforming and publishing linear television schedules, video, and graphics to a distribution cache”; [0006], “receiving an A/V manifest for the media player, the AN manifest identifying the AN assets for the media player to request the AN assets from a content delivery network (CDN)”; [0003], “the non-linear distribution model may utilize a remote storage database that caches the available media content, enabling clients to pull media as needed, resulting in a lower cost system where linear and on-demand media assets may be shared”; [0018], “The system 100 may utilize features of both a linear distribution model and a non-linear distribution model in providing the virtual linear playout for a user”; [0017], “the exemplary embodiments provide a hybrid media content distribution arrangement where a virtual linear playout is provided in which aspects of the non-linear distribution model are utilized but appears as a linear distribution model to the user viewing the media content”);
a third receiving unit that receives a third instruction, which is an instruction to stream a third type of content that is streamed on demand, from a user terminal (non-linear /video-on-demand (VOD) model is disclosed in which the user transmits a request for desired media content, see [0002], “Further manners of providing the media content have been used including a non-linear distribution model such as video-on-demand. The non-linear distribution model may utilize a request feature in which the user transmits a request for desired media content and the distributor provides the desired media content (e.g., streaming) in response to the user's request. Accordingly, the non-linear distribution model utilizes a "pull" model to provide the programming. Therefore, the user is provided with a great deal of flexibility in viewing media content”; [0016], “A VOD system may enable the user to request available media content at a time of the user's choosing (i.e., pull)”. Here, the VOD content is equivalent to a third type of content that is streamed on demand); and
a third streaming unit that acquires the third type of content corresponding to the third instruction received by the third receiving unit, from a third storage unit in which the third type of content that is streamed on demand is stored, and streams the third type of content to the user terminal from which the third instruction was transmitted (On-demand assets are stored/cached and delivered (streamed) in response to the user’s request. The hybrid system shares the same cached assets for both linear and on-demand use. See [0003], “the non-linear distribution model may utilize a remote storage database that caches the available media content, enabling clients to pull media as needed… where linear and on-demand media assets may be shared; abstract, “synthesizes personalized linear television experiences from on-demand assets”; [0016], “the media content may be stored and retrieved via the CDN”. It is to be noted that the claim does not require specific relationships between the recited various “units” therefore Examiner interprets as any relationship).
As to claim 11, see similar rejection to claim 1.
As to claim 12, see similar rejection to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RIEDEL, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Hartnett et al (US 20220116437 A1 hereafter Hartnett).
As to claim 2, RIEDEL discloses the streaming apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the first receiving unit receives the first instruction from two or more user terminals (see citation in rejection to claim 1 regarding the first receiving unit receiving the first instruction from a user terminal, wherein multiple user terminals requesting content(s) of the first type such as a live event streaming are implied, see [0038], “As there may be a plurality of media players”),
the second receiving unit receives the second instruction from two or more user terminals (see citation in rejection to claim 1 regarding the second receiving unit receiving the second instruction from a user terminal, wherein multiple user terminals requesting content(s) of a second type such as the recorded contents are implied, see [0038], “As there may be a plurality of media players”), and
the second streaming unit does not stream user videos of one or more other users to each of the two or more user terminals (see citation in rejection to claim 1, no streaming of any user videos of one or more other users to each of the two or more user terminals) as disclosed),
but does not expressly disclose
the streaming apparatus further comprises a user video receiving unit that receives user videos respectively from the two or more user terminals while the first type of content is being streamed, the first streaming unit streams, to each of the two or more user terminals, the user videos of one or more other users among the user videos received by the user video receiving unit, together with the first type of content.
Hartnett discloses
a user video receiving unit that receives user videos respectively from two or more user terminals while a first type of content is being streamed, a first streaming unit streams, to each of the two or more user terminals, the user videos of one or more other users among the user videos received by the user video receiving unit, together with the first type of content ([0061], “When multiple participant devices share live video streams as part of a coordinated effort, the live video streaming system can generate a combined live video stream that includes the live video streams from each participant device. As used herein, the term “combined live video stream” refers to a single live video stream that is a composite of multiple live video streams from participant devices. Further, when a combined live video stream is shared with viewer devices (e.g., an audience of non-participant devices), the combined live video stream can become a public combined live video stream. Indeed, the live video streaming system can share a public combined live video stream with viewer devices as a single public combined live video stream”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine RIEDEL with Hartnett. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to share user videos (Hartnett, abstract; [0061]).
As to Claim 3, RIEDEL discloses the streaming apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the second receiving unit receives the second instruction from two or more user terminals (see citation in rejection to claim 1 1 regarding the second receiving unit receiving the second instruction from a user terminal, wherein multiple user terminals requesting content(s) of a second type such as the recorded contents are implied, see [0038], “As there may be a plurality of media players”),
but does not expressly disclose the streaming apparatus further comprises a user video receiving unit that receives user videos respectively from the two or more user terminals while the second type of content is being streamed, and the second streaming unit streams, to each of the two or more user terminals, the user videos of one or more other users among the user videos received by the user video receiving unit, together with the second type of content.
Hartnett discloses
a user video receiving unit that receives user videos respectively from two or more user terminals while a second type of content is being streamed, and a second streaming unit streams, to each of the two or more user terminals, the user videos of one or more other users among the user videos received by the user video receiving unit, together with the second type of content ([0061], “When multiple participant devices share live video streams as part of a coordinated effort, the live video streaming system can generate a combined live video stream that includes the live video streams from each participant device. As used herein, the term “combined live video stream” refers to a single live video stream that is a composite of multiple live video streams from participant devices. Further, when a combined live video stream is shared with viewer devices (e.g., an audience of non-participant devices), the combined live video stream can become a public combined live video stream. Indeed, the live video streaming system can share a public combined live video stream with viewer devices as a single public combined live video stream”, wherein the streaming video can also be recorded/buffered video which is a second type of content, see [0095], “buffered version of the public combined live video stream”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine RIEDEL with Hartnett. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to share user videos (Hartnett, abstract; [0061]).
14. Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RIEDEL, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wei et al (CN112468866B, Google Patent translation is relied upon, hereafter Wei).
As to Claim 4, RIEDEL discloses the claimed invention substantially as discussed in claim 1, further comprising:
an input information receiving unit that receives, from each of two or more user terminals from which the first type of content, the second type of content, or the third type of content was output, input information input by users regarding the output content (see citation in rejection to claim 1, regarding receiving units receiving from a user terminal from which the fist type of content, the second type of content, or the third type of content was output, input information input by the user regarding the output content, such as a channel selection, wherein multiple user terminals requesting content(s) are implied, see [0038], “As there may be a plurality of media players”), but does not expressly disclose a statistical processing unit that performs statistical processing on the input information received by the input information receiving unit, thereby acquiring statistical processing results, and outputs the statistical processing results.
Wei discloses a statistical processing unit that performs statistical processing on input information received by an input information receiving unit, thereby acquiring statistical processing results, and outputs statistical processing results (page 3, “if the triggering operation of the account on the reservation entrance is detected, a reservation request is sent to a server, and the reservation request is used for triggering the server to prompt the account before the live broadcasting room is started “; “displaying reserved account information, wherein the reserved account information comprises the number of accounts reserved for the broadcasting prompt”).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine RIEDEL with Wei. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to promote the live content (Wei, page 2).
As to Claim 5, RIEDEL in view of Wei discloses the streaming apparatus according to claim 4,
wherein the input information is associated with a type identifier for identifying the type of the output content (see citation in rejection to claim 4, and also Wei, page 9, “reservation prompt box further includes related information of the live broadcast room, such as an avatar of a anchor account of the live broadcast room, a name of the anchor account, and a play time of the live broadcast room”, wherein the name of the anchor account is equivalent to a type identifier identifying the type of the output content, e.g., content live-streamed by the anchor account), and
the statistical processing unit acquires statistical processing results for each of at least three type identifiers, and outputs the statistical processing results for each type identifier (see citation above in rejection to the preceding limitation and in rejection to claim 4, e.g., Wei, page 3 and page 9, wherein the reservation amounts are associated with respective anchor accounts which indicates a type of output content, each anchor account name can be considered a type identifier. Also see Wei, page 7, “and specifically can realize popularization of various contents such as anchor accounts, live broadcast rooms, shops, release works and the like”).
As to Claim 6, RIEDEL in view of Wei discloses the streaming apparatus according to claim 4, further comprising:
a first reservation receiving unit that receives a first reservation instruction for specifying a viewing reservation for the first type of content, from a user terminal (see citation in rejection to claim 4, e.g., Wei, page 3, wherein the reservation is for the first type of content, i.e., live-streamed by the streamer as identified by the anchor account name); and
a second reservation receiving unit that receives a second reservation instruction for specifying a viewing reservation for the second type of content, from a user terminal (see citation in rejection to claim 4 and claim 5, e.g., Wei, page 3 and page 7, wherein a reservation amount for a different anchor account equivalent to a second type of content, one of which can be for a recorded video, see page 2, “For example, the anchor can promote the live content by recording the video, and call the user to enter the live room to watch at the start time”),
wherein the statistical processing unit acquires statistical processing results regarding viewing reservations for the content, using the first reservation instruction and the second reservation instruction (see citation in rejection to claim 4 and claim 5, e.g., Wei, page 3 and page 7, promoted accounts can be multiple accounts, wherein a reservation amount for a promoted anchor account is based on user reservation instruction/request associated with the respective anchor account, i.e., type of content).
As to Claim 7, RIEDEL in view of Wei discloses the streaming apparatus according to claim 4, further comprising:
a recommendation acquiring unit that acquires recommendation information on content using the statistical processing results (Wei, page 10, “the second terminal presents reservation account information that includes the number of accounts for which the play alert has been reserved. By displaying the reserved account information, the number of people who have reserved broadcasting prompts can be visually displayed, users are attracted to reserve the broadcasting prompts, and the number of accounts entering a live broadcast room is increased”); and
a recommendation transmitting unit that transmits the recommendation information to a user terminal (see citation above).
As to Claim 8, RIEDEL in view of Wei discloses the streaming apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the recommendation acquiring unit refers to a user management unit in which one or more types of user information among viewing history information on content viewed by a user, reservation history information on content reserved for viewing by a user, and input information input by a user are stored in association with a user identifier (see citation in rejection to claim 4, e.g., Wei, page 3, wherein the reservation amount reflects reservation history of a user of the set of users that reserved. It is to be noted that the recited “a user” is interpreted as any user), and acquires recommendation information on content to be viewed by a user identified with the user identifier (Wei, page 10, “after receiving the promotion information of the live broadcast room, the second terminal displays the promotion information of the live broadcast room in a discovery page of the live broadcast application program, and displays the appointment entrance in the promotion information of the live broadcast room, or after receiving the promotion information of the live broadcast room, the second terminal displays the promotion information of the live broadcast room in the discovery page of the live broadcast application program, and displays the appointment detail card in the promotion information of the live broadcast room. In this embodiment, the second terminal can also directly display the reservation card or the reservation detail card to prompt the user to make a reservation. …In step 507, if the second terminal detects the triggering operation of the account to the reservation entry, a reservation request is sent to the server, where the reservation request is used to trigger the server to prompt the account before the broadcast of the direct broadcast studio. The reservation request carries an identifier of the second account, so that the second account can be prompted based on the identifier in the follow-up process”).
15. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RIEDEL, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Bell-Geddes et al (US 20250126306 A1 hereafter Bell).
As to Claim 9, RIEDEL discloses the claimed invention substantially as discussed in claim 1, but does not expressly disclose a communication unit that receives communication information from a user of the user terminal and transmits the communication information to the streamer terminal while the first type of content is being streamed. Bell discloses a communication unit that receives communication information from a user of a user terminal and transmits the communication information to a streamer terminal while a first type of content is being streamed ([0082]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine RIEDEL with Bell. The suggestion/motivation of the combination would have been to share comments (Bell, [0082]).
16. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RIEDEL, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of White (US 20150334334 A1).
As to Claim 10, RIEDEL discloses the streaming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a screen instruction receiving unit that receives a screen instruction, which is an instruction associated with a content identifier for identifying a piece of content and is an instruction to output a first-size screen regarding the piece of content, from the user terminal (see citation in rejection to claim 1, e.g., abstract, wherein the user selects a channel to output content on a first-size screen, such as, a tablet or mobile phone, see [0042], “The media player 150 may be any component used by the user who views the media content such as on a television, a tablet, a personal computer, a laptop, a mobile device, a game console, etc.”),
a screen acquiring unit that acquires screen information for configuring a screen regarding the piece of content corresponding to the screen instruction from a screen storage unit in which the screen information is stored, the screen information being information for configuring the first-size screen, being information for configuring a screen regarding the piece of content ([0054], “Specifically, the stitched manifests provide an ordering of how the A/V assets and the graphics assets are to be displayed for playout”; [0054], “Once the A/V assets and the graphics assets are received, the media player 150 may perform the appropriate rendering operation (e.g., scaling, placement, frame rate conversion, etc.) such that the A/V assets and the graphics assets are properly shown on the display device 215 based upon the ordering indicated in the programming schedule”), but does not expressly disclose
information for configuring a screen having a user interface component that is instructed to enable the piece of content to be viewed on a second-size screen, which is larger than the first-size screen; a screen transmitting unit that transmits the screen information acquired by the screen acquiring unit, to the user terminal; and a switching support unit that receives information corresponding to an instruction for the user interface component, from the user terminal, and outputs screen information for configuring the second-size screen corresponding to the information or access information for accessing the screen information.
White discloses
information for configuring a screen having a user interface component that is instructed to enable the piece of content to be viewed on a second-size screen, which is larger than the first-size screen (abstract, “personalized video display include providing an interface on the touch device, maintaining a layout template that includes a primary video display window and a user selectable information window, and sending the layout template to the television. The television can display the template layout and embedded content. Additionally, the touch device can detect gestures from a user and communicate instructions to the television based on the gesture input”);
a screen transmitting unit that transmits the screen information acquired by the screen acquiring unit, to the user terminal (see citation above, “a user selectable information window”); and
a switching support unit that receives information corresponding to an instruction for the user interface component, from the user terminal, and outputs screen information for configuring the second-size screen corresponding to the information or access information for accessing the screen information (see citation above, e.g., abstract. Also see Figure 8).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine RIEDEL with White. The suggestion/motivation would have been to use a touch device to configure television display (White, abstract).
Prior Art Cited but not Applied in the Rejection
17. Below is a list of prior art reference(s) cited but not applied in the rejection:
a) Xuan (US 2025/0358480), disclosing a reservation control on a livestreaming page of a current livestream of a target streamer (see abstract).
Conclusion
/HUA FAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426