DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4, 6, 12-15, 17-20, 22, and 24-29 are pending pursuant to a preliminary amendment. Claims 1, 17, and 22 are independent and all method Claims.
This Application is unpublished.
Priority
Apparent priority: 30 Sep 2022 toa Provisional. However, the specification filed for the provisional application refers to events in 2003 and 2005 and has Figures 1-11 of the Figures 1-16 of the ordinary Application.
The next claim of continuity is to a PCT dated 9/29/2023 which conforms in pages of specification and drawings to the ordinary patent application under examination. Still a reference to events having occurred in 2025 in a 2023 document begs clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lang (US 20170242653).
Regarding Claim 1, Lang teaches:
1. A method of directing voice commands for playback devices, the method comprising:
detecting, via a first playback device, a voice command to be executed by at least one playback device in a set of playback devices, wherein the voice command does not identify any playback device in the set of playback devices; [Lang, Fig. 9, 904: the command identifies the zone and not the particular PBD: “[0148] As shown in FIG. 9, the method 900 involves maintaining a database comprising data indicating an assignment of an identification of a network microphone device to a playback zone at block 902, receiving a message indicating (i) the identification of the network microphone device and (ii) a media playback command at block 904, identifying the playback zone in the media playback system based on the data in the database and the received message at block 906, and transmitting to the playback zone, a message indicating the playback command at block 908.” “[0035] Some embodiments include receiving, via a networked microphone device associated with a media playback system, a voice command ….” Fig.10, 1004.]
determining an intent of the voice command; [Lang, Fig. 10, 1006. Fif. 14, 1408. Fig. 19, 1904 all rely on intent determination. “[0184] … At block 1004, a user may provide a voice command to one or more devices of the plurality of devices 500 which contain a microphone (e.g., NMD 512, 514, 516, PBD 532, 534, 536, 538, CR 522). The one or more microphone devices may pass the voice command to other devices of the plurality or system of devices … for processing. At block 1006, the one or more processing devices may process the voice command and return a response to be played back….” Fig. 25, voice input at 2514 and intent determination at 2518: “[0538] At block 2518, the voice input containing a music control command may be processed. The networked microphone system may have various predefined syntaxes that may be associated with a user's intent (e.g., play, pause, adding to queue, grouping, other transport controls, controls available via the control device 300). Each intent may correspond to one or more media playback system commands which may or might not be the same as or similar to the intent….”]
determining that one or more additional playback devices of the set of playback devices are in an acoustic space that includes the first playback device; [Lang, Figures 15-16 teach invoking the PBD and NMD devices to play a tone to identify themselves as present in the acoustic environment. “[0250] The network microphone device may send an indication for one or more playback devices to play a tone. The playback devices that the network microphone device sends the indication to may include those playback devices in proximity to the network microphone device and/or those playback devices that are bonded (or grouped) to the network microphone device or in the same zone.” Fig. 10, 1008: “[0185] At block 1008, system 500 may select one or more devices to play the voice response….” See Fig. 11 for selection of device to provide response. Providing a response to a query is a type of executing a command unless the command is defined with more particularity. See also Figure 22 teaching that when a primary PBD device is not available, a fall back device is selected.]
identifying, from among the one or more other playback devices in the acoustic space, at least one second playback device from the one or more playback devices in the acoustic space to execute the command, [Lang, Fig. 11, both options 1110 and 1120 can cause a number of devices in one or more zones to play the response/execute the command. Figures 15 and 22, 2206 identification of a fallback device. “[0449] In some embodiments, block 2206 may additionally or alternative include, in response to determining that the primary media playback device is not available to perform functions in response to the voice command, instructing a fallback device to perform the function or functions called for in the voice command.”]
wherein identifying the at least one second playback device comprises determining that the at least one second playback device has a context that can be altered to fulfill the intent of the voice command; and [Lang, devices are selected based on context of the command and the device. For example, for a command of “pause,” a device that is playing has to be selected so it can be paused/ its context can be altered: “[0160] Additionally, computing device 506 may identify the subset of the two or more playback zones based on the media playback command and media playback states of the two or more playback zones. In such a case, the computing device 506 may be configured to receive and maintain playback states for each of the playback zones in the media playback system. For instance, if the media playback command involves pausing playback of media content while a first subset of the two or more playback zones is playing media content and a second subset of the two or more playback zones is not playing media content when the voice input was received by the corresponding network microphone device, then computing device 506 may identify the first subset of the two or more playback zones based on an assumption that a user is more likely to provide a pause command to a playback zone that is playing media content than a playback zone that is not playing media content (i.e. already paused).” See also Fig. 10: 1008: “[0185] … The determination or selection of which one or more devices to play the voice response may depend on a variety of factors including context information, pairing information, and/or user settings….” Fig. 5: “[0158] In another example, computing device 506 may identify a subset of the two or more playback zones as playback zones that are to perform the media playback command. For instance, if the received message indicates NMD 516, computing device may identify one of the Office or the Master Bedroom as the playback zone that is to perform the media playback command. In some cases, computing device 506 may identify the subset based on additional information, such as contextual information.” Figures 16, 17, 18 show altering the context of the PBD to fulfill the intent of the command by 1604: adjusting directionality of audio, 1704 adjusting the volume and 1706 restoring volume and various options 1806, 1804, 1808 regarding the various choices in output of content.]
causing the at least one second playback device to execute the voice command. [Lang, Fig. 10, 1012. “[0186] … At block 1012, the system 500 may cause the one or more device (s) selected in block 1008 to play the voice response….” Fig. 25 pertains to execution of commands to the playback devices such as play and pause. “[0565] At block 2520, the media playback system may execute the spoken music control command by executing each of the parsed commands and variable (s)….”]
Regarding Claim 3, Lang teaches:
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the voice command is included in voice input detected via the first playback device, [Lang, Fig. 9, 908: “[0166] At block 908, the method 900 involves transmitting to the playback zone, a message indicating the media playback command. As described previously, each playback zone in the media playback system includes at least one playback device. Accordingly, transmitting to the playback zone, the message indicating the media playback command may involve transmitting the message indicating the media playback command to the corresponding at least one playback device of the playback zone. …” Fig.10, 1004. Some device which can be called the “first playback device” receives the voice command. “[00184] … At block 1004, a user may provide a voice command to one or more devices of the plurality of devices 500 which contain a microphone (e.g., NMD 512, 514, 516, PBD 532, 534, 536, 538, CR 522)….”]
the method further comprising,
before detecting the voice input via the first playback device, detecting a playback command via the at least one second playback device, [Lang, This limitation is getting off the claim by introducing the second playback device That is activated before the first playback device. Lang has a plurality of playback devices as shown in Fig. 5 and any of them can be activated At any time.]
wherein the playback command causes the at least one second playback device to play back audio content, and [Lang, Fig. 5, “[0098] … In another example, the computing device 504 may convert the voice input to an equivalent text command, and then subsequently transmit the text command to the computing device 506. The computing device 506 may then parse the text command to identify one or more playback commands, and then computing device 506 may additionally control one or more of PBDs 532-538 to execute the command.” Fig. 25, 2529. ]
wherein causing the at least one second playback device to execute the voice command comprises causing the at least one second playback device to cease the playback of the audio content. [Lang, the various commands include stop and pause: “[0458] … Such an experience may be further enriched when people can use voice commands to control an audio playback device or system. For example, a person may wish to change the audio content, playlist, or listening zone, add a music track to a playlist or playback queue, or change a playback setting (e.g. play, pause, next track, previous track, playback volume, and EQ settings, among others).” “[0538] At block 2518, the voice input containing a music control command may be processed. The networked microphone system may have various predefined syntaxes that may be associated with a user's intent (e.g., play, pause, adding to queue, grouping, other transport controls, controls available via the control device 300)….” “[0549] Examples of controls available via control device 300 for controlling the media playback system may include transport control commands. These commands or intents may be relevant to a media item which is currently being played such as transport commands (e.g., stop, pause, skip, rewind, fast forward, back, volume, etc.) or commands related to saving or adding the currently played media item to another playback queue or playlist. The syntax for intents or actions to be taken on a media item that is now playing may be simpler and may correspond to the names of the transport control. For example, the voice input for an intent to pause music playback may be the voice input “pause.””]
Regarding Claim 4, Lang teaches:
4. The method of claim 3, wherein detecting the playback command comprises detecting a voice input via the at least one second playback device, wherein the voice input detected by the at least one second playback device comprises the playback command. [Lang, Fig. 5 showing the devices of various types including the PBD devices. Fig. 11 showing the selection of one or more PBD devices to play the response which may be different from the device receiving the command. For example, an NMD may receive the command from the NMDs do not have playback capability and they have to Transmit the command to a PBD.]
Regarding Claim 12, Lang teaches:
12. The method of claim 1,
wherein determining the intent of the voice command includes determining that the intent of the voice command is to alter playback of audio content; and [Lang, Figure 14, voice input at 1406 is a voice command received at a NMD for the purpose of controlling a PBD and Figure 17, 1702 and 1704, teaches that the command may be for changing the volume of the PBD: “[0248] FIG. 14 is a flow chart of functions performed by the network microphone device and/or associated computing device in interpreting voice input. At 1402, an indication of the acoustics of the environment may be obtained. At 1404, the audio content being played by a playback device may also be optionally received. The playback device may be in a same zone, in the presence of the network microphone device, or bonded to the network microphone device. At 1406, voice input may be received, e.g., by the network microphone device. The voice input may be a voice command. The network microphone device might know it has received voice input through some button press on the network microphone device or command word in the voice input indicative of it being a voice input. At 1408, one or more of a filters and/or the audio content being played by the playback device may be applied/used to interpret the received voice input.” “[0269] At 1702, a message may be received. The message may be associated with a network microphone device….” “[0271] The message may be sent to one or more of the playback devices in the playback system….” “[0274] At 1704, the playback device may adjust, e.g., decrease its volume, at the time specified in the message …. The volume may be specified in the message received by the playback device ….”]
wherein determining that the context of the at least one second playback device can be altered to fulfill the intent of the voice command includes determining that the at least one second playback device is playing back the audio content. [Lang, Figure 14, the intent of the command at the NMD may be a change of volume of the content being played by the PBD. See, e.g. Figure 16, 1604: “[0254] … Additionally, or alternatively, the playback device might also adjust a magnitude of the audio output (e.g., volume)….” Figure 17 also shows the adjusting of the volume of the PBD when NMD is in use i.e. when context of PBD has changed. See [0260]-[0261]. Figure 17, 1704: change in volume: “[0274] At 1704, the playback device may adjust, e.g., decrease its volume, at the time specified in the message to a level below that of a volume that the network microphone device would use when it outputs content. The volume may be specified in the message received by the playback device or the volume may be already predefined by the playback device. …”]
Regarding Claim 13, Lang teaches:
13. The method of claim 12, wherein the command to alter the playback of the audio content comprises at least one of:
adjusting a volume of the playback of the audio content; [Lang, “[0069] Playback device control commands such as volume control and audio playback control may also be communicated from the control device 300 to a playback device via the network interface 306….Accordingly, the control device 300 may sometimes be referred to as a controller, whether the control device 300 is a dedicated controller or a network device on which media playback system controller application software is installed.” The control device 300 could be one of the network devices like the PBD.]
grouping the at least one second playback device with one or more other playback devices; and [Lang’s zone generation command groups the playback devices according to zone. Figure 7, 706. Figure 9, 902. Figure 10, 1002. However, the grouping/zone creation commands are not input by voice.]
changing playback of a current media item to another media item. [Lang, “[0098] In an illustrative example, NMDs 512, 514, and 516 may be configured to receive voice inputs to control PBDs 532, 534, 536, and 538. The available control commands may include any media playback system controls previously discussed, such as playback volume control, playback transport controls, music source selection, and grouping, among other possibilities. In one instance, NMD 512 may receive a voice input to control one or more of the PBDs 532, 534, 536, and 538….”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang in view of Soto (US 20210099829).
Regarding Claim 2, Lang teaches the use of Bluetooth and Bluetooth includes a beacon that finds the other devices in the vicinity. However, Lang does not mention a Bluetooth beacon.
Soto teaches:
2. The method of claim 1, wherein determining that the one or more additional playback devices of the set of playback devices are in the acoustic space that includes the first playback device comprises:
causing the set of playback devices to broadcast a set of signals, wherein each playback device in the set of playback devices broadcasts a respective signal in the set of signals; [Soto teaches that Bluetooth can be used but is unreliable and instead uses a broadcasting method: “[0109] As devices become smarter, it is becoming increasingly desirable to locate and interact with devices within indoor areas (e.g., a home). However, due to the variety of different floorplans and various interfering effects found indoors (e.g., walls, appliances, furniture, etc.), it can be difficult to locate a device in such an environment. While some conventional solutions have used wireless signals to locate a device based on signal strength of a wireless signal from a single known source (e.g., a BLUETOOTH beacon, WI-FI transmitter, etc.) detected by the device, such solutions can often be inaccurate or inconsistent, varying based on the transmitter/receiver hardware in the device and/or the BLUETOOTH beacon…. “ “[0214] In certain embodiments, signals are transmitted when each reference device (e.g., network players, NMDs, etc.) and/or portable device performs a wireless (e.g., WI-FI) scan. Wireless scans in accordance with numerous embodiments can include broadcasting a first wireless signal that causes other wireless devices to respond with a second signal….”]
detecting the respective signals from the one or more playback devices in the set of playback devices; and [Soto: “[0214] … In a number of embodiments, wireless radios in each device can provide, as a result of a wireless scan, signal information, which can include (but is not limited to) an indication of which devices responded, an indication of how long ago the scan was performed/how long ago a device responded, and/or received signal strength indicator (RSSI) values associated with the response from a particular device. Signal information in accordance with certain embodiments is gathered in pairs between all of the devices.”]
determining that the acoustic space comprises the one or more additional playback devices based on detecting the respective signals from the one or more playback devices. [Soto: see [0214] above: … as a result of a wireless scan, signal information, which can include (but is not limited to) an indication of which devices responded …”]
Lang and Soto pertain to the same subject of the instant Claims and control of medial playback devices (all three assigned to same assignee) and it would have been obvious to modify the method of Lang to use the wireless signals of Soto for locating the various playback devices in the vicinity. This combination falls under simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results or use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. See MPEP 2141, KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. See [0109] of Soto considering BLUETOOTH beacons inferior.
Regarding Claim 14, Lang teaches:
14. The method claim 2,wherein detecting, via the first playback device, the respective signals includes extracting a playback device identifier from each of the respective signals. [Lang, “[0097] … In one case, the NMD 516 may transmit identification information corresponding to the NMD 516 to PBD 538 via NFC, and PBD 538 may in response, transmit local area network information to NMD 516 via NFC (or some other form of communication)….” (NFC= near field communication)]
(See also Sturdivant: [0122] and “[0124] As illustrated in FIGS. 14 and 15, outputted scanning ultrasound signal are transmitted from multiple ultrasound PAMs to one or more wireless communication devices. Returned signal including device identification code, e.g., User Datagram Protocol (UDP), algorithms are sent to one or more comparators, e.g., firmware or hardware implementations that provide signal comparison functionality. Return signal time delay, e.g., delta time, are utilized with velocity of sound wave to u, e.g., smart phones, for example, in room or location to determine relative distance.”)
Regarding Claim 15, Lang teaches:
15. The method of claim 1,
wherein the voice command is included in voice input detected via the first playback device, and [Lang teaches that a command may be carried out by the device that receives the voice command or may be sent to another more suitable device for execution so any of the first or second playback devices may execute the command. See Fig. 11, 1110, 1112, Fig. 25, 2520. “[0519] Some embodiments described herein involve controlling a media playback system via voice input. As indicated above, the examples provided herein involve a method. The method may include receiving a voice input that includes a command word and one or more media variable instances and determining that the voice input corresponds to music control. The method may further involve determining a command that corresponds to the command word and processing the voice input to identify a media playback system command corresponding to the intent….” “[0542] Certain words, syntaxes, and/or phrases may be associated with the same intent. For example, including the command word “play,” “listen,” or “hear” in a voice input may correspond to the user's intent that the media playback system play back media content….”]
wherein the voice input further includes a wake word.
Lang does not teach inclusion of the wake word as one of the “command words.”
Soto teaches:
wherein the voice input further includes a wake word. [Soto, Figure 5. Wake-word engine 570. “[0121] … For example, the NMD may identify whether speech includes a wake word associated with a particular VAS.” VAS= voice activated system. “[0191] The wake-word engine 570 can be configured to monitor and analyze received audio to determine if any wake words are present in the audio. The wake-word engine 570 may analyze the received audio using a wake word detection algorithm. If the wake-word engine 570 detects a wake word, a network microphone device may process voice input contained in the received audio. Example wake word detection algorithms accept audio as input and provide an indication of whether a wake word is present in the audio. Many first- and third-party wake word detection processes are known and commercially available. For instance, operators of a voice service may make their processes available for use in third-party devices. Alternatively, a process may be trained to detect certain wake-words.”]
Lang and Soto are analogous art and it would have been obvious to modify the NMD or PBD of Lang to also listen for wake words as taught by Soto. This combination falls under combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results or use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. See MPEP 2141, KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang in view of Soto and further in view of Sturdivant (US 20130181867).
Regarding Claim 6, Lang does teach (Figures 15-16) the generation of tones by PBDs for their identification which are “audio signals” but does not teach the broadcast feature.
Soto teaches the broadcast of wireless signals. “[0214] In certain embodiments, signals are transmitted when each reference device (e.g., network players, NMDs, etc.) and/or portable device performs a wireless (e.g., WI-FI) scan. Wireless scans in accordance with numerous embodiments can include broadcasting a first wireless signal that causes other wireless devices to respond with a second signal….” “[0229] … Signals in accordance with some embodiments are part of a wireless scan that is periodically performed by each reference device to maintain information regarding the other reference devices in an MPS.” Soto uses wireless signals to scan.
Ultrasound signals are not used by either.
Sturdivant teaches:
6. The method of claim 2, wherein the set of signals broadcast by the set of playback devices are at least one of:
audio signals; and ultrasound signals. [Sturdivant: “[0107] Referring to FIG. 11, a location based system 800 is disclosed. System 800 includes one or more phased array modules 802, 804, 806, 807 configured to scan to determine a signal strength indicator, e.g., RSSI, of a signal broadcasted from wireless mobile devices 828, 830, e.g., Smart Phone 1, Smart Phone 2, or other wireless communication device within a distance. Based on a signal strength indicator measured at multiple angular directions by the one or more phased array modules 802, 804, 806, 807 from wireless mobile device, e.g., smart phone 828, 830, a location of wireless mobile device, e.g., smart phone 828, 830 is determined within a room, building, or outside location. In one embodiment, one or more phased array modules 802, 804, 806, 807 are configured to scan an area includes to scan an area using at least one of the following: audio signals, e.g., ultrasound waves, radio waves, or Wi-Fi signals.”]
Lang/Soto and Sturdivant pertain to detection of devices and it would have been obvious to replace the broadcasted wireless signals of the combination with the audio and ultrasound signals of Sturdivant as an equivalent method. This combination falls under simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results or use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. See MPEP 2141, KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. See [0109] of Soto considering BLUETOOTH beacons inferior.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang in view of Soto.
Regarding Claim 17, Lang teaches:
17. A method of directing voice commands for playback devices, the method comprising: [Lang, Figure 5 showing the PBD devices 532, 534, 536, 538.]
detecting a voice command to be executed by at least one first playback device in a set of playback devices, wherein the voice command does not identify a playback device to execute the command; [Lang, Figure 9, 904. Playback is defined by zone and not by particular device. “[0148] As shown in FIG. 9, the method 900 involves maintaining a database comprising data indicating an assignment of an identification of a network microphone device to a playback zone at block 902, receiving a message indicating (i) the identification of the network microphone device and (ii) a media playback command at block 904, identifying the playback zone in the media playback system based on the data in the database and the received message at block 906, and transmitting to the playback zone, a message indicating the playback command at block 908.” “[0167] Referring again to Table 1 and FIG. 5, the bonded zone 530 (Master Bedroom) includes both PBDs 536 and 538. In one such case, computing device 506 may transmit the message indicating the media playback command to both PBDs 536 and 538. In another such case, computing device 506 may transmit the message indicating the media playback command to only one of the playback devices in the playback zone.” [0166] et. Seq. describe different conditions for selecting different devices.]
causing the set of playback devices to broadcast a set of signals, wherein each playback device in the set of playback devices broadcasts a respective signal in the set of signals; [Lang, Figure 15, teaches playing tones by devices to effectively locate the devices and Figure 16, teaches that the direction of the voice input is indicated but by use of tones and not by broadcast of signals: “[0251] … In response, at 1504, an audio tone may be output by the playback device. The network microphone device may receive the tone using the microphone array 606. The microphone array 606 may provide an indication of a magnitude of the tone. Additionally, the microphone array 606 may provide an indication of a direction of the tone. The direction may be determined based on receiving tones from a plurality of playback devices. Based on receiving tones from a plurality of playback devices, the network microphone device and/or associated computing device may then determine the acoustics of the environment. This way the network microphone device may not need to obtain this acoustics from a playback device.”]
detecting one or more respective signals in the set of signals; [Lang, Figures 15 and 16 teach playing tones by PBDs and detecting them by NMDs. See [0251] above.]
identifying the at least one first playback device to execute the voice command based on: [Lang, Figure 22, 2202. Determination of a primary PBD.]
(i) detecting the respective signal from the at least one first playback device; and [Lang, Figures 15-16, the signal being a tone.]
(ii) determining that an intent of the voice command will be fulfilled by the at least one first playback device executing the voice command; and [Lang, “[0519] … The method may further involve determining a command that corresponds to the command word and processing the voice input to identify a media playback system command corresponding to the intent. …”]
causing the at least one first playback device to execute the voice command. [Lang, Figure 10, 1012, and Figure 25: 2520: execute music control command. Figure 22, 2204 or 2206 both teach the PBD providing a feedback in response to the command. “[0519] … The media playback system may be caused to execute the command on the one or more media items.”]
Lang can locate the PBD devices using tones that the PBDs are directed to emit. But not signals.
Soto teaches:
causing the set of playback devices to broadcast a set of signals, wherein each playback device in the set of playback devices broadcasts a respective signal in the set of signals; [Soto teaches that it uses a broadcasting scan to locate the devices: “[0214] In certain embodiments, signals are transmitted when each reference device (e.g., network players, NMDs, etc.) and/or portable device performs a wireless (e.g., WI-FI) scan. Wireless scans in accordance with numerous embodiments can include broadcasting a first wireless signal that causes other wireless devices to respond with a second signal….”]
detecting one or more respective signals in the set of signals; [Soto: “[0214] … In a number of embodiments, wireless radios in each device can provide, as a result of a wireless scan, signal information, which can include (but is not limited to) an indication of which devices responded, an indication of how long ago the scan was performed/how long ago a device responded, and/or received signal strength indicator (RSSI) values associated with the response from a particular device. Signal information in accordance with certain embodiments is gathered in pairs between all of the devices.”]
Lang and Soto pertain to the same subject of the instant Claims and control of medial playback devices (all three assigned to same assignee) and it would have been obvious to modify the method of Lang to use the wireless signals of Soto for locating the various playback devices in the vicinity. This combination falls under simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results or use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. See MPEP 2141, KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. See [0109] of Soto considering BLUETOOTH beacons inferior.
Regarding Claim 18, Lang teaches:
18. The method of claim 17, wherein detecting the voice command includes detecting the voice command at a second playback device in the set of playback devices. [Lang, Figure 5, any and many of the devices shown in Figure 5 that are in the same zone can receive the audio command. Figure 7, 704. Figure 9, 908: playback command is transmitted to a zone that may include several PBD devices.]
Regarding Claim 19, Lang teaches:
19. The method of claim 17, wherein detecting the voice command includes detecting the voice command at one of a network microphone device or a controller device. [Lang, Figure 5: NMDs 512, 514, 516; PBD 532, 534, 536, 538; CR 522.]
Regarding Claim 20 , Lang teaches (similar to Claim 12):
20. The method of claim 17,wherein determining that the intent of the voice command will be fulfilled by the at least one first playback device executing the voice command comprises: [Lang, Figure 14, 1406: the voice input includes command: “[0248] … At 1406, voice input may be received, e.g., by the network microphone device. The voice input may be a voice command. The network microphone device might know it has received voice input through some button press on the network microphone device or command word in the voice input indicative of it being a voice input. At 1408, one or more of a filters and/or the audio content being played by the playback device may be applied/used to interpret the received voice input.”]
determining that the at least one first playback device is playing back audio content; and [Lang, Figure 17, 1702: the voice input includes command for change of volume: “[0269] At 1702, a message may be received. The message may be associated with a network microphone device….” “[0271] The message may be sent to one or more of the playback devices in the playback system….” “[0274] At 1704, the playback device may adjust, e.g., decrease its volume, at the time specified in the message …. The volume may be specified in the message received by the playback device ….”]
determining that the intent of the voice command is to alter playback of audio content. [Lang, Figure 17, 1704: change in volume: “[0274] At 1704, the playback device may adjust, e.g., decrease its volume, at the time specified in the message to a level below that of a volume that the network microphone device would use when it outputs content. The volume may be specified in the message received by the playback device or the volume may be already predefined by the playback device. …” “[0556] … In some aspects, the media playback system may receive the information and understand to also play the music currently being played in one or more zones in the specified zone and/or to include the specified zone in an existing group.”]
Claims 22 and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang in view of Salahuddin (U.S. 20210407532).
Regarding Claim 22, Lang teaches:
22. A method of directing voice commands in a media playback system, the method comprising:
detecting a first voice input including a first voice command to be executed by a first playback device in the media playback system;
deriving a first voice signature from the first voice input;
temporarily storing a first data set comprising the first voice signature and association information that associates the first voice signature with the first voice command and the first playback device; [Lang teaches the concept of a “registered user” which has a profile that’s stored. The profile permits the system to identify the user based on his voice command as well as other information about a user. However, formation storing and in particular temporarily storing the registered users’ profile is not discussed. “[0467] After receiving a voice command, the computing device of the media playback system determines whether the voice command was received from a registered user of the media playback system. In some embodiments, the media playback system may be registered to a particular user or one or more users in a household. In some embodiments, the computing device of the media playback system may be configured to link or associate a voice command to a registered user based on user profiles stored in the computing device….”]
detecting a second voice input including a second voice command executable by a plurality of playback devices in the media playback system, the plurality of playback devices including the first playback device, [Lang, Figure 24, 2402. “[0504] Method 2400 begins at block 2402, which includes receiving a voice command for a media playback system. In some embodiments, receiving a voice command includes the media playback system receiving a voice command via one or more of PBDs 532, 534, 536, and 538 and/or computing device 506 (which is configured as a media playback system server). In one example, the computing device 506 may convert the voice command to an equivalent text command, and parse the text command to identify a command.”] wherein the second voice command does not identify any playback device in the media playback system; [Lang, see rejection of Claim 1. The commands in Lang do not specify a particular PBD. [0467] above teaches that certain devices are linked to each user.]
deriving a second voice signature from the second voice input; [Lang, Figure 24, 2404. This step requires a comparison which is implied but not express in Lang.]
comparing the first voice signature to the second voice signature; [Lang, Figure 24, 2404. “Voice signature” is taught by “voice inputs stored in the media playback system's voice configuration settings.” “[0506] Next, method 2400 advances to block 2404, which includes determining whether the voice command was received from a registered user of the media playback system. In some embodiments, determining whether the voice command was received from a registered user may include computing device 506 determining whether there is a user profile stored on the media playback system that is associated with the voice command. For example, computing device 506 may try to match the voice command to information identifying a user's voice in a user profile.” “[0507] In some embodiments, determining whether the voice command was received from a registered user may include determining whether the voice command matches the voice inputs stored in the media playback system's voice configuration settings….”]
identifying a signature match based on the comparison; and [Lang, Figure 24, 2406. This step requires a match I which is implied but not express in Lang.]
based on the signature match and the association information stored in the first data set, causing the first playback device to execute the second voice command. [Lang, Figure 24, 2406. “[0508] Finally, method 2400 advances to block 2406, which includes in response to determining that the voice command was received from a registered user, configuring an instruction for the media playback system based on content from the voice command and information in a user profile for the registered user.”]
Lang teaches that the voice profile of a registered user can be used to authenticate the user however it does not go through the steps of formation of the voice signature.
Salahuddin teaches:
detecting a first voice input including a first voice command to be executed by a first playback device in the media playback system; [Salahuddin: “[0046] … According to an embodiment, the input received by the wearable device 110 may include a voice signature or an announcement signature. According to an embodiment, the voice signature may be an identifier representing a unique voice of each person. Thus, the voice signature may be different for each person….”]
deriving a first voice signature from the first voice input; [Salahuddin, Figure 4, 416, 424: “[0057] … he wearable device 110 may extract voice signature data from the received surrounding sound 402 (operation 406). For example, the wearable device 110 may extract a voice signature representing the voice of the user 130 from the received surrounding sound 402. The wearable device 110 may store the extracted voice signature data in a database (DB) 408….”]
temporarily storing a first data set comprising the first voice signature and association information that associates the first voice signature with the first voice command and the first playback device; [Salahuddin updates the previously stored signature with new incoming voice such that the previous signature becomes “temporarily stored”. Figure 4, 422 uses the most recent voice signature and keeps updating the signatures: “[0047] … According to an embodiment, when the voice signature detected from the received input matches with a pre-stored voice signature, the wearable device 110 may determine the conversation mode from among the plurality of operation modes as the operation mode, and may update the pre-stored voice signature, based on the detected voice signature. ….”]
…
identifying a signature match based on the comparison; and [Salahuddin, “[0011] According to an embodiment, the at least one processor may execute the one or more instructions to determine the conversation mode to be the operation mode of the wearable device, based on determining that a voice signature detected from the received input matches with a pre-stored voice signature.”]
Lang and Salahuddin pertain to identifying registered users based on their voice characteristics and it would have been obvious to combine the particular voice signature formations steps of Salahuddin with Lang that does not elaborate on the process of signature formation, storage, and update. This combination falls under combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results or use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. See MPEP 2141, KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Regarding Claim 27, Lang did not teach the particulars of signature formation and storage or update.
Salahuddin teaches:
27. The method of claim 22, further comprising after detecting the first voice input to be executed by a first playback device:
removing from storage the first data set; or
updating the first data set to disassociate the first voice signature and the association information. [Salahuddin updates the previously stored signature with new incoming voice such that the previous signature becomes “temporarily stored”. Figure 4, 422 uses the most recent voice signature and keeps updating the signatures:[0047]. “[0081] As described above, a recent voice signature may be stored in the storage of the wearable device 110, and the old voice signature may be deleted. Accordingly, a storage space of the wearable device 110 that may be limited may be efficiently utilized.”]
Rationale as provided for Claim 22.
Regarding Claim 28, Lang teaches:
28. The method of claim 22,
wherein the first playback device and at least one other playback device in the plurality of playback devices each have a context associated with the second voice command, wherein the context comprises playing back audio content, and wherein the second voice command comprises a command to alter the playback of the audio content. [Lang: The devices are grouped into zones or scenes and therefore one playback device can have at least one other playback device in the group. The commands listed all alter the playback of the audio content in a different way. The context is defined as the content that is being played back. Devices assigned to a same group or zone or scene have the common context namely the content being played. “[0444] In some embodiments, method block 2202 may additionally or alternatively include receiving a voice command via a networked microphone device configured to receive voice commands for a media playback system, wherein the media playback system comprises a primary media playback device configured to perform a function in response to voice commands received via the networked microphone device. In some embodiments, the function is one or more of (i) a playback function, e.g., start/stop playback, skip a track, (ii) a playlist function, e.g., add/remove a track from a playlist, (iii) a playback device configuration function, e.g., raise/lower volume, change equalizer settings, (iv) a media playback system configuration function, e.g., group playback devices into a synchrony group, activate a zone scene, and/or (v) any other function that can be performed by a playback device individually or by the media playback system as a whole.”]
Regarding Claim 29, Lang teaches:
29. The method of claim 28, wherein the second voice command comprises one of a command to stop the playback of the audio content, a command to change a volume of the playback of the audio content, a command to change an audio source of the audio content, or a command to identify the audio content. [Lang: “[0444] In some embodiments, method block 2202 may additionally or alternatively include receiving a voice command via a networked microphone device configured to receive voice commands for a media playback system, wherein the media playback system comprises a primary media playback device configured to perform a function in response to voice commands received via the networked microphone device. In some embodiments, the function is one or more of (i) a playback function, e.g., start/stop playback, skip a track, (ii) a playlist function, e.g., add/remove a track from a playlist, (iii) a playback device configuration function, e.g., raise/lower volume, change equalizer settings, (iv) a media playback system configuration function, e.g., group playback devices into a synchrony group, activate a zone scene, and/or (v) any other function that can be performed by a playback device individually or by the media playback system as a whole.”]
Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang and Salahuddin in view of O’Regan (U.S. 20170264599).
Regarding Claim 24, Lang did not teach the particulars of signature formation and storage or update.
Salahuddin, Figures 4 and 7-9, show a multiple of speakers and signatures including a third voice input that could have the first voice signature.
Neither teaches deleting a signature after a set time has elapsed. Namely deleting old signatures as expired.
O’Regan teaches:
24. The method claim 22,further comprising:
after a predetermined time period has elapsed without any playback device in the plurality of playback devices having detected a third voice input associated with the first voice signature, removing from storage the first data set. [O’Regan is directed to obtaining and using of biometric identifiers including voiceprints. See Figure 2 where the biometric data is used to authenticate a user (217). The encoded and stored biometric data is called a token (208). See Figure 3 for storage of “tokens” / voice signatures at a secure server 120. “[0065] The biometric input device (110) may be configured to obtain any appropriate form of a user's biometric data. Exemplary biometric data includes fingerprint, thumb print or palm records, iris or retina records, facial recognition records, DNA records, voice records, gait records and like. The biometric data may be any appropriate data representations (e.g. images, sequences, videos, audio recordings, etc.) of the user's biometrics from which unique features, characteristics and/or patterns can be extracted.” “[0085] … In the case of a voice biometric, the signature may be a numerical representation of the sound, pattern, and/or rhythm extracted from the sound recording.” “[0108] The token may have an expiry time or other condition associated with it, which once reached or met will cause the token to be deleted from the challenge device (112).”]
Lang and Salahuddin and O’Regan pertain to use of biometrics for authenticating a user and it would have been obvious to add the biometric signature removal of O’Regan after a lapse period to the system of combination for added security.
Regarding Claim 25, Lang and Salahuddin do not teach the expiration or removal of old voiceprints.
O’Regan teaches:
Lang teaches:
25. The method of claim 24, further comprising removing from storage the first voice signature. [O’Regan, Figure 3. “[0108] The token may have an expiry time or other condition associated with it, which once reached or met will cause the token to be deleted from the challenge device (112).”]
Rationale as provided for Claim 24.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang and Salahuddin in view of Henning (U.S. 20220328050).
Regarding Claim 26, Lang and Salahuddin do not teach the expiration or removal of old voiceprints.
Henning teaches:
26. The method of claim 22,further comprising:
after detecting the second voice input, detecting a third voice input to be executed by the first playback device, wherein the third voice input has a third voice signature different from the first voice signature; and after detecting the third voice input, removing from storage the first voice signature. [Henning teaches that the older voiceprints may be removed and replaced for different reasons upon receiving new ones: “[0031] The number of previous voice prints maintained in a set of previous voice prints (e.g., 124, 126, or 128) can be virtually any desired number, such as, for example, (up to) five, eight, ten, or other desired number of previous voice prints that can be greater than or lesser than ten. The authenticator component 102 can determine which previous voice prints to maintain in a set of previous voice prints (e.g., 124, 126, or 128) associated with a user account 104 and user, and which previous voice prints to remove from the set of previous voice prints, based at least in part on a variety of factors, including the number of previous voice prints in the set of previous voice prints, the defined threshold maximum number of previous voice prints that can be stored in the set of previous voice prints, an age of a previous voice print, the quality of a previous voice print, and/or other desired factors, in accordance with defined authentication criteria. For example, the authenticator component 102 can determine that, after a voice print of a current interaction is verified as being the voice of a user, that current voice print is to be stored as a previous voice print in the set of previous voice prints (e.g., 124, 126, or 128) associated with the user account 104 and user, and the oldest previous voice print in the set of previous voice prints (e.g., 124, 126, or 128) is to be removed (e.g., deleted or discarded) from the set of previous voice prints (e.g., if the set of previous voice prints already has a maximum number of voice prints and is not able to store the current voice print without removing one of the previous voice prints from the set of previous voice prints). As another example, the authenticator component 102 can determine that, after a voice print of a current interaction is verified as being the voice of a user, that current voice print is to be stored as a previous voice print in the set of previous voice prints (e.g., 124, 126, or 128) associated with the user account 104 and user, if the quality of the current voice print is determined by the authenticator component 102 to be higher than the quality of one of the previous voice prints (e.g., a lowest quality voice print) in the set of previous voice prints, and the previous voice print having the lowest quality is to be removed from the set of previous voice prints.”]
Lang and Salahuddin and Henning pertain to use of voiceprints for authenticating a user and it would have been obvious to add the signature removal of Henning for the variety of reasons provided by Henning to the system of combination for added security. This combination falls under combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results or simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2141, KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kventy (US 20160171883) “[0050] In particular, the processor component 110, in executing the control routine 122 and the broadcast message receiver 1221, may scan a particular frequency (e.g., BLE, Ultrasound, or the like) to receive the messages broadcast by the wireless beacons 200-1 and 200-2. As noted above, the broadcast messages comprise information (e.g., the information element 620) including indications of a location of the wireless beacons 200-1 and 200-2. In particular, the broadcast messages may include indications of a name of the area 1010, a name of the street over which the crosswalk 1011 crosses, or the like.”
/Fariba Sirjani/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2659