DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 28, 31-33, 35-41 and 43 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 29, 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1, 4-6 and 8-27 in the reply filed on July 29, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 15, in line 3, --- absolute --- should be added before “THb”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 4, claim 4 recites the same limitations as set forth in lines 6-7 of claim 1 and therefore claim 4 is indefinite as it is unclear as to whether Applicant intended to set forth that the same steps occur twice, or whether Applicant had not intended to recite the same limitations. For examination purposes, Examiner assumes the latter.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 4 repeats the same limitation that are set forth in lines 6-7 of claim 1, and thus fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim (i.e. claim 1) upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8-9, 12-16 and 20-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (“A near-infrared calibration method suitable for quantification of broadband data in humans”, 2010) in view of Benni (US Pub No. 2020/0033258) and Anderson et al. (US Patent No. 5,879,294).
With regards to claims 1 and 4, Zhang et al. disclose a method of non-invasively determining continuous total hemoglobin data, comprising:
using a near infra-red spectrophotometric (NIRS) sensing device (i.e. “The broadband near-infrared spectroscopy system”) on a continuous basis to sense a subject's tissue, wherein NIRS signals are produced from the sensing (Abstract; pg. 183, Section 2.3, referring to NIR attenuation spectra being measured using a custom built broadband near-infrared spectroscopy (bNIRS) system; pg. 183, Section 2.5, referring to the quantification of total hemoglobin being carried out by continuously recording HHB concentration, etc. using the bNIRS system); and
determining continuous absolute total hemoglobin (THb) data using the produced NIRS signals, wherein the step of determining continuous absolute THb data includes calibrating using a reference absolute value (i.e. a deoxyhemoglobin (i.e. [HHb]) value) acquired from the subject (pg. 182, left column, first paragraph, referring to the used of the graded hypoxia “calibration” method, wherein the graded hypoxia method is based on the desaturation-resaturation principle and is a modification of the “O2-method”, where the concentration of tHb was obtained by measuring the effects of a small change in arterial oxygen saturation (SaO2) on the HbO; pg. 182, Section 2.1.2, referring to Eq. 4, which is calculated using [tHb]c which is the concentration of total hemoglobin in the measured cerebral tissue and referring to obtaining total hemoglobin concentration in tissue by linear regression wherein “a straight line is obtained with the slope equal to [tHB]c”; pg. 184, left column, 2nd paragraph, referring to the St02 in the cerebral tissue being derived from Eq. 4 based on measured concentrations of HHb and tHb); pg. 183, Section 2.4, referring to [HHb] being measured by the bNIRS system during the baseline measurement and is used in the calibration via equation 4, etc.; pg. 183, Section 2.5, referring to the quantification of total hemoglobin comprising of a continuous recording of HHb concentration; pg. 185, left column, 2nd paragraph, referring to obtaining absolute values of HHb, HbO, as well as tHb and saturation).
However, Zhang et al. do not specifically disclose that the method further comprises providing an indication to perform a calibration of the NIRS sensing device based on the NIRS signals.
Additionally, Zhang et al. do not specifically disclose that the reference value used in the calibrating comprises a reference absolute THb value.
Benni discloses a method and apparatus of non-invasively determining a blood circulatory hemoglobin value for a subject using a near-infrared spectrophotometric (NIRS) sensing device, wherein a blood circulatory total hemoglobin (“blood circulatory THb”) value can be determined from an invasively collected blood sample using a CO-oximeter or blood-gas analyzer (Abstract; paragraphs [0035]-[0036]). The NIRS sensing device can be calibrated using the at least one blood circulatory THb value and the at least one NIRS tissue Total Hb value, wherein the calibration improves the accuracy and precision of the measurements (Abstract; paragraphs [0008], [0042]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the step of determining continuous absolute THb data include calibrating (i.e. such as calibrating the NIRS system that is used to obtain the [HHb] measurement) using a reference absolute THb value acquired from the subject, as taught by Benni, in order to improve the accuracy and precision of the measurements (Abstract; paragraph [0042]).
However, the above combined references do not specifically disclose that the method further comprises providing an indication to perform a calibration of the NIRS sensing device based on the NIRS signals.
Anderson et al. disclose a measurement system and method for measuring a relative concentration of a first form of a chromophore having a first form and a second form, wherein a NIR spectrometry system can be used (Abstract; column 12, lines 36-49; Figure 14). Hemoglobin measurements may be obtained (column 3, line 59-column 4, line 3). In order to maintain an adequate signal to noise ratio for each measurement and to avoid saturation of the detector array 1504, the detector 1504 integration time within the measurement console 1502 is automatically adjusted whenever a signal falls below or above a predetermined limit to ensure that the desired signal is accurately being detected and measured (column 21, left column, last line-column 22, line 18, note that the adjustment of the detector integration time corresponds to a calibration (i.e. adjustment for a particular function) of the NIRS sensing device, wherein the signal falling below or above a predetermined limit serves as an indication to perform the calibration/adjustment).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the method of Zhang et al. further comprise providing an indication to perform a calibration of the NIRS sensing device based on the NIRS signals, as taught by Anderson et al., in order to ensure that a desired signal is accurately detected and measured (column 22, lines 12-18).
With regard to claim 5, Benni discloses that the reference absolute THb value is acquired noninvasively from the subject (paragraph [0008], referring to “determining at least one NIRS tissue totalHb value based on the non-invasive sensing”).
With regards to claim 6, Benni discloses that the reference absolute THb value is acquired from a blood sample invasively collected from the subject (paragraph [0008], referring to “b) acquiring at least one circulatory blood sample from the subject at about the time T1; c) determining at least one blood circulatory THb value of the acquired circulatory blood sample”).
With regards to claim 8, Anderson et al. disclose that the step of providing the indication to perform said calibration of the NIRS sensing device is based on a determination of an acceptability of the NIRS signals for purposes of said determining of the continuous absolute THb data (column 22, lines 9-33, wherein a signal falling below or above a predetermined limit indicates an unacceptable signal as it requires an adjustment of the device).
With regards to claims 9, 16 and 22-23, Anderson et al. disclose that the determination of the acceptability of the NIRS signals includes evaluating the NIRS signals over a predetermined period of time (i.e. simultaneous time period or time prior to or following the probe (602) calibration) to determine a stability (i.e. signal is within predetermined limits) of the NIRS signals (column 22, lines 9-22, referring to the measurement console calibration occurring simultaneously or at any other time prior to or following probe 602 calibration).
With regards claim 12, Zhang et al. disclose that the step of determining continuous absolute THb data includes using oximetry features (i.e. tissue oxygen saturation, deoxyhemoglobin) based on NIRS signals (Abstract; pg. 182, Section 2.1.2, referring to obtaining the total hemoglobin concentration in tissue by linear regression based on plotting deoxyhemoglobin (i.e. [HHb]c against (1-SaO2)).
With regards to claim 13, Zhang et al. disclose that the oximetry features based on the NIRS signals include continuous relative tissue hemoglobin data (see Figures 1-2, wherein changes in hemoglobin values are determined over time, wherein hemoglobin changes corresponds to “relative” tissue hemoglobin data [note this is consistent with Applicant’s description of “relative” tissue hemoglobin data as set forth in paragraphs [0067]-[0068] of Applicant’s PG-Pub specification]).
With regards to claim 14, Zhang et al. disclose that the oximetry features based on the NIRS signals include at least one of skin temperature, a pathlength travelled by photons between a NIRS transducer light source and a NIRS transducer light detector, deoxygenated tissue hemoglobin, oxygenated tissue hemoglobin, or tissue oxygen saturation (Abstract; pg. 182, Section 2.1.2, referring to obtaining the total hemoglobin concentration in tissue by linear regression based on plotting deoxyhemoglobin (i.e. [HHb]c against (1-SaO2)).
With regards to claim 15, Anderson et al. disclose that the method further comprises evaluating the NIRS signals to determine an acceptability of the NIRS signals for purposes of said determining the continuous THb data (column 22, lines 9-33, wherein a signal falling below or above a predetermined limit indicates an unacceptable signal as it requires an adjustment of the device).
With regards to claim 20, as discussed above, the above combined references meet the limitations of claim 1. However, the above combined references do not specifically disclose that the step of determining said continuous absolute THb utilizes a trained machine learning model. Anderson et al. disclose the use of a neural network (i.e. a trained machine learning method) having calibration characteristics for transforming the measured spectral data emerging from the tissue of interest into quantified signals representative of a concentration of oxyghemoglobin with respect to a total concentration of hemoglobin (column 3, lines 59-column 4, line 3). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the step of determining said continuous absolute THb of the above combined references utilize a trained machine learning model, as taught by Anderson et al., in order to ensure that a desired signal is accurately detected and measured (column 22, lines 12-18).
With regards to claim 21, Anderson et al. disclose that the method further comprises providing an indication that the calibration of the NIRS sensing device is permissible based on the NIRS signals (column 21, left column, last line-column 22, line 18, wherein the signal falling below or above a predetermined limit serves as an indication that the calibration of the NIRS sensing device is permissible based on the NIRS signals).
With regards to claim 24, Zhang et al. disclose that the NIRS signals are in raw signal form (Abstract; pg. 183, Section 2.3, referring to NIR attenuation spectra (i.e. raw signals) being measured using a custom built broadband near-infrared spectroscopy (bNIRS) system).
Claim(s) 10-11, 17-18 and 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. in view of Benni and Anderson et al., as applied to claims 8, 15 and 21 above, and further in view of Choi (US Pub No. 2022/0233114).
With regards to claim 10-11, 17-18 and 25-26, as discussed above, the above combined references meet the limitations of claims 8, 15 and 21. However, the above combined references do not specifically disclose that the determination of the acceptability of the NIRS signals includes evaluating the NIRS signals over a predetermined period of time to assess a hemodynamic stability or changes of the sensed tissue, or, with regards to claims 25-26, that the indication that said calibration of the NIRS sensing device is permissible is based on a stability of a parameter determined using the NIRS signals, wherein the parameter is tissue oxygen saturation.
Choi discloses an apparatus for estimating oxygen saturation, wherein a difference between at least two optical signals among optical signals of multiple wavelengths may be calculated and it is determined whether there is a section in which the calculated difference is equal to or greater than a threshold value (Abstract; paragraphs [0099]-[0102]; Figure 6-7). At this time, if there is no section in which the difference is greater than or equal to the threshold, a user may be requested to re-measure the optical signals of multiple wavelengths (paragraph [0102]). A section in which the calculated difference is greater than or equal to the threshold value and the measured force value falls within the threshold and may be determined as a suitable section for estimating oxygen saturation (paragraph [0105]; Figure 6). Oxygen saturation may then be estimated based on the optical signals of multiple wavelengths in the determined suitable section (paragraphs [0082]-[0086], [0106]; note that the “suitable” section corresponds to stable oxygen saturation values (i.e. assessment of hemodynamic stability/changes). It can be further determined whether the measurement time period of the optical signals is longer than a predetermined time period (Abstract; paragraphs [0106]-[0109]; Figure 7). If it is determined that the measurement time period is longer than or equal to the predetermined time period, a point at which the longest-wavelength optical signal among the optical signals of multiple wavelengths reaches the maximum amplitude may be determined as a point in time of estimating oxygen saturation; if the measurement time period is less than the predetermined time period, the user may be guided to measure the optical signals for longer than the predetermine time period (paragraphs [0109]-[0111]). Oxygen saturation may be estimated based on the optical signals of multiple wavelengths at the point in time (paragraph [0112]; Figure 7).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the determination of the acceptability of the NIRS signals of the above combined references include evaluating the NIRS signals over a predetermined period of time to assess a hemodynamic stability or changes of the sensed tissue and that the indication that said calibration of the NIRS sensing device is permissible is based on a stability of a parameter determined using the NIRS signals, wherein the parameter is tissue oxygen saturation, as taught by Choi, in order to determine a stable oxygen saturation measurement which is useful for diagnostic purposes (paragraphs [0082]-[0086]).
With regards to claim 27, Zhang et al. disclose that the parameter is relative tissue hemoglobin data (see Figures 1-2, wherein changes in hemoglobin values are determined over time, wherein hemoglobin changes corresponds to “relative” tissue hemoglobin data [note this is consistent with Applicant’s description of “relative” tissue hemoglobin data as set forth in paragraphs [0067]-[0068] of Applicant’s PG-Pub specification]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. in view of Benni and Anderson et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zeng et al. (US Pub No. 2009/0270702).
With regards to claim 19, as discussed above, the above combined references meet the limitations of claim 1. However, the above combined references do not specifically disclose that the method further comprises estimating a blood volume fraction (BVF) of the sensed tissue.
Zeng et al. disclose a method and near-infrared device for disease detection, such as cancer detection, wherein blood volume fraction and blood oxygen saturation are used to describe blood contents in tissue (Abstract; paragraph [0046], [0074]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the method of the above combined references further comprise estimating a blood volume fraction (BVF) of the sensed tissue, as taught by Zeng et al., in order to provide describe blood contents in tissue that may be used for cancer detection (Abstract; paragraph [0074]).
Conclusion
/KATHERINE L FERNANDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798