DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 9, 13, 16-18, 20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida (US Pub No. 2020/0395526) in view of Nakatsuji (US Pub No. 2022/0246820) and Cardarelli (https://commons.princeton.edu/josephhenry/wp-content/uploads/sites/71/2019/08/Table-of-Seebeck-Coefficients-JH.pdf)
Regarding Claim 1, Ishida et al. teaches a thermoelectric conversion element [Fig. 3, 0082] comprising:
a thermoelectric conversion body including a conductive magnetic body [42, Fig. 3, 0067] containing a ferromagnetic body or an antiferromagnetic body capable of exhibiting an anomalous Nernst effect, and the thermoelectric conversion body extending linearly [Fig. 3, 0067, 0076]; and
a connection portion including a conductive body [44, Fig. 3, 0067] and electrically connected to the thermoelectric conversion body [42, Fig. 3, 0067], wherein
the connection portion has a layered structure composed of a plurality of conductive
layers [Co/Cu, 0068], and
Ishida et al. is silent on the layered structure includes a first conductive layer having a Seebeck coefficient lower than a Seebeck coefficient of the conductive magnetic body, and a second conductive layerhaving a Seebeck coefficient higher than the Seebeck coefficient of the conductive magnetic body.
Nakatsuji et al. teaches a thermoelectric material comprising Fe3Al, which has a seebeck coefficient of 3.5 uVK^(-1) [Fig. 14A, 0063]. The goal of Nakatsuji et al. is to provide a thermoelectric conversion element made of an inexpensive and non-toxic material, for a thermoelectric conversion device [0006].
Since Ishida et al. is open to a variety of thermoelectric materials, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to replace the thermoelectric conductive body 42 of Ishida et al. with the Fe3Al of Nakatsuji et al. in order to provide a thermoelectric conversion element made of an inexpensive and non-toxic material [0006].
Cardarelli et al. teaches cobalt and copper with the following Seebeck coefficients respectively; -13.3 uV/K and 7.5 uV/K [See page 2]
Since Ishida et al. teaches the use of Co and Cu as the conductive layers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to recognize the Seebeck coefficients of cobalt and copper as taught by Cardarelli et al. with the following values respectively -13.3 uV/K and 7.5 uV/K [See page 2].
Within the combination above, modified Ishida et al. teaches Fe3Al ( 3.5 uV/K), Cobalt (-13.3 uV/k), and Copper (7.5 uV/k). This results in a conductive layer with a Seebeck coefficient lower than the magnetic body and a conductive layer with a Seebeck coefficient higher than the magnetic body.
Regarding Claim 2, Ishida et al. teaches a thermoelectric conversion element [Fig. 3, 0082] comprising:
a thermoelectric conversion body including a conductive magnetic body [42, Fig. 3, 0067] containing a ferromagnetic body or an antiferromagnetic body capable of exhibiting an anomalous Nernst effect, and the thermoelectric conversion body extending linearly [Fig. 3, 0067, 0076]; and
a connection portion including a conductive body [44, Fig. 3, 0067] and electrically connected to the thermoelectric conversion body [42, Fig. 3, 0067], wherein
the connection portion has a layered structure composed of a plurality of conductive layers [Co/Cu, 0068], and silent on an absolute value of a difference between a Seebeck coefficient of the connection portion and a Seebeck coefficient of the conductive magnetic body is 5 µV/K or less.
Nakatsuji et al. teaches a thermoelectric material comprising Fe3Al, which has a seebeck coefficient of 3.5 uVK^(-1) [Fig. 14A, 0063]. The goal of Nakatsuji et al. is to provide a thermoelectric conversion element made of an inexpensive and non-toxic material, for a thermoelectric conversion device [0006].
Since Ishida et al. is open to a variety of thermoelectric materials, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to replace the thermoelectric conductive body 42 of Ishida et al. with the Fe3Al of Nakatsuji et al. in order to provide a thermoelectric conversion element made of an inexpensive and non-toxic material [0006].
Cardarelli et al. teaches cobalt and copper with the following Seebeck coefficients respectively; -13.3 uV/K and 7.5 uV/K [See page 2]
Since Ishida et al. teaches the use of Co and Cu as the conductive layers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to recognize the Seebeck coefficients of cobalt and copper as taught by Cardarelli et al. with the following values respectively -13.3 uV/K and 7.5 uV/K [See page 2].
Within the combination above, modified Ishida et al. teaches Fe3Al ( 3.5 uV/K), Cobalt (-13.3 uV/k), and Copper (7.5 uV/k). This results in a conductive layer with a Seebeck coefficient lower than the magnetic body and a conductive layer with a Seebeck coefficient higher than the magnetic body. The Seebeck difference between Fe3Al and copper is about 4 uV/K, which is less than 5 uV/K.
Regarding Claim 5, within the combination above, modified Ishida et al. teaches wherein an absolute value of a difference between an arithmetic mean value of Seebeck
coefficients of the conductive layers and the Seebeck coefficient of the conductive magnetic body is 10 µV/K or less [see rejection above]
Regarding Claim 6, within the combination above, modified Ishida et al. teaches wherein a content of at least one selected from the group consisting of Ti, Cr, Ni, Al, Zn, Nb, Pd, Ag, Ta, W, Pt, and Au in the conductive layer forming a surface layer of the layered structure is 10% or more based on the number of atoms [0067].
Regarding Claim 7, within the combination above, modified Ishida et al. teaches wherein a content of at least one selected from the group consisting of Cu, Al, Ag, and Au in at least one of the conductive layers is 50% or more based on the number of atoms [0067].
Regarding Claim 9, within the combination above, modified Ishida et al. teaches wherein at least one of the conductive layers includes a single-component metal [0067].
Regarding Claim 13, within the combination above, modified Ishida et al. teaches a sensor comprising the thermoelectric conversion element according to claim 1 [0140].
Regarding Claim 16, within the combination above, modified Ishida et al. teaches an absolute value of a difference between an arithmetic mean value of Seebeck coefficients of the conductive layers and the Seebeck coefficient of the conductive magnetic body is 10 µV/K or less [0067].
Regarding Claim 17, within the combination above, modified Ishida et al. teaches a content of at least one selected from the group consisting of Ti, Cr, Ni, Al, Zn, Nb, Pd, Ag, Ta, W, Pt, and Au in the conductive layer forming a surface layer of the layered structure is 10% or more based on the number of atoms [0067].
Regarding Claim 18, within the combination above, modified Ishida et al. teaches wherein a content of at least one selected from the group consisting of Cu, Al, Ag, and Au in at least one of the conductive layers is 50% or more based on the number of atoms [0067].
Regarding Claim 20, within the combination above, modified Ishida et al. teaches wherein at least one of the conductive layers includes a single-component metal [0067].
Regarding Claim 22, within the combination above, modified Ishida et al. teaches a sensor comprising the thermoelectric conversion element according to claim 2 [0140].
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida (US Pub No. 2020/0395526) in view of Nakatsuji (US Pub No. 2022/0246820) and Cardarelli (https://commons.princeton.edu/josephhenry/wp-content/uploads/sites/71/2019/08/Table-of-Seebeck-Coefficients-JH.pdf) as applied above in addressing claim 1, in further view of Kirihara (US Pub No. 2022/0326094)
Regarding Claim 10, within the combination above, modified Ishida et al. teaches wherein the thermoelectric conversion body has a plurality of first thin wires [83-2, Fig. 7B, 0122]., the connection portion has a plurality of second thin wires [Fig. 6, 0111], and silent on the first thin wires and the second thin wires are electrically connected to each other in series.
Kirihara et al. teaches wires corrected in series [0042] located in a device comprising a magnetic layer [0037, 0042].
Since modified Ishida et al. teaches the use of a device comprising a magnetic layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to modify the thin wires of modified Ishida et al. in series as taught by Kirihara et al. as it is merely the selection of a conventional engineering design and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Regarding Claim 11, within the combination above, modified Ishida et al. is silent on wherein the first thin wires and the second thin wires form fifty or more thin wire pairs, and
each of the fifty or more thin wire pairs consists of the first thin wire and the second thin wire.
As the cost of construction and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the amount of wires , with said construction cost and operating efficiency both changing as the amount of wires are changed, the precise parameters of the amount of wires would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed “ wherein the first thin wires and the second thin wires form fifty or more thin wire pairs, and each of the fifty or more thin wire pairs consists of the first thin wire and the second thin wire.” cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the parameters of the amount of wires to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida (US Pub No. 2020/0395526) in view of Nakatsuji (US Pub No. 2022/0246820) and Cardarelli (https://commons.princeton.edu/josephhenry/wp-content/uploads/sites/71/2019/08/Table-of-Seebeck-Coefficients-JH.pdf) and Kirihara (US Pub No. 2022/0326094) as applied above in addressing claim 10, in further view of Defranks (US Pub No. 2020/0187670)
Regarding Claim 12, within the combination above, modified Ishida et al. is silent on wherein the first thin wires and the second thin wires form a meander pattern.
Defranks et al. teaches a wire that can be in a meander pattern [0049].
Since modified Ishida et al. teaches wires for a thermoelectric device, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to modify the first and second thin wires in a meander pattern as taught by Defranks et al. as it merely the selection of a conventional engineering design and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida (US Pub No. 2020/0395526) in view of Nakatsuji (US Pub No. 2022/0246820) and Cardarelli (https://commons.princeton.edu/josephhenry/wp-content/uploads/sites/71/2019/08/Table-of-Seebeck-Coefficients-JH.pdf) as applied above in addressing claim 2, in further view of Kirihara (US Pub No. 2022/0326094)
Regarding Claim 21, within the combination above, modified Ishida et al. teaches wherein the thermoelectric conversion body has a plurality of first thin wires [83-2, Fig. 7B, 0122]., the connection portion has a plurality of second thin wires [Fig. 6, 0111], and the first thin wires and the second thin wires are electrically connected to each other in series.
Kirihara et al. teaches wires corrected in series [0042] located in a device comprising a magnetic layer [0037, 0042].
Since modified Ishida et al. teaches the use of a device comprising a magnetic layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to modify the thin wires of modified Ishida et al. in series as taught by Kirihara et al. as it is merely the selection of a conventional engineering design and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 8, 14-15, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Ishida (US Pub No. 2020/0395526) and Nakatsuji (US Pub No. 2022/0246820) are the closest prior art.
Modified Ishida et al. teaches all the structural limitations of the claim but does not disclose the limitations corresponding with expressions 1, 2, and 3, in claim 3, expressions 4 and 5 in claim 4, expressions 6-8 in claim 8, expressions 1-3 in claim 14, expressions 4-5 in claim 15, and expressions 6-8 in claim 19.
These references, nor any other reference or combination of references in the prior art suggest or render obvious the limitations corresponding with expressions 1, 2, and 3, in claim 3, expressions 4 and 5 in claim 4, expressions 6-8 in claim 8, expressions 1-3 in claim 14, expressions 4-5 in claim 15, and expressions 6-8 in claim 19.
Therefore; claims 1 and 2 are allowed once the limitations corresponding with claims 3-4, 8, 14-15, and 19 are incorporated into claims 1 and 2 respectively.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728