DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 7-10, 13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “second recess is arranged to accept the first alignment ring partially,” in line 4. It is unclear to the Examiner how the “second recess is arranged to accept the first alignment ring partially” if claim 4, from which claim 5 depends, recites “first recess is arranged to accept the first alignment ring partially, in lines 3-4. Both the first and second recess cannot be arranged to accept the same first alignment ring.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “second recess is arranged to accept the first alignment ring partially,” in line 4. It is unclear to the Examiner how the “second recess is arranged to accept the first alignment ring partially” if claim 6, from which claim 7 depends, recites “first recess is arranged to accept the first alignment ring partially, in lines 3-4. Both the first and second recess cannot be arranged to accept the same first alignment ring.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “second alignment ring is to be arranged partially in the second recess,” lines 2-3. The phrase “is to be” renders the claim indefinite, as the phrase does not positively disclose a limitation. Also, it is unclear to the Examiner how a second alignment ring would be partially in the second recess if the first alignment ring is claimed to be partially in the second recess as established in claim 7.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the second alignment ring" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the first recess" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the second recess" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites “claim 11 in line 2. Examiner believes this should read –claim 12--.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the second cylindrical section" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “particular a third cylindrical section, is in frictional engagement” in line 4. It is recommended to amend this limitation to read –having a third cylindrical section, in frictional engagement--.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “inserting the first alignment ring into the first groove of the first planetary member,” in lines 10-11. It is unclear to the Examiner how the first alignment ring can be inserted into the first groove, when in lines 8-9 of the same claim the method discloses inserting the first alignment into the first recess of the first ring. Once the first alignment ring has been inserted into the first recess of the first ring, it can not then be inserted into a groove of the planetary member.
Claim 19 discloses “inserting the second alignment ring into the second recess of the first ring wheel,” in lines 1-2. It is unclear to the Examiner how the second alignment ring could be inserted into the second recess after it has been inserted into the second groove as disclosed in claim 18, from which claim 19 depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AI (US 7,153,230 B2) in view of ERHARDT (DE 19914556 A1).
Regarding claim 1, AI discloses a mechanical speed reducing assembly comprising: a first sun wheel (2) a first ring wheel (1) arranged concentrically about the first sun wheel, such that the first sun wheel and the first ring wheel share a first symmetry axis, at-least a first planetary member (3, 22) comprising a first cylindrical section (3), which first cylindrical section is in frictional engagement with an outer surface (12) of the first sun wheel (2) and with an inner surface (9) of the first ring wheel (1), the first planetary member being arranged to rotate about a second axis, wherein the first planetary member comprises a circumferential first groove (see Fig. 4, on 22) and a circumferential second groove (Fig. 4, on 22), which are spaced apart from each other by the first cylindrical section (3), and further comprising at least a first alignment ring (24) which is secured against motion along the first symmetry axis and which protrudes into the first groove or the second groove
AI does not disclose the planetary member being hollow, or the first alignment ring being secured to the first sun wheel or to the first ring wheel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the planetary member so that it could be hollow to allow for lubrication or for weight reduction, as these reasons are well known in the art and would result in a potential increase in longevity of the speed reducer.
ERHARDT teaches a mechanical speed reducer wherein the planetary gear (2) has a groove (20) and a first alignment ring (21) being secured to the sun wheel (1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the speed reducer of AI such that the alignment ring would be secured to the sun gear, as taught by ERHARDT so simplify the design to have fewer parts, thereby lowering complexity, cost, possible supply chain issues, assembly time and part count.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of AI-ERHARDT discloses the first alignment ring (21) comprises an alignment shoulder, which is arranged to engage with a groove side face of the first groove or of the second groove, which groove side face is generally perpendicular to the second axis.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of AI-ERHARDT discloses the first groove or the second groove comprises a mating shoulder arranged to engage with the alignment shoulder.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of AI-ERHARDT discloses a second planetary member and a third planetary member similar to the first planetary member, which planetary members are arranged about the first symmetry axis, each of which is in frictional engagement with the outer surface of the first sun wheel and with the inner surface of the first ring wheel.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of AI-ERHARDT discloses at least the first planetary member comprises a second cylindrical section similar to the first cylindrical section, wherein the first
groove is arranged between the second cylindrical section and the first cylindrical
section.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6, 14, and 16 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 9341245 B2: Teaches the planet having 3 sections.
EP 2449286 B1: Teaches claim 14, thrust bearings (25a, b) engaging with the sun wheel (6a)
/DEREK D KNIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655