Priority
Foreign priority of foreign document GB2217820.6 filed 11/28/2022 is acknowledged. Further, it is acknowledged that instant application is a 371 of PCT/GB2023/053074 filed 11/28/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 03/27/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the references included have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
In instant specification, the use of the term Carbopol 71G® (pg. 5 line 13, pg. 7 lines 18 and 24, Table I-II), Kollidon SR® (pg. 5 line 14, pg. 7 lines 20 and 26, Table I-II), Opadry TF® (pg. 8 line 18), and Natrosol 250® (Table II), which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9, 11, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-6, 9, 11, and 16 the phrase “preferably” renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "preferably"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9, 11, and 16 are further indefinite as they recite broad and narrow ranges in regard to concentration, and it is unclear which range is considered limiting. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase "such as" and “like” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claims 3-6, the claims cite their dependency from claim 1, and states “…wherein the release retarding agent is selected from…”, which lacks antecedent basis since claim 1 states there are at least two release retarding agents. For the purpose of examination, the phrase is best interpreted to read “…wherein one of the release retarding agents is selected from…”.
Claims 5 and 13 are considered indefinite as they recite ingredients, then follow them with a trademark/trade name (Kollidon SR® and Odapry TF®). It is unclear whether the trademark/trade name is the source of these components in the composition, requiring this specific product in the composition to obtain these ingredients, or if these ingredients are in place of using the tradename product.
Claim 3 and 5 contains the trademark/trade name Kollidon SR®, claim 6 the name Carbopol 71G®, claim 13 Odapry TF®, and claim 15 Kollidon SR® and Carbopol 71G®. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name for claim 3, 5, and 15 (Kollidon SR®) is used to identify/describe the mixture of polyvinyl acetate and povidone and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. The trademark/trade name for claim 6 and 15 (Carbopol 71G®) is used to identify/describe a carbomer. Lastly, the trademark/trade name for claim 13 (Odapry TF®) is used to identify/describe a blend of polymers, plasticizers, and pigments that are titanium dioxide-free.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 10-11, 14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mei (US 20210000775 A1), as evidenced by Bühler et al. (Pharma Ingredients & Services, 2008, 9, 2-14), hereinafter Bühler.
Regarding claims 1, 3, 7, and 10, Mei discloses a sustained-release tablet formulation comprising 26.2 wt.% pregabalin (see Table 2, Comp. C) or 32.4 wt.% pregabalin (see Table 2, Comp. A and B). The formulation of Mei further comprises release retarding agents such as polyvinyl acetate, povidone, Carbopol (i.e. carbomer), and a film coating (see Table 2, Comp. C). Mei discloses that the composition has magnesium stearate which functions as a lubricant (i.e. pharmaceutically acceptable excipient, para. [0025]).
Regarding claim 2, Mei describes that the concentration of the polyvinyl acetate, povidone, and Carbopol (i.e. release retarding agents) make up 27.3 wt.% of Composition C (see Table 2).
Regarding claim 5, Mei discloses that Composition C has Kollidon SR® in an amount of 22.4 wt.% (see Table 2). Kollidon SR® is defined to be a combination of polyvinyl acetate, povidone, sodium lauryl sulfate, and silica, as taught in Bühler (pg. 14, line 10). Therefore the Kollidon SR® in Mei's Composition C comprises each component recited in instant claim 5.
Regarding claims 6 and 11, Composition C of Mei has 4.9 wt.% Carbopol (i.e. carbomer, see Table 2) and magnesium stearate in an amount of 0.74 wt.% (see Table 2).
Regarding claim 14, Mei discloses that the pregabalin free form is present in the tablet from about 330.0 g (Table 2, Comp. C).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Mei describes a dissolution test done for Composition C, where the tablets were analyzed in 900 mL of 0.06N HCl dissolution medium at 37º C ± 0.5, with a 50 rpm paddle speed (para. [0046]). It was found that the 330.0 mg tablets released 22% of the pregabalin at 1 hour, 51% at 4 hours, 62% at 6 hours and 75% at 9 hours (at 8 hours will fall between the 6 and 9 ranges), 83% at 12 hours, and 99% at 24 hours (see results in Table 3). The dissolution results recited in instant claim 17 for the most part overlap with the results disclosed in Mei, and as such are obvious. MPEP § 2144.05(I). While the results at hour 4 and 12 are slightly different between instant claim 17 and Mei, a prima facie case of obviousness still exists. See MPEP § 2144.05(I) ("The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.”) Titanium Metals Corp.of Americav.Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Further, the composition described in Mei is structurally identical to that of instant claim 1. It is noted that “[p]roducts of identical chemical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Sprada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The formulation of Mei and instant invention have the same chemical composition, and as such their properties are inseparable. Since Mei describes the identical chemical composition as instant invention, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. The properties that would be shared between instant invention and invention of Mei include dissolution properties, as in instant claims 16 and 17.
Regarding claim 18, It is noted that the limitation of the tablet being used for "…the treatment or prevention of neuropathic pain, epilepsy, fibromyalgia, diabetic peripheral neuropathy, postherpetic neuralgia, or generalized anxiety disorder" of instant claim 18 is a recitation of intended use. It is noted that a recitation of intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of meeting the intended use, then it meets the claim. As above, Mei discloses each component of the formulation of instant claim 1, and that the formulation has pharmaceutical applications. As such, the formulation of Mei is capable of performing the intended use as recited in instant claim 18. Further, the specification of Mei provides evidence for the intended use of the product, stating that the tablets (i.e. Composition C) are used in treatment of neuropathic pain, those with partial seizures, fibromyalgia, or a generalized anxiety disorder (para. [0042]), and can be used in diabetic peripheral neuropathy or postherpetic neuralgia (para. [0043]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mei (US 20210000775 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Mei describes that the composition can comprise microcrystalline cellulose, dextrose, fructose, sorbitol, xylitol, and sucrose (para. [0024]). Mei further discloses that the filler (i.e. mannitol, para. [0024]) makes up 4-6 wt.% (see claim 12).
Mei does not teach with sufficient specificity to anticipate and so the claims are obvious. It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to rearrange the teachings of Mei with a reasonable expectation of success to obtain the composition of the instant claims.
A reference is analyzed using its broadest teachings. MPEP 2123 [R-5]. “[W]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious”. KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S,Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007)(quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious”, the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007). The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742. A person of ordinary skill in the art who is not an automaton is capable of producing the method of the instant claims with predictable results.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mei (US 20210000775 A1) in view of Kanasty (US 20220387311 A1).
As described above, Composition C of Mei has 27.3 wt.% of release retarding agents (see Table 2). However, Mei does not disclose that the release retarding agents include hydroxyethyl cellulose.
Regarding claim 4, Kanasty teaches a sustained-release pharmaceutical formulation (see abstract), and describes that hydroxyethyl cellulose can function can a release-rate modulating polymer (i.e. release retarding agent, para. [0436]).
Mei and Kanasty are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of pharmaceutical formulations for sustained release of an active agent. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to substitute the hydroxyethyl cellulose of Kanasty into Composition C of Mei, which comprises 27.3 wt.% release retarding agents. Simple substitution of one release retarding agent with another is within the purview of the skilled artisan, and would yield predictable results. MPEP § 2143(I)(b).
Claim(s) 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mei (US 20210000775 A1) in view of Kolter (US 20110117142 A1).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Mei describes that the film coating system of the tablets are commercially available under the name Opadry® (para. [0028]), but does not list Opadry® TF specifically, as recited in instant claim 13. Kolter describes a method for coating tablets, where the coating is not tacky, has good adhesion to the substrate surface, and is stable to mechanical stress during storage (para. [0002]). Kolter teaches that polyvinyl alcohol and polyethylene glycol are known as film-forming components in the coating compositions (para. [0003]), and describes that talc and calcium carbonate function as a white pigment in the coating (para. [0076]), and talc also works as a detackifier (para. [0077]).
Mei and Kolter are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of sustained release film-coated tablets. Kolter describes the benefits of polyvinyl alcohol, calcium carbonate, polyethylene glycol, and talc in a coating for a pharmaceutical tablet, as described above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to incorporate the polyvinyl alcohol, calcium carbonate, polyethylene glycol, and talc of Kolter into the coating of Mei, as Kolter teaches that these components each can improve the function and the appearance of a coating on a tablet. MPEP § 2143(I)(a).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mei (US 20210000775 A1) in view of Gao (CN 108478537 A; see machine translation retrieved 10/07/2026), in further view of Sesha (WO 2013063263 A1).
While Mei teaches the claimed invention as above, it fails to teach the method of preparing the tablets.
Regarding claim 15, Gao teaches a method of preparing a controlled-release tablet containing pregabalin, which is suitable for once-daily oral administration (para. [0002]). Gao teaches that the pregabalin, mannitol, and hydroxypropyl cellulose are passed through a 30-mesh sieve to remove lumps, then mixed in a material mixer for 20 minutes. Magnesium stearate is then passed separately through a 30-mesh sieve and then mixed with the pregabalin powder for 3 minutes to obtain the final blend. (para. [0037]). Gao then describes that the blended composition is compressed into tablets (para. [0038]), and is coated at 30-40 ºC (para. [0039]). The temperature of coating as recited in instant claim 15 overlaps with that of Gao, and as such is obvious. MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Mei and Gao are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of preparing controlled-release tablets with pregabalin that are effective for once a day administration. As described above, both hydroxyethyl cellulose and hydroxypropyl cellulose are release retarding agents and simple substitution of one agent with another is within purview of the skilled artisan. The method of Gao is optimizable, inviting experimentation with parameters such as sieve size, time of mixing, and RPM at which the ingredients are mixed at. Therefore it would have been obvious to use the method described in Gao, to combine each component of Composition C described in Mei, except the magnesium stearate, and pass them through a sieve before blending them. The magnesium stearate is added after going through a sieve, and the final composition is mixed before being pressed and coated to form tablets. Gao describes this process to be effective to produce sustained-release tablets with pregabalin, and as such it would be obvious to use this process to obtain Composition C of Mei. Further, one would be motivated to increase the amount of time of blending to 15 minutes, as recited in instant claim 15, instead of the 3 minutes described in Gao, to ensure the composition is thoroughly combined. MPEP § 2143(I)(g).
While Mei and Gao teach the claimed invention and most components of instant claim 15 as above, they fail to teach a process of preparing the tablets where the pregabalin and ethyl cellulose are passed through a #40 mesh sieve, and the magnesium stearate is passed through a #60 mesh sieve. Sesha teaches a preparation process for a modified release tablet comprising pregabalin (para. [0155]). Sesha describes that the pregabalin and ethyl cellulose are first passed through a #40 sieve to remove agglomerates (para. [0155]). The materials were mixed in a blender for 15 minutes, before magnesium stearate, which was passed through a #60 sieve, was added to the mixture and combined for 4 minutes (para. 0156]).
Mei, Gao, and Sesha are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of preparing sustained-release tablets that comprise pregabalin. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to substitute the 30-mesh sieve of Gao with 40 and 60-mesh sieves, as described in Sesha, since these are known in the art to have smaller openings and would be more effective in removing agglomerates, which is the purpose of the sieve described in both Gao and Sesha. Both Gao and Sesha describe that each type of mesh sieve is known in the art to function to remove agglomerates, and can be used to formulate pharmaceutical tablets. Simple substitution of one size sieve for another is within the purview of the skilled artisan, and would yield predictable results. Further, Sesha teaches that the 40 mesh sieve is effective before blending pregabalin and ethyl cellulose, and that the 60 mesh sieve is effective for the magnesium stearate, for producing tablets for extended release. See MPEP § 2143(I)(b).
Conclusion
Claims 1-18 are rejected.
/BETHANY P BARHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/M.R.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1611