DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the recitation in line 6 “the rim consists of at least two wheel parts” is indefinite because it implies the wheel is part of the rim, but the rim is part of the wheel. It is suggested by Examiner to change the recitation to “the wheel consists of at least two wheel parts”, for greater clarity.
Regarding Claim 1, the recitation in line 8-9 “wheel parts can be disassembled individually, wherein at least part of one of the rim shoulders can likewise be disassembled from the wheel part” is indefinite because it implies the rim shoulders are parts separate from the wheel part, and able to be separately disassembled from the wheel parts, but the rim shoulders are part of the wheel part. It is suggested by Examiner to change the recitation to “wheel parts can be disassembled individually, wherein at least part of one of the rim shoulders can likewise be disassembled from the other rim shoulder on the other wheel part”, for greater clarity.
Regarding Claim 3, the recitation “during the disassembly of one of the wheel parts, one of the rim shoulders is completely disassembled”, is indefinite, as it implies the rim shoulders are parts separable from and during the disassembly of one of the wheel parts, one of the rim shoulders is completely disassembled from the wheel parts to which they are integrally attached. It is suggested by Examiner to change the recitation to “during the disassembly of one of the wheel parts, the associated rim shoulder is also completely disassembled
Regarding Claims 1, 8, 9, 14, 17 and 18 the recitations using “can be”, or “can likewise be” are indefinite, as it is unclear if the words following are “optional”. It is suggested by Examiner the recitations be changed to “is” or “are” for greater clarity.
Regarding Claim 14, the recitation “the material of the wheel parts can be processed by an injection-molding process”, are method limits in a product claim and as such are not limiting: “the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production., MPEP 2113). Since this is the entirety of claim 14, Examiner has suggested deleting claim 14 entirely, and it will not be examined.
Regarding Claim 15, the recitation “they touch almost completely”, is indefinite, because either parts touch completely or not, they cannot almost touch. It would be suggested by the Examiner to change the recitation to “touch completely”, but this would render claim 15 to not further limit claim 4, as would be equivalent to claim 7, and so it suggested by the Examiner that Claim 15 be deleted entirely, and thus will not be examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 12-13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US-5782540-A to Camfield (“Camfield”).
Regarding Claim 1, Camfield discloses a rim (50) for a wheel (110 Col 6 lines 16-Col 7 line 17, Fig 4-10, similar to 20, but including power transmission in hub assembly) which can be supplied with a tire (not shown, Col 8 lines 62-64), wherein the rim has a rim base (formed by 63 “lip” shown as an outer tab in top of Fig 11, and 65 “shoulder” shown inner tab in top of Fig 11; the bottom of Fig 11, show opposite, 62 as inner tab, 65 as outer tab) and rim shoulders (32a, 32b, “wheel flanges”) and wherein the wheel is designed as a disk wheel characterized in that: thewheel consists of at least two wheel parts (120a, 120b) which can be detachably connected to one another and which form the rim (Fig 12) of the disc wheel and that the wheel parts can be disassembled individually (Fig 11), wherein at least part of one of the rim shoulders can likewise be disassembled from the other rim shoulder on the other wheel part.
Regarding Claim 2, Camfield discloses the rim according to Claim 1, characterized in that the rim is formed from two mutually identical wheel parts (120a, 120b, “preferably identical”, Col 6 line 7).
Regarding Claim 3, Camfield discloses the rim according to Claim 1, characterized in that, during the disassembly of one of the wheel parts (120a, or 120b), the associated rim shoulderis also completely disassembled.
Regarding Claim 4, Camfield discloses the rim according to Claim 1, characterized in that the wheel parts each have inner tabs and outer tabs (as described in paragraph 12 of this document) which are arranged offset (offset so as to overlap, Col 6, line 12, Fig 11, 12) with respect to one another and which, when the wheel parts are arranged on one another (Fig 12), engage in an alternating manner (Col 6 lines 10-15, Fig 12), so that the inner tab of a running wheel part is arranged further inside in the radial direction of the wheel than the outer tab of the wheel part arranged opposite this wheel part.
Regarding Claim 5, Camfield discloses the rim according to Claim 1, characterized in that the outer tabs and the inner tabs are arranged close to the respective outer circumference of the wheel part (as shown in Fig 11).
Regarding Claim 6, Camfield discloses the rim according to Claim 1, characterized in that, in the mounted state of the rim the outer tabs of the wheel parts form the bottom of the rim base (as shown Fig 12).
Regarding Claim 7, Camfield discloses the rim according to Claim 1, characterized in that the outer tabs are adapted to one another from their outer contours, so that in the assembled state of the rim they touch completely (as shown Fig 12).
Regarding Claim 12, Camfield discloses the rim according to Claim 1, characterized in that the wheel parts are fixed to one another by a screw connection (via screws 49 in 23 holes fixing 120a, 120b at center to hub and to eachother at rims, 149 Fig 7, Fig 9).
Regarding Claim 13, Camfield discloses the rim according to Claim 1, characterized in that the wheel parts consist of plastic (Abstract line 1, Col 6 lines 33-52).
Regarding Claim 17, Camfield discloses the rim according to Claim 1, characterized in that the wheel parts consist of a fiber-reinforced thermoplastic material (Col 6 lines 43-47).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-11, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camfield as applied to claim1 above, and further in view of DE-202021100517-U1 to Schuhbiesser (“Schuhbiesser”).
Regarding Claim 8, Camfield discloses the rim according to Claim 1, characterized in that an additional device (a power transmission, Col 6 lines 20) is provided, but does not disclose the additional device, can be detachably received in a receptacle in at least one of the wheel parts.
Schuhbiesser discloses a wheel (3) formed by two shells (30, Fig 7) including a motor (electric motor 40, English Translation Page 2, Para 1 “the motor attached inside the wheel cavity upon the hub/axle [e.g. a receptacle], Fig 3, Page 7 Para 2 beginning “Every wheel 3..”,Page 2 Para 1 beginning “wherein the outer ring (31)…”, “in 45 an inner receiving device [i.e. housing] Para 4 beginning “2 shows a three-shell…”, Figs 3-8) , partial rings 45a, 45b, 45c enclose the drive device/motor” Page 5 beginning “As in 3 shown..”,each ring having 231 ears [e.g. protrusions] and holes [e.g. recesses] for fasteners to connect the motor Fig 4 ).
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the rim and the rim having an electric motor as an additional device, attached to the wheel in a receptacle, having a housing, in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the rim of Camfield and the teaching of the additional device of an electric motor, in a receptacle of the wheel, having a housing of Schuhbiesser, to modify the rim (of Camfield) such that it includes a motor therein, with the motivation include an electric means to propel the vehicle, having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 9, Camfield discloses the rim according to Claim 1, characterized in that the device has a housing (as just described in paragraph 25 of this document) on which one or more projections (22) are arranged, while the receptacle (as just described in paragraph 25 of this document) has one or more recesses (as just described in paragraph 25 of this document) through which the projections (as just described in paragraph 25 of this document) can be guided during assembly, and wherein, by rotating the device the projections on the housing can be brought into operative connection with counter- projections on the rim (italicized limits: are method limits in a product claim and as such are not limiting: “the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production., MPEP 2113) and as a result the device is held in place in the receptacle
Regarding Claim 10, Camfield discloses the rim according to Claim 1, characterized in that the device is arranged on the hub of the wheel (as just described in paragraph 25 of this document).
Regarding Claim 11, Camfield discloses the rim according to Claim 1, characterized in that the device is a motor (as just described in paragraph 25 of this document) or a generator or a transmission.
Regarding Claim 16, Camfield discloses the rim according to Claim 1, characterized in that, during the rim according to Claim 8, characterized in that the device is fixed to at least one of the wheel parts by a screw connection (as just described in paragraph 25 of this document).
Regarding Claim 18, Camfield discloses the rim according to Claim 1, characterized in that, during the rim according to Claim 1, characterized in that the material of the wheel parts are plastic, but does not disclose the wheel parts can be recycled by an injection-molding process.
Whether the parts of the wheel of Camfield are recyclable or not, and/or the end use after recycling are not inventive concepts, but rather a potential end use thereof. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a specific plastic material that was recyclable and suitable for reuse as material for injection molding, for the wheel of Camfield, with the motivation have an environmentally conscious wheel product with a useful disposal outcome once no longer in use, having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, listed on PTO-892 is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, disclosing at least one of: a plastic wheel, formed by two wheel parts, forming a rim, that receives a tire, having inner and outer tabs, an electric motor in the hub housing.
Conclusion
/EVA L COMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615