DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This action is responsive to the claims filed 28 March 2025.
Claims 39-59 are currently pending and being examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 48 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 48 ends in a comma, which should end in a period.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 40, 42, and their dependents are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 40 recites “the insulative sheet comprises paper”, which is unclear because claim 39 already recites what the insulative sheet comprises. So, is this actually what the insulative sheet is made of or is it in addition to what was recited in claim 39. Examiner will interpret as “the insulative sheet further comprises paper”.
Claim 42 recites “the insulative sheet comprises a barrier sheet”, which is unclear because claim 39 already recites what the insulative sheet comprises. So, is this actually what the insulative sheet is made of or is it in addition to what was recited in claim 39. Examiner will interpret as “the insulative sheet further comprise a barrier sheet”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 39-44, 47, 52, 54-56, and 58-59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cals (US 2003/0145561).
Cals teaches:
Claim 39: A method for forming thermal insulation (abstract), the method comprising:
providing an insulative sheet (48-fig.4; 64-fig.5; 386-fig.21) having a thickness;
determining a layer count for the insulative sheet to obtain a desired insulation characteristic based on the thickness of the insulative material (¶[0076]-[0078];[0083]-[0085];[0113]-[0116]); and
forming a pad having a desired length and width by layering the insulative material the layer count times (¶[0041],[0105]-[0107],[0117],[0118]-[0119]),
wherein the layer count is greater than or equal to one (at least ¶[0043],[0113]), and
the insulative sheet comprises one or more of a sheet having an air gap (¶[0004],[0011]) or a fibrous material sheet (¶[0004]).
Claim 40: The method of claim 39, wherein the insulative sheet comprises paper (¶[0004],[0011]).
Claim 41: The method of claim 39, wherein the forming comprises forming the insulative sheet in-line with the forming of the thermal insulation (fig.25; ¶[0115]-[0120]).
Claim 42: The method of claim 39, wherein the insulative sheet comprises a barrier sheet (¶[0004],[0072],[0076]; kraft paper is a type of barrier sheet and the pads are made up of one or more plies of sheet material).
Claim 43: The method of claim 42, wherein the barrier sheet is disposed between two layers of the insulative sheet layers (¶[0004],[0072],[0076]; kraft paper is a barrier sheet and an insulative sheet and the pads are made of at least 3 plies).
Claim 44: The method of claim 42, wherein the barrier sheet forms an outer surface of the pad ((¶[0004],[0072],[0076]; kraft paper is a barrier sheet and an insulative sheet and the pads are made of at least 3 plies, therefore the barrier sheet would be on an outer surface of the pad).
Claim 47: The method of claim 39, wherein the determining comprises determining the layer count based on a cushioning requirement of the pad (¶[0041],[0105]-[0107],[0117],[0118]-[0119]).
Claim 52: The method of claim 39, wherein the insulative sheet is provided as a roll (see fig. 4 showing the pad 14 formed as smashed rolls; see fig.5 showing pad 64 being formed as a roll; ¶[0083]-[0085]).
Claim 54: The method of claim 39, wherein the forming comprises adjusting a dimension of a mandrel to form the pad to the desired length and width (¶[0083]-[0085],[0119]), and wrapping the insulative sheet around the mandrel to obtain the layer count (¶[0083]-[0085]).
Claim 55: The method of claim 39, further comprising receiving, from an input device, the desired physical characteristics of the pad (484-fig.25; ¶[0035],[0039],[0115]).
Claim 56: The method of claim 39, further comprising receiving, from an input device (484-fig.25), one or more of a minimum loop count, a minimum layer count, a transit time, a characteristic of a product to be shipped, and a desired number of units to be made (at least ¶[0035],[0039],[0083]-[0085],[0115]).
Claim 58: The method of claim 39, wherein the pad comprises a plurality of pads, each having a respective thickness and a respective length (10-fig.1; 20-fig.2; 30-fig.3; ¶[0072]-[0074]).
Claim 59: The method of claim 39, further comprising lining a sidewall of a container (C-fig.7) with the pad (90-fig.7; ¶[0087]-[0088]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 45 and 57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cals (US 2003/0145561) in view of Fallgren (US 2018/0134427).
Cals teaches:
Claim 45: The method of claim 42.
Cals does not expressly teach the barrier sheet comprises a coating to repel water.
However, Fallgren teaches a barrier sheet (180-fig.13) comprises a coating to repel water (190-fig.13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the method of Cals, by having a water vapor impermeable membrane bonded to the kraft paper, as taught by Fallgren, for "reducing or preventing paper disintegration due to paper wetness”. (Fallgren ¶[0062]).
Claim 57: The method of claim 39.
Cals does not expressly teach integrating the pad into a bag or liner comprising a moisture barrier.
However, Fallgren teaches integrating the pad (at least 180-fig.12) into a bag (20-fig.9) comprising a moisture barrier (190-fig.13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the method of Cals, by having a water vapor impermeable membrane bonded to the kraft paper, as taught by Fallgren, for "reducing or preventing paper disintegration due to paper wetness”. (Fallgren ¶[0062]).
Claim(s) 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cals (US 2003/0145561) in view of De Luca (US 2013/0171422).
Cals teaches:
Claim 46: The method of claim 39.
Cals does not expressly teach one of the layers of the insulative sheet layers is white.
However, De Luca teaches one of the layers of the insulative sheet layers is white (¶[0069],[0073]-[0074]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the method of Cals, by having a layer being made of white kraft paper, as taught by De Luca, as a well-known color of kraft paper used in insulative pads.
Claim(s) 48-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cals (US 2003/0145561) in view of Crespo (US 2011/0072847).
Cals teaches:
Claim 48: The method of claim 39.
Cals does not expressly teach the air gap is between 0 centimeters and 1 centimeter.
However, Crespo an air gap is between 0 centimeters and 1 centimeter (¶[0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the method of Cals, by having small air pockets, as taught by Crespo, to trap air between the sheets to further increase the thermal properties of the material. (Crespo ¶[0009]-[0010],[0024]-[0025])
Claim 49: The method of claim 39.
Cals does not expressly teach the air gap is provided by protrusions.
However, Crespo teaches an air gap is provided by protrusions (see fig.1A showing a plurality of pockets 106 formed by a plurality of protrusions in the crumpled sheets 109).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the method of Cals, by having small air pockets, as taught by Crespo, to trap air between the sheets to further increase the thermal properties of the material. (Crespo ¶[0009]-[0010],[0024]-[0025])
Cals as modified by Crespo teaches:
Claim 50: The method of claim 49, wherein the protrusions are dome shaped (Crespo: see fig.1A showing the plurality of pockets are dome shaped).
Claim(s) 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cals (US 2003/0145561) in view of Crespo (US 2011/0072847), further in view of Madanagopal (US 2021/0253330).
Cals as modified by Crespo teaches:
Claim 51: The method of claim 49.
Cals as modified by Crespo does not expressly teach embossing the insulative sheet to form the protrusions.
However, Madanagopal teaches embossing the insulative sheet to form the protrusions (figs.21-23; ¶[0261]-[0263]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the method of Cals and Crespo, by having the protrusions be formed by embossing, as taught by Madanagopal, to ensure that the protrusions are evenly spaced throughout the sheet and thus improving thermal efficiency. (Madanagopal ¶[0264])
Claim(s) 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cals (US 2003/0145561) in view of Conway (US 2018/0141741).
Cals teaches:
Claim 53: The method of claim 39.
Cals does not expressly teach the insulative sheet has an emissivity value of less than 0.9.
However, Conway teaches an insulative sheet has an emissivity value of less than 0.9 (¶[0013],[0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the method of Cals, by having an emissivity value of less than 0.9, as taught by Conway, depending on what is being packaged the emissivity value can ensure that the product is properly protected.
Conclusion
/KATIE L GERTH/Examiner, Art Unit 3731