DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-19 are currently pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (KR 20160085437 A), hereafter referred to as “Park”.
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a liquid treatment apparatus (figs. 1-3) for nutrient solution cultivation as an apparatus (see attached machine translation, abstract), for treating liquid used for nutrient solution cultivation (see attached machine translation, abstract), the liquid treatment apparatus comprising:
a main treatment tank (110) in which a main treatment space for storing a liquid to be treated is provided (machine translation, paragraphs 4-5 under “DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS”);
a spray nozzle for spraying, in a bubble form, in the main treatment space, treatment gas for treating the liquid to be treated (machine translation, page 4, paragraph 6 and claim 7);
a plasma reactor using a plasma reaction so as to generate the treatment gas supplied through the spray nozzle (machine translation, claim 7); and
an ultraviolet lamp for generating, in the main treatment space, ultraviolet rays for treating the liquid to be treated (machine translation, page 4, paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses the liquid treatment apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses that the plasma reactor and the ultraviolet lamp operate so that a treatment section that is time at which the liquid to be treated is treated, is set (machine translation, claims 4 and 5, as best understood), and the treatment section partially overlaps a supply section of a liquid to be treated that is time at which the liquid to be treated is supplied to the main treatment space, and a starting point of the treatment section is slower than a starting point of the supply section of the liquid to be treated (machine translation, claims 4 and 5, as best understood).
Regarding claim 19, Park discloses a nutrient solution cultivation system (figs. 1-3) comprising:
a plant cultivation bed (130) in which a plant to be cultivated by a nutrient solution is planted (machine translation, page 3, paragraph 4 under “DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS”);
a nutrient solution tank (110) in which the nutrient solution supplied to the plant cultivation bed is stored (machine translation, page 3, paragraph 4 under “DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS”); and
a liquid treatment apparatus (300) for treating a nutrient solution after use discharged from the plant cultivation bed (machine translation, page 3, paragraph 3 under “DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS”),
wherein the liquid treatment apparatus comprises a main treatment tank (310) in which a main treatment space for storing the nutrient solution after use is provided (machine translation, page 4, paragraph 3), a spray nozzle for spraying, in a bubble form, in the main treatment space, treatment gas for treating the nutrient solution after use (machine translation, page 4, paragraph 6 and claim 7), an ultraviolet lamp for generating ultraviolet rays for treating the nutrient solution after use in the main treatment space (machine translation, page 4, paragraph 7), and
a plasma reactor using a plasma reactor so as to generate the treatment gas supplied through the spray nozzle (machine translation, claim 7), and
a treatment liquid in which the nutrient solution after use is treated by the liquid treatment apparatus and is discharged, is supplied to the nutrient solution tank (machine translation, abstract).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park and Hwang (KR 20200132169 A), hereafter referred to as “Hwang”.
Regarding claim 5, Hwang discloses a liquid treatment apparatus for nutrient solution cultivation as an apparatus (figs. 1-10), for treating liquid used for nutrient solution cultivation (see attached machine translation, abstract), the liquid treatment apparatus comprising:
a main treatment tank (133a) in which a main treatment space for storing a liquid to be treated is provided (machine translation, pages 11-12);
a spray nozzle (131d, 131e; machine translation, pages 10-11 and fig. 9) for supplying, in a bubble form, in the main treatment space, discharge gas as the liquid to be treated (machine translation, pages 10-11 and fig. 9);
an electrode module (133d, 133e; machine translation, page 12) placed above the spray nozzle in the main treatment space and for generating plasma discharge within the liquid to be treated using the discharge gas (fig. 12 and machine translation, page 12); and
a power supply unit for supplying power to the electrode module, wherein the electrode module comprises a first electrode structure and a second electrode structure which interact with each other and generate the plasma discharge, and the first electrode structure comprises a plurality of rod-shaped first electrode members arranged to be spaced apart from each other on a horizontal plane (machine translation, claim 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Ferrell et al. (WO 2017049263 A1), hereafter referred to as “Ferrell”.
Regarding claim 2, Park teaches the liquid treatment apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that the spray nozzle is in plurality, and the plasma reactor is in plurality to correspond to the plurality of spray nozzles.
Ferrel teaches an apparatus (figs. 1-10) including a plurality of spray nozzles and a plurality of plasma reactors corresponding to the spray nozzles (paragraphs [0043]-[0045], [0050], [0062] and fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park, to include a second spray nozzle and a second plasma reactor, such that the spray nozzle is in plurality, and the plasma reactor is in plurality to correspond to the plurality of spray nozzles, in order to provide more plasma activated water to the roots at a given time (paragraphs [0042]-[0043] of Ferrell), and since that it is has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 3, Park in view of Ferrell teaches the liquid treatment apparatus of claim 2, but does not explicitly teach that the plurality of plasma reactors operate alternately.
Ferrell further teaches pulsing a plasma source below fully duty (paragraph [0030]), and multiple plasma generating systems each paired with a separate outlet (paragraphs [0042]-[0044] and [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Park in view of Ferrell, such that the plurality of plasma reactors operate alternately, in order to maintain continuous gas delivery while sharing a power source (paragraph [0045] and [0048] of Ferrell).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 5 above, in further view of Lee (KR 20140089625 A), hereafter referred to as “Lee”.
Regarding claim 6, Hwang teaches the liquid treatment apparatus of claim 5, but does not explicitly teach that wherein the second electrode structure comprises a mesh electrode disposed above or below the first electrode structure.
Lee teaches an apparatus (figs. 1-14) including a first electrode structure (140) an a second electrode structure (150) with a mesh electrode (180) disposed above or below the first electrod structure (figs. 1-2, 5, and 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hwang, such that the second electrode structure comprises a mesh electrode disposed above or below the first electrode structure, as taught by Lee, in order to allow the apparatus to increase the amount of micro bubbles formed for less power needed for the same treatment (machine translation, page 2, paragraph 3 of Lee).
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 5 above, in further view of Ferrell.
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses the liquid treatment apparatus of claim 5, but does not explicitly teach that the second electrode structure comprises an upper mesh electrode disposed above the first electrode structure and a lower mesh electrode disposed below the first electrode structure.
Ferrell teaches a second electrode structure comprises an upper mesh electrode disposed above the first electrode structure and a lower mesh electrode disposed below the first electrode structure (paragraphs [0029][0030]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park, such that the second electrode structure comprises an upper mesh electrode disposed above the first electrode structure and a lower mesh electrode disposed below the first electrode structure, as taught by Ferrell, in order to allow treated medium to pass through the electrode (paragraphs [0029]-[0030] of Ferrell).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses the liquid treatment apparatus of claim 5, but does not explicitly teach that wherein the first electrode member comprises an electrode part formed of an electrical conductive material, and an insulating part formed of a dielectric material that surrounds an outer surface of the electrode part so that the electrode part is not exposed.
Ferrell teaches a first electrode member comprises an electrode part formed of an electrical conductive material, and an insulating part formed of a dielectric material that surrounds an outer surface of the electrode part so that the electrode part is not exposed (paragraph [0031], 306, 310).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Park, such that the first electrode member comprises an electrode part formed of an electrical conductive material, and an insulating part formed of a dielectric material that surrounds an outer surface of the electrode part so that the electrode part is not exposed, as taught by Ferrell, in order to have the discharge stay around room temperature when activating plant feed water (paragraphs [0026], [0028] of Ferrell).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Lee.
Regarding claim 12, Hwang teaches a liquid treatment apparatus for nutrient solution cultivation as an apparatus (figs. 1-10), for treating liquid used for nutrient solution cultivation (see attached machine translation, abstract), the liquid treatment apparatus comprising:
a main treatment tank (133a) in which a main treatment space for storing a liquid to be treated is provided (machine translation, pages 11-12);
a spray nozzle (131d, 131e; machine translation, pages 10-11 and fig. 9) for supplying, in a bubble form, in the main treatment space, discharge gas as the liquid to be treated (machine translation, pages 10-11 and fig. 9);
an electrode module (133d, 133e; machine translation, page 12) placed above the spray nozzle in the main treatment space and for generating plasma discharge within the liquid to be treated using the discharge gas (fig. 12 and machine translation, page 12); and
a power supply unit for supplying power to the electrode module, wherein the electrode module comprises a first electrode structure and a second electrode structure which interact with each other and generate the plasma discharge (machine translation, claim 18), but does not explicitly teach that first electrode structure comprises a plate-shaped member with a plurality of through holes, and the second electrode structure has a mesh shape disposed above or below the first electrode structure.
Lee teaches an apparatus (figs. 1-14) including a first electrode structure (140) comprises a plate-shaped member with a plurality of through holes (180), and a second electrode structure (150) has a mesh shape (180) disposed above or below the first electrode structure (figs. 1-2, 5, and 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hwang, such that the that first electrode structure comprises a plate-shaped member with a plurality of through holes, and the second electrode structure has a mesh shape disposed above or below the first electrode structure, as taught by Lee, in order to allow the apparatus to increase the amount of micro bubbles formed for less power needed for the same treatment (machine translation, page 2, paragraph 3 of Lee).
Regarding claim 13, Hwang in view of Lee teaches the liquid treatment apparatus of claim 12, wherein the electrode module further comprises a plurality of dielectric members filled in a space formed between the first electrode structure and the second electrode structure (figs. 1-10 of Hwang).
Regarding claim 14, Park discloses the liquid treatment apparatus of claim 12, wherein the electrode module further comprises a plurality of floating electrodes filled in a space formed between the first electrode structure and the second electrode structure (figs. 1-10 of Hwang).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Lee to claim 12 above, in further view of Park.
Regarding claim 15, Hwang in view of Lee teaches the liquid treatment apparatus of claim 12, but does not explicitly teach an ultraviolet lamp for generating ultraviolet rays for treating the liquid to be treated in the main treatment space.
Park teaches an apparatus (figs. 1-3) including an ultraviolet lamp for generating ultraviolet rays for treating liquid to be treated in a main treatment space (machine translation, page 4, paragraph 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention to include an ultraviolet lamp for generating ultraviolet rays for treating the liquid to be treated in the main treatment space, as taught by Park, in order to further sterilize the fluids (machine translation, page 4, paragraph 7).
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park to claim 1 above, in further view of Hidaka et al. (JP 2011211915 A), hereafter referred to as “Hidaka”.
Regarding claim 16, Park discloses the liquid treatment apparatus of claim 1,but does not explicitly teach an additional treatment tank for providing an additional treatment space in which a main treatment liquid discharged from the main treatment tank is stored; and an additional treatment liquid supply pipe disposed in the additional treatment space and for supplying the main treatment liquid to the additional treatment space together with the bubbles.
Hidaka teaches an apparatus (figs. 1-14) including an additional treatment tank (4) for providing an additional treatment space in which a main treatment liquid discharged from the main treatment tank is stored (4’); and an additional treatment liquid supply pipe disposed in the additional treatment space and for supplying the main treatment liquid to the additional treatment space together with the bubbles (4, 4’; machine translation, pages 2-4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Park to include an additional treatment space in which a main treatment liquid discharged from the main treatment tank is stored; and an additional treatment liquid supply pipe disposed in the additional treatment space and for supplying the main treatment liquid to the additional treatment space together with the bubbles, as taught by Hikada, in order to recover nutrients lost to oxidation (machine translation, pages 9-10 of Hikada).
Regarding claim 17, Park in view of Hikada teaches the liquid treatment apparatus of claim 16, and further teaches that the additional treatment liquid supply pipe comprises a curved extension part that is curved and extends to form a long flow path (machine translation, pages 2-10).
Regarding claim 18, Park in view of Hikada teaches the liquid treatment apparatus of claim 16, and further teaches that wherein the additional treatment liquid supply pipe comprises a plurality of bubble discharge holes so that the bubbles flowing therein are discharged through the plurality of bubble discharge holes (machine translation, page 4 of Hikada).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferrell in view of Park.
Regarding claim 20, Ferrell teaches a nutrient solution cultivation system (figs. 1-10) comprising:
a plant cultivation bed (802; fig. 8) in which a plant to be cultivated by a nutrient solution (paragraph [0020] and fig. 8) is planted (fig. 8);
a nutrient solution tank (834) in which the nutrient solution supplied to the plant cultivation bed is stored (paragraph [0049] and fig. 8); and
a liquid treatment apparatus (834, 862, 800, 860 and paragraphs [0050]-[0051]) for treating raw water supplied to the nutrient solution tank (paragraphs [0050]-[0051]), wherein the liquid treatment apparatus comprises a main treatment tank (834) in which a main treatment space for storing the raw water is provided (fig. 1),
a spray nozzle for spraying (862), in a bubble form, in the main treatment space, treatment gas for treating the raw water (paragraphs [0050]-[0052]), and
a plasma reactor (800) using a plasma reactor so as to generate the treatment gas supplied through the spray nozzle (paragraphs [0050]-[0051]), but does not explicitly teach an ultraviolet lamp for generating ultraviolet rays for treating the raw water in the main treatment space.
Park teaches an apparatus (figs. 1-3) including a plasma reactor using a plasma reaction for generating ultraviolet rays for treating the water in a main treatment space (machine translation, claim 7 and page 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Ferrell to include a plasma reactor using a plasma reaction for generating ultraviolet rays for treating the raw water in the main treatment space, as taught by Park, in order to further improve the sterilization of the water (machine translation, page 4, paragraph 7).
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Hwang.
Regarding claim 21, Park teaches a nutrient solution cultivation system (figs. 1-3) comprising:
a plant cultivation bed (130) in which a plant to be cultivated by a nutrient solution is planted (machine translation, page 3, paragraph 4 under “DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS”);
a nutrient solution tank (110) in which the nutrient solution supplied to the plant cultivation bed is stored (machine translation, page 3, paragraph 4 under “DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS”); and
a liquid treatment apparatus (300) for treating a nutrient solution after use discharged from the plant cultivation bed (machine translation, page 3, paragraph 3 under “DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS”), wherein the liquid treatment apparatus comprises a main treatment tank (310) in which a main treatment space for storing the nutrient solution after use is provided (figs. 1-3),
a spray nozzle for spraying, in a bubble form, in the main treatment space, discharge gas as the nutrient solution after use (machine translation, page 4, paragraph 6 and claim 7),
an ultraviolet lamp for generating ultraviolet rays for treating the nutrient solution after use in the main treatment space (machine translation, page 4, paragraph 7), and
a treatment liquid in which the nutrient solution after use is treated by the liquid treatment apparatus and is discharged, is supplied to the nutrient solution tank (machine translation, page 3), but does not explicitly teach an electrode module placed above the spray nozzle in the main treatment space and for generating plasma discharge within the nutrient solution after using the discharge gas.
Hwang teaches an apparatus including an electrode module (133d, 133e; machine translation, page 12) placed above a spray nozzle (131d, 131e; machine translation, pages 10-11 and fig. 9) in a main treatment space (133a) and for generating plasma discharge within the liquid to be treated using the discharge gas (fig. 12 and machine translation, page 12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Park to include an electrode module placed above the spray nozzle in the main treatment space and for generating plasma discharge within the nutrient solution after using the discharge gas, as taught by Hwang, in order to increase the OH- yield (machine translation, page 12 of Hwang).
Regarding claim 22, Park teaches a nutrient solution cultivation system (figs. 1-3) comprising:
a plant cultivation bed (130) in which a plant to be cultivated by a nutrient solution is planted (machine translation, page 3, paragraph 4 under “DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS”);
a nutrient solution tank (110) in which the nutrient solution supplied to the plant cultivation bed is stored (machine translation, page 3, paragraph 4 under “DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS”); and
a liquid treatment apparatus (300) for treating raw water supplied to the nutrient solution tank (machine translation, page 3, paragraph 3 under “DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS”), wherein the liquid treatment apparatus comprises a main treatment tank in which a main treatment space for storing the raw water (figs. 1-3),
a spray nozzle for supplying, in a bubble form, in the main treatment space, discharge gas as the raw water (machine translation, page 4, paragraph 6 and claim 7), and
and an ultraviolet lamp for generating ultraviolet rays for treating the raw water in the main treatment space (machine translation, page 4, paragraph 7), but does not explicitly teach an electrode module placed above the spray nozzle in the main treatment space and for generating plasma discharge within the raw water using the discharge gas.
Hwang teaches an apparatus including an electrode module (133d, 133e; machine translation, page 12) placed above the spray nozzle (131d, 131e; machine translation, pages 10-11 and fig. 9) in the main treatment space and for generating plasma discharge within the raw water using the discharge gas (fig. 12 and machine translation, page 12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Park to include an electrode module placed above the spray nozzle in the main treatment space and for generating plasma discharge within the raw water using the discharge gas, as taught by Hwang, in order to increase the OH- yield (machine translation, page 12 of Hwang).
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure. The references have many of the elements in the applicant’s disclosure and claims.
/H.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3643
/MARISA V CONLON/Examiner, Art Unit 3643