DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-8 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
a) claim 1 requires “A gas detection apparatus comprising a controller performing failure diagnosis . . . . wherein the controller determines whether . . . .[italicizing by the Examiner]” These phrases may be read as indicating method steps; however, claim 1 is an apparatus claim. Thus, the statutory class of invention is not clear. If this claim were published in a patent as is, the public would not know whether they would have to perform these method steps in order to infringe the claimed apparatus. The Examiner suggests that Applicant use “configured to” or “adapted to “ phrasing to describe these controller functions.
b) claim 2 requires “wherein the controller sets the predetermined threshold to a value greater than the output before charging the gas sensor. [italicizing by the Examiner]” This clause may be read as indicating a method step; however, claim 2 is an apparatus claim. Thus, the statutory class of invention is not clear. If this claim were published in a patent as is, the public would not know whether they would have to perform these method steps in order to infringe the claimed apparatus. The Examiner suggests that Applicant use “configured to” or “adapted to “ phrasing to describe this controller function.
c) claim 3 requires “. . . ., wherein the controller acquires, . . . .[italicizing by the Examiner]” This phrase may be read as indicating a method step; however, claim 3 is an apparatus claim. Thus, the statutory class of invention is not clear. If this claim were published in a patent as is, the public would not know whether they would have to perform these method steps in order to infringe the claimed apparatus. The Examiner suggests that Applicant use “configured to” or “adapted to “ phrasing to describe this controller function.
d) claim 4 requires “. . . ., wherein the controller acquires, . . . .[italicizing by the Examiner]” This phrase may be read as indicating a method step; however, claim 4 is an apparatus claim. Thus, the statutory class of invention is not clear. If this claim were published in a patent as is, the public would not know whether they would have to perform these method steps in order to infringe the claimed apparatus. The Examiner suggests that Applicant use “configured to” or “adapted to “ phrasing to describe this controller function.
e) claim 5 requires “. . . ., wherein the controller acquires, . . . .[italicizing by the Examiner]” This phrase may be read as indicating a method step; however, claim 5 is an apparatus claim. Thus, the statutory class of invention is not clear. If this claim were published in a patent as is, the public would not know whether they would have to perform these method steps in order to infringe the claimed apparatus. The Examiner suggests that Applicant use “configured to” or “adapted to “ phrasing to describe this controller function.
f) claim 6 requires “. . . ., wherein the controller acquires, . . . .[italicizing by the Examiner]” This phrase may be read as indicating a method step; however, claim 6 is an apparatus claim. Thus, the statutory class of invention is not clear. If this claim were published in a patent as is, the public would not know whether they would have to perform these method steps in order to infringe the claimed apparatus. The Examiner suggests that Applicant use “configured to” or “adapted to “ phrasing to describe this controller function.
g) claim 7 requires “. . . ., wherein the controller performs, . . . .[italicizing by the Examiner]” This phrase may be read as indicating a method step; however, claim 7 is an apparatus claim. Thus, the statutory class of invention is not clear. If this claim were published in a patent as is, the public would not know whether they would have to perform these method steps in order to infringe the claimed apparatus. The Examiner suggests that Applicant use “configured to” or “adapted to “ phrasing to describe this controller function.
h) claim 8 requires “. . . ., wherein the controller detects, . . . .[italicizing by the Examiner]” This phrase may be read as indicating a method step; however, claim 8 is an apparatus claim. Thus, the statutory class of invention is not clear. If this claim were published in a patent as is, the public would not know whether they would have to perform these method steps in order to infringe the claimed apparatus. The Examiner suggests that Applicant use “configured to” or “adapted to “ phrasing to describe this controller function.
i) in claim 11, line 6, “output” should be – outputs --. See line 3 of the claim.
j) in claim 11, line 8, “output(s)” should be – outputs --. See line 3 of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Note that dependent claims will have the deficiencies of base and intervening claims.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 11 requires performing the following steps
These steps are not consistent. If the outputs from the gas sensor are acquired before storing electric charge in the gas sensor to charge the gas sensor, how can these outputs from the gas sensor also be acquired after discharging the gas sensor by releasing the electric charge stored in the gas sensor? Put another way, how can the gas sensor be discharged if it has not been first charged?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by King et al. US 2019/0051145 A1 (hereafter “King”) as evidenced by geimi, “CO sensor”, element14 website (hereafter “geimi”).
Addressing claim 1, King discloses a gas detection apparatus (see the title, Abstract, and Figure 1) comprising a controller (microcontroller 104 in Figure 1) performing failure diagnosis of a gas sensor (see the Abstract, noting especially the following, “From the voltage versus time results a determination is made as to whether the CO sensor and CO detection circuit are functioning properly. [italicizing by the Examiner]“ Also, see 332, 300, and 328 in the Figure 3 flowchart.) including a working electrode and a counter electrode (although these electrodes are not specifically mentioned in King, they are implied as the gas sensor in King is an electrochemical gas sensor. See, for example, paragraph [0005]. Moreover, King discloses, “Electrochemical CO sensors may be, for example but are not limited to, Figaro models TGS5042, TGS5141 and the like.” See paragraph [0029]. Geimi evidences that Figaro model TGS5042 comprises a working electrode and a counter electrode. See “Basic measuring circuit of TGS5042”.) based on outputs from the gas sensor (voltages sampled a times T(n) – note 320 in Figure 3. Also, see paragraph [0008] and claim 1.) while switching between a charging state in which electric charge is stored in the gas sensor (see the Abstract, noting especially, “Wherein an electrochemical CO sensor is isolated from its detection circuit and a voltage charge is changed thereon . . . . [italicizing by the Examiner]“ Also, note in 312 in Figure 3 “Charge or discharge CO sensor[italicizing by the Examiner]”. Additionally, in paragraph [0031] note, “During testing when the current source/sink 116 is enabled as a current source, charging current may be injected into the C terminal of the CO sensor 106, effectively raising the voltage at the C terminal in relation to the voltage at the W terminal thereof.[italicizing by the Examiner]”), and a discharging state in which the electric charge stored in the gas sensor is released (see the Abstract, noting especially, “. . . . ,wherein the voltage charge on the CO sensor returns to an equilibrium state over time.” Also, note in 312 in Figure 3 “Charge or discharge CO sensor[italicizing by the Examiner]”. Additionally, in paragraph [0031] note, “When the current source/sink 118 is enabled as a current sink, a discharging current may be removed from the W terminal of the CO sensor 106, effectively decreasing the voltage at the W terminal in relation to the voltage at the C terminal.[italicizing by the Examiner]”), wherein the controller determines whether the gas sensor fails based on the output(s) acquired after discharging the gas sensor and a predetermined threshold based on the output before charging the gas sensor(for this controller feature consider the following in paragraph [0008], “. . . . comparing voltages on the output of the carbon monoxide operation amplifier with the stored initial voltage; determining a time until a first one of the voltages on the output of the carbon monoxide operation may be about equal to the initial voltage; and determining from the time whether the carbon monoxide sensor and the operation amplifier circuits may be working. [italicizing and underlining by the Examiner] “ The phrase “. . . ., determining a time until a first one of the voltages on the output of the carbon monoxide operation may be about equal to the initial voltage, . . . .[italicizing by the Examiner]” implies a predetermined threshold of a voltage difference of about zero. “ Also, see 324 in Figure 3.) .
Addressing claims 3 and 4, the additional limitations of these claims are implied by the following
Also,
Addressing claim 9, King discloses a method for performing failure diagnosis of a gas sensor (see the Abstract, noting especially the following, “From the voltage versus time results a determination is made as to whether the CO sensor and CO detection circuit are functioning properly. [italicizing by the Examiner]“ Also, see 332, 300, and 328 in the Figure 3 flowchart) including a working electrode and a counter electrode (although these electrodes are not specifically mentioned in King, they are implied as the gas sensor in King is an electrochemical gas sensor. See, for example, paragraph [0005]. Moreover, King discloses, “Electrochemical CO sensors may be, for example but are not limited to, Figaro models TGS5042, TGS5141 and the like.” See paragraph [0029]. Geimi evidences that Figaro model TGS5042 comprises a working electrode and a counter electrode. See “Basic measuring circuit of TGS5042”.) based on outputs from the gas sensor (voltages sampled a times T(n) – note 320 in Figure 3. Also, see paragraph [0008] and claim 1.) while switching between a charging state in which electric charge is stored in the gas sensor (see the Abstract, noting especially, “Wherein an electrochemical CO sensor is isolated from its detection circuit and a voltage charge is changed thereon . . . . [italicizing by the Examiner]“ Also, note in 312 in Figure 3 “Charge or discharge CO sensor[italicizing by the Examiner]”. Additionally, in paragraph [0031] note, “During testing when the current source/sink 116 is enabled as a current source, charging current may be injected into the C terminal of the CO sensor 106, effectively raising the voltage at the C terminal in relation to the voltage at the W terminal thereof.[italicizing by the Examiner]”), and a discharging state in which the electric charge stored in the gas sensor is released (see the Abstract, noting especially, “. . . . ,wherein the voltage charge on the CO sensor returns to an equilibrium state over time.” Also, note in 312 in Figure 3 “Charge or discharge CO sensor[italicizing by the Examiner]”. Additionally, in paragraph [0031] note, “When the current source/sink 118 is enabled as a current sink, a discharging current may be removed from the W terminal of the CO sensor 106, effectively decreasing the voltage at the W terminal in relation to the voltage at the C terminal.[italicizing by the Examiner]”),
the method comprising
determining whether the gas sensor fails based on the output(s) acquired after discharging the gas sensor and a predetermined threshold based on the output before charging the gas sensor(for this controller feature consider the following in paragraph [0008], “. . . . comparing voltages on the output of the carbon monoxide operation amplifier with the stored initial voltage; determining a time until a first one of the voltages on the output of the carbon monoxide operation may be about equal to the initial voltage; and determining from the time whether the carbon monoxide sensor and the operation amplifier circuits may be working. [italicizing and underlining by the Examiner] “ The phrase “. . . ., determining a time until a first one of the voltages on the output of the carbon monoxide operation may be about equal to the initial voltage, . . . .[italicizing by the Examiner]” implies a predetermined threshold of a voltage difference of about zero. “ Also, see 324 in
Figure 3.) .
Addressing claim 10, for the additional limitations of this claim recall the following from the rejection of underlying claim 9
determining whether the gas sensor fails based on the output(s) acquired after discharging the gas sensor and a predetermined threshold based on the output before charging the gas sensor(for this controller feature consider the following in paragraph [0008], “. . . . comparing voltages on the output of the carbon monoxide operation amplifier with the stored initial voltage; determining a time until a first one of the voltages on the output of the carbon monoxide operation may be about equal to the initial voltage; and determining from the time whether the carbon monoxide sensor and the operation amplifier circuits may be working. [italicizing and underlining by the Examiner] “ The phrase “. . . ., determining a time until a first one of the voltages on the output of the carbon monoxide operation may be about equal to the initial voltage, . . . .” implies a predetermined threshold of a voltage difference of about zero. “ Also, see 324 in
Figure 3.) .
Also, note King disclose acquiring the plurality of outputs “n” different times and determines whether the gas sensor is in a normal state or in a failure state based on “n” outputs acquired as the plurality of outputs, wherein “n” is an integer, initially equal to 0, that is incremented by 1 until the predetermined threshold, which is based on the output before charging the gas sensor, is met. See King Figure 4 (318, 320, 322, 324) and paragraphs [0035] and [0036].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King.
Addressing claim 6, as a first matter King meets all of the limitations of underlying claim 3. See the rejection of claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) above. While King does not explicitly disclose “the controller acquires the plurality of outputs at three or more different times and determines whether the gas sensor is in a normal state or in a failure state based on three or more outputs acquired as the plurality of outputs…”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the application to have the controller so configured because King disclose acquiring the plurality of outputs “n” different times and determines whether the gas sensor is in a normal state or in a failure state based on “n” outputs acquired as the plurality of outputs, wherein “n” is an integer, initially equal to 0, that is incremented by 1 until the predetermined threshold is met. See King Figure 4 (318, 320, 322, 324) and paragraphs [0035] and [0036].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, 7, and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
a) in claim 2 the combination of limitations requires the following underlined feature
a)(i) the International Search Report for international application PCT/JP2024/044932 cites only “A” documents.
a)(ii) the Written Opinion for international application PCT/JP2024/044932, based on an English language translation obtained by the U.S. Examiner, deems claims 1-11 of that application to have both novelty and an inventive step.
a)(iii) in contrast King the controller implicitly sets the predetermined threshold to about zero (from the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) above – ‘ “. . . ., determining a time until a first one of the voltages on the output of the carbon monoxide operation may be about equal to the initial voltage, . . . .” implies a predetermined threshold of a voltage difference of about zero.“ ‘).
b) in claim 5 the combination of limitations requires the following underlined feature
b)(i) the International Search Report for international application PCT/JP2024/044932 cites only “A” documents.
b)(ii) the Written Opinion for international application PCT/JP2024/044932, based on an English language translation obtained by the U.S. Examiner, deems claims 1-11 of that application to have both novelty and an inventive step.
b)(iii) in contrast, while King does disclose a predetermined time period required to charge the gas sensor, such as about five seconds (see paragraph [0032]), the plurality of outputs at the predetermined intervals acquired by the controller at not necessarily longer.
c) in claim 7 the combination of limitations requires the following underlined feature
c)(i) the International Search Report for international application PCT/JP2024/044932 cites only “A” documents.
c)(ii) the Written Opinion for international application PCT/JP2024/044932, based on an English language translation obtained by the U.S. Examiner, deems claims 1-11 of that application to have both novelty and an inventive step.
c)(iii) in contrast, in King there is no suggestion of not performing failure diagnosis (test mode) if the output(s) satisfies/satisfy a predetermined condition. See, for example, King paragraph [0031]. One of ordinary skill in the art would assume that failure diagnosis is to be performed at regular time intervals during long-term continuous usage or over the expected lifetime of the gas detection apparatus.
d) in claim 8 the combination of limitations requires the following underlined feature
d)(i) the International Search Report for international application PCT/JP2024/044932 cites only “A” documents.
d)(ii) the Written Opinion for international application PCT/JP2024/044932, based on an English language translation obtained by the U.S. Examiner, deems claims 1-11 of that application to have both novelty and an inventive step.
d)(iii) in contrast, in the example electrochemical gas sensor in King the controller detects a gas to be detected based on a change in voltage charge on the sensor except during the failure diagnosis. See King paragraph [0029].
e) in claim 11 the combination of limitations requires the following underlined features
e)(i) the International Search Report for international application PCT/JP2024/044932 cites only “A” documents.
e)(ii) the Written Opinion for international application PCT/JP2024/044932, based on an English language translation obtained by the U.S. Examiner, deems claims 1-11 of that application to have both novelty and an inventive step.
e)(iii) in contrast, while it is reasonable to assume that during normal use of the gas sensor of King that outputs from the gas sensor would be acquired before storing electric charge in the gas sensor to charge the gas sensor, as one of ordinary skill in the art would assume that failure diagnosis is to be performed at regular time intervals during long-term continuous usage or over the expected lifetime of the gas detection apparatus, that is intermittently, the “threshold”, though, is determined based on output during charging of the gas sensor. For example, in paragraph [0031] note, “During testing when the current source/sink 116 is enabled as a current source, charging current may be injected into the C terminal of the CO sensor 106, effectively raising the voltage at the C terminal in relation to the voltage at the W terminal thereof.[italicizing by the Examiner]”), and a discharging state in which the electric charge stored in the gas sensor is released (see the Abstract, noting especially, “. . . . ,wherein the voltage charge on the CO sensor returns to an equilibrium state over time.” Also, note in 312 in Figure 3 “Charge or discharge CO sensor[italicizing by the Examiner]”. Additionally, in paragraph [0031] note, “When the current source/sink 118 is enabled as a current sink, a discharging current may be removed from the W terminal of the CO sensor 106, effectively decreasing the voltage at the W terminal in relation to the voltage at the C terminal.[italicizing by the Examiner]”). Last, see claim 1 of King.
/ALEXANDER S NOGUEROLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795 Unit 1795