DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “when a bed positioned on the bed base” should be “when a bed is positioned on the bed base”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20190000236 A1 to Polevoy.
Re Claim 1, Polevoy teaches:
A bed base (at least [Abstract] “bed frame system”) comprising:
a first side panel (at least Figs. 1-3 element 52 and [0073] “side rails 52”); a first end panel interlocked at right angles to the first side panel (at least Figs. 1-3 element 56, front, and [0073] “end cross rails 56”); a second end panel interlocked at right angles to the first side panel (at least Figs. 1-3 element 56, back, and [0073] “end cross rails 56”); and
a second side panel interlocked at right angles to the second end panel and the first end panel (at least Figs. 1-3 element 54 and [0073] “side rails 52, 54”);
a first cross rail overlapping the first side panel and the second side panel and coupled to the first side panel, the first end panel, and the second side panel (at least Figs. 1-3 element 56, front, and [0073] “end cross rails 56”) by a first series of wedges (at least Figs. 1-3 element 70 and [0075] “wedges 70”) that inter fit with a corresponding first series of receivers (at least Fig. 2 element 78 and [0075] “recesses 78”);
a second cross rail overlapping the first side panel and the second side panel and coupled to the first side panel, the second end panel, and the second side panel (at least Figs. 1-3 element 56, rear, and [0073] “end cross rails 56”) by a second series of wedges (at least Figs. 1-3 element 70 and [0075] “wedges 70”) that inter fit with a corresponding second series of receivers (at least Fig. 2 element 68 and [0075] “receivers 68”); and
a third cross rail overlapping the first side panel and the second side panel and coupled to the first side panel and the second side panel (at least Figs. 1-3 element 58 and [0073] “center cross rail 58”) by a third series of wedges (at least Figs. 1-3 elements 72 and 64) that inter fit with a corresponding third series of receivers (at least Fig. 2 element 68 and [0075] “receivers 68”).
Re Claim 2, Polevoy teaches:
The bed base of claim 1, wherein the first cross rail, the second cross rail, and the third cross rail are positioned above the first side panel, the first end panel, the second end panel, and the second side panel so that the first cross rail, the second cross rail, and the third cross-rail are load bearing when a bed positioned on the bed base (at least Fig. 1 and [0073] “the bed frame 50 is assembled and ready for a foundation and mattress”).
Re Claim 3, Polevoy teaches:
The bed base of claim 2, wherein the first side panel, the first end panel, the second end panel, and the second side panel are not load bearing when the bed is positioned on the bed base (at least Fig. 1).
Re Claim 4, Polevoy teaches:
The bed base of claim 1, wherein each receiver of the first series of receivers, the second series of receivers, and the third series of receivers are formed by a back plate, and inner shell defining a pocket having a first geometry, a foot supporting the inner shell, and an outer shell enclosing the inner shell and the foot (at least Fig. 5 and [0081] “the side rail 52 is in position for being affixed to the corner leg 60, that is, the wedge 70 is being inserted into the receiver 68 where the plastic panel 59 is fitted into the elongated slot 92” and Fig. 8 and [0087] “upper flange 76 extends outwardly and interfits into the recess 78 in the side rail 52”).
Re Claim 5, Polevoy teaches:
The bed base of claim 4, wherein each wedge of the first series of wedges, the second series of wedges, and the third series of wedges has a second geometry that corresponds with the first geometry of the pocket so that each wedge is securely coupled within each pocket (at least Fig. 5 and [0081] “the side rail 52 is in position for being affixed to the corner leg 60, that is, the wedge 70 is being inserted into the receiver 68 where the plastic panel 59 is fitted into the elongated slot 92” and Fig. 8 and [0087] “upper flange 76 extends outwardly and interfits into the recess 78 in the side rail 52”).
Re Claim 6, Polevoy teaches:
The bed base of claim 1, wherein each of the first side panel, the first end panel, the second side panel, and the second end panel are formed by an extruded rail (at least [0073] “The side rails 52, 54 as well as the two end cross rails 56 are, as will be explained, comprised of extruded plastic panels 59”).
Re Claim 7, Polevoy teaches:
The bed base of claim 1, wherein each of the first cross rail, the second cross rail, and the third cross rail are formed by a double angle iron extending from a first end to a second end (at least [0082] “the extruded plastic panel 59 has a T-shaped metal member 94 at its upper portion and the T-shaped metal member 94 may be a unitary T-shaped member or may be made up to two L-shaped angle irons affixed together”).
Re Claim 8, Polevoy teaches:
The bed base of claim 1, further comprising a series of retainers coupled to each end of each of the first cross rail, the second cross rail, and the third cross rail (at least Figs. 4-7 and [0074] “curved flanges 66 formed in each of the corner legs 60 in order to retain”).
Re Claim 9, Polevoy teaches:
The bed base of claim 8, wherein each retainer of the series of retainers has an upstanding tab secured to and extending above each end of each of the first cross rail, the second cross rail, and the third cross rail to restrict horizontal movement of any bed positioned on the bed base (at least Figs. 4-7 and [0074] “curved flanges 66 formed in each of the corner legs 60 in order to retain”).
Re Claim 10, Polevoy teaches:
The bed base of claim 9, wherein each retainer of the series of retainers includes a pair of retainer halves that interlock with each other and capture the upstanding tab (at least Figs. 4-7).
Re Claim 11, Polevoy teaches:
The bed base of claim 10, wherein the upstanding tab is blunted (at least Figs. 4-7).
Re Claim 13, Polevoy teaches:
The bed base of claim 1, wherein the first end panel is interlocked at right angles to the first side panel by a first corner wedge and a first corner receiver (at least Figs. 1-3).
Re Claim 14, Polevoy teaches:
The bed base of claim 13, wherein the second end panel is interlocked at right angles to the first side panel by a second corner wedge and a second corner receiver (at least Figs. 1-3).
Re Claim 15, Polevoy teaches:
The bed base of claim 14, wherein the second side panel is interlocked at right angles to the second end panel by a third corner wedge and a third corner receiver and at right angles to the first end panel by a fourth corner wedge and a fourth corner receiver (at least Figs. 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polevoy in view of US 20170191516 A1 to Griffith.
Re Claim 12, Polevoy teaches:
The bed base of claim 11 (detailed with respect to claim 11).
Polevoy does not explicitly teach:
wherein each retainer half is secured to each other and through one of the first cross rail, the second cross rail, and the third cross rail to which the retainer is secured to prevent the upstanding tab from disconnecting from the one of the first cross rail, second cross rail, and third cross rail to which the retainer is secured.
However, Griffith teaches:
wherein each retainer half is secured to each other and through one of the first cross rail, the second cross rail, and the third cross rail to which the retainer is secured to prevent the upstanding tab from disconnecting from the one of the first cross rail, second cross rail, and third cross rail to which the retainer is secured (at least Figs. 10-11 and [0089] “the connectors 32A and 32B can be shaped to mate with the wedges 90 and 94. A side wall 34 of the connector 32A can extend into the receptacle 98 and the top wall 36 can be positioned above the wedge 90 so as to at least partially surround the ridge”.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bed base taught by Polevoy with the retainer halves taught by Griffith with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “the connector 32A can be fixedly connected to the center rail 30A, the connector 32B can be fixedly connected to the center rail 30B, and the connector 88 can be fixedly connected to the cross-member 68. Each of the connectors 32A, 32B, and 88 can be fixedly connected via one or more fasteners” (Griffith [0090]), which is more secure.
Conclusion
/GEORGE SUN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673