DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the first conveyor section" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the second conveyor section" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komatsu Kazuhiro JP 2006327758 A.
Claim 1, Komatsu Kazuhiro teaches an orientation adjustment apparatus Fig. 1 that adjusts an orientation of a conveyance target W Abstract, the orientation adjustment apparatus Fig. 1 comprising: an orientation adjustment conveyor 1 configured to adjust the orientation of the conveyance target W while conveying the conveyance target W along a conveyance direction A1; a characteristic determination device 4 configured to determine at least one characteristic of the conveyance target W on an upstream side B with respect to the orientation adjustment conveyor 1 P0026; an upstream orientation detection device 4 configured to detect the orientation of the conveyance target W at an upstream end portion B of the orientation adjustment conveyor 1 P0027; and a control device 5 configured to control the orientation adjustment conveyor 1 P0026, and wherein: the orientation adjustment conveyor 1 comprises a first conveyor part 1 and a second conveyor part 1’ Fig. 1 that are disposed in parallel to be adjacent to each other in a conveyance width direction and is configured to cause the first conveyor part 1 and the second conveyor part 1’ to have respective conveyance speeds different from each other via A2, the conveyance width direction being a direction orthogonal to the conveyance direction, the control device 5 is configured to perform orientation adjustment control via A2 for controlling a speed difference between the respective conveyance speeds of the first conveyor part 1 and the second conveyor part 1’ to change the orientation of the conveyance target W that is conveyed in a state of being placed on both of the first conveyor part 1 and the second conveyor part 1’, the conveyance target W has an intended orientation as an orientation intended at a downstream end portion of the orientation adjustment conveyor Fig. 1 and an upstream actual orientation via 4 as an actual orientation that the upstream orientation detection device 4 has detected, changing the speed difference via A2, 5, 6, 6’ in accordance with a degree of a pre-adjustment orientation difference as a difference between the upstream actual orientation via 4 at B and the intended orientation and increasing the speed difference with an increase in a characteristic value indicative of a degree of difficulty of an orientation change which difficulty corresponds to the at least one characteristic of the conveyance target W determined by the characteristic determination device via 5 P0026; 0034.
Claim 3, Komatsu Kazuhiro teaches a during-conveyance orientation detection device 4 configured to detect the orientation of the conveyance target W over an entire region of the orientation adjustment conveyor 1,1’, wherein the speed difference via A2 has an initial speed difference based on the pre-adjustment orientation difference and the characteristic value, wherein the conveyance target W has a during-conveyance actual orientation as an actual orientation that the during-conveyance orientation detection device 4 has detected, and wherein the control device 5 is configured to determine the initial speed difference and then, while the orientation adjustment conveyor 1,1’ is conveying the conveyance target W, change the speed difference in accordance with a degree of a during-conveyance orientation difference as a difference between the during-conveyance actual orientation and the intended orientation and change the speed difference as needed to increase the speed difference with an increase in the characteristic value P0027-0032.
Claim 5, Komatsu Kazuhiro teaches the characteristic value increases continuously or stepwise with a larger weight of the conveyance target W P0029.
Claim 6, Komatsu Kazuhiro teaches the characteristic value increases continuously or stepwise with a smaller area via 4 of the conveyance target W in a plan view P0027-0032.
Claim 7, Komatsu Kazuhiro teaches the first conveyor section 1 is disposed on a first conveyance width direction side relative to the second conveyor section 1’ in the conveyance width direction Fig. 1, the first conveyance width direction side being opposite to a second conveyance width direction side, the first conveyor part 1 is a roller conveyor comprising a plurality of first rollers arranged in the conveyance direction, each of the first rollers has a rotation axis inclined downstream in the conveyance direction on the first conveyance width direction side, and the second conveyor part 1’ is a roller conveyor comprising a plurality of second rollers arranged in the conveyance direction and each of the second rollers has a rotation axis inclined downstream in the conveyance direction on the second conveyance width direction side Fig. 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KAVEL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651
KS