DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 10, 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 14, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 14, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9, 11, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selzer, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0388615.
Regarding claim 1, Selzer discloses a structure comprising at least one structural element being a beam or a column (beam 110 including hood track, see paragraph 35), wherein said structural element extends in a longitudinal direction and has an outer side (at 225, 227), wherein a cavity (220) is provided in said structural element which is open on the outer side of the structural element, wherein said cavity extends in said longitudinal direction, wherein the cavity is configured for holding at least one power cable (280) for supplying power to one or more functional components attachable to said structural element (component the cable is run to), and wherein the terrace canopy further comprises a seal (260) for sealing the open side of said cavity, wherein said seal extends in said longitudinal direction and is positioned between an open state and a sealing state (installed vs. not installed), wherein the seal is capable of simultaneously assuming different ones of said states at different locations of the seal in said longitudinal direction, but does not specifically disclose which track is used as the hood track of the beam, nor the seal being elastically deformable. Selzer teaches the posts and beams may be of aluminum (paragraph 33) which has a degree of elasticity and is capable of deforming. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize aluminum for the post, beam, and track components for a lightweight structure that can easily be assembled. It would also have been obvious to utilize track 200 for the beam dependent on the number of conduits needed in the assembly. The phrases “configured for holding at least one power cable for supplying power to one or more functional components attachable to said structural element,” “for sealing the open side of said cavity,” and “capable of simultaneously assuming different ones of said states at different locations of the seal in said longitudinal direction” are statements of intended use of the claimed invention and must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 2, Selzer discloses a structure, but does not disclose wherein the seal comprises a rigid portion and an elastic portion, wherein the rigid portion is attached to said structural element and wherein the elastic portion, in the sealing state, closes off the open side. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the seal with the channels (262, 264) of a thinner material than the elongate outer portion of the seal, thus producing a seal with a more flexible portion and a more rigid portion, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin,125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 3, Selzer discloses a structure wherein the structural element comprises holder means (225, 227), wherein the seal is held on said structural element, in particular in said cavity, by means of the holder means (see Fig. 9), wherein said holder means preferably comprise two hooks which face each other and project from a wall delimiting said cavity, wherein a portion of the seal is held between said hooks and a part of said wall.
Regarding claim 4, Selzer discloses a structure, but does not specifically disclose wherein the seal comprises two substantially L-shaped elements which are located opposite each other, wherein each L-shaped element comprises a first leg and a second leg, wherein the first leg is attached to said structural element and wherein the second legs, in the sealing state, together seal the open side, wherein each L- shaped leg preferably comprises a strut. Selzer teaches two hooking structures *262, 264), each having a portion extending perpendicular from the main seal body and a second portion extending at an angle to the first portion (see Fig. 9). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the hook components in an L-shape depending on the method of production, and since there is no invention in merely changing the shape or form of an article without changing its function except in a design patent. Eskimo Pie Corp. v. Levous et al., 3 USPQ 23. One of the two portions may be called a strut, as the metes and bounds of the term strut have not been defined.
Regarding claim 6, Selzer discloses a structure wherein the structural element is a beam (110 and 200), wherein the seal, in its sealing state, is configured to carry said at least one power cable (within cavity 220), but does not disclose specifically wherein the open side is located at an underside of the beam. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the structural element with the seal at an underside of the beam for optimum moisture resistance and for accessibility, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. The phrase “configured to carry said at least one power cable” is a statement of intended use of the claimed invention and must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 7, Selzer discloses a structure wherein the terrace canopy further comprises a mounting element in said cavity (210), wherein said mounting element is configured for attaching thereto a functional component of said one or more functional components (see Fig. 2B, generally), but does not disclose the mounting element is slidably mounted, wherein the mounting element is connectable to said at least one power cable. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the mounting element as a separate element which slides into position for ease of assembly, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179. It would also have been obvious to make the mounting element connectable to a power cable to hold the cable in place for ease of assembly. The phrases “configured for attaching thereto a functional component of said one or more functional components” and “connectable to said at least one power cable” are statements of intended use of the claimed invention and must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 9, Selzer discloses a structure wherein the structural element comprises guiding means (214) for holding and guiding the mounting element. The phrase “for holding and guiding the mounting element” is a statement of intended use of the claimed invention and must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 11, Selzer, as modified, discloses a structure wherein the mounting element comprises blocking means (214) that are movable between an open state in which the mounting element is slidable through said cavity in said longitudinal direction and a blocking state in which the mounting element is not slidable through said cavity (as modified, prior to when it is inserted and after it has been inserted, respectively).
Regarding claim 14, Selzer discloses a structure wherein the terrace canopy further comprises one or more of said one or more functional components, wherein said one or more functional components preferably comprise one or more of: a lighting element, such as a spotlight or an LED; an audio element, such as a loudspeaker; an imaging element, such as a projector; a heating element, such as an electric heater; a sensor, such as a rain sensor, wind sensor, or a light sensor; a ventilation element, such as a fan; a power supply, such as a wall outlet or USB port; or a holder to which an element, such as a screen or decoration, can be attached (paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 15, Selzer discloses a structure wherein the terrace canopy further comprises said at least one power cable (280) arranged in said cavity.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selzer, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0388615 in view of Header, U.S. Patent 8,800,221.
Regarding claim 5, Selzer discloses a structure with a seal but does not disclose wherein the seal is integrally manufactured from an elastomer. Header teaches a seal for structural members of an elastomeric material (col. 6, lines 16-18). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the seal of an elastomeric material due to its electrical insulating properties and water and moisture resistance, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin,125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 12-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
GISELE D. FORD
Examiner
Art Unit 3633
/GISELE D FORD/Examiner, Art Unit 3633