DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “the additional reference arm”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term.
It is suggested to amend the claim to depend from claim 23, which sets forth “an additional reference arm”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a device to process” in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 15 and 23, the claims recite “the installation thus being capable, during operation, of allowing at least one interference to be produced between: at least one reference wave… and at least one object wave obtained by backscattering the light emitted by said source onto the sample”.
It is unclear how the installation “allows" interference, and it is unclear how the object wave is obtained by backscattering light emitted by a source onto a sample. A sample backscatters light but it’s unclear how one would backscatter light onto the sample.
It is assumed the claim means: the reference wave is light reflected from the specular interface and the object wave is backscattered light from the sample.
Claims 16-25 are rejected based upon their dependency on claim 15. Claim 24 is rejected based upon its suggested dependency on claim 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-17 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (CN106248624A), reference to English machine translation, hereinafter “Guo”, and further in view of Zanoni (US 4074937 A).
Regarding claim 15, Guo teaches an installation (abstract, Figs. 1, 2) comprising an optical apparatus (Figs. 1, 1) for the full-field optical coherence tomography microscopic imaging of at least one sample (paragraphs [0024]-[0025]), the apparatus comprising an objective for viewing the sample during operation (ref 12, paragraph [0033]), the installation comprising a specular interface (ref 13, paragraph [0033]), the installation thus being capable, during operation, of allowing at least one interference to be produced between (paragraph [0033]):
- at least one reference wave obtained by reflecting light emitted by a light source associable with the apparatus on the specular interface (paragraph [0033]) and
- at least one object wave obtained by backscattering the light emitted by said source onto the sample (paragraph [0033]),
the specular interface being arranged with respect to the objective such that during operation the object wave passes through said specular interface as it travels between the sample and the objective (as shown in Fig. 1, 2, paragraph [0033]),
the apparatus comprising an acquisition device suitable for acquiring at least one signal resulting from the interference between the reference waves and the object waves, said signal being dedicated to be processed by a device to process, in order to generate an image of at least part of the sample (ref 16, paragraph [0033]).
Guo is silent regarding wherein the specular interface and the objective are movable in relation to each other in at least one translation along the optical axis of the objective.
However, Zanoni teaches a Fizeau interferometer (abstract, Fig. 1) including wherein the specular interface and the objective are movable in relation to each other in at least one translation along the optical axis of the objective (col. 3, lines 25-40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Guo with the teaching of Zanoni by including wherein the specular interface and the objective are movable in relation to each other in at least one translation along the optical axis of the objective in order to vary the optical path and the focal length to scan samples at varying distances.
Regarding claim 16, Guo teaches wherein the specular interface is a glass slide or a plastics slide (ref 13, paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 17, Guo teaches wherein the source is part of the apparatus (as shown in fig. 1, ref 1, paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 20, Guo teaches wherein the source illuminates a beam splitter element (ref 6, paragraph [0032]) of the installation through an optical unit of the installation comprising at least one optic (refs 5, 2, paragraph [0031]) and at least one diaphragm (refs 3, 4, paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 21, Guo teaches comprising a sample holder wherein the specular interface is part of the sample holder (paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 22, Guo teaches wherein the specular interface is a sample-holder face that faces the sample during operation (paragraph [0022]).
Claims 15, 17, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ralston et al. (US 2008/0140341 A1), hereinafter “Ralston”, and further in view of Marks et al. (US 2008/0007733 A1), hereafter “Marks”.
Regarding claim 15, Ralston teaches an installation (abstract, Figs. 1-8) comprising an optical apparatus (Fig 3a) for the full-field optical coherence tomography microscopic imaging (paragraphs [0046], [0052]) of at least one sample (ref 8, paragraph [0054]), the apparatus comprising an objective for viewing the sample during operation (ref 124, paragraph [0054]), the installation comprising a specular interface (ref 116, paragraph [0054]), the installation thus being capable, during operation, of allowing at least one interference to be produced between (paragraph [0055]):
- at least one reference wave obtained by reflecting light emitted by a light source associable with the apparatus on the specular interface (paragraph [0055]) and
- at least one object wave obtained by backscattering the light emitted by said source onto the sample (paragraph [0055]),
the apparatus comprising an acquisition device suitable for acquiring at least one signal resulting from the interference between the reference waves and the object waves, said signal being dedicated to be processed by a device to process, in order to generate an image of at least part of the sample (refs 108, paragraphs [0050], [0054]-[0055]).
Ralston is silent regarding the specular interface being arranged with respect to the objective such that during operation the object wave passes through said specular interface as it travels between the sample and the objective, and wherein the specular interface and the objective are movable in relation to each other in at least one translation along the optical axis of the objective.
However, Marks teaches full-field optical coherence tomography (abstract, Fig. 5, paragraph [0058]), including the specular interface being arranged with respect to the objective such that during operation the object wave passes through said specular interface (ref 502) as it travels between the sample (ref 104) and the objective (ref 114, as shown in Fig. 5, paragraph [0059]), and wherein the specular interface and the objective are movable in relation to each other in at least one translation along the optical axis of the objective (lens 114 is a focusing lens, therefor the lens is movable in relation to the surface 502, paragraphs [0059]-[0060], [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Ralston with the teaching of Marks by including the specular interface being arranged with respect to the objective such that during operation the object wave passes through said specular interface as it travels between the sample and the objective, and wherein the specular interface and the objective are movable in relation to each other in at least one translation along the optical axis of the objective as Marks teaches it is known to use Michelson, a Mach-Zehnder, and a Fizeau interferometer as obvious variants, paragraph [0052].
Regarding claim 17, Ralston teaches wherein the source is part of the apparatus (as shown in fig. 1, ref 12, paragraph [0052]).
Regarding claim 23, Ralston and Marks teach the installation comprising an additional reference arm, the installation thus being capable, during operation, of also allowing at least one interference to be produced between: - at least one reference wave obtained by reflecting the light emitted by the light source on a reflection surface of the additional reference arm and - at least one object wave obtained by backscattering the light emitted by said source onto the sample (Ralston Fig 3a teaches a MZI interferometer and Marks Fig 5 teaches a Fizeau interferometer).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo and Zanoni, as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Scholler, Jules, et al. "Dynamic full-field optical coherence tomography: 3D live-imaging of retinal organoids." Light: Science & Applications 9.1 (2020): 140, hereafter “Scholler”.
Regarding claim 18, Guo is silent regarding wherein the apparatus is also configured to enable static and dynamic full-field optical coherence tomography microscopic imaging.
However, Scholler teaches a full-field OCT device (abstract) including wherein the apparatus is also configured to enable static and dynamic full-field optical coherence tomography microscopic imaging (pages 6-7, Experimental Setup)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Guo with the teaching of Scholler by including wherein the apparatus is also configured to enable static and dynamic full-field optical coherence tomography microscopic imaging in order to produce a dynamic image produced from a sequence of FFOCT images, where the FFOCT device produces the individual images, using the same device, where a dynamic FFOCT image is produced using the same microscope.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo and Zanoni, as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Xiao, Jiaying, et al. "Imaging of oocyte development using ultrahigh-resolution full-field optical coherence tomography." Applied optics 51.16 (2012): 3650-3654, hereafter “Xiao”.
Regarding claim 19, Guo is silent regarding an incubator for receiving the sample.
However, Xiao teaches a full-field OCT device (abstract), including an incubator for receiving the sample (Fig. 2, page 3651, Experimental Setup).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Guo with the teaching of Xiao by including an incubator for receiving the sample to provide desired sample conditions.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo and Zanoni, as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Chang et al. (US20080198367A1), hereafter “Chang”.
Regarding claim 23, Guo is silent regarding the installation comprising an additional reference arm, the installation thus being capable, during operation, of also allowing at least one interference to be produced between: - at least one reference wave obtained by reflecting the light emitted by the light source on a reflection surface of the additional reference arm and - at least one object wave obtained by backscattering the light emitted by said source onto the sample.
However, Chang teaches an installation comprising an additional reference arm, the installation thus being capable, during operation, of also allowing at least one interference to be produced between: - at least one reference wave obtained by reflecting the light emitted by the light source on a reflection surface of the additional reference arm and - at least one object wave obtained by backscattering the light emitted by said source onto the sample (Fig. 8 shows a Fizeau interferometer, ref 129’, along with a MZI formed by two connecting arms 115′ and 125′, mirror 142).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Guo with the teaching of Chang by including the installation comprising an additional reference arm, the installation thus being capable, during operation, of also allowing at least one interference to be produced between: - at least one reference wave obtained by reflecting the light emitted by the light source on a reflection surface of the additional reference arm and - at least one object wave obtained by backscattering the light emitted by said source onto the sample in order to have a processing interferometer for the Fizeau generated signal,
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo, Zanoni, and Chang, as applied to claims 15 and 23 above, as best understood, and further in view of Guenther et al. (US20060120088A1), hereinafter “Guenther”.
Regarding claim 24, Guo is silent regarding temporary means for locking the additional reference arm.
However, Guenther teaches an interferometric device (abstract) including temporary means for locking the additional reference arm (paragraph [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Guo with the teaching of Guenther by including temporary means for locking the additional reference arm in order to allow the reference arm and mirror by stationary during image acquisition.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo and Zanoni, as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Qiao (CN102710845A), references to English machines translation, hereinafter “Qiao”.
Regarding claim 25, Guo is silent regarding wherein at least part of the installation is integrated in a mobile phone which belongs to the installation.
However, Qiao teaches an OCT device (abstract) including wherein at least part of the installation is integrated in a mobile phone which belongs to the installation (paragraph [0047]-[0048], Figs 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Guo with the teaching of Qiao by including wherein at least part of the installation is integrated in a mobile phone which belongs to the installation in order to have a compact and mobile OCT device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Boccara (US20130235383A1) teaches a full-field OCT device that appears to be able to be combined with prior art of record to render at least claim 15 obvious.
/DOMINIC J BOLOGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877