This Office action is in response to communications filed on 3/28/2025.
Claims 1-21, 40-43, and 47 are pending.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 41, the limitations recite “A first communication device, which is included in the communication system of claim 1.”
It’s unclear what features are inherited from claim 1, that is, it’s unclear if the claim only requires the first communication device or if, as a dependent claim, claim 41 inherits every limitation from claim 1.
Regarding claim 42, the limitations recite “second communication device, which is included in the communication system of claim 1.”
It’s unclear what features are inherited from claim 1, that is, it’s unclear if the claim only requires the communication device or if, as a dependent claim, claim 41 inherits every limitation from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 12-13, 41-43, and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubin (US 7907723 B2) in view of Kim et al. (KR 102216883 B1, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Rubin discloses a communication system (Fig. 1), comprising:
a first communication device being one of two communication devices configured to communicate to and from each other (Fig. 1, a sender and a receiver communicating with each other); and
a second communication device being another one of the two communication devices (Fig. 1, a sender and a receiver communicating with each other),
wherein the first communication device includes: a first encryptor configured to execute a transformation for encryption which satisfies the commutative law and the associative law (col. 7, lines 48-50, "The sender starts with an original plaintext message designated as M at 1. First, the sender encrypts the message with the sender's encryption key, at 2"; Fig. 1, encrypted as SM; col. 7, lines 64-67, "Since the matrices S.sub.i and R.sub.i are taken from a commutative family of matrices, the message RSM is equivalent to encrypting M first with the receiver's key and then with the sender's key, that is, RSM=SRM" - since the initial message is M, then encrypted as SM by the sender, and that SM is further encrypted by the receiver as RSM but RSM=SRM, then the associative law is implied);
a first decryptor configured to execute an inverse transformation of the encryption executed by the first encryptor (Fig. 1, SM is encrypted as RSM by the receiver; col. 8, lines 1-2, "RSM 5 is decrypted with the sender's decryption key, at 6" by the sender (see Fig. 1)); and
a first communicator configured to communicate to and from the second communication device via a predetermined network (Fig. 1, message SM is transmitted from the sender to the receiver and RSM is transmitted from the receiver and received by the sender- communicator and predetermined network inherent),
wherein the second communication device includes: a second encryptor configured to execute a transformation for encryption which satisfies the commutative law and the associative law (col. 7, lines 57-67, "SM 3 is further encrypted (superencrypted) with the receiver's encryption key, at 4. In the several one-sided embodiments, each block S.sub.iM.sub.i of the encrypted message SM is multiplied by the receiver's key matrix R.sub.i to form the next message designated RSM at 5. This is message SM encrypted with the receiver's key. Each block S.sub.iM.sub.i of message SM has been multiplied by the corresponding receiver's key matrix R.sub.i to produce the block R.sub.iS.sub.iM.sub.i. Since the matrices S.sub.i and R.sub.i are taken from a commutative family of matrices, the message RSM is equivalent to encrypting M first with the receiver's key and then with the sender's key, that is, RSM=SRM");
a second decryptor configured to execute an inverse transformation of the encryption executed by the second encryptor (col. 8, lines 12-13, "RM 7 is decrypted with the receiver's decryption key R' at 8" after RSM is decrypted by the sender into RM, see Fig. 1); and
a second communicator configured to communicate to and from the first communication device via the predetermined network (Fig. 1, message SM is transmitted from the sender to the receiver and RSM is transmitted from the receiver and received by the sender- communicator and predetermined network inherent),
wherein the first communication device is configured to execute, by the first encryptor, a transformation for encryption of plaintext shared data which is data to be shared with the second communication device into first encrypted data (col. 7, lines 48-50, "The sender starts with an original plaintext message designated as M at 1. First, the sender encrypts the message with the sender's encryption key, at 2"; Fig. 1, encrypted as SM; col. 7, lines 64-67, "Since the matrices S.sub.i and R.sub.i are taken from a commutative family of matrices, the message RSM is equivalent to encrypting M first with the receiver's key and then with the sender's key, that is, RSM=SRM" ), and
to transmit, by the first communicator, the first encrypted data to the second communication device via the predetermined network (Fig. 1, message SM is transmitted from the sender to the receiver),
wherein the second communication device is configured to execute, by the second encryptor, when the first encrypted data is received by the second communicator from the first communication device, a transformation for encryption of the first encrypted data into second/first encrypted data (col. 7, lines 57-67, "SM 3 is further encrypted (superencrypted) with the receiver's encryption key, at 4. In the several one-sided embodiments, each block S.sub.iM.sub.i of the encrypted message SM is multiplied by the receiver's key matrix R.sub.i to form the next message designated RSM at 5. This is message SM encrypted with the receiver's key. Each block S.sub.iM.sub.i of message SM has been multiplied by the corresponding receiver's key matrix R.sub.i to produce the block R.sub.iS.sub.iM.sub.i. Since the matrices S.sub.i and R.sub.i are taken from a commutative family of matrices, the message RSM is equivalent to encrypting M first with the receiver's key and then with the sender's key, that is, RSM=SRM"), and
to transmit, by the second communicator, the second/first encrypted data to the first communication device via the predetermined network (Fig. 1, RSM is transmitted from the receiver and received by the sender),
wherein the first communication device is configured to execute, by the first decryptor, when the second/first encrypted data is received by the first communicator from the second communication device, an inverse transformation of the transformation for encryption executed by the first encryptor on the second/first encrypted data to transform the second/first encrypted data into second encrypted data (col. 8, lines 1-11, "RSM 5 is decrypted with the sender's decryption key, at 6. Each sender's decryption matrix S.sub.i' is the left multiplicative inverse of the sender's encryption matrix S.sub.i. Each block of message RSM is multiplied by the corresponding sender's decryption key matrix S.sub.i' to form the next message designated RM at 7. At this point, each block of the original message has been multiplied by S.sub.i'R.sub.iS.sub.i. If M.sub.i is any block of the message, then the corresponding block of message RM is S.sub.i'R.sub.iS.sub.iM.sub.i which is the same as S.sub.i'S.sub.iR.sub.iM.sub.i' which equals R.sub.iM.sub.i which is the same as M.sub.i encrypted with the receiver's encryption key R.sub.i"), and
to transmit, by the first communicator, the second encrypted data to the second communication device via the predetermined network (Fig. 1, RM is transmitted from the sender to the receiver),
wherein the second communication device is configured to execute, by the second decryptor, when the second encrypted data is received by the second communicator from the first communication device, an inverse transformation of the transformation for encryption executed by the second encryptor on the second encrypted data to transform the second encrypted data into the plaintext shared data (col. 8, lines 12-20, "RM 7 is decrypted with the receiver's decryption key R' at 8. Each block M.sub.i of the message RM is multiplied by the receiver's decryption key matrix R.sub.i' to form the final message M. If M.sub.i is any block of the original message, the corresponding block of message RM will bel R.sub.iM.sub.i. Multiplying this by the receiver's decryption key matrix R.sub.i' gives R.sub.i'R.sub.iM.sub.i which is the same as M.sub.i. Therefore this final decryption step produces the message M at 9, which is precisely equal to the original plaintext message M at 1").
Rubin does not disclose that the first communication device and the second communication device are configured to set a first path which is a path on the predetermined network when the first communication device transmits the first encrypted data to the second communication device, a second path which is a path on the predetermined network when the second communication device transmits the second/first encrypted data to the first communication device, and a third path which is a path on the predetermined network when the first communication device transmits the second encrypted data to the second communication device, so that the second path and at least one of the first path or the third path do not overlap except at a start point and an end point of two paths to be compared among the first path, the second path, and the third path.
Kim discloses wherein the first communication device and the second communication device are configured to set a first path which is a path on the predetermined network when the first communication device transmits the first encrypted data to the second communication device (page 3, 7th paragraph, "when a radio signal strength of less than a certain reference value is detected, the terminal 220 transmits uplink data using a mobile cellular network, and receives downlink data from the access point 210 using a wireless local area network. can do. That is, data can be transmitted and received using different communication methods"; page 4, 4th paragraph, tunnel server is also configured to use both WIFI and LTE paths, where tunnel server hosts the application 348, see the figure on page 29),
a second path which is a path on the predetermined network when the second communication device transmits the second/first encrypted data to the first communication device (page 3, 7th paragraph, "when a radio signal strength of less than a certain reference value is detected, the terminal 220 transmits uplink data using a mobile cellular network, and receives downlink data from the access point 210 using a wireless local area network. can do. That is, data can be transmitted and received using different communication methods"), and
a third path which is a path on the predetermined network when the first communication device transmits the second encrypted data to the second communication device (page 3, 7th paragraph, "when a radio signal strength of less than a certain reference value is detected, the terminal 220 transmits uplink data using a mobile cellular network, and receives downlink data from the access point 210 using a wireless local area network. can do. That is, data can be transmitted and received using different communication methods" - the combination suggests all uplink communications may travel though a different path than the downlink),
so that the second path and at least one of the first path or the third path do not overlap except at a start point and an end point of two paths to be compared among the first path, the second path, and the third path (see Fig. on page 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Rubin and Kim to arrive at a system in which the first communication device and the second communication device are configured to set a first path which is a path on the predetermined network when the first communication device transmits the first encrypted data to the second communication device, a second path which is a path on the predetermined network when the second communication device transmits the second/first encrypted data to the first communication device, and a third path which is a path on the predetermined network when the first communication device transmits the second encrypted data to the second communication device, so that the second path and at least one of the first path or the third path do not overlap except at a start point and an end point of two paths to be compared among the first path, the second path, and the third path.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would benefit communication efficiency (Kim, page 3, 7th paragraph).
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings of Rubin and Kim disclose the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above, wherein the first communication device and the second communication device are configured to set the first path, the second path, and the third path so that the first path and the second path do not overlap except at the start point and the end point of the two paths (Kim, page 3, 7th paragraph, "when a radio signal strength of less than a certain reference value is detected, the terminal 220 transmits uplink data using a mobile cellular network, and receives downlink data from the access point 210 using a wireless local area network. can do. That is, data can be transmitted and received using different communication methods"; page 4, 4th paragraph, tunnel server is also configured to use both WIFI and LTE paths - see the figure on page 29).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings of Rubin and Kim disclose the invention substantially as applied to claim 2, above, wherein the first communication device includes a first path determinator configured to determine the first path (Kim, page 3, 7th paragraph, "when a radio signal strength of less than a certain reference value is detected, the terminal 220 transmits uplink data using a mobile cellular network, and receives downlink data from the access point 210 using a wireless local area network. can do. That is, data can be transmitted and received using different communication methods"; page 3, last paragraph to page 4, the client determines the paths), and
the second communication device includes a second path determinator configured to determine the second path (Kim, page 4, 4th paragraph, tunnel server is also configured to use both WIFI and LTE paths - see the figure on page 29), and
wherein the first path determinator is set in advance so as to determine a predetermined path on the predetermined network as the first path (Kim, page 3, 7th paragraph, inherent since communications are performed after the paths are set), and
the second path determinator is set in advance so as to determine, as the second path, a path which does not overlap the first path on the predetermined network except at the start point and the end point of the two paths (Kim, page 3, 7th paragraph, inherent since communications are performed after the paths are set; figure on page 29, the paths are non-overlapping).
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings of Rubin and Kim disclose the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above, wherein the first communication device and the second communication device are configured to set the second path and the third path so that the second path and the third path do not overlap except at the start point and the end point of the two paths (Kim, page 3, 7th paragraph and Fig. on page 29).
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings of Rubin and Kim disclose the invention substantially as applied to claim 12, above, wherein the first communication device includes a first path determinator configured to determine the first path and the third path (Kim, page 3, 7th paragraph, "when a radio signal strength of less than a certain reference value is detected, the terminal 220 transmits uplink data using a mobile cellular network, and receives downlink data from the access point 210 using a wireless local area network. can do. That is, data can be transmitted and received using different communication methods"; page 3, last paragraph to page 4, the client determines the paths), and
the second communication device includes a second path determinator configured to determine the second path (Kim, page 4, 4th paragraph, tunnel server is also configured to use both WIFI and LTE paths - see the figure on page 29), and
wherein the first path determinator is set in advance so as to determine a predetermined path on the predetermined network as the third path (Kim, page 3, 7th paragraph, inherent since communications are performed after the paths are set), and
the second path determinator is set in advance so as to determine, as the second path, a path which does not overlap the third path on the predetermined network except at the start point and the end point of the two paths (Kim, page 3, 7th paragraph, inherent since communications are performed after the paths are set; figure on page 29, the paths are non-overlapping).
Regarding claim 41, the combined system of Rubin and Kim discloses a first communication device, which is included in the communication system of claim 1 (Rubin, Fig. 1, sender).
Regarding claim 42, the combined system of Rubin and Kim discloses a second communication device, which is included in the communication system of claim 1 (Rubin, Fig. 1, receiver).
Regarding claim 43, Rubin discloses a communication method, which is executed by a communication system (col. 1, lines 14-17, "system and method which allows secure encrypted transmission of messages without the need for the sender or receiver to transmit any common public or private encryption keys"; Fig. 1), the communication system including:
a first communication device being one of two communication devices configured to communicate to and from each other (Fig. 1, a sender and a receiver communicating with each other); and
a second communication device being another of the two communication devices (Fig. 1, a sender and a receiver communicating with each other),
the first communication device including: a first encryptor configured to execute a transformation for encryption which satisfies the commutative law and the associative law (col. 7, lines 48-50, "The sender starts with an original plaintext message designated as M at 1. First, the sender encrypts the message with the sender's encryption key, at 2"; Fig. 1, encrypted as SM; col. 7, lines 64-67, "Since the matrices S.sub.i and R.sub.i are taken from a commutative family of matrices, the message RSM is equivalent to encrypting M first with the receiver's key and then with the sender's key, that is, RSM=SRM" - since the initial message is M, then encrypted as SM by the sender, and that SM is further encrypted by the receiver as RSM but RSM=SRM, then the associative law is implied);
a first decryptor configured to execute an inverse transformation of the encryption executed by the first encryptor (Fig. 1, SM is encrypted as RSM by the receiver; col. 8, lines 1-2, "RSM 5 is decrypted with the sender's decryption key, at 6" by the sender (see Fig. 1)); and
a first communicator configured to communicate to and from the second communication device via a predetermined network (Fig. 1, message SM is transmitted from the sender to the receiver and RSM is transmitted from the receiver and received by the sender- communicator and predetermined network inherent),
the second communication device including: a second encryptor configured to execute a transformation for encryption which satisfies the commutative law and the associative law (col. 7, lines 57-67, "SM 3 is further encrypted (superencrypted) with the receiver's encryption key, at 4. In the several one-sided embodiments, each block S.sub.iM.sub.i of the encrypted message SM is multiplied by the receiver's key matrix R.sub.i to form the next message designated RSM at 5. This is message SM encrypted with the receiver's key. Each block S.sub.iM.sub.i of message SM has been multiplied by the corresponding receiver's key matrix R.sub.i to produce the block R.sub.iS.sub.iM.sub.i. Since the matrices S.sub.i and R.sub.i are taken from a commutative family of matrices, the message RSM is equivalent to encrypting M first with the receiver's key and then with the sender's key, that is, RSM=SRM");
a second decryptor configured to execute an inverse transformation of the encryption executed by the second encryptor (col. 8, lines 12-13, "RM 7 is decrypted with the receiver's decryption key R' at 8" after RSM is decrypted by the sender into RM, see Fig. 1); and
a second communicator configured to communicate to and from the first communication device via the predetermined network (Fig. 1, message SM is transmitted from the sender to the receiver and RSM is transmitted from the receiver and received by the sender- communicator and predetermined network inherent),
the communication method comprising: a first step in which the first communication device executes, by the first encryptor, a transformation for encryption of plaintext shared data which is data to be shared with the second communication device into first encrypted data (col. 7, lines 48-50, "The sender starts with an original plaintext message designated as M at 1. First, the sender encrypts the message with the sender's encryption key, at 2"; Fig. 1, encrypted as SM; col. 7, lines 64-67, "Since the matrices S.sub.i and R.sub.i are taken from a commutative family of matrices, the message RSM is equivalent to encrypting M first with the receiver's key and then with the sender's key, that is, RSM=SRM" ), and
transmits, by the first communicator, the first encrypted data to the second communication device via the predetermined network (Fig. 1, message SM is transmitted from the sender to the receiver);
a second step in which the second communication device receives, by the second communicator, the first encrypted data from the first communication device, executes, by the second encryptor, a transformation for encryption of the first encrypted data into second/first encrypted data (col. 7, lines 57-67, "SM 3 is further encrypted (superencrypted) with the receiver's encryption key, at 4. In the several one-sided embodiments, each block S.sub.iM.sub.i of the encrypted message SM is multiplied by the receiver's key matrix R.sub.i to form the next message designated RSM at 5. This is message SM encrypted with the receiver's key. Each block S.sub.iM.sub.i of message SM has been multiplied by the corresponding receiver's key matrix R.sub.i to produce the block R.sub.iS.sub.iM.sub.i. Since the matrices S.sub.i and R.sub.i are taken from a commutative family of matrices, the message RSM is equivalent to encrypting M first with the receiver's key and then with the sender's key, that is, RSM=SRM"), and
transmits, by the second communicator, the second/first encrypted data to the first communication device via the predetermined network (Fig. 1, RSM is transmitted from the receiver and received by the sender);
a third step in which the first communication device receives, by the first communicator, the second/first encrypted data from the second communication device, executes, by the first decryptor, an inverse transformation of the transformation for encryption executed by the first encryptor on the second/first encrypted data to transform the second/first encrypted data into second encrypted data (col. 8, lines 1-11, "RSM 5 is decrypted with the sender's decryption key, at 6. Each sender's decryption matrix S.sub.i' is the left multiplicative inverse of the sender's encryption matrix S.sub.i. Each block of message RSM is multiplied by the corresponding sender's decryption key matrix S.sub.i' to form the next message designated RM at 7. At this point, each block of the original message has been multiplied by S.sub.i'R.sub.iS.sub.i. If M.sub.i is any block of the message, then the corresponding block of message RM is S.sub.i'R.sub.iS.sub.iM.sub.i which is the same as S.sub.i'S.sub.iR.sub.iM.sub.i' which equals R.sub.iM.sub.i which is the same as M.sub.i encrypted with the receiver's encryption key R.sub.i"), and
transmits, by the first communicator, the second encrypted data to the second communication device via the predetermined network (Fig. 1, RM is transmitted from the sender to the receiver); and
a fourth step in which the second communication device receives, by the second communicator, the second encrypted data from the first communication device, and executes, by the second decryptor, an inverse transformation of the transformation for encryption executed by the second encryptor on the second encrypted data to transform the second encrypted data into the plaintext shared data (col. 8, lines 12-20, "RM 7 is decrypted with the receiver's decryption key R' at 8. Each block M.sub.i of the message RM is multiplied by the receiver's decryption key matrix R.sub.i' to form the final message M. If M.sub.i is any block of the original message, the corresponding block of message RM will bel R.sub.iM.sub.i. Multiplying this by the receiver's decryption key matrix R.sub.i' gives R.sub.i'R.sub.iM.sub.i which is the same as M.sub.i. Therefore this final decryption step produces the message M at 9, which is precisely equal to the original plaintext message M at 1").
Rubin does not disclose that the first communication device and the second communication device are configured to set a first path in the first step which is a path on the predetermined network when the first communication device transmits the first encrypted data to the second communication device, a second path in the second step which is a path on the predetermined network when the second communication device transmits the second/first encrypted data to the first communication device, and a third path in the third step which is a path on the predetermined network when the first communication device transmits the second encrypted data to the second communication device, so that the second path and at least one of the first path or the third path do not overlap except at a start point and an end point of two paths to be compared among the first path, the second path, and the third path.
Kim discloses the first communication device and the second communication device are configured to set a first path in the first step which is a path on the predetermined network when the first communication device transmits the first encrypted data to the second communication device (page 3, 7th paragraph, "when a radio signal strength of less than a certain reference value is detected, the terminal 220 transmits uplink data using a mobile cellular network, and receives downlink data from the access point 210 using a wireless local area network. can do. That is, data can be transmitted and received using different communication methods"; page 4, 4th paragraph, tunnel server is also configured to use both WIFI and LTE paths, where tunnel server hosts the application 348, see the figure on page 29),
a second path in the second step which is a path on the predetermined network when the second communication device transmits the second/first encrypted data to the first communication device (page 3, 7th paragraph, "when a radio signal strength of less than a certain reference value is detected, the terminal 220 transmits uplink data using a mobile cellular network, and receives downlink data from the access point 210 using a wireless local area network. can do. That is, data can be transmitted and received using different communication methods"), and
a third path in the third step which is a path on the predetermined network when the first communication device transmits the second encrypted data to the second communication device (page 3, 7th paragraph, "when a radio signal strength of less than a certain reference value is detected, the terminal 220 transmits uplink data using a mobile cellular network, and receives downlink data from the access point 210 using a wireless local area network. can do. That is, data can be transmitted and received using different communication methods" - the combination suggests all uplink communications may travel though a different path than the downlink),
so that the second path and at least one of the first path or the third path do not overlap except at a start point and an end point of two paths to be compared among the first path, the second path, and the third path (see Fig. on page 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Rubin and Kim to arrive at a system in which the first communication device and the second communication device are configured to set a first path which is a path on the predetermined network when the first communication device transmits the first encrypted data to the second communication device, a second path which is a path on the predetermined network when the second communication device transmits the second/first encrypted data to the first communication device, and a third path which is a path on the predetermined network when the first communication device transmits the second encrypted data to the second communication device, so that the second path and at least one of the first path or the third path do not overlap except at a start point and an end point of two paths to be compared among the first path, the second path, and the third path.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would benefit communication efficiency (Kim, page 3, 7th paragraph).
Regarding claim 47, the combined teachings of Rubin and Kim disclose the invention substantially as applied to claim 43, above, wherein the first step to the fourth step are continuously and automatically executed by the first communication device and the second communication device.
Claim(s) 4-5, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubin (US 7907723 B2) in view of Kim (KR 102216883 B1), and further in view of Kaminski et al. (US 20200320212 A1, hereinafter Kaminski).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings of Rubin and Kim disclose the invention substantially as applied to claim 3, above, wherein one of the first path and the second path is a path on an Internet line (Kim, figure on page 29 and page 2, second to last paragraph, through the internet).
The combined system of Rubin and Kim do not disclose that another one of the first path and the second path is a path on a line other than the Internet.
Kaminski discloses that another one of the first path and the second path is a path on a line other than the Internet (¶[0025], "Data may be transmitted and received via communication links utilizing a standard networking protocol or a standard telecommunications protocol. For example, data may be transmitted using Session Initiation Protocol (“SIP”), Wireless Application Protocol (“WAP”), Multimedia Messaging Service (“MMS”), Enhanced Messaging Service (“EMS”), Short Message Service (“SMS”), Global System for Mobile Communications (“GSM”) based systems, Code Division Multiple Access (“CDMA”) based systems, Transmission Control Protocol/Internet Protocols (“TCP/IP”), hypertext transfer protocol (“HTTP”), hypertext transfer protocol secure (“HTTPS”), real time streaming protocol (“RTSP”), or other protocols and systems suitable for transmitting and receiving data. Data may be transmitted and received wirelessly or in some cases may utilize cabled network or telecom connections such as an Ethernet RJ45/Category 5 Ethernet connection, a fiber connection, a cable connection or other wired network connection" (where SMS and MMS are known services that do not leverage the internet but rather use voice or signaling channels)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Rubin, Kim and Kaminski to arrive at a system in which the another one of the first path and the second path is a path on a line other than the Internet.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because implementing known types of communications would simplify system design.
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings of Rubin and Kim disclose the invention substantially as applied to claim 4, above, wherein the path on a line other than the Internet is any one of a communication carrier line, a global IP-assigned IP-VPN, a private network, a short message service (SMS), and a multimedia message service (MMS) (Kaminski, ¶[0025], "Data may be transmitted and received via communication links utilizing a standard networking protocol or a standard telecommunications protocol. For example, data may be transmitted using Session Initiation Protocol (“SIP”), Wireless Application Protocol (“WAP”), Multimedia Messaging Service (“MMS”), Enhanced Messaging Service (“EMS”), Short Message Service (“SMS”), Global System for Mobile Communications (“GSM”) based systems, Code Division Multiple Access (“CDMA”) based systems, Transmission Control Protocol/Internet Protocols (“TCP/IP”), hypertext transfer protocol (“HTTP”), hypertext transfer protocol secure (“HTTPS”), real time streaming protocol (“RTSP”), or other protocols and systems suitable for transmitting and receiving data. Data may be transmitted and received wirelessly or in some cases may utilize cabled network or telecom connections such as an Ethernet RJ45/Category 5 Ethernet connection, a fiber connection, a cable connection or other wired network connection" (where SMS and MMS are known services that do not leverage the internet but rather use voice or signaling channels)).
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings of Rubin and Kim disclose the invention substantially as applied to claim 13, above, wherein one of the second path and the third path is a path on an Internet line (Kim, figure on page 29 and page 2, second to last paragraph, through the internet).
The combined system of Rubin and Kim do not disclose that another one of the first path and the second path is a path on a line other than the Internet.
Kaminski discloses that another one of the first path and the second path is a path on a line other than the Internet (¶[0025], "Data may be transmitted and received via communication links utilizing a standard networking protocol or a standard telecommunications protocol. For example, data may be transmitted using Session Initiation Protocol (“SIP”), Wireless Application Protocol (“WAP”), Multimedia Messaging Service (“MMS”), Enhanced Messaging Service (“EMS”), Short Message Service (“SMS”), Global System for Mobile Communications (“GSM”) based systems, Code Division Multiple Access (“CDMA”) based systems, Transmission Control Protocol/Internet Protocols (“TCP/IP”), hypertext transfer protocol (“HTTP”), hypertext transfer protocol secure (“HTTPS”), real time streaming protocol (“RTSP”), or other protocols and systems suitable for transmitting and receiving data. Data may be transmitted and received wirelessly or in some cases may utilize cabled network or telecom connections such as an Ethernet RJ45/Category 5 Ethernet connection, a fiber connection, a cable connection or other wired network connection" (where SMS and MMS are known services that do not leverage the internet but rather use voice or signaling channels)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Rubin, Kim and Kaminski to arrive at a system in which the another one of the first path and the second path is a path on a line other than the Internet.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because implementing known types of communications would simplify system design.
Regarding claim 15, the combined teachings of Rubin, Kim, and Kaminski disclose the invention substantially as applied to claim 14, above, wherein the path on a line other than the Internet is any one of a communication carrier line, a global IP-assigned IP-VPN, a private network, a short message service (SMS), and a multimedia message service (MMS) (Kaminski, ¶[0025], "Data may be transmitted and received via communication links utilizing a standard networking protocol or a standard telecommunications protocol. For example, data may be transmitted using Session Initiation Protocol (“SIP”), Wireless Application Protocol (“WAP”), Multimedia Messaging Service (“MMS”), Enhanced Messaging Service (“EMS”), Short Message Service (“SMS”), Global System for Mobile Communications (“GSM”) based systems, Code Division Multiple Access (“CDMA”) based systems, Transmission Control Protocol/Internet Protocols (“TCP/IP”), hypertext transfer protocol (“HTTP”), hypertext transfer protocol secure (“HTTPS”), real time streaming protocol (“RTSP”), or other protocols and systems suitable for transmitting and receiving data. Data may be transmitted and received wirelessly or in some cases may utilize cabled network or telecom connections such as an Ethernet RJ45/Category 5 Ethernet connection, a fiber connection, a cable connection or other wired network connection" (where SMS and MMS are known services that do not leverage the internet but rather use voice or signaling channels)).
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubin (US 7907723 B2) in view of Kim (KR 102216883 B1), and further in view of md5decrypt.net ("XOR Online Decrypt & Encrypt" - md5decrypt.net - July 2022, hereinafter md5decrypt).
Regarding claim 40, the combined teachings of Rubin and Kim disclose the invention substantially as applied to claim 1, above.
The combined system of Rubin and Kim does not disclose that the first encryptor, the first decryptor, the second encryptor, and the second decryptor are each configured to execute an exclusive OR operation.
md5decrypt discloses that the first encryptor, the first decryptor, the second encryptor, and the second decryptor are each configured to execute an exclusive OR operation (page 1, XOR may be used to encrypt and decrypt a message in a manner that is commutative).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Rubin, Kim and md5decrypt to arrive at a system in which the first encryptor, the first decryptor, the second encryptor, and the second decryptor are each configured to execute an exclusive OR operation.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would provide the system with an encryption algorithm that is commutative (md5decrypt, page 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-11 and 16-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20050002533 A1, which discloses "cryptographic system transmits a fully secure cryptographic message over a non-secure communication channel without prior exchange of cryptographic keys using a three-pass protocol. The transmitting agent initiating the communication embodies the message for the designated receiving agent in the composite output of two distinct transformations such that a generalized reversal of the combined transformations cannot be determined from that output. That output is transmitted as a first-pass over a non-secure channel to the receiving agent. The receiving agent generates a second composite output by transforming the received message such that a generalized reversal of this second combined transformation cannot be determined from that resulting output. That second output is transmitted as a second-pass over a non-secure channel to the initial transmitting agent. The initial agent generates a third composite output from the returned message by reversing one of the two initial transformations such that a generalized reversal of this third composite transformation cannot be determined from that resulting output. The third output is transmitted as a third-pass over a non-secure channel to the receiving agent. The receiving agent uses a reversal of the second transformation applied to the final message to extract the initial message. The transformations (or keys) used by either party need not be known by the other, making this an independent-key cryptographic process. It is technically impossible for any eavesdropping agent, even one who captures all transmissions between the transmitting and receiving agents, to directly recreate the initial message from the observed transmissions." (abstract).
US 20190372679 A1, which discloses "A method of making available personalization data in respect of a service between a terminal and a device. The terminal is able to communicate with the device on a first near-field channel and on a second wireless channel distinct from the first channel. The method includes, on the terminal, the steps of: obtaining a first message on the first channel, comprising at least one random datum; transmission on the second channel of a second message in response to the first message; establishment of a communication session on the second channel with the device; calculation of a secret datum as a function of the random datum received; transmission of the secret datum on the second channel; reception of a request for a personalization datum; transmission of at least one personalization datum in response to the request" (abstract).
US 8510835 B1, which discloses " In FIG. 20, the communicator 401 sends data 651 to the cloud using channel A. The data 651 may include information indicating the channel on which the cloud should send its reply […] the cloud sends the reply 652 on the channel indicated in the data 651" (col. 8, lines 15-26).
US 20060268932 A1, which discloses "A network system includes a first device and a second device separated by a network having asymmetric routes in which traffic forwarded in a first direction from the first device to the second device may travel a different route than traffic forwarded in a second direction from the second device to the first device. At least three intermediate processing devices are located between the first device and the second device, wherein at least two of the intermediate processing devices are located along different asymmetric routes. The intermediate processing devices intercept a communication flow between the first device and the second device, and encapsulate the communication flow within network tunnels so that communications associated with the communication flow in the first direction and the second direction are forwarded between a same set of at least two of the intermediate processing devices" (abstract).
US 20200359440 A1, which discloses "FIG. 15 shows an example communication between a wireless device 1504 and an application server 1508. The wireless device 1504 and the application server 1508 may be associated with an application (e.g., a cloud gaming application, a UAV application, and/or any other application). The wireless device 1504 may send, to the application server 1508, and/or receive, from the application server 1508, data associated with the application. The wireless device 1504 may communicate with the application server 1508 via a (R)AN 1528 and/or a core network 1532" (¶[0158]); "The wireless device 1602 may determine that a first PDU session for the first direction may use the first network slice and a second PDU session for the second direction may use the second network slice" (¶[0164]).
/BORIS D GRIJALVA LOBOS/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2496