DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re. Cl. 27, the limitation “the portion of each longitudinal slot having the arcuate shape resides at a lower end of the longitudinal slot” renders the claim indefinite in the Examiner’s position. The way the limitation is currently written is unclear since it appears to be saying that a portion of the slot being arcuate resides at a lower end of the slot. As can be seen in Figs. 12-14 for instance, the slot is illustrated as arcuate or a curve shape. It is unclear which portion is being referred to since the entire slot appears to be arcuate. Appropriate clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 21, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moon KR 20200115088 (hereinafter Moon).
Re. Cl. 1, Moon discloses: A mounting assembly (Fig. 7a) for an antenna (500, Fig. 7a), the mounting assembly comprising: a first bracket (510, 400 Fig. 3 and 7) adapted to be coupled to a rear surface of the antenna (see Fig. 7c); a second bracket (300, Fig. 7a) connected to a gripping clamp (see Fig. 7c), wherein the first bracket is adjustably connected to the second bracket to adjust a tilt angle of the antenna (see Fig. 7a-c via 311, 312); wherein the first bracket comprises two side walls (410, 420, Fig. 3 and 7), wherein each side wall of the two side walls includes a longitudinal slot (411, 421, Fig. 2 and 7) and a plurality of first indexing holes (440s in 410 and 420 respectively, Fig. 7c); and wherein the second bracket comprises a center hole (holes which receive 311 and 312 in 310-1 and 320-1, Fig. 7) and a plurality of second indexing holes (320-2, Fig. 7c), wherein the center hole is configured to align with the longitudinal slot of the first bracket (see Fig. 7c) and at least two second indexing holes of the plurality of second indexing holes are aligned with corresponding first indexing holes of the plurality of first indexing holes of the first bracket (see Fig. 7c), to facilitate mounting of the antenna (see Fig. 7c as receiving 441).
Re. Cl. 2, Moon discloses: the second bracket is integrally formed with the gripping clamp (see Fig. 7c).
Re. Cl. 3, Moon discloses: the plurality of first indexing holes in the first bracket is defined circumscribing the longitudinal slot present in each side wall of the two side walls of the first bracket (see Fig. 7c, the holes 440 circumscribe the top of the slots in both 410 and 420).
Re. Cl. 7, Moon discloses: at least one locking pin (441, Fig. 7c) adapted to be received in the first indexing holes of the first bracket and the second indexing holes of the second bracket, to secure the antenna at the tilt angle (see Fig. 7c).
Re. Cl. 8, Moon discloses: the second bracket is configured to grip a support structure for mounting the antenna (see Fig. 7c).
Re. Cl. 21, Moon discloses: A mounting assembly (Fig. 12) for an antenna (500, Fig. 12), comprising: a first bracket (upper 450, 460, Fig. 10) adapted to be coupled to a rear surface of the antenna (see Fig. 10 and 12); a second bracket (upper 480, Fig. 12) configured to grip a support structure for mounting the antenna (see post as shown in Fig. 12), wherein the first bracket is adjustably connected to the second bracket to adjust a tilt angle of the antenna (see Fig. 12 via 470), the first bracket comprises two side walls (450, 460, Fig. 10), each of the side walls including a longitudinal slot (451, 461, Fig. 10), wherein at least a portion of the longitudinal slot has an arcuate shape (see Fig. 10 and 12).
Re. Cl. 25, Moon discloses: a third bracket (lower 450, 460, Fig. 10 and 12) adapted to be coupled to a rear surface of the antenna (see Fig. 10); a fourth bracket (lower 480, Fig. 12) configured to grip the support structure for mounting the antenna (see Fig. 12), wherein the third bracket is pivotably connected to the fourth bracket (see Fig. 10, via lower 470), wherein the third and fourth brackets reside below the first and second brackets (see Fig. 10 and 12).
Re. Cl. 26, Moon discloses: the first bracket is generally parallel to a longitudinal axis of the support structure when in a retracted position (see annotated Fig. 10, annotated vertical portion of the first bracket is generally parallel to the axis of the post) and generally perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the support structure when in an extended position (see Fig. 7c, when adjusted so that the fastener 470 engages the right end of the slots 451, 461, the brackets 450 and 460 would be generally perpendicular to the post).
Re. Cl. 27, Moon discloses: when in the retracted position, the portion of each longitudinal slot having the arcuate shape resides at a lower end of the longitudinal slot (see Fig. 10), thereby allowing the antenna to be positioned closer to the support structure (see Fig. 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon.
Re. Cl. 9, the embodiment referred to above (see Fig. 7a) discloses the first bracket comprises a first (left end of 410 and 420 Fig. 7c) and second end (right end of 410 and 420, Fig. 7c), wherein the first end is connected to the antenna (see Fig. 7c) and is positioned above the second end connected to the second bracket (see Fig. 7). In other words, Moon, in the embodiment shown in Fig. 7c discloses the opposite configuration of what is claimed. Moon does however discloses an alternate embodiment (Fig. 13c) which is the opposite configuration of Fig. 7c, in that the first end connected to the antenna is positioned below the second end connected to the second bracket (see Fig. 13c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Moon embodiment shown in Fig. 7c to be in the configuration of Fig. 13c with reasonable expectation of success since Moon states that greatly increasing the fixing force without shaking (Paragraph 0063).
Re. Cl. 10, Moon discloses: A mounting assembly (Fig. 12) for an antenna (500, Fig. 12), the mounting assembly comprising: a first bracket (upper or lower set of 450, 460, Fig. 12) adapted to be coupled to a rear surface of the antenna (see Fig. 12); a second bracket (upper or lower 480, Fig. 12) configured to grip a support structure for mounting the antenna (see Fig. 12), wherein the first bracket is adjustably connected to the second bracket to adjust a tilt angle of the antenna (see Fig. 12, via 470); the first bracket comprises two side walls (450, 460, Fig. 10 and 12), wherein each side wall of the two side walls includes an arcuate longitudinal slot (451, 461 Fig. 10 and 12); and the second bracket comprises a center hole (see 481, 482 Fig. 12), wherein the center hole is configured to align with the longitudinal slot of the first bracket (see Fig. 12).
Re. Cl. 11, Moon discloses: the second bracket comprises two lateral flanges (see flanges which have 481, 482 Fig. 12) extending integrally from a base plate (see Fig. 12, plate of 480 with circular recess that mates with the post) of the second bracket, wherein each lateral flange of the two lateral flanges is defined having the center hole (see Fig. 12).
Re. Cl. 13, Moon discloses: each side wall of the two side walls of the first bracket is defined in shape of an arc that is complimentary to the arc of the longitudinal slot defined in the side wall (see Fig. 10 and 12).
Re. Cl. 14, Moon discloses: the first bracket comprises a first end and a second end (see Fig. 10 and 12, left and right ends of 450, 460), wherein the first end connected to the antenna is positioned below the second end connected to the second bracket (see Fig. 12, the lower set of 450, 460 has its first, left end connected to the antenna 500 lower than the end mating with the lower 480).
Re. Cl. 10-11, the embodiment shown in Fig. 12 of Moon does not disclose the first bracket including a plurality of first indexing holes; the second bracket including a plurality of second indexing holes and at least two second indexing holes of the plurality of second indexing holes are aligned with corresponding indexing holes of the plurality of first indexing holes of the first bracket, to facilitate mounting of the antenna (Cl. 10) or the lateral flanges having the plurality of second indexing holes (Cl. 11). Moon discloses a different embodiment (Fig. 7c) which includes a first bracket (400) which rotationally mounts to a second bracket (310-1, 320-1), wherein the first bracket includes an arcuate slot (411, 421, Fig. 3 and 7) and a plurality of first indexing holes (440, Fig. 7c); the second bracket including a plurality of second indexing holes (320-2, Fig. 7c) and at least two second indexing holes of the plurality of second indexing holes are aligned with corresponding indexing holes of the plurality of first indexing holes of the first bracket, to facilitate mounting of the antenna (see Fig. 7c, via 441); the lateral flanges having the plurality of second indexing holes (it is the Examiner’s position that the second indexing holes would necessarily be located in the lateral flanges since the lateral flanges are the only portions of the second bracket which interacts with the side walls of the first bracket).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment of Moon in Fig. 12 to include the indexing holes of the embodiment shown in Fig. 7c with reasonable expectation of success since Moon states that such a modification maintains the device in a stably fixed state (Paragraph 0040).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Udagave US 2021/0066779 (hereinafter Udagave).
Re. Cl. 12, Moon does not disclose the second bracket comprises two longitudinal flanges extending integrally from the base plate, each longitudinal flange of the two longitudinal flanges is defined having serrations to grip the second bracket with the support structure. Udagave discloses an alternate antenna mounting assembly (Fig. 1) which includes a second bracket (40, Fig. 2, 120 Fig. 5a) comprising two longitudinal flanges (128, Fig. 5a) extending integrally from the base plate (122, Fig. 5a), each longitudinal flange of the two longitudinal flanges is defined having serrations (132, Fig. 5a) to grip the second bracket with the support structure (see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to replace the curved recess in the base plate of Moon with the base plate and longitudinal flanges in Udagave with reasonable expectation of success since Udagave states that such a modification provides improved grip while reducing stress concentrations when mounting onto a pole (Paragraph 0036).
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Tulloch US 2008/0150831 (hereinafter Tulloch).
Re. Cls. 22-24, Moon discloses a single fastener (470, Fig. 12) extending through the longitudinal slots and connecting the first bracket to the second bracket (see Fig. 12); the fastener is configured to slide within the longitudinal slot to adjust the tilt angle of the antenna (see Fig. 12). However, Moon does not disclose the first bracket comprises a plurality of indicia residing along each longitudinal slot of the first bracket (Cl. 22) or a fastener through each longitudinal slot (Cls. 23-24). Tulloch discloses an alternate mounting assembly (Fig. 1-2) which includes a first bracket (46) rotationally secured to a second bracket (14, Fig. 1) using arcuate longitudinal slots (56, Fig. 1). Re. Cl. 22, Tulloch discloses the first bracket comprises a plurality of indicia residing along each longitudinal slot of the first bracket (see number values shown about 56, Fig. 5). Re. Cls. 22-23, Tulloch discloses a fastener (54, Fig. 1-2) for each longitudinal slot that connects the first and second brackets (see Fig. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Moon device to include the indicia of Tulloch with reasonable expectation of success to provide indications of the angle on each side of the of the first bracket. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Moon device to include multiple fasteners securing the first and second brackets as disclosed by Tulloch with reasonable expectation of success since it has been held to be obvious to replace one known means with another to achieve a predictable result. KSR Int’l Co. V. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. ___, 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR)
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang CN 206789681 (hereinafter Wang) in view of Udagave US 2021/0075083 (hereinafter Udagave 083).
Re. Cl. 1, Wang discloses: A mounting assembly (Fig. 6) for an antenna (300, Fig. 6), the mounting assembly comprising: a first bracket (100, Fig. 6) adapted to be coupled to a rear surface of the antenna (see Fig. 6); a second bracket (11, Fig. 6) connected to a gripping clamp (111, Fig. 6), wherein the first bracket is adjustably connected to the second bracket to adjust a tilt angle of the antenna (see Fig. 6, via post in 1012); wherein the first bracket comprises two side walls (101, Fig. 6-7), wherein each side wall of the two side walls includes a longitudinal slot (1012, Fig. 6-7) and a plurality of first indexing holes (1011, Fig. 6-7); and wherein the second bracket comprises a center post (guide post shown in 1012, Fig. 6) and a plurality of second indexing holes (holes which receive 102, Fig. 6), wherein the center post is configured to align with the longitudinal slot of the first bracket (see Fig. 6) and at least two second indexing holes of the plurality of second indexing holes are aligned with corresponding first indexing holes of the plurality of first indexing holes of the first bracket, to facilitate mounting of the antenna (see Fig. 6, via 102).
Re. Cl. 4, Wang discloses: the second bracket comprises two lateral flanges (112, Fig. 6) extending from a base plate (plate which secures to 111, Fig. 6), wherein each lateral flange of the two lateral flanges is defined having the center post and the plurality of second indexing holes (see Fig. 6).
Re. Cl. 5, Wang discloses: a pair of fasteners (post which is received in 1012, Fig. 6), wherein one fastener is allowed to pass through the longitudinal slot defined in one side wall of the first bracket (see Fig. 6)and the center hole defined in one flange of the second bracket, and another fastener is allowed to pass through the longitudinal slot defined in another side wall of the first bracket (see Fig. 6) and the center hole defined in another flange of the second bracket.
Re. Cls. 1 and 4-5, Wang does not disclose the center post is a fastener which passes through a center hole to engage the longitudinal slot which is defined in flanges of the second bracket. Udagave 083 discloses a mounting assembly (Fig. 1) which includes rotational securing a first backet (140) to a second bracket (120) wherein the first bracket includes a longitudinal flange having a curved slot (146) and the second bracket includes a hole (126, Fig. 3a) which aligns with the curved slot so that a fastener post (130, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the center post of Wang to be a fastener extending through a hole in the flange to engage the slot as disclosed by Udagave with reasonable expectation of success to enable the user to selectively replace the fastener if needed due to wear and tear or damage for instance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zimmerman US 6232928, Wang US 2023/0361459 and Okubo US 2006/0202906 disclose other known antenna supports presented to the Applicant for their consideration.
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632