DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/186249 and further in view of Albrectsen (US 2010/0256581).
With reference to claim 1, WO 2021/186249 (hereinafter “Kumar”) discloses an ostomy pouch appliance (10) comprising: a body-side wall and a distal wall joined along an outer periphery defining a collection cavity for collecting body waste [0035];
inlet opening for receiving body waste from a stoma [0005] and a gas outlet (406) formed in an upper portion of one of the body-side wall and distal wall for egress of gas collected in the collection cavity ([0005] and figure 8);
a filter assembly (416) attached to one of the body-side wall and distal wall [0006] covering the gas outlet;
and a prefilter (24,424) configured to protect the filter assembly [0064] and attached to one of the body-side wall and distal wall as shown in figure 8. Kumar also discloses the prefilter spaced away from the outer periphery (i.e., outermost portion) of the ostomy pouch as shown in figure 1.
The difference between Kumar and claims 1-2 is the provision has a specific shape.
Albrectsen teaches an analogous ostomy bag having a prefilter may be saw-toothed, bell-shaped, curved or any suitable shape as set forth in [0051]. Albrectsen also suggests that the prefilter (11) is arranged such that pointed ends (28,28’) are oriented downwardly as shown in figure 4 of Albrectsen.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the prefilter of Kumar with the desired shape as suggested by Albrectsen in order to decrease the risk of the prefilter becoming clogged or blocked as taught by Albrectsen in [0051].
With respect to claim 3, Kumar discloses an ostomy pouch appliance wherein the filter assembly is attached to an outer surface of one of the body-side wall and distal wall, and the prefilter (424) is attached to an inner surface of one of the body-side wall and distal wall covering the gas outlet (406) as shown in figure 8.
As to claim 4, Kumar discloses an ostomy pouch appliance wherein the filter assembly (416) is attached to an inner surface of one of the body-side wall and distal wall, and the prefilter (424) is attached to an inner surface of one of the body-side wall and distal wall covering the filter assembly as shown in figure 18.
Regarding claim 5, Kumar discloses an ostomy pouch appliance wherein the prefilter is formed from a foam material as set forth in [0042].
As to claim 6, Kumar discloses an ostomy pouch appliance further including a protective panel (20,120) formed from perforated film [0037], wherein the protective panel is configured to protect the filter assembly and the prefilter as set forth in [0038].
With reference to claim 7, Kumar discloses an ostomy pouch appliance wherein the protective panel (220) is attached to an inner surface of one of the body-side wall and distal wall covering the prefilter (224) as set forth in [0036] and as shown in figure 6.
With respect to 8, Kumar discloses an ostomy pouch appliance wherein the protective panel includes at least one anti-reflux valve (i.e., a slit or opening) as set forth in [0071].
The instant specification discloses in [0037] that anti-reflux valves are defined by curved slits.
While Kumar does not explicitly recite that the slit is curved, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to change the size and/or shape of the slit/opening disclosed by Kumar because changing the size and/or shape of an element previously disclosed in the prior art is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Additionally, the slit/opening of Kumar is deemed to function as claimed because the structure of Kumar is identical to that claimed as Kumar discloses that the opening allows for accumulated liquid to flow down as set forth in [0071].
With reference to claim 9, see the rejection of claim 8.
The difference between Kumar and claim 9 is the provision that the slits are curved.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to change the size and/or shape of the slit/opening disclosed by Kumar because changing the size and/or shape of an element previously disclosed in the prior art is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claims 10-11, Kumar discloses an ostomy pouch appliance wherein the at least one anti-reflux valve is backed by a foam material (i.e., prefilter) as shown figures 6-7 where the foam of the prefilter is configured to function as claimed since the prefilter is disclosed as foam in [0042].
As to claim 12, Kumar discloses an ostomy pouch appliance wherein the protective panel includes at least six anti-reflux valves (530) as shown in figure 14.
Alternatively, Kumar discloses the inclusion of slits or openings as set forth in [0071].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the appliance of Kumar with the desired number of anti-reflux valves since it has been held that the mere duplication of essential parts of a device is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fails to disclose a prefilter having a crescent shaped body including downwardly pointed ends, the examiner refers to the rejection of claim 1, and specifically figure 4 of Albrectsen. Applicant argues the facilitation of draining. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant argues the particulars of Albrectesen. However, Kumar provides the foundational teachings. Albrectesen is only introduced to provide the knowledge in the art that the filter may be selected from a group of shapes include curved, S-shaped, bell shaped and/or saw-toothed shaped in which each of the disclosed shapes would reasonably include a crescent shaped body. It is noted that a “crescent” shape is commonly defined as a curved shape.
As such, the rejection is maintained.
/MICHELE KIDWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781