DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s Preliminary Amendments and Remarks, filed 28 March 2025, in the matter of Application N° 19/116,602. Said documents have been entered on the record. The Examiner further acknowledges the following:
Claims 1-50 have been canceled.
Claims 51-70 have been added and are supported by the originally filed disclosure. No further amendments have been made to the claims. No new matter has been added.
Thus, claims 51-70 now represent all claims currently under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
One Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed 28 March 2025 is acknowledged and has been considered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP §608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Objections
Claim 69 is objected to because the composition to which it refers is in claim 1 (now canceled), instead of claim 51. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §112
Claim 62 and 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 62 recites the limitation “the moisturizer” in the first line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the independent claim. Regarding the perceived support present in claim 51 for the limitation in claim 62, the Examiner acknowledges that the composition recites a lip balm “base” and that one of the potential defining properties of the composition is that it will maintain moisturization for a period of eight hours or longer. However, without further clarification as to the defining “base,” it is unclear if there are more than one moisturizing ingredients, and if so, to which claim 62 refers.
Regarding claim 66, the phrase “such as” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP §2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102
Claims 51-58, 60-64, 67, 69, and 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kesim et al. (WO 2020/242404 A1; ISR reference).
The instantly claimed invention is directed to a composition comprising a lip balm “base” and a sunscreen dispersed within the base, wherein the sunscreen comprises a “physical” sunscreen present within the composition in an amount of at least 16 wt% based on the total weight of the composition.
The composition is further recited as having at least one of the following recited properties:
having a solid stick structure;
maintaining moisturization on a lip of a user for at least eight hours following application; or
the composition does not leave an opaque white cast on the lip of a user.
Regarding the foregoing recited properties, notably the second and third properties, consistent with MPEP §2111.01(IV), §2112.01(I) and (II), and §2173.05(g), the Examiner submits that where Applicants’ defining composition is disclosed in the prior art, the recited limitations of claim 51, will also be considered met.
The first listed characteristic is considered to be directed to the structure of the composition rather than its constituency.
Kesim discloses a skincare formulation comprising polygonal zinc oxide prismatic platelets composed of primary nanoparticles as an active substance (see e.g., Abstract; claim 1). Regarding the amount of zinc oxide present in the practiced invention, the reference discloses that the formulation includes said platelets as active substance, in a concentration of up to 25 wt% with respect to the total formulation (see e.g., pg. 6, lines 12-15).
Claim 13 discloses that compositions such as claim 1 are produced as a lipstick or lip moisturizing stick. Claim 14 discloses a lip balm composition.
The foregoing disclosures also read on claims 52-54. The reference is silent to any disclosure whatsoever of titanium dioxide and is therefore considered to be free of it.
The foregoing disclosure pertaining to zinc oxide is considered to also meet the limitations recited by instant claims 55-58 and 61.
Therein, zinc oxide is disclosed as being the sole active ingredient in the composition of claim 1. It is further characterized as being a “physical” or mineral sunscreen. As it is the only sunscreen active in the practiced composition, it is thus considered to represent 100 wt% of the sunscreen component in the composition, thereby teaching claims 55 and 56.
In view of the foregoing, it is also considered to represent a sunscreen composition that contains 0 wt% chemical (organic) sunscreen. Evidence supporting this point is taken from claim 6 which eventually discloses that the practiced composition may optionally contain additional organic or inorganic UV filter compounds.
The foregoing preferred disclosure of 25 wt% zinc oxide is considered to meet the limitations recited by instant claim 58.
The limitations recited by instant claim 60 state that the composition provides protection against ultraviolet A radiation or ultraviolet B radiation. The Examiner submits that the reference’s disclosure of zinc oxide as the active substance of the practiced composition inherently meets this limitation. Evidence supporting this position is provided by such state-of-the-art showings Byren et al. (J Am Acad Dermatol, 4438; June 2017). Therein, it is disclosed that “a new sunscreen formulation which makes use of only zinc oxide [provides] a high level of protection against both UVA and UVB radiation”.
The disclosure of the practiced composition being a lipstick is considered to meet the limitations recited by instant claim 67. The structural components associated with the term “lipstick” or lip balm are understood in the art as being contained within a tube possessing a rotary mechanism adapted to extend and retract the composition. See, for example, the attached Stanley article (www.purewow.com/beauty/lipstick-with-spf) (i.e., first product: Lip C.P.R. SPF 30).
The foregoing is considered to teach the methods recited by claims 69 and 70 pertaining to applying a lip balm composition according to claim 51.
The recited composition of claim 62 further limits the lip balm base as comprising a botanical butter, a botanical oil, a natural wax, or any combination thereof. Table 2.2 discloses the composition produced by Examiner II:
The foregoing meets the limitations recited by claims 51, and 62-64.
The foregoing is thus considered to anticipate the instantly claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 51-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasim et al. (WO 2020/242404 A1; ISR reference) in view of Hart (US Pre-Grant Publication Nº 2012/0308500 A1).
The limitations of claims 51-58, 60-64, 67, 69, and 70 are discussed above.
The limitations of claims 65 and 66 are directed to the composition of the lip balm base as it pertains to narrowing the botanical oil to jojoba ester, and the natural wax. The limitations of claim 68 are directed to a method of preparing the lip balm composition.
Kesim discloses a skincare formulation comprising polygonal zinc oxide prismatic platelets composed of primary nanoparticles as an active substance (see e.g., Abstract; claim 1). Regarding the amount of zinc oxide present in the practiced invention, the reference discloses that the formulation includes said platelets as active substance, in a concentration of up to 25 wt% with respect to the total formulation (see e.g., pg. 6, lines 12-15).
Claim 13 discloses that compositions such as claim 1 are produced as a lipstick or lip moisturizing stick. Claim 14 discloses a lip balm composition.
The foregoing disclosures also read on claims 52-54. The reference is silent to any disclosure whatsoever of titanium dioxide and is therefore considered to be free of it.
The foregoing disclosure pertaining to zinc oxide is considered to also meet the limitations recited by instant claims 55-58 and 61.
Therein, zinc oxide is disclosed as being the sole active ingredient in the composition of claim 1. It is further characterized as being a “physical” or mineral sunscreen. As it is the only sunscreen active in the practiced composition, it is thus considered to represent 100 wt% of the sunscreen component in the composition, thereby teaching claims 55 and 56.
In view of the foregoing, it is also considered to represent a sunscreen composition that contains 0 wt% chemical (organic) sunscreen. Evidence supporting this point is taken from claim 6 which eventually discloses that the practiced composition may optionally contain additional organic or inorganic UV filter compounds.
The foregoing preferred disclosure of 25 wt% zinc oxide is considered to meet the limitations recited by instant claim 58.
The limitations recited by instant claim 60 state that the composition provides protection against ultraviolet A radiation or ultraviolet B radiation. The Examiner submits that the reference’s disclosure of zinc oxide as the active substance of the practiced composition inherently meets this limitation. Evidence supporting this position is provided by such state-of-the-art showings Byren et al. (J Am Acad Dermatol, 4438; June 2017). Therein, it is disclosed that “a new sunscreen formulation which makes use of only zinc oxide [provides] a high level of protection against both UVA and UVB radiation”.
The disclosure of the practiced composition being a lipstick is considered to meet the limitations recited by instant claim 67. The structural components associated with the term “lipstick” or lip balm are understood in the art as being contained within a tube possessing a rotary mechanism adapted to extend and retract the composition. See, for example, the attached Stanley article (www.purewow.com/beauty/lipstick-with-spf) (i.e., first product: Lip C.P.R. SPF 30).
The foregoing is considered to teach the methods recited by claims 69 and 70 pertaining to applying a lip balm composition according to claim 51.
The recited composition of claim 62 further limits the lip balm base as comprising a botanical butter, a botanical oil, a natural wax, or any combination thereof. Table 2.2 discloses the composition produced by Examiner II:
The foregoing meets the limitations recited by claims 51, and 62-64.
The limitations recited by instant claim 59 are directed to the average particle size of the zinc oxide such that the particles have a minimum size of 100 nm and a maximum size of 1,000 nm (1 micron).
The reference does not expressly disclose the average size of the zinc oxide platelet particles. However, the particles are disclosed as being “primary nanoparticles” such that the resulting zinc oxide platelets have a micron-scale size (see e.g., claims 1 and 4).
The Examiner respectfully submits that such a disclosure teaches and suggests the recited average particle size range, owing to the fact that primary nanoparticles are used to create particles that are an order of magnitude larger (i.e., microparticles). As such, the ordinarily skilled artisan would reasonably expect the disclosure of nanoparticles to read on the instantly recited range of 100-1,000 nm particles.
Regarding the limitations recited by claims 62-66, the Examiner submits that the foregoing disclosure of Kesim meets the limitations recited by claims 62 and 63 in its teaching of shea butter in an amount of 4 wt% of the composition. The same table is considered to meet the limitations of the botanical lipid ester in the showing of olive oil (15 wt%).
Where the teachings of Kesim are deficient is with regard to the limitations of claims 65 and 66. The former narrows the botanical oil to a jojoba ester in an amount ranging from 8% to 20% by weight. The latter narrows the wax to being candelilla wax, beeswax, or carnauba wax in an amount ranging from 6-19 wt% of the composition. Overall, Kesim is more generic in its disclosure of the base for such embodiments as lipsticks, lip moisturizing sticks, and lip balms.
Hart is directed to anhydrous lipstick formulations (Abstract; claims). A notable aspect of the reference is that “the compositions can be sunscreens having a sun protection factor (SPF) of 1, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, 50, 55, or more.” See ¶[0009]. Paragraph [0030] further defines such compositions as using either or both physical or chemical UV absorbers, listing zinc oxide as one such physical absorber.
Regarding the lipstick base, Hart discloses formulations comprising a mixture of Butyrospermum parkii and Limanthes alba seed oil in an amount ranging from 4-6 wt% of the composition, jojoba esters in an amount ranging from 12-14 wt% of the composition, and natural waxes ranging from 9-17 wt% of the composition (see e.g., claim 8). The waxes, in the specific example of claim 8, are noted as comprising both candelilla wax (4-6 wt%) and beeswax (2-4 wt%).
Such is considered to meet the limitations of the lip balm base as recited by instant claims 62-66.
The Examiner acknowledges two key deficiencies with the foregoing disclosure.
First, the specifically relied upon composition example of claim 8 uses titanium dioxide instead of zinc oxide. Second, the amount of physical sunscreen is only 7-10 wt% of the composition instead of the instantly claimed 16 wt% minimum.
Despite these differences, the Examiner respectfully submits that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of producing the instantly claimed lip balm under the guidance of the teachings of Kesim and Hart.
Kesim is relied upon for its disclosure of producing such solid lip-applied sunscreen compositions that not only contain zinc oxide in the requisite amounts, but also as the sole UV filter ingredient. Though it does provide general disclosure of excipients that may be used to produce its compositions (see e.g., pg. 3, lines 22-25), as well as a few specific examples (see e.g., Tables 2.1 and 2.2), Kesim does not expressly disclose the later dependent limitations recited by claims 63-66.
Hart supplements the teachings of Kesim by providing exactly that, lipstick compositions that not only contain the recited components and amounts thereto, but more critically stick compositions loaded with a sunscreen component.
It is noted that Hart’s disclosure for the physical sunscreen is in terms of a lower amount of titanium dioxide. However, Hart also discloses that zinc oxide may be used. Through the lens of claim 8, the skilled artisan will also note that a single physical UV filter compound may be used, thereby teaching and suggesting that zinc oxide may be used on its own, as is done by Kesim. Hart also discloses that the amount of sunscreen in the composition may result in higher SPF values such as SPF 50, 55, or higher. See ¶[0009]. Kesim discloses that amounts of zinc oxide may preferably be up to 25 wt% of the composition and possess SPF values of 50.
Thus, based on the combined teachings of the references, the Examiner advances that skilled artisan would have reasonably expected success at producing the instantly claimed composition and arriving at the recited methods, by modifying the teachings of Kesim with the lipstick composition disclosed by Hart.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and absent a clear showing of evidence to the contrary.
Lastly, the limitations of claim 68 are directed to a method of producing a composition comprising dispersing a mineral (physical) sunscreen in a liquid balm formulation to form a liquid mixture, solidifying the liquid mixture to form a stick lip balm comprising the aforementioned ingredients, whereby the mineral sunscreen is present in an amount of at least 16 wt% of the total weight of the composition.
As above, both the teachings of Kesim and Hart are considered to provide guidance for the skilled artisan to arrive at the instant method.
Kesim discloses that “[f]or better utilising shape-related advantages of the active substance, the formulation can be designed to render the rheology of the formulation to allow an enhanced-term suspension of the active substance in a uniform fashion. Said shape-related advantages are in particular in the terms of the above-mentioned surface coating capability and/or transparency, without compromising sun protection and without necessitating an increased concentration of the active substance. Said design can correspond to a method for preparation of the formulation, which includes a sequence for mixing various components of the formulation.” (see e.g., pg. 5, lines 11-18).
When considered in light of the claims of Kesim, the Examiner advances that the primary focus direction of the composition is to form a uniform dispersion of the nanoparticulate/micro-scale particles of zinc oxide, and then place it in the desired form.
Hart discloses in ¶[0055] that the practiced kits are formed by placing the dispersions or compositions into the desired bottle, dispenser or packages as their end-use container. Paragraph [0006] further teaches that the lipstick can be formed into an elongated shape or stick and can be inside a container that has a base and a cap (e.g., a lipstick container).
What is clearly conveyed to the skilled artisan by each or both references in combination, is that the practiced compositions are first formulated in a state that is more liquid and then ultimately allowed to solidify in the shape of their respective end-use products (e.g., a contained stick form).
Thus, based on the combined teachings of the references, the Examiner advances that skilled artisan would have reasonably expected success at producing the instantly claimed composition as recited under the guidance of either Kesim or Hart or both references in combination.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and absent a clear showing of evidence to the contrary.
All claims have been rejected; no claims are allowed.
Correspondence
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Robert A. Wax can be reached on (571) 272-0623. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Jeffrey T. Palenik/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615