DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a zero-watt module”, “an energy harvesting module” and “a photovoltaic harvesting module” in claims 1-8 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 9 recites “the power conversion device is configured to apply voltage to the power conversion device if…”. It is not clear how the power conversion device applies voltage to itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US 2015/0214770).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a display device comprising:
a System on Chip (SoC) (SoC; see at least paragraph 0018);
a power conversion device configured to supply power to the SoC (converter; see at least paragraph 0018); and
a zero-watt module configured to apply voltage to the power conversion device in a zero-watt mode (battery cell supplies the converter in a standby mode; see at least paragraphs 0018, 0022-0025, 0029-0030 and 0041-0042).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the zero-watt module includes a battery configured to be charged by receiving external power while the display device is operating in a normal mode, and
wherein the battery is configured to apply voltage to the power conversion device in the zero-watt mode (see at least paragraphs 0023 and 0055).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the zero-watt module
is configured to intermittently apply voltage to an IR sensor in the zero-watt mode (see at least paragraphs 0019 and 0023).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Jensen (US 2013/0062444).
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses the display device of claim 1, and discloses the zero-watt module, the power conversion device and the zero-watt mode; as in the rejection of claim 1, but is not clear about an energy harvesting module, and wherein the energy harvesting module is configured to apply voltage.
Jensen discloses the above missing limitation; an energy harvester that can supply power to the electronic component of an electronic appliance, wherein the electronic appliance can be a display; see at least paragraphs 0038, 0048-0053 and 0056.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Chen by the teachings of Jensen by having the above limitations so to be able to reduce power consumption; see at least paragraph 0001.
Regarding claim 5, Chen in view of Jensen disclose the display device of claim 3, wherein the energy harvesting module includes a photovoltaic harvesting module that converts light into power (Jensen; see at least paragraphs 0050-0051).
Regarding claim 6, Chen in view of Jensen disclose the display device of claim 3, wherein, if output voltage of the energy harvesting module is less than a predetermined reference voltage in the zero-watt mode, the power conversion device is configured to receive external voltage (the combination of Chen’s power conversion device and Jensen’s energy harvesting module. Furthermore, conditional language).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the zero-watt module
includes a battery and wherein the battery is configured to apply voltage to the power conversion device; see at least the rejection of claim 1, but is not clear about an energy harvesting module.
Jensen discloses the above missing limitation; an energy harvester that can supply power to the electronic component of an electronic appliance, wherein the electronic appliance can be a display; see at least paragraphs 0038, 0048-0053 and 0056.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Chen by the teachings of Jensen by having the above limitations so to be able to reduce power consumption; see at least paragraph 0001.
Regarding claim 8, Chen in view of Jensen disclose the display device of claim 7, wherein one of the battery or the energy harvesting module is configured to apply voltage to the power conversion device according to an operating time of the display device in a normal mode (the battery of Chen and the harvesting module of Jensen; see at least the rejection of claims 1 and 7).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Jensen and further in view of Hamada (EP 2239833).
Regarding claim 4, Chen in view of Jensen disclose the display device of claim 3, wherein the energy harvesting module includes: a semiconductor device configured to conduct using leakage dark current from an external power source (Jensen; see at least paragraph 0049), but are not clear about a current amplifier configured to amplify current flowing through a device and a charge pump configured to generate power by charging and discharging the amplified current.
Hamada discloses the above missing limitations; an amplifier circuit and a charge pump to control switching elements to thereby perform the accumulation of electric charges to a capacitor and transfer the charge to a second capacitor for generating a negative power source; see at least the Abstract.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Jensen by the teachings of Hamada by having the above limitations so to be able to supply a power source to a driven circuit; see at least paragraph 0001.
Conclusion
/YASSIN ALATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426