DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they fail to label the element boxes in Figure 11. Without some indication as to the content of the boxes (or preferably symbols of the actual elements) it is not clear as to what the elements are and they are not explanatory to a reader as a quick method of determining the general background of the invention. See MPEP 608.02 and 37 CFR 1.84 (o) -- Legends --
Suitable descriptive legends may be used, or may be required by the Examiner, where necessary for understanding of the drawing, subject to approval by the Office. They should contain as few words as possible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Lotter (US 2023/0091506 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Lotter discloses a method for obtaining an overall score indicative of the presence of a target pathology of a subject during a medical scan procedure, the method comprising: acquiring images during the medical scan procedure; and iteratively: identifying whether a newly acquired image corresponds to one of a set of pre-determined views; for a newly acquired image which does correspond to one of the pre-determined views (see paragraphs 0006 and 0039): selecting a predictive model trained on the pre-determined view or multiple predetermined views that have been acquired, from a set of predictive models each trained on one or more of the pre-determined views for the target pathology (see paragraphs 0040-0043; wherein the image with a malignant region is considered as the claimed target pathology) inputting the newly acquired image into the selected predictive model; and generating, for a first iteration, or updating, for subsequent iterations, an overall score indicative of the presence of the target pathology using the output of the selected predictive model (see Abstract and paragraphs 0034-0037, 0052, 0060).
With respect to claims 2 and 10, Lotter discloses providing an alert to a clinician performing the medical scan procedure in response to: the overall score exceeding a pre-determined threshold (see paragraphs 0052 and 0071); or the number of acquired images, corresponding to distinct pre-determined views, exceeding a pre-determined view threshold.
With respect to claim 3, Lotter discloses iteratively updating an overall confidence measure, indicating the confidence in the overall score (see paragraph 0092).
With respect to claim 4, Lotter discloses inputting the newly acquired image into the selected predictive model to obtain a per-image score indicative of the presence of a target pathology in the newly acquired image (see paragraphs 0040-0043) and a per-image confidence measure for the corresponding per-image score (see paragraph 0092); and generating or updating the overall score and the overall confidence measure using the per-image score and per-image confidence measure (see Abstract and paragraphs 0034-0037, 0052, 0060).
With respect to claim 5, Lotter discloses iteratively updating the overall score comprises iteratively averaging the latest available per-image score with the overall score (see paragraphs 0047-0049; 0118).
With respect to claims 6 and 12, Lotter discloses in response to two or more of the acquired images corresponding to distinct pre-determined views (see paragraphs 0006 and 0039): selecting a predictive model trained on the two or more corresponding pre-determined views from the set of predictive models; and inputting the two or more acquired images into the selected predictive model to assess the presence of the target pathology in the two or more acquired images (see paragraphs 0040-0043).
With respect to claim 8, Lotter discloses a computer program carrier comprising computer program code which, when executed on a computing device having a processing system, causes the processing system to perform all the steps of the method according to 1 (see computer #126 in Figure 1).
With respect to claim 9, Lotter discloses a system for obtaining an overall score indicative of the presence of a target pathology of a subject during a medical scan procedure, the system comprising a processor configured to: control a scanning system to acquire images during the medical scan procedure; and iteratively: identify whether a newly acquired image corresponds to one of a set of pre-determined views; for a newly acquired image which does correspond to one of the pre-determined views (see paragraphs 0006 and 0039): select a predictive model trained on the pre-determined view or predetermined views that have been acquired, from a set of predictive models each trained on one or more of the pre-determined views for the target pathology (see paragraphs 0040-0043; wherein the image with a malignant region is considered as the claimed target pathology); input the newly acquired image into the selected predictive model; and generate, for a first iteration, or update, for subsequent iterations, an overall score indicative of the presence of the target pathology using the output of the selected predictive model (see Abstract and paragraphs 0034-0037, 0052, 0060).
With respect to claim 11, Lotter discloses the processor is configured to: input the newly acquired image into the selected predictive model to obtain a per-image score indicative of the presence of a target pathology in the newly acquired image (see paragraphs 0040-0043); and generate or update the overall score using the per-image score (see paragraph 0092), and wherein the predictive models are configured to output a per-image confidence measure for the corresponding per-image score and the processor is further configured to iteratively update an overall confidence measure, during the medical scan procedure, with the per-image confidence measures of the acquired images corresponding to one of the pre-determined views (see Abstract and paragraphs 0034-0037, 0052, 0060).
With respect to claim 14, Lotter discloses a method of assessing the presence of a target pathology of a subject during a medical scan procedure, comprising: for a newly acquired image of the scan procedure which corresponds to one of a set of pre-determined views (see paragraphs 0006 and 0039): obtaining an overall score indicative of the presence of the target pathology based on previously acquired images and the newly acquired image (see paragraphs 0040-0043; wherein the image with a malignant region is considered as the claimed target pathology), such that the overall score is dynamically and iteratively updated in response to the acquisition of newly acquired images; and displaying a representation of the overall score together with the newly acquired image (see Abstract and paragraphs 0034-0037, 0052, 0060).
With respect to claim 15, Lotter discloses for a newly acquired image which corresponds to one of a set of pre-determined views (see paragraphs 0006 and 0039): obtaining an overall confidence measure in respect of the overall score (see paragraph 0092); and displaying a representation of the overall confidence measure (see paragraph 0066).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lotter (US 2023/0091506 A1) in view of Levi et al. (US 2022/0028524 A1).
With respect to claims 7 and 13, Lotter discloses the claimed invention as stated above except for specifying that the medical scan procedure is a cardiac ultrasound scan and the target pathology is a wall motion abnormality in the heart function. However, Levi discloses the medical scan procedure is a cardiac ultrasound scan (see paragraph 0037 indicating the usage of an ultrasound device to acquire the medical image) and the target pathology is a wall motion abnormality in the heart function (see paragraphs 0060-0062 discloses a cardiac event or condition, e.g., cardiovascular condition, heart attack, etc considered as the claimed abnormality in the heart function). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the medical scan procedure is a cardiac scan and the target pathology is a wall motion abnormality in the heart function as taught by Levi in combination with Lotter’s ultrasound scan/ medical image for the purpose of increasing the ability to diagnose a suspected heart condition as one of multiple regions that need immediate attention and decrease the time required transfer a patient from a first point of care to a healthcare facility equipped to treat the patient or the right specialist according to the diagnosis (see paragraph 0060).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional prior art cited in the PTO 892 not relied upon discloses medical systems that use training models to find a pathological value or parameter by comparing the reference/predetermined image with the acquired image to update the acquisition score that indicates pathological value or parameter.
/DIXOMARA VARGAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798