Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species III (Figure 3c) in the reply filed on 22 June 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim(s) 7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 22 June 2026.
DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the response filed on 22 June 2026.
Claim 14 is canceled by the Applicant.
Claims 1-13 and 15 are currently pending.
Claims 1-6, 8-13, and 15 are being considered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted was/were considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note: no 112(f) invocations have been identified by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by March Nomen (US 20220243704), hereafter referred to as March Nomen.
Regarding Claim 1, March Nomen discloses the following:
A wind turbine blade comprising:
an anti-icing system (20) comprising
an electrothermal heating arrangement (21; [0021]) configured to provide heat to an external surface of the blade,
wherein the electrothermal heating arrangement (21; [0021]) is connected to a power supply interface of the wind turbine blade by way of a power supply conductor (see [0021]) and an earth conductor (27 in combination with 28; FIG. 5; see [0029]),
a lightning protection system (10) having a lightning strike protection device (11, 13; [0020, 22; FIG. 2) associated with an electrothermal heating element of the heating arrangement (21; [0021]),
the lightning strike protection device (11, 13; [0020, 22; FIG. 2) being connected to a lightning down conductor (12; [0020]) of the lightning protection system (10) leading to a current transfer unit (synonymous with ground terminal through the hub, see [0020]) configured to transfer lightning current to a rotor hub, in use, and
a transient current limiting device (15; FIG. 5; [0028]) connected in a conductive path (synonymous with the circuit, see for example [0029]) between the lightning down conductor (12; [0020]) of the lightning protection system (10) and the earth conductor (27 in combination with 28; FIG. 5; see [0029]) of the anti-icing system (20), thereby permitting induced parasitic currents in the lightning down conductor (12; [0020]) to earth (via 26, see [0029]) through the anti-icing system (20).
Regarding Claim 2, March Nomen discloses the following:
The wind turbine blade of Claim 1,
wherein the lightning strike protection device (11, 13; [0020, 22; FIG. 2) is spaced from the electrothermal heating element so as to form a capacitive coupling (via 15; Paragraph [0029] discloses MOV, thus a capacitive coupling is disclosed in as much as the Instant Application.).
Regarding Claim 3, March Nomen discloses the following:
The wind turbine blade of Claim 1,
wherein the transient current limiting device (15; FIG. 5; [0028]) has a relatively low impedance value at a first electrical frequency range associated with the anti-icing system (20), and a relatively high impedance value at a second electrical frequency range associated with a lightning strike (see [0029]).
Regarding Claim 8, March Nomen discloses the following:
The wind turbine blade of any one of Claim 1,
wherein the transient current limiting device (15; FIG. 5; [0028]) includes a switch device (see [0029]) in the conductive path (synonymous with the circuit, see for example [0029]).
Regarding Claim 9, March Nomen discloses the following:
The wind turbine blade of Claim 8,
wherein the switch device (see [0029]) is operable into a closed position (see [0029]) when the anti-icing system (20) is in operation.
Regarding Claim 10, March Nomen discloses the following:
The wind turbine blade of Claim 8,
wherein the switch device (see [0029]) is operable into an open position (see [0029]) when a lightning condition is detected and/or anticipated.
Regarding Claim 11, March Nomen discloses the following:
The wind turbine blade of Claim 8,
wherein the transient current limiting device (15; FIG. 5; [0028]) includes an inductor in the conductive path (synonymous with the circuit, see for example [0029]).
Regarding Claim 12, March Nomen discloses the following:
The wind turbine blade of any of Claim 8,
wherein the inductor is on the high voltage side of the switch device (see [0029]).
Regarding Claim 13, March Nomen discloses the following:
The wind turbine blade of Claim 8,
wherein the transient current limiting device (15; FIG. 5; [0028]) include a surge protection device in parallel with the switch device (see [0029]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over March Nomen (US 20220243704), hereafter referred to as March Nomen.
Regarding Claim 4-6, March Nomen discloses the following:
The wind turbine blade of Claim 3,
March Nomen does not explicitly disclose the following:
wherein the first electrical frequency range is less than 100 Hz (claim 4); wherein the second electrical frequency range is greater than 10kHz (claim 5); wherein the ratio between the relative low impedance value and the relatively high impedance value is at least 1:100 (claim 6);
However the Examiner notes the following:
March Nomen discloses a wind turbine blade having a transient current limiting device, but is silent on the frequency range and relative impedance values. In other words, March Nomen discloses the same structure as the Applicant, except the relative dimensions claimed. The Instant Application has not disclosed the limitation(s) of: wherein the first electrical frequency range is less than 100 Hz (claim 4); wherein the second electrical frequency range is greater than 10kHz (claim 5); wherein the ratio between the relative low impedance value and the relatively high impedance value is at least 1:100 (claim 6); provides any criticality. Note that the mere existence of these relative dimensions themselves in the claim cannot impart criticality as any transient current limiting device could be described in such a way. Therefore without explicit support for the relative dimensions of the claim(s) providing a critical result, it appears March Nomen would perform equally well with the relative values as claimed by Applicant. Since the courts have held that, “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device,” it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transient current limiting device, as disclosed by March Nomen, by utilizing the specific value(s) (relative dimensions) as described above, with the reasonable expectation of successfully specifically providing frequency ranges and relative impedance values. (see MPEP 2144.04, IV, A).
Claim 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over March Nomen (US 20220243704), hereafter referred to as March Nomen, in view of Brilliant (US 20220228571), hereafter referred to as Brilliant.
Regarding Claim 15, March Nomen discloses the following:
At least one wind turbine blade (1) for a wind turbine ([0002]);
wherein at least one wind turbine blade (1) comprises:
an anti-icing system (20) comprising an electrothermal heating arrangement (21; [0021]) configured to provide heat to an external surface of the at least one wind turbine blade,
wherein the electrothermal heating arrangement (21; [0021]) is connected to a power supply interface of the at least one wind turbine blade (1) by way of a power supply conductor (see [0021]) and an earth conductor (27 in combination with 28; FIG. 5; see [0029]);
a lightning protection system (10) having a lightning strike protection device (11, 13; [0020, 22; FIG. 2) associated with an electrothermal heating element of the electrothermal heating arrangement (21; [0021]),
the lightning strike protection device (11, 13; [0020, 22; FIG. 2) being connected to a lightning down conductor (12; [0020]) of the lightning protection system (10) leading to a current transfer unit (synonymous with ground terminal through the hub, see [0020]) configured to transfer lightning current to the rotor hub, in use; and
a transient current limiting device (15; FIG. 5; [0028]) connected in a conductive path (synonymous with the circuit, see for example [0029]) between the lightning down conductor (12; [0020]) of the lightning protection system (10) and the earth conductor (27 in combination with 28; FIG. 5; see [0029]) of the anti-icing system (20), thereby permitting induced parasitic currents in the lightning down conductor (12; [0020]) to earth through the anti-icing system (20).
March Nomen does not explicitly disclose the following:
a tower;
a nacelle disposed on the tower;
a rotor extending from the nacelle;
a rotor hub attached to a distal end of the rotor;
at least one wind turbine blade attached to the rotor hub;
However Brilliant teaches the following:
A wind turbine (100), comprising:
a tower (102);
a nacelle (104) disposed on the tower (102);
a rotor (106) extending from the nacelle (104);
a rotor hub (110) attached to a distal end of the rotor (106);
at least one wind turbine blade (108) attached to the rotor hub (110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wind turbine, as disclosed by March Nomen, wherein the wind turbine comprises a tower, nacelle, rotor, rotor hub, and at least one blade attached to the rotor hub, as taught by Brilliant, with the reasonable expectation of successfully generating electricity from wind energy (see for example Brilliant [0002]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 12 would appear to be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In combination with the other structures required by the independent claims, the inclusion of:
Regarding Claim 11:
wherein the transient current limiting device includes an inductor in the conductive path;
Regarding Claim 12:
wherein the inductor is on the high voltage side of the switch device;
was not found or fairly taught by prior art and differentiated the claims from the closest prior art to March Nomen (US 20220243704) and Brilliant (US 20220228571).
The Examiner notes March Nomen is considered the closest prior art and does not teach the limitations as described above. Further, it appears there would be no reason to modify the prior art without the benefit of Applicant's disclosure and impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
See form No. 892 for other references pertinent to the application that may not have been cited within the Office Action.
For references which show similar wind turbine blade arrangements see Page 1.
/BRIAN CHRISTOPHER DELRUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745