DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 10, please add -- on -- before “the configuration”.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 16, please add -- on -- before “the configuration”.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 16, please add -- on -- before “the configuration”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 16 and 20, recitation: “wherein a transmission scheme related to the PUSCH is configured as a codebook based transmission or a non-codebook based transmission based the configuration information” is unclear and confusing. It is unclear what “the configuration information” it refers to. Is it the configuration information related to SRS, PUSCH or something else? Therefore, the claims are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al (US 2025/0211391). a) Regarding claim 1, Liu et al disclose a method comprising:
receiving configuration information related to a sounding reference signal (SRS) (702 in Fig. 7),
wherein two SRS resource sets are configured based on the configuration information related to the SRS, and a usage of each of the two SRS resource sets is configured as a codebook or a non-codebook (Pub [0130]; Table 2);
receiving configuration information related to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (704 in Fig. 7; Pub [0130]; CG configuration),
wherein a transmission scheme related to the PUSCH is configured as a codebook based transmission or a non-codebook based transmission based the configuration information (702 and 704);
receiving downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the PUSCH (Pub [0130]),
wherein the DCI includes at least one of i) an SRS resource set indicator field, ii) a first SRS resource indicator (SRI) field, and/or iii) a second SRS resource indicator (SRI) field (Pub [0130]); and
transmitting the PUSCH based on the DCI, wherein a number of layers related to the PUSCH is larger than 4 (Pub [0007]),
wherein the PUSCH is transmitted based on antenna ports (Pub [0104]),
wherein the antenna ports are based on SRS ports related to one or more SRS resources indicated based on the DCI (Fig. 3; Pub [0104]), and
wherein the antenna ports are determined based on i) at least one of eight first SRS ports related to a first SRS resource set and/or ii) at least one of eight second SRS ports related to a second SRS resource set (Pub [0091-0092]).
b) Regarding claim 16, Liu et al disclose a user equipment (UE) comprising:
one or more transceivers (UE shown in Fig. 9);
one or more processors (Fig. 9); and
one or more memories operably connectable to the one or more processors, and storing instructions of configuring the one or more processors to perform operations based on being executed by the one or more processors (Fig. 9), wherein the operations include
receiving configuration information related to a sounding reference signal (SRS) (702 in Fig. 7),
wherein two SRS resource sets are configured based on the configuration information related to the SRS, and a usage of each of the two SRS resource sets is configured as a codebook or a non-codebook (Pub [0130]; Table 2);
receiving configuration information related to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (704 in Fig. 7; Pub [0130]; CG configuration),
wherein a transmission scheme related to the PUSCH is configured as a codebook based transmission or a non-codebook based transmission based the configuration information (702 and 704);
receiving downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the PUSCH (Pub [0130]),
wherein the DCI includes at least one of i) an SRS resource set indicator field, ii) a first SRS resource indicator (SRI) field, and/or iii) a second SRS resource indicator (SRI) field (Pub [0130]); and
transmitting the PUSCH based on the DCI, wherein a number of layers related to the PUSCH is larger than 4 (Pub [0007]),
wherein the PUSCH is transmitted based on antenna ports (Pub [0104]),
wherein the antenna ports are based on SRS ports related to one or more SRS resources indicated based on the DCI (Fig. 3; Pub [0104]), and
wherein the antenna ports are determined based on i) at least one of eight first SRS ports related to a first SRS resource set and/or ii) at least one of eight second SRS ports related to a second SRS resource set (Pub [0091-0092]).
c) Regarding claim 20, Liu et al disclose a base station comprising:
one or more transceivers (gNB shown in Fig. 9);
one or more processors (Fig. 9); and
one or more memories operably connectable to the one or more processors, and storing instructions of configuring the one or more processors to perform operations based on being executed by the one or more processors (Fig. 9), wherein the operations include
transmitting configuration information related to a sounding reference signal (SRS) (802 in Fig. 8),
wherein two SRS resource sets are configured based on the configuration information related to the SRS, and a usage of each of the two SRS resource sets is configured as a codebook or a non-codebook (Pub [0138-0139]; Table 2);
transmitting configuration information related to a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (804 in Fig. 8; Pub [0138]; CG configuration),
wherein a transmission scheme related to the PUSCH is configured as a codebook based transmission or a non-codebook based transmission based the configuration information (802 and 804);
transmitting downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the PUSCH (Pub [0138-0139]),
wherein the DCI includes at least one of i) an SRS resource set indicator field, ii) a first SRS resource indicator (SRI) field, and/or iii) a second SRS resource indicator (SRI) field (Pub [0138]); and
receiving the PUSCH based on the DCI, wherein a number of layers related to the PUSCH is larger than 4 (Pub [0007]),
wherein the PUSCH is received based on antenna ports (Pub [0104]),
wherein the antenna ports are based on SRS ports related to one or more SRS resources indicated based on the DCI (Fig. 3; Pub [0104]), and
wherein the antenna ports are determined based on i) at least one of eight first SRS ports related to a first SRS resource set and/or ii) at least one of eight second SRS ports related to a second SRS resource set (Pub [0091-0092]). d) Regarding claim 2, Liu et al disclose wherein based on a value of the SRS resource set indicator field being 0 or 1: the one or more SRS resources are indicated based on the first SRI field, and the one or more SRS resources are related to the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set (Table 2 and 3).
e) Regarding claim 3, Liu et al disclose wherein a maximum number of bits of the first SRI field is 8, and a number of bits of the second SRI field is 0 (Table 2 and 3). f) Regarding claim 5, Liu et al disclose wherein the PUSCH is related to a single transmission and reception point (TRP) (Pub [0112]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2026/0059532 Ma et al disclose precoding on PUSCH transmission. US 2024/0056258 Sun et al disclose eight transmit uplinking.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chieh Fan can be reached on 571-272-3042. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
September 16, 2026
/EVA Y PUENTE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632