Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
The removed/uncoupled position in claim 1
Claim 7 not shown
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The reference numeral (50) has been used to designate the lid throughout the specification. However, (50) has been used to designate the stick in ¶ [0092] and ¶ [0096]. It appears that there is a typo, and (50) should be changed to (30) in these paragraphs to match the correct reference numerals.
The reference numeral (420) has been used to designate the second portion throughout the specification. However, (420) has been used to designate the second sidewall in ¶ [0103] and the bearing surface in ¶ [0106]. It appears that there is a typo, and (420) should be changed to (130) and (430) respectively in these paragraphs to match the correct reference numerals.
The reference numeral (124) has been used to designate the helical thread throughout the specification. However, (124) has been used to designate the bearing surface in ¶ [0106]. It appears that there is a typo, and (124) should be changed to (430) in this paragraph to match the correct reference numerals.
The reference numeral (410) has been used to designate the first portion throughout the specification. However, (410) has been used to designate the second portion in ¶ [0107]. It appears that there is a typo, and (410) should be changed to (420) in this paragraph to match the correct reference numerals.
The reference numeral (120) has been used to designate the first side wall throughout the specification. However, (120) has been used to designate the free end in ¶ [0116]. It appears that there is a typo, and (120) should be changed to (123) in this paragraph to match the correct reference numerals.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: "a second end opposite to the first end, a second end forming free end" appears to be a typo as “a second end” is recited twice and “free end” is missing article. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-8, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (US 12,295,479 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a device for packaging and applying a cosmetic product (figure 1) comprising:
a base (item 1500, figure 1) extending about a longitudinal axis and comprising a first side wall (item 1420, figure 1), the first side wall having a first end and a second end opposite to the first end … forming free end (see annotated figure 6 below);
a removable support comprising a housing (item 1200, figure 1) in which the cosmetic product (item 1100, figure 1) is disposed, the removable support being coupled to the free end of the first sidewall (col. 12, lines 4-7);
a protective shell inside which the removable support is housed (item 1300, figure 1), the protective shell forming a movable ring, the ring being able to be axially moved along the base (col. 11, lines 48-54);
wherein the protective shell comprises:
a first portion configured to surround and protect the cosmetic product (item 1310, figure 6);
a second portion slidably mounted to the base (item 1340, figure 6);
a bearing surface for lifting the removable support (item 1320, figure 6);
and wherein the second portion of the protective shell is able to slide on the base until the removable support is uncoupled from the free end of the first side wall and the protective shell is removed, taking the removable support therewith (col. 15, lines 29-34; figure 3(g)).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the base further comprises a second side wall disposed about the first side wall so that the first and second side walls define therebetween an annular cavity in which the protective shell axially slides (see annotated figure 6 below).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the second portion is slidably mounted to an outer surface of the first side wall (col. 11, lines 56-61).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the device according to claim 3, wherein the second portion of the protective shell is able to slide along the entire length of the first side wall (figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses the device according to claim 3, wherein the second portion of the protective shell and the outer surface of the first side wall are configured to form a helical slide connection (col. 11, lines 56-61; figure 6).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses the device according to claim 2, wherein the second portion is slidably mounted to an inner surface of the second side wall (col. 17, lines 14-31; figure 31).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the bearing surface of the protective shell is formed by a shoulder located between the first and second portions of the protective shell (col. 11, lines 26-33).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses the device according to claim 1, comprising means for coupling the removable support to the free end of the first side wall (col. 12, lines 4-7).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses the device according to claim 11, wherein the means for coupling the removable support to the free end of the first side wall comprise:
a first magnet attached to the removable support (items 3220 A and 3220 B, figure 35);
and a second magnet with an opposite polarity attached to the first side wall (items 3433 A and 3433 B, figure 35; col. 19, lines 36-52).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses the device according to claim 11, wherein the means to couple the removable support to the free end of the first side wall are provided in the removable support and/or in the base (figure 35; col. 19, lines 36-52)
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses the device according to claim 1, further comprising a lid for cooperating with the base in order to close the device (item 1700A, figure 1).
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses the device according to claim 2, wherein the first side wall and the second wall of the base are annular and concentric (col. 11, lines 34-49; col. 10, lines 22-25; figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Joung (US 12,357,076 B2).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the device according to claim 5, wherein the outer surface of the first side wall comprises an outer helical thread (item 1424, figure 6).
However, Lee fails to teach the second portion of the protective shell comprises an inner helical thread corresponding to the outer helical thread, rather a protrusion (item 1340, figure 6).
Joung discloses a device for packaging and applying a cosmetic product (abstract), wherein the second portion of the protective shell comprises an inner helical thread (item 32e, figure 8), and the outer surface of the first side wall comprises an outer helical thread (item 44e, figure 8) corresponding to the inner helical thread.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have formed the coupling portion of Lee as a helical thread. Joung teaches that a helical thread and a protrusion are interchangeable elements in a stick-type cosmetic container (see Joung col. 6-7, lines 65-3). Joung also teaches that the threaded arrangement allows for stable and controlled withdrawal operation (see Juong col. 10, lines 57-61). Substitution of art-recognized equivalents yielding a predictable result (see MPEP §2143(B)).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Maurin et al. (US 20200288845 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses the device according to claim 1, but does not expressly teach the base, protective shell, and removable support are formed by a same material.
Maurin et al. discloses a device for packaging and applying a cosmetic product (figure 2), wherein the base (item 12, figure 2), the protective shell (item 40, figure 2), and the removable support (item 50, figure 2) are formed by a same material (¶ [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have formed the base, protective shell, and removable support of Lee using the same material in order to allow for the device to be easily recycled as taught by Maurin et al. (¶ [0063]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Pierpont (US 5,842,805).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the device according to claim 10 and further teaches an interlocking guide portion on the protective shell to guide the removable support (item 5214, figure 33).
However, Lee does not expressly teach that the guide formation comprises inner ribs.
Pierpont discloses a device for packaging and applying a cosmetic product (item 10, figure 2) wherein the first portion of the protective shell (item 14, figure 2) comprises inner ribs (item 30, figure 2) to guide the removable support (item 12, figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have formed the interlocking guide portion of Lee as inner ribs in order to prevent damage to the cosmetic product as taught by Pierpont (col. 1, lines 41-43; col. 2, lines 55-62).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited on PTO-892 disclose subject matter related to various types of devices for packaging and applying cosmetic product which are related to the instant invention.
/NOAH JACOB ARIF/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/PAUL R DURAND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754 July 27, 2026