DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant previously filed claims 1-12. Claims 2-7 and 11 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 8-10, and 12 have been amended. Accordingly, claims 1, 8-10, and 12 are pending in the current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Koo et al. fails to teach “wherein based on the width of the current block being equal to a pre-defined length, the horizontal transform kernel or the vertical transform kernel is not applied to the current block, and wherein the pre-defined length is at least one of 4, 8, 16 or 32”. However, examiner respectfully disagrees. In Paragraph 179, Koo et al. clearly and unambiguously teaches “According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, DST-4, DCT-4, DST-7, or DCT-8 may be used based on the length of an inverse transformed signal. For example, DST-4 or DCT-4 may be used for a specific length (e.g., 8), and DST-7 or DCT-8 may be used for another length (e.g., 4, 16, 32).” This clearly lays out cases when certain transforms are not applied to specific lengths, and only applied to other specific lengths. In Paragraph 194, Koo et al. further teaches “In an embodiment of the present disclosure, with respect to a specific length, an inverse transform of DST-4 may be used as the vertical inverse transform instead of the inverse transform of DST-7. Furthermore, with respect to a specific length, the inverse transform of DCT-4 may be used as the vertical inverse transform instead of the inverse transform of DST-8.” In Paragraph 196, Koo et al. further teaches “In an embodiment of the present disclosure, with respect to a specific length, an inverse transform of DST-4 may be used as the horizontal inverse transform instead of the inverse transform of DST-7. Furthermore, with respect to a specific length, an inverse transform of DCT-4 may be used as the horizontal inverse transform instead of the inverse transform of DST-8.” Which clearly elaborates on application of certain transforms and not applying certain transforms for specific lengths.
In light of the above remarks the claims are rejected as before.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8-10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koo et al. (US 20210281842 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Koo et al. teaches an image decoding method (abstract), comprising:
deriving transform coefficients of a current block from a bitstream (Paragraphs 153-158);
performing at least one of dequantization or inverse transform on the transform coefficients of the current block to derive residual samples of the current block, wherein the inverse transform is performed based on a length-based transform kernel, and the length-based transform kernel includes at least one of a horizontal transform kernel having a length equal to a width of the current block or a vertical transform kernel having a length equal to a height of the current block (Paragraphs 9-10; Paragraph 12; Paragraphs 89-91; Paragraph 178; Paragraphs 203-205; Paragraphs 211-219; Paragraph 326, clearly teaches that the length of transform kernel is based on the width or height of the block); and
reconstructing the current block based on the residual samples of the current block (Paragraph 207),
wherein based on the width of the current block being equal to a pre-defined length, the horizontal transform kernel or the vertical transform kernel is not applied to the current block, and wherein the pre-defined length is at least one of 4, 8, 16 or 32 (Paragraphs 9-10; Paragraph 12; Paragraphs 89-91; Paragraph 162 Paragraphs 176-179; Paragraphs 203-205; Paragraphs 211-219; Paragraph 326).
Regarding Claim 8, Koo et al. teaches the image decoding method of claim 7, wherein based on the width of the current block not being equal to the height of the current block and the width of the current block being equal to the pre-defined length, a horizontal transform kernel having the length equal to the width of the current block is not applied to the current block, and the vertical transform kernel having the length equal to the height of the current block is applied to the current block (Paragraphs 9-10; Paragraph 12; Paragraphs 89-91; Paragraph 162 Paragraphs 176-179; Paragraphs 203-205; Paragraphs 211-219; Paragraph 326).
Regarding Claim 9, Koo et al. teaches the image decoding method of claim 7, wherein based on the width of the current block not being equal to the height of the current block and the width of the current block being equal to the pre-defined length, the length-based transform kernel is not applied to the current block (Paragraphs 9-10; Paragraph 12; Paragraphs 89-91; Paragraph 162 Paragraphs 176-179; Paragraphs 203-205; Paragraphs 211-219; Paragraph 326).
Image encoding method of claim 10 is drawn to the method of encoding corresponding to the method of decoding rejected in claim 1 above, and recites similar steps merely performed in the inverse and would be rejected for the same reasons as used above. Koo et al, further teaches an image encoding method corresponding to the decoding method (Paragraph 71).
Regarding Claim 12, Koo et al. teaches a method of transmitting data (Paragraph 610-616), comprising:
obtaining a bitstream for image information, wherein the bitstream is generated by deriving residual samples of a current block, deriving transform coefficients of the current block by performing at least one of transform or quantization on the residual samples of the current block, and encoding the transform coefficients of the current block (Paragraph 610-616); and
transmitting the data including the bitstream, wherein the transform is performed based on a length-based transform kernel, and wherein the length-based transform kernel includes at least one of a horizontal transform kernel having a length equal to a width of the current block or a vertical transform kernel having a length equal to a height of the current block (Paragraphs 9-10; Paragraph 12; Paragraphs 89-91; Paragraph 178; Paragraphs 203-205; Paragraphs 211-219; Paragraph 326, clearly teaches that the length of transform kernel is based on the width or height of the block),
wherein based on the width of the current block being equal to a pre-defined length, the horizontal transform kernel or the vertical transform kernel is not applied to the current block, and wherein the pre-defined length is at least one of 4, 8, 16 or 32 (Paragraphs 9-10; Paragraph 12; Paragraphs 89-91; Paragraph 162 Paragraphs 176-179; Paragraphs 203-205; Paragraphs 211-219; Paragraph 326)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARHAN MAHMUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483