DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1-5 and 7-11 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-4 and 6-11 of copending Application No. 19116691 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Instant Application
Application No. 19116691
1. An image decoding method, the method comprising:
deriving transform coefficients of a current block from a bitstream;
performing at least one of a dequantization or an inverse transform on the transform coefficients of the current block to derive residual samples of the current block; wherein a transform kernel for the inverse transform is determined based on a plurality of predefined transform kernels, and the plurality of predefined transform kernels include at least one of a non- separable primary inverse transform kernel or a trigonometric function-based primary transform kernel, and
reconstructing the current block based on the residual samples of the current block.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the transform kernel for the inverse transform is determined as one of the non-separable primary inverse transform kernel and DST-7.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the non-separable primary inverse transform kernel is a kernel in which N transform coefficients are input and M transform coefficients are output, and wherein N is smaller than M.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the N is variably determined based on a predefined encoding parameter.
5. The method of claim 3, wherein the encoding parameter includes at least one of a block size, inter prediction information, intra prediction information or a quantization parameter.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein deriving the residual samples includes: determining a transform set for a non-separable primary inverse transform based on an intra prediction mode of the current block; and deriving the non-separable primary inverse transform kernel from the transform set.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein the transform set is determined based on the intra prediction mode of the current block and a pre-defined mapping table.
9. An image encoding method, the method comprising:
deriving residual samples of a current block;
performing at least one of a transform or a quantization on the residual samples of the current block to derive transform coefficients of the current block; wherein a transform kernel for the transform is determined based on a plurality of predefined transform kernels, and the plurality of predefined transform kernels include at least one of a non-separable primary transform kernel or a trigonometric function-based primary transform kernel, and
encoding the transform coefficients of the current block.
10. A computer readable storage medium storing a bitstream generated by an image encoding method according to claim 9.
11. A method for transmitting data, the method comprising:
obtaining a bitstream for image information; wherein the bitstream is generated by deriving residual samples of a current block, performing at least one of a transform or a quantization on the residual samples of the current block to derive transform coefficients of the current block, and encoding the transform coefficients of the current block, and
transmitting data including the bitstream,
wherein a transform kernel for the transform is determined based on a plurality of predefined transform kernels, and the plurality of predefined transform kernels include at least one of a non-separable primary transform kernel or a trigonometric function-based primary transform kernel.
1. An image decoding method, the method comprising:
deriving transform coefficients of a current block from a bitstream;
performing at least one of a dequantization or an inverse transform on the transform coefficients of the current block to derive residual samples of the current block;
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the non-separable primary inverse transform kernel is selected based on a size or a shape of the current block among a plurality of kernel candidates.
wherein the inverse transform is performed based on a non-separable primary inverse transform kernel, and
reconstructing the current block based on the residual samples of the current block.
1. … wherein the inverse transform is performed based on a non-separable primary inverse transform kernel…
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the non-separable primary inverse transform kernel is a kernel in which N transform coefficients are input and M transform coefficients are output, and wherein N is smaller than M.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the N is variably determined based on a predefined encoding parameter.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the encoding parameter includes at least one of a block size, inter prediction information, intra prediction information or a quantization parameter.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein deriving the residual samples includes: determining a transform set for a non-separable primary inverse transform based on an intra prediction mode of the current block; and deriving the non-separable primary inverse transform kernel from the transform set.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein the transform set is determined based on the intra prediction mode of the current block and a pre-defined mapping table.
9. An image encoding method, the method comprising:
deriving residual samples of a current block;
performing at least one of a transform or a quantization on the residual samples of the current block to derive transform coefficients of the current block;
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the non-separable primary inverse transform kernel is selected based on a size or a shape of the current block among a plurality of kernel candidates.
wherein the transform is performed based on a non-separable primary transform kernel, and
encoding the transform coefficients of the current block.
10. A computer readable storage medium storing a bitstream generated by an image encoding method according to claim 9.
11. A method for transmitting data, the method comprising:
obtaining a bitstream for image information; wherein the bitstream is generated by deriving residual samples of a current block, performing at least one of a transform or a quantization on the residual samples of the current block to derive transform coefficients of the current block, and encoding the transform coefficients of the current block, and
transmitting data including the bitstream,
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the non-separable primary inverse transform kernel is selected based on a size or a shape of the current block among a plurality of kernel candidates.
wherein the transform is performed based on a non-separable primary transform kernel.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 6 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 6 of copending Application No. 19116691 in view of Sim et al. (US 20260107015 A1, hereinafter Sim).
Concerning claim 6, the copending Application teaches the method according to claim 1. Not explicitly taught is the method, wherein the trigonometric function-based primary transform kernel includes at least one of DCT-2, DST-7, DCT-8, DCT-5, DST-4 or DST-1; however, Sim teaches wherein the trigonometric function-based primary transform kernel includes at least one of DCT-2, DST-7, DCT-8, DCT-5, DST-4 or DST-1 (¶¶0106-0107). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of the copending application and Sim in order to apply a more appropriate transform technique depending on the diversity of residual signal characteristics (Sim, ¶0106).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter, as they do not fall under any of the statutory classes of inventions. These claims are directed towards computer readable storage medium which is not limited to falling under the statutory classes of invention set forth. These claims in using the term “computer readable storage medium,” in accordance with paragraphs [0016]-[0017] of pages 2-3 in Applicants’ Specification, allows for the computer readable storage medium to be signals. Based on current USPTO Policy, when the computer readable medium is not specifically defined as non-transitory in the Specification the broadest reasonable interpretation is used according to MPEP 2111, thus the computer readable medium may embody signals, i.e. transitory media. Examiner suggests that Applicants amend the claims to add a limitation to direct the language of the ‘computer readable storage medium’ claims to only include the non-transitory embodiment which would remove the possibility of claiming signals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Chono et al. (US 20130101037 A1; hereinafter Chono).
Concerning claim 10, the claim is directed to a computer readable storage medium storing a bitstream generated by a method. The claimed computer readable storage medium does not implement any method and/or execute any instructions/steps. Instead, the claimed storage medium merely stores the data output from and/or generated by a method. That is to say, the claims are directed to mere machine-readable medium storing data content (a bitstream generated by a method).
Applicant seeks to patent the storage of a bitstream in the abstract. That is to say, the claim seeks to patent the content of the information (bitstream with video content) and not the process itself. Moreover, the stored bitstream does not impose any definitive physical organization on the data and there is no functional relationship between the bitstream and the storage medium. To be given patentable weight, computer readable medium and the bitstream (i.e., descriptive material) must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the descriptive material performs some function with respect to the computer-readable medium to which it is associated. See MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer readable medium merely serves as a support for the information data (i.e., an encoded bitstream), no functional relationship exists”. MPEP §2111.05(III). The storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in claim 10 merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefore, the structure bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Chono et al. which teaches a storage medium storing a bitstream (fig. 10: storage medium 1004; ¶0136).
Claims 1 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Naser et al. (US 20220312040 A1; hereinafter Naser).
Examiner Note
Independent claims 1 and 9-11, as currently constructed, include contingent limitations. The broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. See MPEP 2111.04(II). Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See MPEP 2143.03. In this case, the “wherein” clause only applies when the “inverse transform” step is performed. Accordingly, this clause is not required when the “dequantization” step is performed because the claims state “performing at least one of a dequantization or an inverse transform”.
Concerning claim 1, Naser teaches an image decoding method, the method comprising:
deriving transform coefficients of a current block from a bitstream (fig. 2: entropy decoder 230, ¶0066);
performing at least one of a dequantization on the transform coefficients of the current block to derive residual samples of the current block (fig. 2: inverse quantization 240, ¶0066); and
reconstructing the current block based on the residual samples of the current block (fig. s: adder 255, ¶0066: “Combining (255) the decoded prediction residuals and the predicted block, an image block is reconstructed.”).
Concerning claims 9 and 10, Naser teaches an image encoding method (¶0055: The method may be implemented in a computer readable storage medium), the method comprising:
deriving residual samples of a current block (fig. 1: subtractor 110, ¶0062);
performing at least one of a quantization on the residual samples of the current block to derive transform coefficients of the current block (fig. 1: quantization 130, ¶0063); and
encoding the transform coefficients of the current block (fig. 1: entropy coding 145, ¶0063).
Concerning claim 11, Naser teaches a method for transmitting data (¶0055: “transmitting a bitstream”), the method comprising:
obtaining a bitstream for image information (¶0055; ¶0108); wherein the bitstream is generated by deriving residual samples of a current block (fig. 1: subtractor 110, ¶0062);
performing at least one of a quantization on the residual samples of the current block to derive transform coefficients of the current block (fig. 1: quantization 130, ¶0063); and
encoding the transform coefficients of the current block (fig. 1: entropy coding 145, ¶0063), and
transmitting data including the bitstream (¶0055; ¶0108).
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Sim et al. (US 20260107015 A1, claiming foreign benefit of Sep. 29, 2022; hereinafter Sim).
Concerning claim 1, Sim teaches an image decoding method, the method comprising:
deriving transform coefficients of a current block from a bitstream (fig. 5: entropy decoder 510, ¶0088);
performing at least one of a dequantization (fig. 5: inverse quantizer 520, ¶0090) or an inverse transform on the transform coefficients of the current block to derive residual samples of the current block (fig. 5: inverse transformer 530, ¶0091); wherein a transform kernel for the inverse transform is determined based on a plurality of predefined transform kernels (¶0218), and the plurality of predefined transform kernels include at least one of a non- separable primary inverse transform kernel or a trigonometric function-based primary transform kernel (fig. 6: inverse transformer 530, ¶0138; fig. 7, ¶0141; ¶0218), and
reconstructing the current block based on the residual samples of the current block (fig. 5: adder 550, ¶0136).
Concerning claim 2, Sim further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the transform kernel for the inverse transform is determined as one of the non-separable primary inverse transform kernel (¶0218) and DST-7 (¶0106).
Concerning claim 3, Sim further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the non-separable primary inverse transform kernel is a kernel in which N transform coefficients are input and M transform coefficients are output (¶¶0174-0180 & figs. 12A-12B: primary coefficient vector), and
wherein N is smaller than M (¶¶0174-0180 & figs. 12A-12B).
Concerning claim 4, Sim further teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the N is variably determined based on a predefined encoding parameter (¶0176: block size).
Concerning claim 5, Sim further teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the encoding parameter includes at least one of a block size (¶0176: block size), inter prediction information, intra prediction information or a quantization parameter.
Concerning claim 6, Sim further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the trigonometric function-based primary transform kernel includes at least one of DCT-2, DST-7, DCT-8, DCT-5, DST-4 or DST-1 (¶¶0106-0107).
Concerning claim 7, Sim further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein deriving the residual samples includes:
determining a transform set for a non-separable primary inverse transform based on an intra prediction mode of the current block (¶0141: kernel set); and
deriving the non-separable primary inverse transform kernel from the transform set (¶0141).
Concerning claim 8, Sim further teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the transform set is determined based on the intra prediction mode of the current block and a pre-defined mapping table (¶¶0154-0155 & Table 7).
Concerning claims 9 and 10, Sim teaches an image encoding method (¶0078 & ¶0231: stored in “storage media/medium”), the method comprising:
deriving residual samples of a current block (fig. 1: subtractor 130, ¶0065);
performing at least one of a transform or a quantization on the residual samples of the current block to derive transform coefficients of the current block (fig. 1: transformer 140, ¶0066; fig. 1: quantizer 145, ¶0068); wherein a transform kernel for the transform is determined based on a plurality of predefined transform kernels, and the plurality of predefined transform kernels include at least one of a non-separable primary transform kernel or a trigonometric function-based primary transform kernel (¶0185 & ¶0188), and
encoding the transform coefficients of the current block (fig. 1: entropy encoder 155, ¶0071).
Concerning claim 11, Sim teaches a method for transmitting data, the method comprising:
obtaining a bitstream for image information (¶0078: a video decoding device receives the bitstream); wherein the bitstream is generated by deriving residual samples of a current block (fig. 1: subtractor 130, ¶0065), performing at least one of a transform or a quantization on the residual samples of the current block to derive transform coefficients of the current block (fig. 1: transformer 140, ¶0066; fig. 1: quantizer 145, ¶0068), and encoding the transform coefficients of the current block (fig. 1: entropy encoder 155, ¶0071), and
transmitting data including the bitstream (¶0078),
wherein a transform kernel for the transform is determined based on a plurality of predefined transform kernels, and the plurality of predefined transform kernels include at least one of a non-separable primary transform kernel or a trigonometric function-based primary transform kernel (¶0185 & ¶0188).
Conclusion
/James M Anderson II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425