DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Acknowledgement of Amendment
The following office action is in response to the applicant’s amendment filed on 09/28/2026. Claims 1-14 are pending. Claim 15 has been cancelled. Claims 1, 3, 12 and 14 have been amended. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for the reasons stated in the Response to Arguments and 35 U.S.C. 103 sections below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 6, filed 09/28/2026, with respect to the objections to the specification are not persuasive since the Applicant has not provided amendments to the specification.
Although the remarks state “As noted above in the Amendments to the Specification, Applicant has amended the specification to address the identified informalities, including, correcting typographical and grammatical issues and spelling out acronyms where appropriate”, the examiner notes that no “Amendments to the Specification” section or document is provided.
Therefore, the objections to the specification in the final rejection of 06/26/2026 have been maintained (See Specification section below).
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 7-9, filed 05/20/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 11-12 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the claim has been amended to recite: “wherein the spectral projection
imagery data includes a contrast-only image" and further recites "wherein predicting the concentration amount includes: extracting a mass of contrast agent from the contrast-only image; obtaining a lumen volume of the conduit from the 3D lumen information of the conduit; and quantifying the concentration amount from a ratio between the extracted mass and the obtained lumen volume." Independent claims 12 and 14 include corresponding limitations.
The Office Action relies on Miller's disclosure that "[a]ngiography systems can be used to visualize the blood vessels by injecting a radio-opaque contrast agent into the blood vessel and imaging using X-ray based techniques such as fluoroscopy," and that "X-ray images of the transient radio contrast distribution within the blood flowing within the coronary arteries allows visualization of the size of the artery openings," (see Miller, para [0042]). Miller states that "[t]he angiography system can be used to detect a change," that "[t]he angiography system can be used to detect the flush with saline . . . the initial influx of radiopaque dye, or other such flushes," and that "[a] processor that receives the angiography signal data can detect a brightness or contrast change," (see Miller, para [0043]). However, none of these disclosures teach of where "the spectral projection imagery data includes a contrast-only image," as required in Applicant's claims, nor do they teach of "extracting a mass of contrast agent from the contrast-only image."
The examiner respectfully agrees that Miller does not teach that “the spectral projection imagery data includes a contrast-only image”. Furthermore, Miller does not teach “extracting a mass of contrast agent from the contrast-only image”.
Furthermore, the Applicant notes that in regard to IVUS: "[t]he angiography images will be co-registered to one or more images from an IVUS system or the like," (see Miller, [0044]). Miller states that "[t]he image processing device may execute a co-registration routine" including "rendering a superimposed visualization by combining the three-dimensional image data and the real-time image data according to the estimated registration matrix," (see Miller, [0067]). The disclosures surrounding Miller's co-registration routine do not disclose "obtaining a lumen volume of the conduit from the 3D lumen information of the conduit," as required in Applicant's claims, nor do they disclose of "quantifying the concentration amount from a ratio between the extracted mass and the obtained lumen volume."
Accordingly, Miller fails to disclose each and every element of independent claims 1, 12, and 14 as amended. For at least these reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that each independent claims 1, 12, and 14-15, as amended, are patentable. Applicant further respectfully submits that dependent claims 2-11, and 13 are patentable by virtue of their respective direct and ultimate dependencies from allowable independent claim 1, as well as by virtue of the patentably distinct subject matter that they recite.
The examiner respectfully agrees that Miller does not teach that "obtaining a lumen volume of the conduit from the 3D lumen information of the conduit," as required in Applicant's claims, nor do they disclose of "quantifying the concentration amount from a ratio between the extracted mass and the obtained lumen volume”.
Thus, the examiner respectfully acknowledges that Miller does not disclose each and every element of independent claims 1, 12, and 14 as amended. Therefore, the rejections of claims 1, 12 and 14 in the final rejection of 06/26/2026 have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Das et al. US 2013/0261441 A1 “Das” as discussed in the 35 U.S.C. 103 section below.
Regarding claims 2-11 and 13, due to their dependence on claim 1, either directly or indirectly, these claims are subject to the reasoning provided therein. Thus, the rejections of claims 2-11 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Das et al. US 2013/0261441 A1 “Das” as discussed in the 35 U.S.C. 103 section below.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 7-8, filed 09/28/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 3, 6, 9-10 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Regarding claims 3 and 6, these claims stand rejected under 35 USC § 103 as being allegedly unpatentable over Miller as applied to claim 2 above, and in further view of U.S. Application No. 2021/0228171 to So et al., hereinafter "So".
Regarding claims 9-10 and 13, these claims stand rejected under 35 USC § 103 s being allegedly unpatentable over Miller in view of U.S. Application No. 2020/0281543 A1 to Sahbaee Bagherzadeh et al., hereinafter "Sahbaee Bagherzadeh".
Although Sahbaee Bagherzadeh discloses “The AI 27 outputs material decomposition used for three images 31, 32, 33, where one image is provided for each of two materials (iodine image 31; gadolinium image 32) and a virtual non-contrast image 33. The images 31, 32, 33 may be for three different materials” [0046], Sahbaee Bagherzadeh makes no mention of extracting a mass of contrast agent from either the iodine image or the gadolinium image..
The examiner acknowledges that neither Miller alone nor Miller in combination with So or Sahbaee Bagherzadeh teaches or suggests “extracting a mass of contrast agent from the contrast-only image”, “obtaining a lumen volume of the conduit from the 3D lumen information of the conduit” and “quantifying the concentration amount from a ratio between the extracted mass and the obtained lumen volume” as recited in claim 1.
Therefore, the rejections of claims 3, 6, 9-10 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 in the final rejection of 06/26/2026 have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Das et al. US 2013/0261441 A1 “Das” as discussed in the 35 U.S.C. 103 section below.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[Page 2, Lines 13-15]: As written it reads “In embodiments, the said medical quantity of interest includes any one of more of: volumetric flow, propagation time of contrast agent through at least a section of said conduit, liquid-contrast agent mixing behavior, and transluminal attenuation gradient”. However, to correct the typo, the underlined “of” should be changed to “or”.
[Page 2, Line 34]: As written it reads “In embodiments, the spectral projection imagery includes a times series of frames”. However, to correct the typo, the examiner believes that “times” should be “timed”.
[Page 3, Lines 7-9]: As written it reads “The second imaging apparatus need to be configured to spectral imaging, but may well be so in some embodiments, if required”. The examiner believes that “need” should be either “needs” or “need not”.
[Page 3, Lines 25-28]: As written it reads “It is proposed herein to combine the spectral (such as dual energy) X-ray projection image data with additionally sourced 3D lumen information in respect of the conduit, such as by using intravascular ultrasound (IVUS) data, OTC data, or other additional non-ionizing imaging modality to enable accurate dilution quantification and bolus propagation tacking, etc.”. However, this is the first indication of the term “OTC” therefore, the term should be spelled out to provide clarity. The examiner believes that “OTC” is a typo which should be “OCT”. If true, the examiner would recommend, amending all instances of the term “OTC” to “OCT”. Furthermore, the examiner believes “tacking” is a typo which should be “tracking”.
[Page 4, Lines 23-34]: As written it reads “As used herein, the said conduit is preferable and moistly a part of vasculature (an artery or vein) but in some applications the conduit may a part of contrast agent delivery equipment, such as portion of a catheter or tube through whish contrast agent is released into the vasculature or other body part of interest”. However, to correct the typos “moistly” should be “mostly”, and “whish” should be “which”. Furthermore, to be grammatically correct “may a part” should be “may be a part” and “such as portion” should be “such as a portion”.
[Page 4, Lines 32-33]: As written it reads “Thus, if the only the initial concentration is required, no second imaging apparatus is needed. “user” relates to a person […]”. However, to be grammatically correct “the only” should be “only”. Additionally, the examiner believes the sentence beginning with “user” should recite “The term “user” relates to a person […]”.
[Page 4, Line 37-Page 5, Line 1]: As written it reads “Other ML operate direct on training data, not necessarily using such as model”. However, to be grammatically correct “direct” should be “directly” and “as” should be “as a”.
[Page 7, Line 1]: As written it reads “period of time contrast agent accumulates at the region of interest such as in or around the stricture”. However, to correct the typo “stricture” should be “structure”.
[Page 8, Lines 4-5]: As written it reads “However, preferably, the spectral imagery include a contrast-only used, The monochromatic image […]”. However, to be grammatically correct “include” should be “includes”. Furthermore, this sentence should end with a period “.”.
[Page 8, Lines 27-30]: As written it reads “In spite of the multi-directional imaging capability of the preferably rotational imaging apparatus IA, processing of projection imagery solely in projection domain is mainly envisaged herein in embodiments, in addition to sourced 3D information that is generally computationally cheaper to procure than tomographic reconstructions as will be explored on more detail below”. However, to correct the typo, “on” should be “in”.
[Page 9, Lines 17-18]: As written it reads “In particular, it is amount of contrast agent in the lumen L that is of main interest”. However, to be grammatically correct “it is amount” should be “it is the amount”.
[Page 10, Lines 3-5]: As written it reads “The system may further facilitate determining one more blood flow related diagnostic quantities based on said contrast agent concentration”. However, to be grammatically correct “one more” should be “one or more”.
[Page 10, Lines 13-14]: As written it reads “The specifically, contrast in the spectral X-ray imagery may be modulated by the mass of the contrast agent present in the ROI”. However, to be grammatically correct the underlined “The” should be deleted and “specifically” should be capitalized.
[Page 11, Lines 32-34]: As written it reads “For example, the control signal m- m-OUT, may be provided as a feedback system to control stetting of one or moth of the imagers IA2 IA2, of the measurement device (such as in-situ pressure measurement device), etc.”. However, to be grammatically correct “stetting” should be “setting” and the underlined instance of “IA2” should be “IA1”.
[Page 12, Lines 17-18]: As written it reads “Suitable US technologies may include PMUTs or CMUTs”. However, this is the first indication of the terms “PMUTs” and “CMUTs” therefore, the terms should be spelled out to provide clarity.
[Page 12, Lines 22-23]: As written it reads “Similarly, and also invasively, using a suitable light probe, optical imagery may be used in OTC to obtain the 3D structure information”. However, the examiner believes “OTC” is a typo which should instead be “OCT”.
[Page 12, Line 31]: As written it reads “such as MRI, CT, CTA or others”. However, this is the first indication of the terms MRI and CTA, therefore, the terms should be spelled out to provide clarity.
[Page 12, Line 36-Page 13, Line 2] As written it reads “IN particular, the combination of IVUS imagery and angiographic spectral data have been found to have particular synergy in producing accurate and realistic contrast agent concentration estimates”. However, to correct the typo “IN” should be “In”.
[Page 15, Lines 26-27]: As written it reads “In a regressional setup, OL may be fully connected layer”. However, to be grammatically correct, “may be fully” should be “may be a fully”.
[Page 16, Lines 22-23]: As written it reads “Training data (x,y) can be procured from existing medical data such as may be found in a medical data bases, such a PACS, HIS or other data base or storage system”. However, to correct the typos “data bases” should be “databases” and “a” (underlined above) should be “as”. Additionally, this is the first indication of the terms “PACS” and “HIS”, therefore, the terms should be spelled out to provide clarity.
[Page 18, Lines 16-19]: As written it reads “BN operators allow mitigating vanishing gradient effect, the gradual reduction of gradient magnitude in the repeated forward and backward passes experienced during gradient-based learning algorithms in the learning phase of the model M The batch normalization operators BN may be used in training, but may also be used in deployment”. However, there should be a period between “M” and “The” (underlined).
[Page 21, Lines 1-2]: As written it reads “In step 1120, contrast agent mass M1 extraction may be done by threshold-based segmentation or other”. However, the examiner believes 1120 is a typo, since none of the figures include a step 1120.
[Page 21, Line 34-Page 22, Line 1]: As written it reads “Various refinements of the method in FIG. 6 are envisaged herein which will now be explained. In step S740, for determining the blood-contrast agent mixing ratio RB1 […]”. However, step S740 is within FIG. 7. Therefore, is appears that “FIG. 6” (underlined) is a typo.
[Page 22, Lines 22-23]: As written it reads “This allows disease quantification indirectly for the microvasculature by calculating e.g., and IMR index”. However, this is the first indication of the term “IMR”. Therefore, the term should be spelled out to provide clarity.
[Page 22, Lines 25-27]: As written it reads “For the volumetric flow and/or the bolus propagation time, with the IVUS pullback across a lesion ST (such as stenosis/calcified plaque/stent/stent with restenosis). the severity or flow relevance of the vessel structure CN can be assessed”. However, there should be a comma “,” between “restenosis)” and “the” (underlined).
[Page 23, Lines 9-11]: As written it reads “Examples for gradient-based optimizations may include gradient descent, stochastic gradient. conjugate gradients, Maximum likelihood methods, EM-maximization, Gauss-Newton, and others”. However, there should be a comma between “stochastic gradient” and “conjugate gradients”. Furthermore, this is the first indication of the term “EM” therefore, the term should be spelled out to provide clarity.
[Page 23, Line 33]: As written it reads “a hardwired IC chip”. However, this is the first indication of the term “IC” therefore, the term should be spelled out to provide clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the predictor component in claims 1, 6, and 10; and the flow assessment component in claim 4.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. That being said, the predictor component is described in the specification when it states “In embodiments, the predictor component or the flow assessment component is configured to compute an initial concentration of the contrast agent upon entering the conduit and/or a rate of entering into the conduit of the said contrast agent” [Page 2, Lines 23-25]; “In embodiments, the predictor component based on a machine learning model” [Page 3, Line 4]. Therefore, the examiner is interpreting the predictor component as being a processor/machine learning model used to calculate an initial concentration of a contrast agent. Thus, claims 1, 6 and 10 are not subject to further rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a)/112(b) with respect to the predictor component.
Regarding the flow assessment component, this component is described in the specification when it states “Thus, a flow assessment component FAC may be used to compute, based on the output
one or more concentration values, related flow characteristics of the liquid comprising blood and the contrast agent” [Page 11, Lines 11-13]. Therefore, the examiner is interpreting the flow assessment component as being a processor used to compute, based on the output one or more concentration values, related flow characteristics. Thus, claims 4 is not subject to further rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a)/112(b) with respect to the flow assessment component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 11-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Miller US 2014/0276085 A1 “Miller” and further in view of Das et al. US 2013/0261441 A1 “Das”.
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 14, Miller teaches “A system for image processing, the system comprising:” (Claim 1) (“FIG. 1 depicts an exemplary layout of an intravascular imaging system 101 as may be found, for example, in a catheter lab. An operator uses control station 110 and navigational device 125 to operate catheter 112 via patient interface module (PIM) 105. At a distal tip of catheter 112 is imaging tip 114. Computer device 120 works with PIM 105 to coordinate imaging operations. […] The image data is received by device 120 and interpreted to provide an image on monitor 103. System 101 is operable for use during diagnostic imaging of the peripheral and coronary vasculature of the patient. System 101 can be configured to automatically visualize boundary features, perform spectral analysis of vascular features, provide qualitative or quantitate blood flow data, or a combination thereof” [0034]; “In some embodiments, operation of system 101 employs a sterile, single use intravascular ultrasound imaging catheter 112. Catheter 112 is inserted into the coronary arteries and vessels of the peripheral vasculature under the guidance of angiographic system 107” [0035]. Therefore, since the intravascular imaging system 101 includes a computer device 120 which receives image data and interprets it such that it can be displayed on a monitor 103, the system 101 shown in FIG. 1 represents a system for image processing.).
“A method of image processing, comprising:” (Claim 12) (“The invention provides systems and methods for presenting intravascular images and angiographic images co-registered on a display” [0005]. Therefore, Miller discloses a method of image processing.);
“A non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising:” (Claim 14) (“A computer system includes a processor coupled to a tangible, non-transitory memory operable to cause the system to perform the method steps” [0067]. Therefore, Miller discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations.);
“at least one input interface configured to: receive spectral projection imagery of a region of interest from an imaging procedure by a spectral X-ray imaging apparatus, wherein the region of interest includes a conduit for passage of a liquid; and receive intravascular image data representative of 3D lumen information of the conduit from the imaging procedure by a non-ionizing imaging apparatus;” (Claim 1); “receiving spectral projection imagery data of a region of interest from an imaging procedure by a spectral X-ray imaging apparatus, wherein the region of interest includes a conduit for passage of a liquid; and receiving intravascular image data representative of 3D lumen information of the conduit from the imaging procedure by a non-ionizing imaging apparatus” (Claims 12 and 14) (See computer device 120 in [0034] above and “The invention provides methods of co-registering angiographic images with IVUS images. An angiography system may be used with an intravascular imaging system (e.g., OCT, IVUS, or optical-acoustic imaging). Angiography systems can be used to visualize the blood vessels by injecting a radio-opaque contrast agent into the blood vessel and imaging using X-ray based techniques such as fluoroscopy. […] In certain embodiments, angiography involves using a catheter to administer the x-ray contrast agent at the desired area to be visualized. The catheter is threaded into an artery, and the tip is advanced through the arterial system into the major coronary artery. X-ray images of the transient radio contrast distribution within the blood flowing within the coronary arteries allows visualization of the size of the artery openings” [0042]; “The angiography system can be used to detect a change. The angiography system can be used to detect the flush with saline (e.g., the temporary displacement of the radiopaque dye by the saline), the initial influx of radiopaque dye, or other such flushes. A processor that receives the angiography signal data can detect a brightness or contrast change” [0043]; “The angiography images will be co-registered to one or more images from an IVUS system or the like” [0044]; “IVUS uses a catheter with an ultrasound probe attached at the distal end. The proximal end of the catheter is attached to computerized ultrasound equipment. To visualize a vessel via IVUS, angiographic techniques are used and the physician positions the tip of a guide wire […] The physician steers the guide wire from outside the body, through angiography catheters and into the blood vessel branch to be imaged” [0045]; “The 3D vessel wall is established by doing an IVUS pull back” [0062]; “FIG. 11 shows a longitudinal planar view of the vessel in the right panel. Such a planar image along a vessel is sometimes referred to as an in-line digital view or image longitudinal display (ILD). The system captures a 3D data set that is used to present the image of tissue. An electronic apparatus within the system (e.g., PC, dedicated hardware, or firmware) stores the three-dimensional data set in a tangible, non-transitory memory and renders a display 237 (e.g., on a screen or computer monitor) that includes a 2D image of the tissue” [0084].
Therefore, since the computer device 120 receives the angiography signal data and the IVUS image data such that angiography images can be co-registered with one or more images from the IVUS system (i.e. IVUS catheter 112), the computer device 120 includes at least one input interface configured to perform the steps of receiving spectral projection imagery of a region of interest from an imaging procedure by a spectral X-ray imaging apparatus (i.e. see [0042] and angiographic system 107 in FIG. 1), wherein the region of interest includes a conduit (i.e. blood vessel) for passage of a liquid, and receiving intravascular image data representative of 3D lumen information of the conduit (i.e. 3D vessel wall obtained doing IVUS pull back, see [0062]) from the imaging procedure by a non-ionizing imaging apparatus (i.e. which acquires IVUS images, see [0044], [0045].); and
“a predictor component configured to predict, a concentration amount of contrast agent in the conduit based on analysis of the spectral projection imagery data and the intravascular image data” (Claim 1); “predicting a concentration amount of contrast agent in the conduit based on analysis of the spectral projection imagery data and the intravascular image data” (Claims 12 and 14) (See [0043] and [0044] as discussed above. Therefore, since the processor (i.e. computer device 120) receives the angiography signal data, and the additional intravascular image data (i.e. IVUS) in order to be co-register them and the processor is can detect contrast change (i.e. resulting from the influx of radiopaque dye, see [0043], the method carried out by the system involves predicting a concentration amount of contrast agent (i.e. radiopaque dye) in the conduit based on analysis of the spectral projection imagery data and intravascular image data (i.e. wherein the detected brightness or contrast change corresponds to the concentration amount of contrast agent).
Miller does not teach “wherein the spectral projection imagery data includes a contrast-only image” (Claims 1, 12 and 14); “wherein the predicting the concentration amount includes: extracting a mass of contrast agent from the contrast-only image, obtaining a lumen volume of the conduit from the 3D lumen information of the conduit; and quantifying the concentration amount from a ratio between the extracted mass and the obtained lumen volume” (Claims 1, 12 and 14).
Das is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention because it involves determining an amount of contrast agent in an image (see [Abstract]).
Das teaches “wherein the spectral projection imagery data includes a contrast-only image” (Claims 1, 12 and 14) (“The method 70 includes obtaining a first polychromatic contrast-enhanced X-ray image at a first source energy (block 72), which is polychromatic […] A second polychromatic contrast-enhanced X-ray image may then be obtained in a similar manner to the first image (block 74) at a second source energy, which is polychromatic.” [0030]; “The method 120 includes obtaining a polychromatic contrast-enhanced image (block 122). The source spectra 62, 64 illustrated in FIG. 2 are each examples of polychromatic source spectra, which may each used to generate respective polychromatic contrast-enhanced images” [0062]. In this case, FIGS. 3 and 7 show methods for determining an amount of contrast agent in an image (see [0011] and [0015]). Therefore, since first and second polychromatic contrast-enhanced X-ray images are obtained, the spectral projection imagery includes a contrast-only image.);
“wherein the predicting the concentration amount includes: extracting a mass of contrast agent from the contrast-only image, obtaining a lumen volume of the conduit from the 3D lumen information of the conduit; and quantifying the concentration amount from a ratio between the extracted mass and the obtained lumen volume” (Claims 1, 12 and 14) (“In other embodiments, a single polychromatic source spectrum may be utilized to determine a composite linear or mass attenuation coefficient for a contrast agent based on the various strengths of the source spectrum at different energies. The composite attenuation coefficient may be related to an overall signal response of a given volume of a polychromatic image to determine an amount of the contrast agent in the image” [0019]; “More particularly, the linear attenuation coefficient of the contrast agent, which is a product of the mass attenuation coefficient and the density of the contrast agent, may provide the signal response attributable to the contrast agent” [0036]; “As discussed below, the determined amount and/or density may be used to generate a contrast agent map of over the regions of enhanced contrast. […] Accordingly, in such embodiments, based on the determined volume x of the contrast agent, the amount of the contrast agent (e.g., in grams), the volume fraction of the agent (e.g., x/v), or any combination thereof, the amount of the attenuating atom (e.g., a volume and/or amount) of the attenuating atom may be determined. […] More particularly, the linear attenuation coefficient of the contrast agent, which is a product of the mass attenuation coefficient and the density of the contrast agent, may provide the signal response attributable to the contrast agent” [0046]; “The method 120 may, in some embodiments, also include isolating a region of enhanced contrast from other portions of the polychromatic image (block 126). […] In certain embodiments, the volume v may be isolated from other regions of the image” [0066]; “Based on the composite linear attenuation coefficients of the contrast agent and blood and the overall signal response of the volume v from the polychromatic image, the volume x of the contrast agent within the volume v is determined (block 128)” [0067].
In this case, since the composite linear attenuation coefficient is the product of the mass attenuation coefficient and the density (i.e. density being calculated with the expression mass/volume) of the contrast agent, the mass of the contrast agent (i.e. in grams, see [0046]) must be extracted from the obtained image (see [0019], [0036], [0046]). Both FIG. 3 and 7 involve generating a contrast agent map (i.e. step 112), which requires knowing the amount of contrast agent present in the volume shown in the polychromatic contrast-enhanced image. Furthermore, since the volume v is isolated from the image and the amount of contrast agent may be represented as an amount (e.g., grams), a volume fraction, a density (e.g., mass iodine/v, mass contrast agent/v), the step of predicting the concentration amount includes extracting a mass of contrast agent (i.e. in grams, see [0046]) from the contrast-only image, obtaining a lumen volume of the conduit from the 3D lumen information of the conduit (see [0066]); and quantifying the concentration amount from a ratio between the extracted mass and the obtained lumen volume (see volume fraction, see [0046]).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system, method and non-transitory computer-readable medium of Miller such that the step of predicting the concentration amount includes: extracting a mass of contrast agent from the contrast-only image, obtaining a lumen volume of the conduit from the 3D lumen information of the conduit; and quantifying the concentration amount from a ratio between the extracted mass and the obtained lumen volume as disclosed in Das in order to effectively determine the concentration of contrast agent present within the image with a reasonable expectation of success. A concentration amount of a substance by definition is the amount of that substance per unit of volume. Therefore, in order to calculate the concentration amount of contrast agent, it is necessary to know its mass and the volume of the space in which it is present (i.e. lumen volume). Therefore, modifying the system, method and non-transitory computer-readable medium of Miller such that the step of predicting the concentration amount includes: extracting a mass of contrast agent from the contrast-only image, obtaining a lumen volume of the conduit from the 3D lumen information of the conduit; and quantifying the concentration amount from a ratio between the extracted mass and the obtained lumen volume as disclosed in Das would yield the predictable result of effectively determining the concentration of contrast agent present within the image.
Regarding claim 2, Miller in view of Das discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Miller further teaches "wherein the 3D information is representative of a volume of a lumen of the conduit inside the region of interest” (See [0062] and [0084] as discussed in claim 1 above. Therefore, the 3D information is representative of a volume of a lumen of the conduit inside a region of interest.).
Regarding claim 4, Miller in view of Das discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Miller further teaches "further comprising a flow assessment component configured to compute a medical quantity of interest based at least on the predicted concentration of contrast agent in the said conduit, the quantity of interest descriptive of one or more flow characteristics of the liquid” (“System 101 can be configured to automatically visualize boundary features, perform spectral analysis of vascular features, provide qualitative or quantitate blood flow data, or a combination thereof” [0034] and “Angiography systems can be used to visualize the blood vessels by injecting a radio-opaque contrast agent into the blood vessel and imaging using X-ray based techniques such as fluoroscopy. […] X-ray images of the transient radio contrast distribution within the blood flowing within the coronary arteries allows visualization of the size of the artery openings” [0042]. Therefore, since the system 101 provides qualitative or quantitate blood flow data, the system further comprises a flow assessment component configured to compute a medical quantity of interest (i.e. qualitative or quantitate blood flow data) based at least on the predicted concentration of contrast agent (i.e. radio-opaque contrast agent) in the said conduit (i.e. blood vessel), the quantity of interest descriptive of one or more flow characteristics of the liquid (i.e. qualitative or quantitate blood flow data).).
Regarding claim 5, Miller in view of Das discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 4 above, and Miller further teaches "wherein the said medical quantity of interest includes any one or more of: volumetric flow, propagation time of contrast agent through at least a section of said conduit, liquid -contrast agent mixing behavior, and transluminal attenuation gradient” (See [0034] as discussed with respect to claim 4 above. Therefore, the said medical quantity of interest includes any one or more of volumetric flow (i.e. qualitative or quantitate blood flow data).).
Regarding claim 7, Miller in view of Das discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Miller further teaches "wherein the conduit is part of a vascular, urinary or lymphatic system of a mammal, such as a human patient” (“In certain embodiments, systems and methods of the invention image within a lumen of tissue. Various lumen of biological structures may be imaged including, but not limited to, blood vessels, vasculature of the lymphatic and nervous systems, various structures of the gastrointestinal tract including lumen of the small intestine, large intestine, stomach, esophagus, colon, pancreatic duct, bile duct, hepatic duct, lumen of the reproductive tract including the vas deferens, vagina, uterus and fallopian tubes, structures of the urinary tract including urinary collecting ducts, renal tubules, ureter, and bladder, and structures of the head and neck and pulmonary system including sinuses, parotid, trachea, bronchi, and lungs” [0041]. As shown in FIG. 1, the intravascular imaging system 101 (i.e. along with the angiographic system 107) are used to examine a human patient. Therefore, the conduit is part of a vascular (i.e. blood vessel), urinary (i.e. urinary tract including urinary collecting ducts, renal tubules, ureter, and bladder), or lymphatic system (i.e. vasculature of the lymphatic system) of a mammal, such as a human patient.).
Regarding claim 8, Miller in view of Das discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Miller further teaches "wherein the further imaging apparatus is any one or more of: i) an intravascular ultrasound imaging apparatus or ii) an optical coherence tomography imaging apparatus” (See [0035], [0045] and [0062] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above and “Systems and methods of the invention have application in intravascular imaging methodologies such as intravascular ultrasound (IVUS) and optical coherence tomography (OCT) among others that produce a three-dimensional image of a vessel” [0025]. Therefore, the further imaging apparatus (IA2) is any one or more of: i) an intravascular ultrasound (IVUS) imaging apparatus or ii) an optical coherence tomography (OCT) imaging apparatus.).
Regarding claim 11, Miller in view of Das discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Miller further teaches "An imaging arrangement (MIA) comprising the system of claim 1, further including the spectral X-ray imaging apparatus and the second imaging apparatus” (See FIG. 1. The system shown in FIG. 1 includes the intravascular imaging system 101 as well as the angiographic system 107 (i.e. the spectral X-ray imaging apparatus). Therefore, the system shown in FIG. 1 represents an imaging arrangement (MIA) comprising the system of claim 1, and further including the spectral X-ray imaging apparatus and the second imaging apparatus.).
Claim(s) 3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller US 2014/0276085 A1 “Miller” and Das US 2013/0261441 A1 “Das” as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of So et al. US 2021/0228171 A1 “So”.
Regarding claim 3, Miller in view of Das discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 2 above, however the combination does not teach "wherein the concentration amount is a mass of contrast agent quantified using a mass of contrast agent and a volume of the lumen inside the region of interest”.
So is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention because it involves a computer implemented method for dynamic angiographic imaging involving obtaining image data comprising a plurality of images during and increase phase and decline phase of a contrast agent in a blood vessel of interest (see [Abstract]).
So teaches "wherein the concentration amount is a mass of contrast agent quantified using a mass of contrast agent and a volume of the lumen inside the region of interest” (“FIG. 15 shows a schematic correlating mass of contrast agent in a vessel section to different time points of a corresponding measured time-enhancement curve” [0026]; “The dynamic CT scan includes acquiring of projection data prior to entry 54 of contrast agent at the sampling site(s), as well as acquiring projection data during an increase phase 56 of the contrast agent at the sampling site(s) and acquiring projection data during a decline phase 58 of the contrast agent at the sampling site. An increase phase refers to an increase of mass of contrast agent at the sampling site as time advances subsequent to initial entry of the contrast agent into the sampling site, while a decline phase or decrease phase refers to a decrease of mass of contrast agent at the sampling site as time advances prior to substantially complete clearance of the contrast agent from the sampling site” [0047]. As shown in FIG. 15, the mass of contrast agent present at time T = t3 is the greatest (i.e. at the peak) in the time-enhancement curve. Therefore, the concentration is a mass concentration representing a mass of contrast agent quantified using a mass of contrast agent and a volume of the lumen inside the region of interest.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Miller in view of Das such that the concentration amount is a mass of contrast agent quantified using a mass of contrast agent and a volume of the lumen inside the region of interest as disclosed in So in order to allow a user to better understand how the mass of contrast agent within the region of interest in the lumen changes over time (see So: FIG. 15). Generating a time-enhancement curve is one of a finite number of techniques which can be used to allow a user to assess how the mass of contrast agent inside a lumen changes over time with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the system of Miller in view of Das such that concentration amount is a mass of contrast agent quantified using a mass of contrast agent and a volume of the lumen inside the region of interest as disclosed in So would yield the predictable result of allowing a user to better understand how the mass of contrast agent within the region of interest in the lumen changes over time.
Regarding claim 6, Miller in view and Das discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, however the combination does not teach "wherein the predictor component is configured to compute an initial concentration of the contrast agent upon entering the conduit and/or a rate of entering into the conduit of the said contrast agent”.
So teaches "wherein the predictor component is configured to compute an initial concentration of the contrast agent upon entering the conduit and/or a rate of entering into the conduit of the said contrast agent” (See FIG. 15 and “The maximum value (peak value) of the time-enhancement curve has a unit of HU (Hounsfield Unit) and can be converted to (mg/mL)” [0070]. In this case, as shown in FIG. 15, T = t1 represents the initial concentration of the contrast agent upon entering the vessel (i.e. conduit). In order to generate the corresponding time-enhancement curve, the predictor component must have been configured to compute an initial concentration of the contrast agent upon entering the conduit.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Miller in view of Das such that the predictor component is configured to compute an initial concentration of the contrast agent upon entering the conduit as disclosed in So in order to allow a user to better understand how the concentration of the contrast agent within the conduit (i.e. vessel) changes over time (see So: FIG. 15). Generating a time-enhancement curve is one of a finite number of techniques which can be used to allow a user to assess how the concentration of contrast agent inside a lumen/vessel/conduit changes over time with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the system of Miller in view of Das such that predictor component is configured to compute an initial concentration of the contrast agent upon entering the conduit as disclosed in So would yield the predictable result of allowing a user to better understand how the concentration of the contrast agent within the conduit (i.e. vessel) changes over time (see So: FIG. 15).
Claim(s) 9-10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller US 2014/0276085 A1 “Miller” and Das et al. US 2013/0261441 A1 “Das” as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Sahbaee Bagherzadeh et al. US 2020/0281543 A1 “Sahbaee Bagherzadeh”.
Regarding claim 9, Miller in view of Das discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, however the combination does not teach "further comprising a spectral processor implementing a material decomposition algorithm for providing the spectral projection imagery including a contrast-only image”.
Sahbaee Bagherzadeh is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention because it involves utilizing material decomposition in medical imaging to output material composition contained therein (see [Abstract]).
Sahbaee Bagherzadeh teaches "further comprising a spectral processor implementing a material decomposition algorithm for providing the spectral projection imagery including a contrast-only image” (“The medical imaging system performs the acts. A medical imager, such as a CT system, performs act 10. An image processor performs act 12. The image processor uses a display screen to perform act 14” [0015]; “In act 12, an image processor generates a material decomposition for one or more locations in the scanned region of the patient” [0022]; “In act 14 of FIG. 1, the image processor generates and a display displays an image of the material decomposition for the plurality of the locations. The material decomposition image may be visualized on the CT or medical scanner or on another device, such as an imaging workstation” [0045]; “In one embodiment, the machine-learned model is used for part of material decomposition, and spectral CT (i.e., traditional or algorithm-based) material decomposition is used for another part of the material decomposition. […] The machine-learned model is trained to refine the material decomposition from the algorithm-based material decomposition results with or without input of other data (e.g., scan data). In any of these or other combinations, the resulting images are a function of output of the spectral CT material decomposition and the machine-learned model” [0050]; “FIG. 4 shows a system for material decomposition. The system implements the method of FIG. 1 or another method to output material composition for an interior region of a patient, such as shown in FIG. 3” [0051].
Therefore, the system (i.e. see FIG. 4, image processor 42) further comprises a spectral processor implementing a material decomposition algorithm (i.e. see [0045], [0050]) for providing the spectral projection imagery including a contrast-only image (i.e. resulting images, see [0050] and step 14 in FIG. 1).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Miller in view of Das such that the system further comprises a spectral processor implementing a material decomposition algorithm for providing the spectral projection imagery including a contrast-only image as disclosed in Sahbaee Bagherzadeh in order to automate the process of identifying material composition of a patient (see Sahbaee Bagherzadeh: [0003]). Utilizing a material decomposition algorithm is one of a finite number of techniques which can be used to identify the material composition present within a patient with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the system of Miller in view of Das such that the system further comprises a spectral processor implementing a material decomposition algorithm for providing the spectral projection imagery including a contrast-only image as disclosed in Sahbaee Bagherzadeh would yield the predictable result of automating the process of identifying material composition of a patient.
Regarding claim 10, Miller in view of Das discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, however the combination does not teach "wherein the predictor component is based on a machine learning model”.
Sahbaee Bagherzadeh teaches "wherein the predictor component is based on a machine learning model” (“Deep learning or other machine learning is used for multi-material decomposition in medical imaging. Being trained by thousands of images and decomposed images, such as from traditional two and/or three material decomposition algorithms, the machine-learned model is not limited to use the information only from the individual voxels to extract the decomposed information. Machine learning may train on labeled data with spatial information (e.g., planar and z axis) and/or temporal information (e.g., timing relative to contrast agent injection) for each location” [0013]. Therefore, the predictor component is based on a machine learning model.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Miller in view of Das such that the predictor component is based on a machine learning model as disclosed in Sahbaee Bagherzadeh in order to automate the process of identifying the material composition of a patient (see Sahbaee Bagherzadeh: [0003]). Utilizing a material decomposition algorithm/machine learning model is one of a finite number of techniques which can be used to identify the material composition present within a patient with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the system of Miller in view of Das such that the predictor component is based on a machine learning model as disclosed in Sahbaee Bagherzadeh would yield the predictable result of automating the process of identifying the material composition of a patient.
Regarding claim 13, Miller in view of Das and Sahbaee Bagherzadeh discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 10 above, and Sahbaee Bagherzadeh further teaches "A method of training the model as per claim 10 based on training data” (See [0013] as discussed with respect to claim 10 above and “The machine-learned model may have been trained based on a database of past image acquisitions covering a wide range of scan phases (i.e., relative timing of the scan to contrast agent injection) and conditions (e.g., scan settings and/or task)” [0027]). Therefore, Sahbaee Bagherzadeh discloses a method of training the model as per claim 10 based on training data.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Miller in view of Das such that the predictor component is based on a machine learning model and is subjected to a method of training as disclosed in Sahbaee Bagherzadeh in order to automate the process of identifying the material composition of a patient (see Sahbaee Bagherzadeh: [0003]). Training a machine learning model to identify the material composition(s) present within a patient is one of a finite number of techniques which can be used to effectively automate the process of identifying materials with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the system of Miller in view of Das such that the predictor component is subjected to a method of training as disclosed in Sahbaee Bagherzadeh would yield the predictable result of automating the process of identifying the material composition of a patient.
Conclusion
/KAITLYN E SEBASTIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3797