DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
2. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
4. Figures 1 and 2 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- or --Related Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated (see paragraphs 5 and 26-27 of the specification. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
5. The specification is objected to due to the following informality.
In paragraph 9, it appears that a period should follow the word “weight” instead of a bracket.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Per claim 8, the limitation “the number of structural elements” lacks sufficient antecedent basis because the limitation “structural elements” is not recited in claim 1, from which claim 8 depends. Claims 9-14 are consequently rejected due to their dependence on claim 8.
Per claim 9, the phrase “an almost complete circle” lacks clarity in light of the specification. The determination as to whether a shape is an “almost complete” circle requires the use of subjective judgement. Appropriate correction is required.
Per claim 10, the limitation “the power source (transmitter)” recited in line 10 lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Furthermore, it is unclear if the limitation “transmitter” that is recited in parentheses implies that the power source is a transmitter. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of examination, the limitation “the power source (transmitter)” in claim 10 is interpreted as implying “a power source.” To note, said limitation is also recited in the last line of this claim.
Per claim 10, the limitations “the second insulated structural element” in line 12, “the first portion of the third insulated structural element,” in lines 13-14, “the second portion of the third insulated structural element” in lines 14-15, and “the other terminal of the power source (transmitter)” in lines 15-16 lack sufficient antecedent bases. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of examination, said limitations are interpreted as implying “a second insulated structural element,” “a first portion of a third insulated structural element,” “a second portion of the third insulated structural element,” and “a second terminal of the power source.”
Per claim 14, the limitation “the conductive elements” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of examination, said limitation is interpreted as implying “the conductive circuit or path” which is recited in claim 9.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-5, 7, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by West et al. (US 2017/0123093 – hereinafter “West”).
Per claim 1, West teaches a transmitter coil (Fig. 1A; transmitter loop 80; ¶47) adapted for use in aerial electromagnetic surveying wherein the transmitter coil comprises at least one structural member (Fig. 2; transmitter loop sections 100; ¶47) that is configured to form at least one conductive loop and adapted to have current from a transmitter module (¶49 and 75) pass through the at least one structural member to generate a magnetic moment (The transmitter loop sections 100 of the transmitter loop 80 may comprise one or more conductors for carrying electric current in a transmitter circuit. Conductors of adjacent loop sections 100 may be electrically connected to form one or more independent or distinct transmitter circuits around loop 80 containing a plurality of turns so as to create a large magnetic moment when energized with current. A transmitter driver is used to provide a current for creating a primary magnetic field (¶49)).
Per claim 2, West teaches the transmitter coil of claim 1 wherein the transmitter coil is comprised of a plurality of conductive loops (A transmitter circuit may have multiple turns about the circumference of the transmitter loop 80 where each turn may transverse each transmitter loop section 100 through a different conductive element 110 (¶74)).
Per claim 3, West teaches the transmitter coil of claim 1 wherein there are a plurality of structural members (A plurality of transmitter loop sections 100 are provided (¶50)).
Per claim 4, West teaches the transmitter coil of claim 3 wherein the plurality of structural members comprises a plurality of structural elements that are elongate, rigid and conductive and wherein each structural element form part of the plurality of conductive loops (Each transmitter loop section 100 includes a plurality of conductive elements 110 (¶60 and 74)).
Per claim 5, West teaches the transmitter coil of claim 4 wherein each structural member has two joining end plates at either end of the plurality of elongate structural elements and wherein the end plates are made from a non-conductive material and wherein each end plate is used to connect one structural member with a nearby structural member (Each transmitter loop section 100 may comprise a non-conductive frame 120 at both ends that supports a section terminator 130 (Fig. 8; ¶63 and 68)).
Per claim 7, West teaches the transmitter coil of claim 4, wherein the structural elements are separated by insulating spacers (Conductive elements 110 of a transmitter loop section 100 may be maintained in a spaced apart relationship by one or more non-conductive frames 120 (Fig. 8; ¶60 and 64)).
Per claim 15, West teaches a surveying apparatus comprising:
a transmitter coil (Fig. 1A; transmitter loop 80; ¶47) comprising at least one structural member (Fig. 2; transmitter loop sections 100; ¶47) that is configured to form at least one conductive loop and adapted to have current from a transmitter module (¶49 and 75) pass through the at least one structural member to generate a magnetic moment (The transmitter loop sections 100 of the transmitter loop 80 may comprise one or more conductors for carrying electric current in a transmitter circuit. Conductors of adjacent loop sections 100 may be electrically connected to form one or more independent or distinct transmitter circuits around loop 80 containing a plurality of turns so as to create a large magnetic moment when energized with current (¶49));
at least one generator for generating power (A power supply is provided (¶76));
a transmitter for generating a primary field through the transmitter coil (A transmitter driver is used to provide a current for creating a primary magnetic field (¶49 and 75)), and
a receiver for receiving a secondary field generated by the primary field (One or more receiver sensors are provided (¶3 and 49)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over West in view of Dodds (US 2018/0267193).
Per claim 8, West does not teach the transmitter coil of claim 1, wherein the number of conductive loops is three and the number of structural elements per structural member is three.
In contrast, Dodds teaches an electromagnetic survey system comprising a transmitter loop assembly 101 including a transmitter coil 101A having three turns (Fig. 4; ¶26 and 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmitter coil 80 of West such that the transmitter loop sections 100 each comprise three conductive elements 110 to form three conductive loops.
One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of generating a primary magnetic field (Dodds; ¶16).
12. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over West in view of Dodds (US 2018/0267193), in further view of Martinez Ortega (US 2017/0023694).
Per claim 9, West in view of Dodds teaches the transmitter coil of claim 8 comprising a plurality of structural members which form an almost complete circle comprising three separate conductive loops and a cross over member, where the cross over member is adapted to conduct the current between the structural elements such that they form one conductive circuit or path that has three winds or turns around the transmitter coil.
In contrast, Martinez Ortega teaches an apparatus for airborne electromagnetic prospecting comprising a Tx coil wherein, to provide multiple turns for the Tx coil, an area 750 is provided comprising transition elements 751-755 to electrically connect straight transmitter elements 16 to corner transmitter elements 15 (Fig. 7; ¶124).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmitter coil 80 of West in view of Dodds such that a cross over member is provided to conduct current between the conductive elements 110 of the transmitter loop sections 100 so that a conductive path is formed having three turns. One of ordinary skill would make such a modification for the purpose of providing a multiple-turn transmitter coil that is formed by combining a plurality of transmitter elements (Martinez Ortega; ¶124).
Claim Objections
13. Claim 10 is objected to due to the following informality.
Per claim 10, it appears that the clause that begins with “-from” should start on a new line.
14. Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Per claim 6, the prior art of record is silent on the transmitter coil of claim 5 wherein the structural elements from two adjacent structural elements joined by their respective non-conductive end plates are in electrical connection by way of conductive bolts that extend through the non conductive end plates and connect flange portions of the structural elements.
Claim Remarks
15. Although claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the subject matter disclosed in claim 10 and inherited by dependent claims 11-14 is not believed to be taught or suggested by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/JAS A SANGHERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852