DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
2. The preliminary amendment filed on March 30, 2025 has been entered in the above-identified application. Claims 8, 14, 16. 18 are amended. Claims 1-18 are pending and under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites that the “first outer polymer layer comprises PBSA and PLA”, the “second outer polymer layer comprises PCL and PLA”, and the “polymer core layer comprises PBAT” and the Examiner suggests reciting the name of each polymer rather than the acronym to avoid any ambiguity. Similar ambiguities exist in claims 1-7 and 9-13.
Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egawa (US 2006/0286373 A1) in view of Krishnaswamy et al. (US 2012/0107630 A1).
Egawa discloses a biodegradable sheet comprising a laminated sheet including at least two layers. Each of the layers forming the laminated sheet is a resin composition comprising 75 to 25% by mass of a polylactic acid resin, and 25 to 75% by mass of a polyester resin. Such polyester resins include biodegradable aliphatic polyesters other than polylactic acid resin. The aliphatic polyesters include polyethylene succinate, polybutylene succinate and aliphatic polyesters obtained by subjecting cyclic lactones to ring-opening polymerization by polymerizing one or more kinds of cyclic monomers such as caprolactone. The laminated sheet should comprises a plurality of layers such as two layers, three layers or four layers. The biodegradable laminated sheet may be of the two-layer structure, i.e. first layer/second layer structure, the three-layer structure, i.e. first layer/second layer/first layer structure, or four-layer or more-than-four-layer structure such as first layer/second layer/first layer . . . /second layer structure, or first layer/second layer/first layer . . . /first layer structure. Preferably, both outer layers include the first layers and at least one of the inner layers is the second layer. If both outer layers include the first layers, the outer layers are both high in crystallinity, so that the biodegradable laminated sheet has high heat resistance and impact resistance and shows improved formability when it is formed in a vacuum forming machine or an air-pressure forming machine. Between any first and second layers, a recycled resin layer or a layer which is intermediate in properties between the first and second layers may be disposed (see Abstract and paragraphs 0031-0053).
Egawa et al. do not teach that the core layer located between said first outer polymer layer and said second outer polymer layer comprises PBAT.
However, Krishnaswamy et al. teach a method of preparing a film comprising reacting a polybutylene adipate-terephthalate with a branching agent and forming a branched polybutylene adipate-terephthalate polymer composition. The polybutylene adipate-terephthalate compositions can be used to form a multi-layered film; thereby making a film comprising polybutylene adipate-terephthalate layers. In other embodiments, compositions, articles and films comprising polybutylene adipate-terephthate are also disclosed. The polymer compositions have increased melt strength that is useful in that it allows the polymers to be formed under a broader temperature range when the polymer is processed. Additionally, the improvement shown in films made from the methods and compositions disclosed by Krishnaswamy et al. are greater tensile strength, tear resistance and greater puncture resistance (see Abstract and paragraphs 0006-0019).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use a polybutylene adipate-terephthalate layer in the laminate taught by Egawa given that Egawa teaches that their laminated sheet comprises a plurality of layers such as three layers or four layers and Krishnaswamy et al. teach that their polybutylene adipate-terephthalate layer provides greater tensile strength, tear resistance and greater puncture resistance. Furthermore, with regards to the concentration of each component and the number of layers and their position, the Examiner would like to point out that workable physical properties and concentrations are deemed to be obvious routine optimizations to one of ordinary skill in the art, motivated by the desire to obtain the required properties.
Conclusion
/SHEEBA AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787