DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 03/31/2025, wherein claims 1-24 have been examined and are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 03/31/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-3, 7, 9, 11-15, 19, 21, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (U.S. 2024/0259559) hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a method for performing inter prediction in a video decoder, comprising:
receiving a coding unit in a bitstream of a video, the coding unit being coded with a Template Matching (TM) process and a Bilateral Matching (BM) process (Zhang [0239]: Template matching TM with bilateral matching BM can be used);
determining an order of the TM and BM processes; and performing, based on the determined order of the TM and BM processes, inter prediction to reconstruct the received coding unit (Zhang [0239]: Template matching TM can be cascaded with bilateral matching process; [0241], [0490], [0651]-[0652]: when TM is enabled, template matching may work as an extra MV refinement process between block based and sub-block based bilateral matching BM methods. Hence, performing TM and BM based on a determined order; [0072]-[0073]: inter prediction to reconstruct coding unit).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 1
Zhang discloses wherein the determining step further comprises: determining a predefined order of the TM and BM processes, as the determined order of the TM and BM processes, or determining, based on a syntax element included in the bitstream, an order of the TM and BM processes, as the determined order of the TM and BM processes (Zhang [0239]: Template matching TM can be cascaded with bilateral matching process; [0241], [0490], [0652]: when TM is enabled, template matching may work as an extra MV refinement process between block based and sub-block based bilateral matching BM methods. Hence, performing TM and BM based on a predefined order).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses a method for performing inter prediction in a video encoder, comprising:
performing, based on a determined order of a Template Matching (TM) process and a Bilateral Matching (BM) process, inter prediction to code a coding unit; and transmitting the coded coding unit in a bitstream of a video (Zhang [0239]: Template matching TM can be cascaded with bilateral matching process; [0241], [0490], [0652]: when TM is enabled, template matching may work as an extra MV refinement process between block based and sub-block based bilateral matching BM methods. Hence, performing TM and BM based on a determined order; [0645], [0767]: bitstream with coding block).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 13.
Zhang discloses wherein the performing step further comprises determining a predefined order of the TM and BM processes, as the determined order of the TM and BM processes, or the performing step further comprises deciding an order of the TM and BM processes, and the transmitting step further comprises transmitting, in the bitstream, a syntax element for indicating the decided order of the TM and BM processes (Zhang [0239]: Template matching TM can be cascaded with bilateral matching process; [0241], [0490], [0652]: when TM is enabled, template matching may work as an extra MV refinement process between block based and sub-block based bilateral matching BM methods. Hence, performing TM and BM based on a predefined order).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 13, respectively.
Zhang discloses wherein the BM process includes, in a sequence, a block-level motion vector (MV) refinement, a subblock-level MV refinement, and a subblock-level bi-directional optical flow (BDOF) MV refinement, where whether a succeeding refinement is performed or not is dependent on a cost of a preceding refinement (Zhang [0481]: multi-pass motion vector refinement DMVR wherein in a first pass, bilateral matching BM is applied to a coding block. In a second pass, BM is applied to each subblock within the coding block. In the third pass, MV in each subblock is refined by applying bi-directional optical flow BDOF; Claims 3-4: subblock-based BM refinement is disabled if a minimum matching cost of the block-based BM refinement is smaller than a threshold, hence a succeeding refinement is performed or not is dependent on a cost of a preceding refinement), and
the TM process, when performed, is performed right after the block-level MV refinement of the BM process (Zhang [0241], [0490], [0651]-[0652]: when TM is enabled, template matching may work as an extra MV refinement process between block based and sub-block based bilateral matching BM methods. Hence, TM is performed right after the block-level MV refinement of the BM process).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claims 3 and 15, respectively.
Zhang discloses wherein the subblock-level MV refinement is performed after the TM process, regardless of a cost of the block-level MV refinement (Zhang [0241], [0490], [0652]: when TM is enabled, template matching may work as an extra MV refinement process between block based and sub-block based bilateral matching BM methods. Hence, performing TM and BM based on a determined order. Zhang does not mention about performing subblock-level MV refinement or not based on cost of block-level MV refinement. Hence, the subblock-level MV refinement is performed after the TM process, regardless of a cost of the block-level MV refinement).
Regarding claims 9 and 21, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claims 2 and 13, respectively.
Zhang discloses wherein the BM process includes, in a sequence, a block-level motion vector (MV) refinement, a subblock-level MV refinement, and a subblock-level bi-directional optical flow (BDOF) MV refinement, where whether a succeeding refinement is performed or not is dependent on a cost of a preceding refinement (Zhang [0481]: multi-pass motion vector refinement DMVR wherein in a first pass, bilateral matching BM is applied to a coding block. In a second pass, BM is applied to each subblock within the coding block. In the third pass, MV in each subblock is refined by applying bi-directional optical flow BDOF; Claims 3-4: subblock-based BM refinement is disabled if a minimum matching cost of the block-based BM refinement is smaller than a threshold, hence a succeeding refinement is performed or not is dependent on a cost of a preceding refinement), and
the BM process, when performed, is performed after the TM process (Zhang [0239]: Template matching TM can be cascaded with bilateral matching BM process. Hence, BM process is performed after the TM process).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 9.
Zhang discloses wherein in response to a cost of the TM process being less than or equal to a third threshold, or a cost of the block-level MV refinement being less than or equal to a fourth threshold, or a cost reduction of a best block-level MV refinement being unable to be more than a cost reduction of an initial block-level MV refinement, the subblock-level MV refinement is prohibited (Zhang Claims 3-4: subblock-based BM refinement is disabled if a minimum matching cost of the block-based BM refinement is smaller than a threshold).
Regarding claims 12 and 24, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claims 9 and 21, respectively.
Zhang discloses wherein in response to a cost of the block-level MV refinement being less than or equal to a sixth threshold, or a cost reduction of a best block-level MV refinement being unable to be more than a cost reduction of an initial block-level MV refinement, usage of an MV modification from the BM process is prohibited (Zhang Claims 3-4: subblock-based BM refinement is disabled if a minimum matching cost of the block-based BM refinement is smaller than a threshold).
Regarding claim 23, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 21.
Zhang discloses wherein the subblock-level MV refinement is prohibited in response to one of the following conditions: a cost of the TM process being less than or equal to a third threshold, a cost of the block-level MV refinement being less than or equal to a fourth threshold, or a cost reduction of a best block-level MV refinement being unable to be more than a cost reduction of an initial block-level MV refinement. (Zhang Claims 3-4: subblock-based BM refinement is disabled with a minimum matching cost of the block-based BM refinement is smaller than a threshold).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 4-5 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (U.S. 2024/0259559) hereinafter Zhang, in view of Chen et al. (WO 2022/146833) hereinafter Chen.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Zhang discloses all the limitations of claims 3 and 15, respectively.
Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein in response to a minimum cost of the block-level MV refinement being less than or equal to a threshold, the TM process is prohibited.
However, Chen discloses wherein in response to a minimum cost of the block-level MV refinement being less than or equal to a threshold, the TM process is prohibited (Chen [0143]: the regular TM can be present right after the first pass of multi-pass DMVR; [0142], [0147]: when BM is applied before regular TM, the regular TM may be skipped if the bilateral matching cost of BM is less than a given threshold).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method having first pass of the DMVR is a block-level MV refinement, and followed by a TM process, as disclosed by Zhang, and further incorporate having wherein in response to a minimum cost of the block-level MV refinement being less than or equal to a threshold, the TM process is prohibited, as taught by Chen, to improve video quality (Chen [0032]).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Zhang and Chen disclose all the limitations of claims 4 and 16, respectively.
Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the threshold is a non-negative integer, and a value of the threshold is predefined or adaptable based on the coding unit.
However, Chen discloses the threshold is a non-negative integer, and a value of the threshold is predefined or adaptable based on the coding unit (Chen [0143]: the regular TM can be present right after the first pass of multi-pass DMVR; [0142], [0147]: when BM is applied before regular TM, the regular TM may be skipped if the bilateral matching cost of BM is less than a given threshold. The scale can be a positive real number and predefined).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system and method, as disclosed by Zhang, and further incorporate having the threshold is a non-negative integer, and a value of the threshold is predefined or adaptable based on the coding unit, the TM process is prohibited, as taught by Chen, to improve video quality (Chen [0032]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8,10, 18, 20 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In light of the specification, the Examiner finds the claimed invention to be patentably distinct from the prior art of records.
Regarding claims 6 and 18, the prior arts of record, taken individually or in combination fail to explicitly teach or render obvious within the context of the claims the feature of in response to a minimum cost of the block-level MV refinement being less than or equal to a first threshold, the TM process is performed with a search range smaller than a second threshold as cited in claims 6 and 18.
Regarding claims 8 and 20, the prior arts of record, taken individually or in combination fail to explicitly teach or render obvious within the context of the claims the feature of in response to a cost of the TM process being less than or equal to a threshold, the subblock-level MV refinement is prohibited as cited in claims 9 and 20.
Regarding claims 10 and 22, the prior arts of record, taken individually or in combination fail to explicitly teach or render obvious within the context of the claims the feature of in response to a cost of the TM process being less than or equal to a threshold, the BM process is prohibited as cited in claims 10 and 22.
Conclusion
/KATHLEEN V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486