DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (S55-148907) in view of Filippi et al. (US 2012/0151923).
In Reference to Claim 1
(See Yamamoto, Figures 1-2)
Yamamoto (Yama) discloses:
A self-sufficient system for evaporation of liquefied natural gas, comprising:
- an evaporation station comprising a first pump (16) and a first expander (18), wherein the evaporation station is configured to receive liquefied natural gas (15) at first pressure and first temperature and to provide natural gas at second pressure and second temperature (See Yama, Paragraph [0002], Pages 5-7);
- a main heat exchanger (13) fluidly coupled to the evaporation station and the heat pumping station, wherein the main heat exchanger (13) is configured to transfer heat from the heat pumping station to the evaporation station in order to evaporate liquefied natural gas and supply natural gas downstream the main heat exchanger (13), wherein second pressure is higher than first pressure and second temperature is higher than first temperature. (See Yama, Paragraph [0002], Pages 5-8 w/respect to heat exchanger and pressure/temperature throughout system).
Yama discloses the claimed invention except:
The expander and first pump of the evaporation station are mechanically coupled to each other so that the first expander drives the first pump, the first expander having a first direct mechanical connection to the first pump, the first direct mechanical connection configured to transmit mechanical work produced by the first expander to drive the first pump, and wherein the second pump and the second expander are coupled to each other so that the second expander drives the second pump.
Filippi et al. (Filip) discloses a Rankine cycle waste heat power generation system. (See Filip, Abstract). Filip discloses mechanical energy generated by expanders can be used for direct mechanical drive of pumps of the system. (See Filip, Paragraph [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the electrical and mechanical energy generated by the expanders to drive the pumps of Yama, as both references are directed towards waste heat power generation systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that utilizing the produced mechanical energy of the expanders would have enhanced the thermodynamic efficiency of the system and improved the overall output and operation by reducing dependance on external power sources and reduced losses due to energy conversion to power the pumps.
In Reference to Claim 2
(See Yamamoto, Figures 1-2)
The Yama-Filip combination discloses:
wherein the first pump (16) has a fluid inlet and a fluid outlet, wherein the fluid inlet is configured to receive liquefied natural gas (15) at first pressure and first temperature and the fluid outlet is configured to provide liquefied natural gas at third pressure and third temperature (i.e.-pressure and temperature after pump before heat exchange), wherein third pressure is higher than second pressure and third temperature
In Reference to Claim 3
(See Yamamoto, Figures 1-2)
The Yama-Filip combination discloses:
wherein the fluid outlet is fluidly coupled to the main heat exchanger (13), wherein the main heat exchanger (13) is configured to generate natural gas at fourth pressure and fourth temperature, wherein fourth pressure is lower than third pressure
In Reference to Claim 4
(See Yamamoto, Figures 1-2)
The Yama-Filip combination discloses:
wherein the first expander (18) has a fluid inlet and a fluid outlet, wherein the fluid inlet is configured to receive the natural gas at fourth pressure and fourth temperature
In Reference to Claim 5
(See Yamamoto, Figures 1-2)
The Yama-Filip combination discloses:
wherein the mixed refrigerant comprises one or more of methane, ethane, ethylene and propane. (See Yama, Paragraph [0002], Page 4 w/respect to working fluids).
In Reference to Claim 6
(See Yamamoto, Figures 1-2)
The Yama-Filip combination discloses:
wherein the heat pumping station further comprises a first power generator (12), wherein the second expander (11) is mechanically coupled to the first power generator (12), wherein the first power generator (12) is configured to generate electrical power. (See Yama, Paragraph [0002], Page 5).
In Reference to Claim 7
(See Yamamoto, Figures 1-2)
The Yama-Filip combination discloses:
wherein the heat pumping station further comprises a first secondary heat exchanger (7) is configured to transfer heat from a first external heat source (ambient air) to the mixed refrigerant in order to supply mixed refrigerant in the form of gas downstream the first secondary heat exchanger (7), wherein the first external heat source is ambient air or sea water or process waste heat. (See Yama, Paragraph [0002], Page 4 w/respect to “air”).
In Reference to Claim 8
(See Yamamoto, Figures 1-2)
The Yama-Filip combination discloses:
wherein the heat pumping station further comprises a second secondary heat exchanger (10) arranged upstream the second expander (11), wherein the second secondary heat exchanger (10) is configured to transfer heat from a second external heat source to the mixed refrigerant to supply mixed refrigerant in the form of superheated gas downstream the second secondary heat exchanger (10), wherein the second external heat source is process waste heat. (See Yama, Paragraph [0002], Page 5 w/respect to heat exchanger and Page 8 w/respect to superheated).
In Reference to Claim 9
(See Yamamoto, Figures 1-2)
The Yama-Filip combination discloses:
wherein the evaporation station further comprises a third secondary heat exchanger (17) arranged upstream the first expander (18), wherein the third secondary heat exchanger (17) is configured to transfer heat from a third external heat source to the natural gas to supply natural gas in the form of superheated gas downstream the third secondary heat exchanger (17), wherein the third external heat source is process waste heat. (See Yama, Paragraph [0002], Pages 5-6 w/respect to heat exchanger).
In Reference to Claim 10
(See Yamamoto, Figures 1-2)
The Yama-Filip combination discloses:
wherein the evaporation station further comprises a second power generator (19), wherein the first expander (18) is mechanically coupled to the second power generator (19), wherein the second power generator (19) is configured to generate electrical power. (See Yama, Paragraph [0002], Pages 5-6 w/respect to generator).
In Reference to Claim 11
(See Yamamoto, Figures 1-2)
The Yama-Filip combination discloses:
Wherein the first direct mechanical connection includes a shaft connecting the first pump to the first expander. (See Filip, Paragraph [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the electrical and mechanical energy generated by the expanders to drive the pumps of Yama, as both references are directed towards waste heat power generation systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that utilizing the produced mechanical energy of the expanders would have enhanced the thermodynamic efficiency of the system and improved the overall output and operation by reducing dependance on external power sources and reduced losses due to energy conversion to power the pumps.
The Examiner notes that turbine devices at least include shafts to transmit mechanical energy and as Filip explicitly discloses “the turbine can be mechanically connected to drive any compressor or pump” in paragraph [0021], it is clear that a shaft will be used to transfer the mechanical energy to drive the pumps.
In Reference to Claim 12
(See Yamamoto, Figures 1-2)
The Yama-Filip combination discloses:
Wherein the second expander has a second direct mechanical connection to the second pump for driving the second pump. (See Filip, Paragraph [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the electrical and mechanical energy generated by the expanders to drive the pumps of Yama, as both references are directed towards waste heat power generation systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that utilizing the produced mechanical energy of the expanders would have enhanced the thermodynamic efficiency of the system and improved the overall output and operation by reducing dependance on external power sources and reduced losses due to energy conversion to power the pumps.
The Examiner notes that turbine devices at least include shafts to transmit mechanical energy and as Filip explicitly discloses “the turbine can be mechanically connected to drive any compressor or pump” in paragraph [0021], it is clear that a shaft will be used to transfer the mechanical energy to drive the pumps.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that the Yama-Filip combination does not disclose the feature of “an evaporation station comprising a first pump and a first expander mechanically coupled to each other so that the first expander drives the first pump, the first expander having a first direct mechanical connection to the first pump, the direct mechanical connection configured to transmit mechanical work produced by the first expander to drive the first pump, wherein the evaporation station is configured to receive liquefied natural gas at a first pressure and a first temperature and to provide natural gas at a second pressure and a second temperature”, the Office respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues that the Yama-Filip combination does not disclose the feature of “an evaporation station comprising a first pump and a first expander mechanically coupled to each other so that the first expander drives the first pump, the first expander having a first direct mechanical connection to the first pump, the direct mechanical connection configured to transmit mechanical work produced by the first expander to drive the first pump, wherein the evaporation station is configured to receive liquefied natural gas at a first pressure and a first temperature and to provide natural gas at a second pressure and a second temperature”. Specifically, Applicant argues that the Filip reference merely teaches producing electricity from a generator to power a pump. However, Filip explicitly discloses both options of electrical connection and mechanical connection which includes that the turbine can be mechanically connected to drive any compressor or pump. (See Filip, Paragraph [0021]). Accordingly, the Yama-Filip combination discloses the feature of “an evaporation station comprising a first pump and a first expander mechanically coupled to each other so that the first expander drives the first pump, the first expander having a first direct mechanical connection to the first pump, the direct mechanical connection configured to transmit mechanical work produced by the first expander to drive the first pump, wherein the evaporation station is configured to receive liquefied natural gas at a first pressure and a first temperature and to provide natural gas at a second pressure and a second temperature”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW T LARGI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746