DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-6 are pending and presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant's request for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. §119(a)-(d). Certified copies of the priority documents have been received.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2019189509 to Ono et al. (hereinafter, “Ono at __”; cited and provided by Applicants).
Regarding claim 1, Ono discloses silica powders containing a spherical silic particle (Ono at [0016]) whose dispersion liquid dispersed by a dispersion method ([0061]) having a D50 of 0.05-1 micron ([0056]) with a 100% diameter of 0.1-1.5 m.rons ([0055], both obtained as a volume-based from laser diffraction scattering). While the claim requires this dispersion to be obtained by dispersing in 5 mass% ethanol at 20 kHz for 5 minutes, Ono discloses 1 mass percent ethanol for 10 minutes, but it is not readily apparent how this would result in the diameters being outside of those instantly claimed, so given that the particles are well within the claimed range the parameters of the dispersion would be expected to still meet with the change in conditions, absent evidence to the contrary showing that the particles of Ono would fall outside of that, though the Office cannot test for this. See MPEP 2112 V, "[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on inherency' under 35 U.S.C. 102, on prima facie obviousness' under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same." The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 70, 205 USPQ 594, 596 (CCPA 1980) (quoting In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430,433-34 (CCPA 1977))".
The claim further requires that when dispersed in a 0.1 mass% aqueous suspension for 30 minutes in a cleaner at 40 kHz that the size of particles exceeding 5 microns is 100 ppm or more and the individual (coarse) particles of 5 microns is 100 ppm or less by dynamic image analysis. Given that no particles are present above 5 microns and the same from the first dispersion limitation regarding changing conditions is also noted an dthusly this is considered to be met.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2003054935 to Yoshida et al. (hereinafter, “Yoshida at __”; cited and provided by Applicants).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshida discloses silica powder particles (Yoshida at “Abstract”) wherein the D50 is 2 microns or less and D100 is 5 microns or less via laser scattering (Yoshida at [0007]). Yoshida however utilizes dispersion in ethanol but the amount nor frequency/time is given, but it is unclear on how this would affect the obtained particles absent evidence to the contrary. The claim further requires that the amount of particles greater than 5 microns is 100 ppm or more and the coarse particles at 5 microns are present at 100 ppm or less, given usage of a filter of a similar dispersion (Id.) versus “Example 1-1” in the Instant Specification, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect these values to be met for a 0.1 mass percent aqueous dispersion at 20 kHz for 30 minutes.
Turning to claim 2,
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PG Pub No. p to Fujioka et al. (hereinafter, “Fujioka at __”).
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 4, Fujioka discloses silica powder comprising particles (Fujioka at [0010]) wherein they are dispersed in a liquid dispersion (using a LS-230, [0056]) wherein D50 is 0.8 microns, and D100 is <5 microns (“Example 1-1” & “Table 1”) while the claim requires the dispersion be produced via 5 mas percent ethanol at 20 kHz for 5 minutes, a Sonifier 250 is utilized which is what is used in the Instant Specification (at [0067]) are similar and especially both feature wet filtering of the obtained sols. So even given different dispersion aspects, it would still follow that the obtained dispersionin 5 mass% ethanol at 20 kHz for 5 minutes vs. that of Fujioka would be similar though the Office cannot test for this, but one of ordinary skill in the art would still expect similar aspects. This also holds true for 5 micron or more particles being 100 pm or more and those of coarse aspects of 100 ppm or less (this is supported by “Table 1” for coarse particles of <=5 ppm being present) when dispersed in 0.1 mass% aqueous suspension for 30 minutes in a cleaner at 40 kHz. The similar method of making also covers the D50/D10 and D90-D50/D50 of between 10 and 100.
As to claim 2, “Example 2-1” discloses similar particles to “Example 1-1” that also meet the claim. It also features 5 molecules/nm2 (“Table 4”).
Turning to claims 5 and 6, the material is in a resin or dispersed in a solvent ([0002] & [0004]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujioka as applied to claim 1 above.
Concerning claim 3, since 5 microns is the max this is considered to overlap such that it divided by 0.7 would cover 2-5 which is thusly prima facie obvious (see MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
Claims 1-6 are rejected.
RICHARD M. RUMP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/RICHARD M RUMP/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759