Details
Claims 1-3 are pending.
Claims 1-3 are rejected.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: - a combination part which combines,- a transmission part which transmits,- a distribution part which distributes,- a reception part which acquires in claims 1 and 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BALLE et al (Pub. No.: US 2022/0321491 A1) in view of Kamath et al (Pub. No.: US 2019/0155645 A1).
As per claim 1, BALLE discloses a communication device (BALLE, Fig 9 item 900, Fig 11), comprising: - a combination part which combines a plurality of pieces of transmission data (BALLE, Fig 9, paragraph 0047, wherein “Receive Segment Coalescing (RSC) can be performed by network interface 900 whereby portions of incoming packets are combined into segments of a packet”; thus the component performing the combining of portions of incoming packet can be the combination part as claimed); - a transmission part which transmits an internal signal based on the plurality of pieces of combined transmission data for each interrupt processing or polling processing (BALLE, Fig 9, paragraph 0047, wherein “Interrupt coalesce 922 can perform interrupt moderation whereby network interface interrupt coalesce 922 waits for multiple packets to arrive, or for a time-out to expire, before generating an interrupt to host system to process received packet(s)”; wherein the generated interrupt can be the internal signal as claimed); and - a distribution part which distributes an external signal based on the transmitted internal signal to (BALLE, Fig 9, paragraph 0046, wherein “Packet allocator 924 can provide distribution of received packets for processing by multiple CPUs or cores using receive side scaling (RSS). When packet allocator 924 uses RSS, packet allocator 924 can calculate a hash or make another determination based on contents of a received packet to determine which CPU or core is to process a packet”). BALLE shows having a plurality of transmission ports (see Fig 9, 11) but BALLE does not explicitly disclose that the distribution part distributes to a plurality of transmission ports. To make the record clear, the examiner introduces BROWNE to disclose that the distribution part distributes to a plurality of transmission ports (BROWNE, Fig 4, paragraph 0031-0032, wherein “FIG. 4 depicts an example system. The system of FIG. 4 can allocate contents (e.g., processed received packets) associated with input timeslot queues and processed by cores to specific output timeslot queues and specific output ports. One or more cores can execute or use timeslot scheduler 402 to determine an output timeslot queue and an output port for processed received packets”) configured to
Therefore, it would have it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate BALLE with BROWNE to achieve the claimed limitations because it will allow to improve the performance of the system by balancing the load of packet processing among cores and ports (see BROWNE paragraph 0002).
As per claim 1, BALLE discloses a communication device (BALLE, Fig 9 item 900, Fig 11), comprising: - a combination part which combines a plurality of external signals input (BALLE, Fig 9, paragraph 0047, wherein “Receive Segment Coalescing (RSC) can be performed by network interface 900 whereby portions of incoming packets are combined into segments of a packet”; thus the component performing the combining of portions of incoming packet can be the combination part as claimed); - a reception part which acquires an internal signal based on the plurality of combined external signals for each interrupt processing or polling processing (BALLE, Fig 9, paragraph 0047, wherein “Interrupt coalesce 922 can perform interrupt moderation whereby network interface interrupt coalesce 922 waits for multiple packets to arrive, or for a time-out to expire, before generating an interrupt to host system to process received packet(s)”; wherein the generated interrupt can be the internal signal as claimed); and - a distribution part which distributes a piece of reception data based on the acquired internal signal to a plurality of data processing parts (BALLE, Fig 9, paragraph 0046, wherein “Packet allocator 924 can provide distribution of received packets for processing by multiple CPUs or cores using receive side scaling (RSS). When packet allocator 924 uses RSS, packet allocator 924 can calculate a hash or make another determination based on contents of a received packet to determine which CPU or core is to process a packet”). BALLE shows having a plurality of transmission ports (see Fig 9, 11) but BALLE does not explicitly disclose a plurality of reception ports. To make the record clear, the examiner introduces BROWNE to disclose a plurality of reception ports (BROWNE, Fig 4, paragraph 0031-0032, wherein “FIG. 4 depicts an example system. The system of FIG. 4 can allocate contents (e.g., processed received packets) associated with input timeslot queues and processed by cores to specific output timeslot queues and specific output ports. One or more cores can execute or use timeslot scheduler 402 to determine an output timeslot queue and an output port for processed received packets”) configured to
Therefore, it would have it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate BALLE with BROWNE to achieve the claimed limitations because it will allow to improve the performance of the system by balancing the load of packet processing among cores and ports (see BROWNE paragraph 0002).
Claim 3 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Conclusion
/HAMZA N ALGIBHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457