DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 5 presents separate figures and no brackets of lead lines showing how 50A, 20A, 10A are associated with the glove 1. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because Figure 6 presents multiple structures with no lead lines of brackets showing how they are associated. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the glove further comprises a reinforcement belt attached to the dorsal side part and the finger strap as required by claim 5. must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the title is repeated in the abstract. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). The limitations “a grip pad….located in an area where a palm of the user’s hand touches the computer mouse when in use”, “wherein the glove body extends over the wrist of a user”, “…located on both sides of tendons or carpal tunnel of the receivable users hand”, and “each cushion is located on each side of tendon or carpal tunnel of the receivable user’s hand” should include the language “configured to”, “adapted to”, or “when worn” to overcome these rejections.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear what “creating twisted construction glove body” requires structurally of the parts and attachment. This is not a well-known glove body construction, so it is unclear what is required of the glove to read on this limitation.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear where the palm support pad needs to extend along the palm part, since the structure is being claimed based upon human anatomy and not glove structure.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear where the two cushions are located on the palm pad, since they are claimed based upon human anatomy and not glove structure.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear what “the third opening” is and how it relates to the other opening and the third openings (plural) previously recited. Further, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear what “natural stitched batting” requires structurally, does this require a specific material and stitching? The specification names “natural stitched batting” but does not define what materials or structures this would require. Therefore, it is unclear what is needed to read on this limitation.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear what “printed silicon texture” requires of the grip pad, it is unclear if applicant intends the material to be “silicone” and not “silicon”, it is unclear how a silicon texture is printed on a pad, the specification does use both silicone and silicon, while the silicone texture is well-known as a grip surface in the apparel arts, the use of silicon for grip is unclear.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the parts". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 contains the trademark/trade name LYCRA. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe spandex or elastane and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the area between”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Any remaining claims are rejected depending from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garneau (US 2014/0325740) in view of Ramirez (US 9,962,594) and Griego (US 9,380,820).
In regard to claim 1, Garneau teaches an ergonomic glove comprising: a palmar side part; a dorsal side part (figures 1 and 2, paragraph 0003);wherein the palmar side part and the dorsal side part are interconnected to each other so that a section of the palmar side part extends to the dorsal side part and a section of the dorsal side part extends to the palmar side part creating twisted construction glove body see figure 1, seam lines connecting dorsal and palmar sections: paragraph 0051), and wherein the parts are shaped and attached to each other so that a glove body is formed (paragraph 0003 and 0051), and wherein the glove body having a first opening for receiving a user's hand (opening at wrist end: 22), a second opening for receiving a user's thumb (thumb opening in figure 1) and third openings for receiving four user's fingers (openings at the ends of finger: 16), and wherein the glove body extends over the wrist (wrist end: 22) of the user's hand; a palm support pad (cushioning pads: 40) attached to the palmar side part so that the palm support pad is faced against palm bones and tissue/muscles located on both sides of tendons or carpal tunnel of the receivable user's hand (see figures 1 and 2), wherein the palm support pad (40) comprises two cushions (30 and 30 in figure 2) made of natural stitched batting (paragraph 0068), wherein each cushion is positioned within the support pad (40) so that each cushion (30, 30) is located on each side of tendon or carpal tunnel of the receivable user's hand (see figures 2), and wherein the palm support pad (40) comprises a cover (layer: 36) that covers both cushions (30, 30, see figure 4) so that only the cover (36) of the palm support pad (40) is configured to contact a computer mouse when in use as desired.
However, Garneau fails to teach a grip pad attached to the palmar side part and located in an area where a palm of the user's hand touches the computer mouse when in use, wherein the grip pad comprises a printed silicon texture for better grip of the glove with the computer mouse; and a finger strap attached to the dorsal side part near the third opening of the glove body.
Ramirez teaches a glove with a grip pad attached to the palmar side part and located in an area where a palm of the user's hand touches the computer mouse when in use (column 17, lines 7-17; figure 5, identifier 34 and column 29, lines 35-48), wherein the grip pad comprises a printed silicon texture that is configured for better grip of the glove with the computer mouse.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided palm part of Garneau with a grip pad as taught by Ramirez, since the palm part of Garneau provided with a grip pad would provide a means for better grip and to more securely hold items while wearing the glove.
Griego teaches a glove with finger openings wherein a finger strap is attached to a dorsal side part near a third opening of the glove body (pull tabs: 44, figure 6A; column 6, lines 9-17).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided glove opening of Garneau with a pull tab/finger strap as taught by Griego, since the third opening of Garneau provided with a pull tab/finger strap would provide a means to assist with donning and doffing the glove on a user’s finger/hand.
In regard to claim 2, Garneau teaches wherein the palm support pad (40) has a convex shape so that the palm support pad is configured to extend around the body of the computer mouse when the ergonomic glove is in use (see figures 1 and 2).
In regard to claim 3, Garneau teaches wherein the palmar side part and the dorsal side part are made of fabric comprising nylon, polyamide, polyester, elastane and LYCRA (paragraph 0066).
In regard to claim 5, Garneau teaches wherein the glove further comprises a reinforcement belt (rivet: 50) attached to the dorsal side part and the finger strap (44) so to reinforce the holding of the finger strap to the glove (column 6, lines 9-23).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found cited on PTO-892 form submitted herewith. The cited prior art to Yewer, Jr. (US 5,790,980) is of particular relevance to the claimed invention.
ALISSA L. HOEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA L HOEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732