DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16th, 2013 is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Sheet
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/01/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 recites, “…wherein the first manipulator forms layers are made up of…” which appears to contain a grammatical error. It is recommended that the claim is amended to recite, “…wherein the first manipulator forms layers made up of…” or some variation thereof to overcome this objection.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation – 35 USC §112f
The following elements are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
Regarding claim 8, “means for picking and handling both bagged and unbagged batches” (because A – “means for” is the placeholder/nonce term, B – “for picking and handling bagged and unbagged batches” designates the function, and C – no additional structure is provided in the claim body. A review of the specification suggests that the corresponding structure is a double manipulator, comprising two independent devices (4P) (see page 7, lines 31-32) or equivalent.
If the applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre -AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre –AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC §112(b)
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the claim first recites a first manipulator comprising “means for picking and handling…” but later recites that the first manipulator comprises “one or more devices for picking up and handling…”. It is unclear if these are the same elements or separate elements, rendering the boundaries of the claim indefinite. If they are intended to be the same structural element, consistent terminology must be used to avoid rendering the boundaries of the claim indefinite.
Regarding claims 9 and 11, both claims introduce the phrase “the bagged or unbagged lots”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. Independent claim 8 only provides antecedent basis for “batches,” not “lots.” This creates ambiguity regarding whether a “lot” is a distinct component from a “batch.” To overcome this rejection, applicants should amend the claims to provide proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites, “…an elevator on which area arranged guides adjustable in width and is configured to delimit… a space.” Due to the syntactical structure and subject-verb disagreement (the plural “guides” versus the singular “is configured”), it is unclear whether the elevator is configured to delimit the space, or if the guides are configured to delimit the space. Applicants should amend the claim to clarify which structural element performs the delimiting function.
Regarding claims 10 and 13-14, these claims are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) due to their dependence upon rejected claims indicated above.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC §102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gatteschi (EP 1550610).
Regarding claim 8, Gatteschi discloses a processing and palletizing unit (10) for packaged products, comprising: a first section (See section with devices (20) and (31)) for forming and bagging product batches (Described in paragraph [0016]) and a second palletizing section (See section (30) with device (32)), wherein, in the first section, there are arranged a device (20) for forming batches (12) each formed by a predetermined number (See paragraphs [0016] & [0017]) of packages (11) containing a predetermined number of items (See paragraph [0016] - "rolls"), a bagging tunnel (Within device (20); see further paragraph [0018]) in which the batches (12) can be bagged (Described in paragraph [0018]) and a first manipulator (31) comprising means for picking and handling both (See paragraph [0020]) bagged and unbagged batches (12), wherein the first manipulator (31) forms layers (15) are made up of bagged or unbagged batches (See paragraph [0021]) oriented according to a pre-established order (Described in paragraph [0023]), wherein in the second section a second manipulator (32) is arranged for picking up (See paragraph [0023]) the layers (15) and positioning them on a pallet (17), wherein the first manipulator (31) comprises one or more devices (See paragraph [0020] wherein "grippers" are described; the tools for gripping are even disclosed in plural, i.e. even "more devices" are disclosed) for picking up and handling bagged or unbagged batches (12), which devices ("grippers") are bounded to a structure arranged in a fixed position at the exit of the bagging tunnel in said first section (shown in figures; device (31) which can handle bagged or unbagged batches (12), which means the first manipulator is located, at a fixed position, at the exit of the "bagging tunnel". See further paragraph [0020]) for forming the batches (Described in paragraph [0021] - [0023]).
Regarding claim 10, Gatteschi further discloses wherein the first manipulator comprises a single device for picking up and handling the bagged or unbagged batches (See paragraph [0020] - "at least one robot or manipulator 31...". Figure 1 further shows that the unit can operate when fed with only one row of batches, utilizing one gripping robot).
Regarding claim 11, Gatteschi further discloses wherein the first manipulator comprises two independent devices for picking up and handling the bagged or unbagged lots (Figure 1 shows that the bagging machine (20) supplies two rows of batches of products (12) to the same number of robots (31)).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC §103
Claims 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gatteschi in view of Heston (WO 2018/064259 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Gatteschi does not specifically teach wherein the structure to which the devices for picking up and handling the bagged or unbagged batches are connected is a beam oriented along an exit direction of the bagged or unbagged lots from the bagging tunnel.
Heston teaches wherein the structure to which the devices for picking up and handling the bagged or unbagged batches are connected is a beam oriented along an exit direction of the bagged or unbagged lots from the bagging tunnel (Figures 1 and 7A illustrate a structure with multiple beams (18-23) on which the manipulators are attached).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gatteschi to incorporate the teachings of Heston to include the manipulators arranged on beams with the motivation of providing a structure wherein the manipulators can be articulated for movement with the articles as they travel downstream, as recognized by Heston in paragraphs [0069] – [0071].
Regarding claim 14, Gatteschi does not specifically teach wherein each device for picking up and handling the batches comprises a two-jaw gripper with a first actuator which controls the opening and closing of the jaws and a second actuator which controls the rotation of the gripper around a respective axis of rotation.
Heston teaches wherein each device for picking up and handling the batches comprises a two-jaw gripper with a first actuator which controls the opening and closing of the jaws and a second actuator which controls the rotation of the gripper around a respective axis of rotation (Described in paragraphs [0071] & [0078], and is shown in figures 1 and 7A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gatteschi to incorporate the teachings of Heston to include the manipulators having multiple actuation directions (open/closing and rotation) with the motivation of providing a structure by which the manipulators can individually grip articles during transportation for interleaving or staggering articles as per a desired build pattern, as recognized by Heston in paragraphs [0078] – [0079].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gatteschi in view of Chase (US 2005/0126123 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Gatteschi does not specifically teach wherein guides adjustable in width are provided in the bagging tunnel and configured to delimit, on two opposite sides, a space for the batches that is centered with respect to a center line of the processing and palletizing unit.
Chase teaches wherein guides adjustable in width are provided in the bagging tunnel and configured to delimit, on two opposite sides, a space for the batches that is centered with respect to a center line of the processing and palletizing unit (Described in paragraph [0033] - "...The mechanism 120 used in this embodiment has a series of rollers 121 which are mounted to extend toward and away from the effective centerline of the machine to square the case relative to the conveyor centerline and direction of movement." This mechanism is also shown in figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gatteschi to incorporate the teachings of Chase to include adjustable guides with the motivation of providing a mechanism to square the objects relative to the centerline of the conveying mechanism and direction of movement, as recognized by Chase in ¶ [0033]. Doing so would ensure the products are placed accordingly for accurate palletizing by the manipulators disclosed by Gatteschi.
Allowable Subject Matter
If the above rejections under 35 USC 112(b) are overcome, claim 12 would be objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JACOB A SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 3731