DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a final office action.
Claims [1-2, 4-14, and 16] are currently pending and have been examined based on their merits.
Claims 1, 4, 9-10, and 14 are currently amended see REMARKS May 14, 2025.
Claim 3 is newly canceled see REMARKS May 14, 2026.
Claim 16 is newly added see REMARKS May 14, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 4-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception that is an abstract idea without a practical application or significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-2, 4-9, and 16 recite a terminal, claims 10-13 recite a system, and claim 14 recites a method (i.e. a process such as an act or series of steps), and therefore each claim falls within one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A prong 1 (Is a judicial exception recited?):
The representative claims 1, 10, and 14 recite: A control method, the control method comprising: acquiring passport information from; acquiring ticket information related to a ticket issued to the user; to acquire consent of the user to provide information for proceeding with boarding procedures using biometric authentication to an external party by using the passport information and the ticket information; acquiring the consent of the user; generating, in a case where the consent is acquired, consent information including at least information related to an airline company operating an aircraft the user is scheduled to board; (sending) in a case where the consent is acquired to provide the information to the external party, a registration request, the registration request including at least biometric information of the user, the passport information, and consent information, requesting to issue a token wherein the token issued is deleted after a predetermined period.
The claims recite a certain method of organizing human activity. The claims recite a certain method of organizing human activity as the disclosure recites managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people. The claims simply recite a series of steps to store boarding procedures for an airport based, acquire consent from a user to provide personal information to be used in authenticating their identity, and registering the user’s information and consent. The processes of allowing a user to consent or opt into a process of using biometric authentication to verify their identity during the boarding procedure of a flight is merely a method of managing the personal behavior of a person. As the claims recite a series of steps to allow a user to consent to a process such as using specific information when verifying their identity and recording their consent.
Alternatively, the claims recite a mental process. The claims merely recite the process of storing information for proceeding with boarding procedures using biometric authentication, acquiring consent of a user to provide the information to an external party, and register the information. The claims are found to merely recite a series of steps that can be performed in the human mind or with the use of a simple tool such as pen and paper. As a person such as an employee of an airport or airline would be capable of mentally, or with basic tools, receive boarding procedures for a person as well as recording a person’s consent to provide information to an external party to be used during the boarding process. For example, a person would be capable of being told that an individual is consenting to provide information such as biometric authentication information to an external party to verify their identity during a boarding process and register their consent in a record.
Therefore, the claims are found to recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 (Is the exception integrated into a practical application?): The claims additionally recite additional elements, including;
Claim 1: a terminal, at least one memory storing a set of instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the set of instructions to: an IC (Integrated Circuit) chip of a passport of a user or the passport information by capturing the passport using a camera; generating a GUI (Graphical User Interface); storing the consent information in the memory in association with the biometric information and ticket information; and transmitting, to a control server; an authentication server
Claim 10: A system, comprising: a terminal, an IC (Integrated Circuit) chip of a passport of a user or the passport information by capturing the passport using a camera; generating a GUI (Graphical User Interface); storing the consent information in the memory in association with the biometric information and ticket information; and transmitting, to a control server; an authentication server
Claim 14: A terminal a terminal, an IC (Integrated Circuit) chip of a passport of a user or the passport information by capturing the passport using a camera; generating a GUI (Graphical User Interface); storing the consent information in the memory in association with the biometric information and ticket information; and transmitting, to a control server; an authentication server
The additional elements of a system comprising generic computer elements to receive and store information are directed to merely reciting instructions to apply a generic computer and technology to execute the method in the recited claim limitations.
The claim limitations recite mere instructions to implement the abstract idea of receiving and registering information such as boarding procedures and user consent information.
Therefore, the limitations merely amount to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) to the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). Furthermore, a method for transmitting, receiving, and processing information does not amount to improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(a), applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(b), effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(c).
Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. As the additional elements are not significant improvements to the functionality of a generic computer and are directed to merely “apply it” or applying the abstract idea on a computer.
Step 2B (Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?):
As discussed above, the additional imitations amount to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, and merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea of acquiring, storing, and registering information, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional elements of generic computer elements to perform the abstract idea are not directed to an improvement in a technology or technical field. Therefore, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The dependent claim 2, 4, 13 and 16 recite the abstract idea of acquiring information of a user such as biometric information and passport information and verify a user’s identity by comparing the information.
Dependent claim 5-9 further narrows the abstract idea of acquiring consent and information of a user and boarding information as recited in dependent claim 1.
Dependent claims 11-12 recite the abstract idea of generating and managing a token for a user to proceed with boarding procedures.
The dependent claims recite the following additional elements:
Claim 6-7: transmit a system registration request to a control server that is connected to the authentication server, and transmitting the passport information to a departure control system server
Claim 8: DCS (Departure control system) server, and transmit a system registration request to the control server.
Claim 11: a token management database.
However, the additional elements are directed to merely “apply it” or applying generic computer elements to perform the abstract idea.
Therefore, claims 1-2, 4-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10, 13-14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh (US 2018/0122166) in view of Calvesio (US 2004/0078335) further in view of Cornick (US 2021/0240811).
Claims 1, 10, and 14: Singh discloses (Claim 1) a terminal, comprising: at least one memory storing a set of instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the set of instructions to: (Claim 10) A system, comprising: a terminal possessed by a user; and an authentication server that authenticates a person to be authenticated, and wherein the terminal comprises: at least one memory storing a set of instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the set of instructions to: (Claim 14) A control method of a terminal, the control method comprising: store the consent information in the memory in association with the biometric information and ticket information; and transmit, in a case where the consent is acquired to provide the information to the external party, a registration request, the registration request including at least biometric information of the user, the passport information, and consent information, to a control server requesting an authentication server to issue a token (Paragraph [0008-0010]; [0012] [0032-0034]; [0047]; Fig. 2, the first aspect of the present disclosure provide a method for controlling access to a facility. The method includes receiving, at a detection unit from a communication device of a user, access details associated with the facility, verifying the access details of the user, transmitting an electronic request to a server for authentication of an identity of the user using an input of a biometric sample of the user, and authorizing the user to access the facility in response to receiving a positive outcome of the authentication from the server and a positive outcome of the verification. The access details of the user may be verified using a database which stores records of access details of users who are authorized to access the facility. The communication device includes a processor and a data storage device storing program instructions, the program instructions being operative to perform any one of the method described. As used herein the term “facility” may be defined as a place, amenity, or piece of equipment provided for a particular purpose. For example, a facility may be an establishment, a premises or a location. For example, they may include travel related facilities (e.g. airport check-in counters or boarding gates, coaches, etc.) or electronic access gates. In some embodiments, the steps of authorizing the user may include electronically generating a token to allow access to the facility upon presentation of the token by a user);
generate a GUI (Graphical User Interface) to acquire consent of the user to provide information for proceeding with boarding procedures using the biometric authentication to an external party by using the passport information and the ticket information; (Paragraph [0052-0054]; Fig. 2, a user downloads and installs a software application (referred to as the “Secureboarding” application) on the communication device. The software application is configured to cause the device to perform the method. The user proceeds to register themselves through a one-time registration process to avail themselves for the Secureboarding service. Upon successful registration, a unique identifier is assigned to the user. The user ID is associated with the user’s identity and biometric data. The user makes a flight booking, for example via a website, and the user may opt for the Secureboarding service during the booking. For example, the user may be prompted to provide their user ID in connection with a flight booking. The user ID and flight booking details may be transmitted to the authentication system. (The examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of acquiring consent of a user to provide information to an external party would include a system of a user choosing to download and opt in to use an application such as Secureboarding to allow the user to use biometric information during the boarding process of a flight));
generate, in a case where the consent is acquired, consent information including at least information related to an airline company operating an aircraft the user is scheduled to board; (Paragraph [0008-0010]; [0052-0054]; Fig. 2, a user downloads and installs a software application (referred to as the “Secureboarding” application) on the communication device. The software application is configured to cause the device to perform the method. The user proceeds to register themselves through a one-time registration process to avail themselves for the Secureboarding service. Upon successful registration, a unique identifier is assigned to the user. The user ID is associated with the user’s identity and biometric data. The user makes a flight booking, for example via a website, and the user may opt for the Secureboarding service during the booking. For example, the user may be prompted to provide their user ID in connection with a flight booking. The user ID and flight booking details may be transmitted to the authentication system).
Singh discloses a system of managing the boarding of individuals using an application and biometric information. However, Singh does not specifically disclose the following claim limitations: acquire passport information from an IC (Integrated Circuit) chip of a passport of a user or the passport information by capturing the passport using a camera; acquire ticket information related to a ticket issued to the user; acquire the consent of the user through the generated GUI; wherein the token issued by the authentication server is deleted after a predetermined period
In the same field of endeavor of traveling using biometric information Calvesio teaches acquire passport information from an IC (Integrated Circuit) chip of a passport of a user or the passport information by capturing the passport using a camera (Paragraph [0012-0013] the present invention provides a system and method that allows a traveler to enroll in an automated process that completes the requirement to enable the traveler to cross an international border. The traveler visits and enrollment center and the traveler’s identification is verified. In one embodiment, a passport photograph may be scanned for comparison against an official passport photograph on file with the US state department. After the traveler’s identity has been verified, unique identification indicia is collected from the user. This involves collecting one or more biometric samples. The collected data is stored with other user information such as a passport photo. This recorded enrollment data may be used at a time of travel to enable the user to undergo an automated immigration check-in and clearance process);
acquire ticket information related to a ticket issued to the user (Paragraph [0043]; [0060]; Fig. 3, in one embodiment of an enrollment process. A travel subscribes to the pre-enrollment service. This may involve singing onto a website. In another embodiment, a user may qualify for the enrollment process by purchasing an international ticket from a carrier).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of allowing a user to use biometric data to verify their identity during boarding procedures as disclosed by Singh with the system of acquire passport information from an IC (Integrated Circuit) chip of a passport of a user or the passport information by capturing the passport using a camera; acquire ticket information related to a ticket issued to the user as taught by Calvesio (Calvesio [0012]). With the motivation of helping to help facilitate and secure the check-in at airports (Calvesio [0004]).
In the same field of endeavor of performing boarding using biometric information Cornick teaches acquire the consent of the user through the generated GUI (Paragraph [0005-0006]; [0057-0058]; [0245] the present disclosure relates to systems, methods, apparatus, and computer program products for biometric ticketing, or physical token-less ticketing using biometrics. In some implementations a person may be identified using a digital representation of a biometric. Ticketing information may be ascertained based on the identification. The ticketing information may be provided, actions may be performed using the ticketing information, and so on. After the computing device determines a new person is to be cleared, the computing device may prompt for the person to provide a biometric. The flow may then proceed to where the computing device determines whether or not the requested biometric has been provided. After the requested biometric is provided the computing device may look up the identity of the person. The present disclosure further recognizes that the entities who collect, analyze, store, and/or otherwise use such biometric data should comply with well-established privacy policies. For example, collection should occur only after receiving the informed consent).
wherein the token issued by the authentication server is deleted after a predetermined period (Paragraph [0044-0045] additionally, the electronic boarding pass information is obtained from the airline computing system. Since the electronic boarding pass information is obtained in real time, the boarding pass information can include a current status of the information. In some implementations, the security station may validate the boarding pass information. For example, the security station may determine if the boarding pass is associated within a particular time period).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of allowing a user to use biometric data to verify their identity during boarding procedures as disclosed by Singh with the system of acquire the consent of the user through the generated GUI; wherein the token issued by the authentication server is deleted after a predetermined period as taught by Cornick (Cornick [0005]). With the motivation of helping to manage ticketing for a user (Cornick [0004]).
Claim 2: Singh discloses the terminal as per claim 1. Singh further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to acquire biometric information of the user (Paragraph [0022] a computerized method performed for controlling access to a facility. The method includes in response to receiving an electronic request for authentication of an identity of a human subject from a client; identifying a communication device associated with the human subject, transmitting a request notification to the communication device, said request notification requesting authentication of an identity of the human subject using an input of a biometric sample of the user on the communication device, receiving the biometric sample from the communication device, and obtaining an outcome of the authentication using the biometric sample and a reference database, and communicating the outcome to the client to cause authorization of the user to access the facility).
Claim 4: Modified Singh discloses the terminal as per claim 1. Singh further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to: acquire a captured face image by capturing an image of the user, acquire a passport face image from the passports; and perform identity verification using the captured face image and the passport face image (Paragraph [0073-0077]; Fig. 3, the Secureboarding application prompts the user to input his/her biometric sample for registration. The biometric sample is a photograph of the user’s face. A camera of the communication device may be activated automatically to capture the image data of the user’s face. The authentication system determines if the biometric sample input by the user can be validated, for example, by verifying against an existing biometric database maintained by a government authority, which stores a truthful correspondence between identity information of individuals and their respective biometric data information. For example, the captured photograph may be transmitted to the verification system. The verification system causes the photograph to be compared against the existing biometric database which contains a reference photograph of an individual which corresponds to the identity of a given individual. If the photographs match, the captured photograph provided by the communication device is identified as a valid biometric sample).
Claim 5: Modified Singh discloses the terminal as per claim 4. Singh further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to acquire the consent of the user to provide information to the external party after the identity verification has succeeded (Paragraph [0008-0010]; [0052-0054]; Fig. 2, a user downloads and installs a software application (referred to as the “Secureboarding” application) on the communication device. The software application is configured to cause the device to perform the method. The user proceeds to register themselves through a one-time registration process to avail themselves for the Secureboarding service. Upon successful registration, a unique identifier is assigned to the user. The user ID is associated with the user’s identity and biometric data. The user makes a flight booking, for example via a website, and the user may opt for the Secureboarding service during the booking. For example, the user may be prompted to provide their user ID in connection with a flight booking. The user ID and flight booking details may be transmitted to the authentication system).
Claim 13: Modified Singh discloses the system as per claim 10. Singh further discloses wherein the biometric information is a face image or a feature valued generated from the face image (Paragraph [0073-0077]; Fig. 3, the Secureboarding application prompts the user to input his/her biometric sample for registration. The biometric sample is a photograph of the user’s face. A camera of the communication device may be activated automatically to capture the image data of the user’s face. The authentication system determines if the biometric sample input by the user can be validated, for example, by verifying against an existing biometric database maintained by a government authority, which stores a truthful correspondence between identity information of individuals and their respective biometric data information. For example, the captured photograph may be transmitted to the verification system. The verification system causes the photograph to be compared against the existing biometric database which contains a reference photograph of an individual which corresponds to the identity of a given individual. If the photographs match, the captured photograph provided by the communication device is identified as a valid biometric sample).
Claim 16: Modified Singh discloses the terminal as per claim 1. However, Singh does not disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to: determine, based on a first country where the terminal is located and a second country where the airport is located, whether or not the information for proceeding with the boarding procedures using the biometric authentication can be registered on the authentication server; and notify the user of a result of the determination.
In the same field of endeavor of traveling using biometric information Calvesio teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to: determine, based on a first country where the terminal is located and a second country where the airport is located, whether or not the information for proceeding with the boarding procedures using the biometric authentication can be registered on the authentication server; and notify the user of a result of the determination (Paragraph [0017-0018]; [0066] during completion of the automated check-in process, the user may be queried to complete an immigration declaration that are required by the destination country. Sometime before, the collection of biometric data, various checks are initiated to assess whether the traveler poses any known concerns to the country that are being entered).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of allowing a user to use biometric data to verify their identity during boarding procedures as disclosed by Singh with the system of wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to: determine, based on a first country where the terminal is located and a second country where the airport is located, whether or not the information for proceeding with the boarding procedures using the biometric authentication can be registered on the authentication server; and notify the user of a result of the determination as taught by Calvesio (Calvesio [0012]). With the motivation of helping to help facilitate and secure the check-in at airports (Calvesio [0004]).
Claims 6-9, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh (US 2018/0122166) in view of Calvesio (US 2004/0078335) further in view of Cornick (US 2021/0240811) further in view of Berini (US 2008/0302870)
Claim 6: Modified Singh discloses the terminal as per claim 5. Singh further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to: generate, upon acquiring the consent to provide the information for proceeding with the boarding procedures using the biometric authentication to the airport that the user is planning to use, consent information including at least information related to an airline company operating an aircraft on which the user is scheduled to boards, and transmit a system registration request including the biometric information, the passport information, and the consent information to a control server that is connected to the authentication server (Paragraph [0008-0010]; [0052-0054]; [0068]; Fig. 2, a user downloads and installs a software application (referred to as the “Secureboarding” application) on the communication device. The software application is configured to cause the device to perform the method. The user proceeds to register themselves through a one-time registration process to avail themselves for the Secureboarding service. Upon successful registration, a unique identifier is assigned to the user. The user ID is associated with the user’s identity and biometric data. The user makes a flight booking, for example via a website, and the user may opt for the Secureboarding service during the booking. For example, the user may be prompted to provide their user ID in connection with a flight booking. The user ID and flight booking details may be transmitted to the authentication system),
However, Singh does not disclose the claim limitations: and acquire boarding pass information related to a boarding pass issued to the user by transmitting the passport information to a Departure Control System (DCS) server of the airline company corresponding to information related to the airline company included in the consent information.
In the same field of endeavor of validating passenger identities during boarding procedures using biometric information Berini teaches and acquire boarding pass information related to a boarding pass issued to the user by transmitting the passport information to a Departure Control System (DCS) server of the airline company corresponding to information related to the airline company included in the consent information (Paragraph [0005-0006]; [0025]; [0032]; [0049]; [0057-0058]; in one embodiment, the invention is a system for passenger verification comprising at least one check in system with a barcode reader and a biometric data collection device. When a passenger checks in, a barcode is placed on the passenger’s boarding documents, the barcode is read and biometric data is collected from the passenger. The system further contains a server with a database for storing passenger data. A token may be generated and provided to the traveler that contains some, or all of the data that has been captured at check in, and may be used in tandem or as an alternative to the barcode. One embodiment of the system contains a central server, an airport server connected to the central server by an external network, and a plurality of check in recorder systems and verifier systems connected to the airport server through an airport network. The acquired data may be stored in a storage device. In one embodiment, the data captured by the check in recorder is consolidated and then synchronized with a central server so that there is a persistent record for the time of the flight. The check in recorder may compare machine readable visas with visa requirements for the destination country and determines if the visa is suitable).
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of validating a user’s identity using biometric information during a boarding process as disclosed by Singh (Singh [0007]) with the system of acquire boarding pass information related to a boarding pass issued to the user by transmitting the passport information to a Departure Control System (DCS) server of the airline company corresponding to information related to the airline company included in the consent information as taught by Berini (Berini [0032]). With the motivation of helping to validate the passengers and improve boarding procedures (Berini [0003]).
Claim 7: Modified Singh discloses the terminal as per claim 6. However, Singh does not disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to transmit, in a case where the boarding pass issued to the user has been changed, a system re-registration request including the passport information and the consent information to the control server and wherein the control server acquires the boarding pass information related to the changed boarding pass by transmitting the passport information included in the system re-registration request to the DCS server of the airline company corresponding to the information related to the airline company included in the consent information.
In the same field of endeavor of validating passenger identities during boarding procedures using biometric information Berini teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to transmit, in a case where the boarding pass issued to the user has been changed, a system re-registration request including the passport information and the consent information to the control server and wherein the control server acquires the boarding pass information related to the changed boarding pass by transmitting the passport information included in the system re-registration request to the DCS server of the airline company corresponding to the information related to the airline company included in the consent information (Paragraph [0005-0006]; [0025]; [0032]; [0049]; [0057-0058]; in one embodiment, the invention is a system for passenger verification comprising at least one check in system with a barcode reader and a biometric data collection device. When a passenger checks in, a barcode is placed on the passenger’s boarding documents, the barcode is read and biometric data is collected from the passenger. The system further contains a server with a database for storing passenger data. A token may be generated and provided to the traveler that contains some, or all of the data that has been captured at check in, and may be used in tandem or as an alternative to the barcode. One embodiment of the system contains a central server, an airport server connected to the central server by an external network, and a plurality of check in recorder systems and verifier systems connected to the airport server through an airport network. The acquired data may be stored in a storage device. In one embodiment, the data captured by the check in recorder is consolidated and then synchronized with a central server so that there is a persistent record for the time of the flight. The check in recorder may compare machine readable visas with visa requirements for the destination country and determines if the visa is suitable).
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of validating a user’s identity using biometric information during a boarding process as disclosed by Singh (Singh [0007]) with the system of wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to transmit, in a case where the boarding pass issued to the user has been changed, a system re-registration request including the passport information and the consent information to the control server and wherein the control server acquires the boarding pass information related to the changed boarding pass by transmitting the passport information included in the system re-registration request to the DCS server of the airline company corresponding to the information related to the airline company included in the consent information as taught by Berini (Berini [0032]). With the motivation of helping to validate the passengers and improve boarding procedures (Berini [0003]).
Claim 8: Modified Singh discloses the terminal as per claim 5. However, Singh does not disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to: acquire the boarding pass information by transmitting the passport information to the DCS (Departure Control System) server of the airline company operating the aircraft on which the user is scheduled to board, and transmit a system registration request including the biometric information, the passport information, the boarding pass information, and the consent information, to the control server connected to the authentication server.
In the same field of endeavor of validating passenger identities during boarding procedures using biometric information Berini teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to: acquire the boarding pass information by transmitting the passport information to the DCS (Departure Control System) server of the airline company operating the aircraft on which the user is scheduled to board, and transmit a system registration request including the biometric information, the passport information, the boarding pass information, and the consent information, to the control server connected to the authentication server (Paragraph [0005-0006]; [0025]; [0032]; [0049]; [0057-0058]; in one embodiment, the invention is a system for passenger verification comprising at least one check in system with a barcode reader and a biometric data collection device. When a passenger checks in, a barcode is placed on the passenger’s boarding documents, the barcode is read and biometric data is collected from the passenger. The system further contains a server with a database for storing passenger data. A token may be generated and provided to the traveler that contains some, or all of the data that has been captured at check in, and may be used in tandem or as an alternative to the barcode. One embodiment of the system contains a central server, an airport server connected to the central server by an external network, and a plurality of check in recorder systems and verifier systems connected to the airport server through an airport network. The acquired data may be stored in a storage device. In one embodiment, the data captured by the check in recorder is consolidated and then synchronized with a central server so that there is a persistent record for the time of the flight. The check in recorder may compare machine readable visas with visa requirements for the destination country and determines if the visa is suitable).
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of validating a user’s identity using biometric information during a boarding process as disclosed by Singh (Singh [0007]) with the system of wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to: acquire the boarding pass information by transmitting the passport information to the DCS (Departure Control System) server of the airline company operating the aircraft on which the user is scheduled to board, and transmit a system registration request including the biometric information, the passport information, the boarding pass information, and the consent information, to the control server connected to the authentication server as taught by Berini (Berini [0032]). With the motivation of helping to validate the passengers and improve boarding procedures (Berini [0003]).
Claim 9: Modified Singh discloses the terminal as per claim 6. However, Singh does not disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions not to acquire the consent of the user to provide the information to the external party for proceeding with the boarding procedures using the biometric information in a case where a country in which the user is located is different from a country in which the airport that the user is planning to use is located.
In the same field of endeavor of validating passenger identities during boarding procedures using biometric information Berini teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions not to acquire the consent of the user to provide the information to the external party for proceeding with the boarding procedures using the biometric information in a case where a country in which the user is located is different from a country in which the airport that the user is planning to use is located (Paragraph [0005-0006]; [0025]; [0032]; [0049]; [0057-0058]; in one embodiment, the invention is a system for passenger verification comprising at least one check in system with a barcode reader and a biometric data collection device. When a passenger checks in, a barcode is placed on the passenger’s boarding documents, the barcode is read and biometric data is collected from the passenger. The system further contains a server with a database for storing passenger data. A token may be generated and provided to the traveler that contains some, or all of the data that has been captured at check in, and may be used in tandem or as an alternative to the barcode. One embodiment of the system contains a central server, an airport server connected to the central server by an external network, and a plurality of check in recorder systems and verifier systems connected to the airport server through an airport network. The acquired data may be stored in a storage device. In one embodiment, the data captured by the check in recorder is consolidated and then synchronized with a central server so that there is a persistent record for the time of the flight. The check in recorder may compare machine readable visas with visa requirements for the destination country and determines if the visa is suitable).
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of validating a user’s identity using biometric information during a boarding process as disclosed by Singh (Singh [0007]) with the system of wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions not to acquire the consent of the user to provide the information to the external party for proceeding with the boarding procedures using the biometric information in a case where a country in which the user is located is different from a country in which the airport that the user is planning to use is located as taught by Berini (Berini [0032]). With the motivation of helping to validate the passengers and improve boarding procedures (Berini [0003]).
Claim 11: Modified Singh discloses the system as per claim 10. However, Singh does not disclose wherein the authentication server generates a token for the user to proceed with the boarding procedures using the biometric authentication, by using the information acquired from the terminal, and stores the generated token in a token management database.
In the same field of endeavor of validating passenger identities during boarding procedures using biometric information Berini teaches wherein the authentication server generates a token for the user to proceed with the boarding procedures using the biometric authentication, by using the information acquired from the terminal, and stores the generated token in a token management database (Paragraph [0005-0006]; [0025]; [0032]; [0049]; [0057-0058]; in one embodiment, the invention is a system for passenger verification comprising at least one check in system with a barcode reader and a biometric data collection device. When a passenger checks in, a barcode is placed on the passenger’s boarding documents, the barcode is read and biometric data is collected from the passenger. The system further contains a server with a database for storing passenger data. A token may be generated and provided to the traveler that contains some, or all of the data that has been captured at check in, and may be used in tandem or as an alternative to the barcode. One embodiment of the system contains a central server, an airport server connected to the central server by an external network, and a plurality of check in recorder systems and verifier systems connected to the airport server through an airport network. The acquired data may be stored in a storage device. In one embodiment, the data captured by the check in recorder is consolidated and then synchronized with a central server so that there is a persistent record for the time of the flight. The check in recorder may compare machine readable visas with visa requirements for the destination country and determines if the visa is suitable).
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of validating a user’s identity using biometric information during a boarding process as disclosed by Singh (Singh [0007]) with the system of wherein the authentication server generates a token for the user to proceed with the boarding procedures using the biometric authentication, by using the information acquired from the terminal, and stores the generated token in a token management database as taught by Berini (Berini [0057]). With the motivation of helping to validate the passengers and improve boarding procedures (Berini [0003]).
Claim 12: Modified Singh discloses the system as per claim 11. However, Singh does not disclose wherein the authentication server deletes the token of the user after a predetermined amount of time has elapsed since departure of an aircraft that the user boarded.
In the same field of endeavor of validating passenger identities during boarding procedures using biometric information Berini teaches wherein the authentication server deletes the token of the user after a predetermined amount of time has elapsed since departure of an aircraft that the user boarded (Paragraph [0005-0006]; [0025]; [0032]; [0049]; [0057-0058]; in one embodiment, the invention is a system for passenger verification comprising at least one check in system with a barcode reader and a biometric data collection device. When a passenger checks in, a barcode is placed on the passenger’s boarding documents, the barcode is read and biometric data is collected from the passenger. The system further contains a server with a database for storing passenger data. A token may be generated and provided to the traveler that contains some, or all of the data that has been captured at check in, and may be used in tandem or as an alternative to the barcode. One embodiment of the system contains a central server, an airport server connected to the central server by an external network, and a plurality of check in recorder systems and verifier systems connected to the airport server through an airport network. The acquired data may be stored in a storage device. In one embodiment, the data captured by the check in recorder is consolidated and then synchronized with a central server so that there is a persistent record for the time of the flight. The check in recorder may compare machine readable visas with visa requirements for the destination country and determines if the visa is suitable).
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of validating a user’s identity using biometric information during a boarding process as disclosed by Singh (Singh [0007]) with the system of wherein the authentication server deletes the token of the user after a predetermined amount of time has elapsed since departure of an aircraft that the user boarded as taught by Berini (Berini [0049]). With the motivation of helping to validate the passengers and improve boarding procedures (Berini [0003]).
Therefore, claim 1-2, 4-14, and 16 are rejected under U.S.C. 103.
Response to arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, filed April 30, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-2, 4-14, and 16 under U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Representative argues that the newly amended claims do not recite an abstract idea as they recite claim limitations such as acquiring information from a passport using an IC or a camera and a graphical user interface to acquire consent information. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees as the claims recite acquiring passport information; acquiring ticket information related to a ticket issued to the user; acquire consent of the user to provide information for proceeding with boarding procedures; acquire the consent of the user; generate consent information; store the consent information; and when consent is acquired send information to the external party to issue a token wherein the token issued is deleted after a period. The claims recite a certain method of organizing human activity as the claims recite a process of managing personal behavior as they recite a series of steps to consent to the sharing of personal information to be used during boarding procedures. Alternatively, the claims recite a mental process as they recite merely acquiring information such as user consent to share biometric information during a boarding process and issuing a token such as a boarding ticket to a user. Merely acquiring and managing personal information such as user consent to share personal information during the boarding process is a process that can be practically performed in the human mind. The additional elements of a processor configured to execute instructions to acquire information from an IC chip or camera, a GUI, and transmitting information are directed to merely “apply it” or applying generic computer elements to perform the abstract idea of receiving and managing user information.
Therefore, the examiner maintains the current 101 rejection.
Claims 2, 4-9, 11-13, and 16 are dependent on claims 1, 10, and 14 and therefore are rejected under the same rejection.
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, filed February 26 2025, with respect to the rejections of 1-5, 10, 13-14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh (US 2018/0122166) in view of Calvesio (US 2004/0078335) further in view of Cornick (US 2021/0240811) are not persuasive as claims were amended which required further search and consideration and new art was applied.
Claims 1, 10, and 14: The applicant argues that the current combination of prior art does not disclose the currently amended claim limitation. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees as the examiner finds that the combination of Singh, Calvesio, and Cornick can be used to teach the newly amended claim limitations. Singh discloses a method of allowing a user to register for a secure boarding application by providing personal and biometric information. Singh further discloses allowing a user to use their registered biometric information to verify their identity during the boarding process. Calvesio further teaches allowing a user to register a designated country for travel and registering their biometric and personal information based on the country’s laws for entry. Cornick further teaches allowing a user to register for an account to allow a user to provide biometric information to verify their identity during boarding a flight. Cornick further teaches allowing a user to consent to the collection and sharing of their personal and biometric data (Cornick [0245]). Therefore, the combination of prior art is found to disclose the newly amended claim limitations.
Therefore, claims 1, 10, and 14 are rejected under U.S.C. 103
Claims 2, 4-9, 11-13, and 16 are argued as being allowable as being dependent on claims 1, 10, and 14. Therefore, they are also newly rejected under the same rejection as above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Ishibashi (US 2007/0046426) Admittance management system and admittance management method.
Saravanan (US 2019/0287327) System and method to streamline identity verification at airports and beyond.
Otsubo (US 2009/0232362) Biometric information acquisition apparatus and biometric authentication apparatus.
Vemury (US 2019/0220944) Selective biometric access control.
Hoyos (US 2008/0122578) Ensuring the provenance of passengers at a transportation facility.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COREY RUSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629