DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final office action.
Claims [1-14] are currently pending and have been examined based on their merits.
Claims 1-10, and 13 are currently amended see REMARKS April 01, 2025.
Claim 15 is newly canceled see REMARKS April 01, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 10, and 14 recite the claim limitation “perform control to register the information… on an authentication server.” It is unclear exactly what is being controlled or what it means to “perform control” on a server. The examiner believes this to possibly be a grammatical issue and is interpreting the claims to essentially recite “register the information… on an authentication server.” However, the claims fail to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter where a person of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of determining the scope of the claims.
Claims 1-14 are rejected under U.S.C. 112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception that is an abstract idea without a practical application or significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-9 recite a terminal, claims 10-13 recite a system, and claim 14 recites a method (i.e. a process such as an act or series of steps), and therefore each claim falls within one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A prong 1 (Is a judicial exception recited?):
The representative claims 1, 10, and 14 recite: store information for proceeding with boarding procedures at an airport using biometric authentication; acquire consent of a user to provide the information for proceeding with the boarding procedures using the biometric authentication to an external party; and perform control to register the information for proceeding with the boarding procedures using the biometric authentication, for which consent to provide to the external party has been acquired.
The claims recite a certain method of organizing human activity. The claims recite a certain method of organizing human activity as the disclosure recites managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people. The claims simply recite a series of steps to store boarding procedures for an airport based, acquire consent from a user to provide personal information to be used in authenticating their identity, and registering the user’s information and consent. The processes of allowing a user to consent or opt into a process of using biometric authentication to verify their identity during the boarding procedure of a flight is merely a method of managing the personal behavior of a person. As the claims recite a series of steps to allow a user to consent to a process such as using specific information when verifying their identity and recording their consent.
Alternatively, the claims recite a mental process. The claims merely recite the process of storing information for proceeding with boarding procedures using biometric authentication, acquiring consent of a user to provide the information to an external party, and register the information. The claims are found to merely recite a series of steps that can be performed in the human mind or with the use of a simple tool such as pen and paper. As a person such as an employee of an airport or airline would be capable of mentally, or with basic tools, receive boarding procedures for a person as well as recording a person’s consent to provide information to an external party to be used during the boarding process. For example, a person would be capable of being told that an individual is consenting to provide information such as biometric authentication information to an external party to verify their identity during a boarding process and register their consent in a record.
Therefore, the claims are found to recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 (Is the exception integrated into a practical application?): The claims additionally recite additional elements, including;
Claim 1: A terminal, comprising: at least one memory storing a set of instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the set of instructions; and an authentication server.
Claim 10: A system, comprising: a terminal possessed by a user; and an authentication server that authenticates a person to be authenticated, and wherein the terminal comprises: at least one memory storing a set of instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the set of instructions, and an authentication server.
Claim 14: A terminal and an authentication server.
The additional elements of a system comprising generic computer elements to receive and store information are directed to merely reciting instructions to apply a generic computer and technology to execute the method in the recited claim limitations.
The claim limitations recite mere instructions to implement the abstract idea of receiving and registering information such as boarding procedures and user consent information.
Therefore, the limitations merely amount to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) to the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). Furthermore, a method for transmitting, receiving, and processing information does not amount to improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(a), applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(b), effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(c).
Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. As the additional elements are not significant improvements to the functionality of a generic computer and are directed to merely “apply it” or applying the abstract idea on a computer.
Step 2B (Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?):
As discussed above, the additional imitations amount to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, and merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea of acquiring, storing, and registering information, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional elements of generic computer elements to perform the abstract idea are not directed to an improvement in a technology or technical field. Therefore, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The dependent claim 2-4 and 13 recite the abstract idea of acquiring information of a user such as biometric information and passport information and verify a user’s identity by comparing the information.
Dependent claim 5-9 further narrows the abstract idea of acquiring consent and information of a user and boarding information as recited in dependent claim 1.
Dependent claims 11-12 recite the abstract idea of generating and managing a token for a user to proceed with boarding procedures.
The dependent claims recite the following additional elements:
Claim 6-7: transmit a system registration request to a control server that is connected to the authentication server, and transmitting the passport information to a departure control system server
Claim 8: DCS (Departure control system) server, and transmit a system registration request to the control server.
Claim 11: a token management database.
However, the additional elements are directed to merely “apply it” or applying generic computer elements to perform the abstract idea.
Therefore, claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Singh (US 2018/0122166).
Claims 1, 10, and 14: Singh discloses (Claim 1) a terminal, comprising: at least one memory storing a set of instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the set of instructions to: (Claim 10) A system, comprising: a terminal possessed by a user; and an authentication server that authenticates a person to be authenticated, and wherein the terminal comprises: at least one memory storing a set of instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the set of instructions to: (Claim 14) A control method of a terminal, the control method comprising: store information for proceeding with boarding procedures at an airport using biometric authentication (Paragraph [0008-0010]; [0032-0034]; [0047]; Fig. 2, the first aspect of the present disclosure provide a method for controlling access to a facility. The method includes receiving, at a detection unit from a communication device of a user, access details associated with the facility, verifying the access details of the user, transmitting an electronic request to a server for authentication of an identity of the user using an input of a biometric sample of the user, and authorizing the user to access the facility in response to receiving a positive outcome of the authentication from the server and a positive outcome of the verification. The access details of the user may be verified using a database which stores records of access details of users who are authorized to access the facility. The communication device includes a processor and a data storage device storing program instructions, the program instructions being operative to perform any one of the method described. As used herein the term “facility” may be defined as a place, amenity, or piece of equipment provided for a particular purpose. For example, a facility may be an establishment, a premises or a location. For example, they may include travel related facilities (e.g. airport check-in counters or boarding gates, coaches, etc.) or electronic access gates);
acquire consent of a user to provide the information for proceeding with the boarding procedures using the biometric authentication to an external party (Paragraph [0052-0054]; Fig. 2, a user downloads and installs a software application (referred to as the “Secureboarding” application) on the communication device. The software application is configured to cause the device to perform the method. The user proceeds to register themselves through a one-time registration process to avail themselves for the Secureboarding service. Upon successful registration, a unique identifier is assigned to the user. The user ID is associated with the user’s identity and biometric data. The user makes a flight booking, for example via a website, and the user may opt for the Secureboarding service during the booking. For example, the user may be prompted to provide their user ID in connection with a flight booking. The user ID and flight booking details may be transmitted to the authentication system. (The examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of acquiring consent of a user to provide information to an external party would include a system of a user choosing to download and opt in to use an application such as Secureboarding to allow the user to use biometric information during the boarding process of a flight));
and perform control to register the information for proceeding with the boarding procedures using the biometric authentication, for which consent to provide to the external party has been acquired, on an authentication server (Paragraph [0008-0010]; [0052-0054]; Fig. 2, a user downloads and installs a software application (referred to as the “Secureboarding” application) on the communication device. The software application is configured to cause the device to perform the method. The user proceeds to register themselves through a one-time registration process to avail themselves for the Secureboarding service. Upon successful registration, a unique identifier is assigned to the user. The user ID is associated with the user’s identity and biometric data. The user makes a flight booking, for example via a website, and the user may opt for the Secureboarding service during the booking. For example, the user may be prompted to provide their user ID in connection with a flight booking. The user ID and flight booking details may be transmitted to the authentication system).
Claim 2: Singh discloses the terminal as per claim 1. Singh further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to acquire biometric information of the user (Paragraph [0022] a computerized method performed for controlling access to a facility. The method includes in response to receiving an electronic request for authentication of an identity of a human subject from a client; identifying a communication device associated with the human subject, transmitting a request notification to the communication device, said request notification requesting authentication of an identity of the human subject using an input of a biometric sample of the user on the communication device, receiving the biometric sample from the communication device, and obtaining an outcome of the authentication using the biometric sample and a reference database, and communicating the outcome to the client to cause authorization of the user to access the facility).
Claim 3: Singh discloses the terminal as per claim 2. Singh further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to acquire passport information from a passport of the user (Paragraph [0068]; Fig. 3, the creation of the user account may require the user to input and submit registration details. The registration details may include the user’s identity information such as the user’s identification number such as a national ID, driver’s license ID, or passport number).
Claim 4: Singh discloses the terminal as per claim 3. Singh further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to: acquire a captured face image by capturing an image of the user, acquire a passport face image from the passports; and perform identity verification using the captured face image and the passport face image (Paragraph [0073-0077]; Fig. 3, the Secureboarding application prompts the user to input his/her biometric sample for registration. The biometric sample is a photograph of the user’s face. A camera of the communication device may be activated automatically to capture the image data of the user’s face. The authentication system determines if the biometric sample input by the user can be validated, for example, by verifying against an existing biometric database maintained by a government authority, which stores a truthful correspondence between identity information of individuals and their respective biometric data information. For example, the captured photograph may be transmitted to the verification system. The verification system causes the photograph to be compared against the existing biometric database which contains a reference photograph of an individual which corresponds to the identity of a given individual. If the photographs match, the captured photograph provided by the communication device is identified as a valid biometric sample).
Claim 5: Singh discloses the terminal as per claim 4. Singh further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to acquire the consent of the user to provide information to the external party after the identity verification has succeeded (Paragraph [0008-0010]; [0052-0054]; Fig. 2, a user downloads and installs a software application (referred to as the “Secureboarding” application) on the communication device. The software application is configured to cause the device to perform the method. The user proceeds to register themselves through a one-time registration process to avail themselves for the Secureboarding service. Upon successful registration, a unique identifier is assigned to the user. The user ID is associated with the user’s identity and biometric data. The user makes a flight booking, for example via a website, and the user may opt for the Secureboarding service during the booking. For example, the user may be prompted to provide their user ID in connection with a flight booking. The user ID and flight booking details may be transmitted to the authentication system).
Claim 13: Singh discloses the system as per claim 10. Singh further discloses wherein the biometric information is a face image or a feature valued generated from the face image (Paragraph [0073-0077]; Fig. 3, the Secureboarding application prompts the user to input his/her biometric sample for registration. The biometric sample is a photograph of the user’s face. A camera of the communication device may be activated automatically to capture the image data of the user’s face. The authentication system determines if the biometric sample input by the user can be validated, for example, by verifying against an existing biometric database maintained by a government authority, which stores a truthful correspondence between identity information of individuals and their respective biometric data information. For example, the captured photograph may be transmitted to the verification system. The verification system causes the photograph to be compared against the existing biometric database which contains a reference photograph of an individual which corresponds to the identity of a given individual. If the photographs match, the captured photograph provided by the communication device is identified as a valid biometric sample).
Therefore, claim 1-5, 10, and 13-14 are rejected under U.S.C. 102.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh (US 2018/0122166) in view of Berini (US 2008/0302870)
Claim 6: Singh discloses the terminal as per claim 5. Singh further discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to: generate, upon acquiring the consent to provide the information for proceeding with the boarding procedures using the biometric authentication to the airport that the user is planning to use, consent information including at least information related to an airline company operating an aircraft on which the user is scheduled to boards, and transmit a system registration request including the biometric information, the passport information, and the consent information to a control server that is connected to the authentication server (Paragraph [0008-0010]; [0052-0054]; [0068]; Fig. 2, a user downloads and installs a software application (referred to as the “Secureboarding” application) on the communication device. The software application is configured to cause the device to perform the method. The user proceeds to register themselves through a one-time registration process to avail themselves for the Secureboarding service. Upon successful registration, a unique identifier is assigned to the user. The user ID is associated with the user’s identity and biometric data. The user makes a flight booking, for example via a website, and the user may opt for the Secureboarding service during the booking. For example, the user may be prompted to provide their user ID in connection with a flight booking. The user ID and flight booking details may be transmitted to the authentication system),
However, Singh does not disclose the claim limitations: and acquire boarding pass information related to a boarding pass issued to the user by transmitting the passport information to a Departure Control System (DCS) server of the airline company corresponding to information related to the airline company included in the consent information.
In the same field of endeavor of validating passenger identities during boarding procedures using biometric information Berini teaches and acquire boarding pass information related to a boarding pass issued to the user by transmitting the passport information to a Departure Control System (DCS) server of the airline company corresponding to information related to the airline company included in the consent information (Paragraph [0005-0006]; [0025]; [0032]; [0049]; [0057-0058]; in one embodiment, the invention is a system for passenger verification comprising at least one check in system with a barcode reader and a biometric data collection device. When a passenger checks in, a barcode is placed on the passenger’s boarding documents, the barcode is read and biometric data is collected from the passenger. The system further contains a server with a database for storing passenger data. A token may be generated and provided to the traveler that contains some, or all of the data that has been captured at check in, and may be used in tandem or as an alternative to the barcode. One embodiment of the system contains a central server, an airport server connected to the central server by an external network, and a plurality of check in recorder systems and verifier systems connected to the airport server through an airport network. The acquired data may be stored in a storage device. In one embodiment, the data captured by the check in recorder is consolidated and then synchronized with a central server so that there is a persistent record for the time of the flight. The check in recorder may compare machine readable visas with visa requirements for the destination country and determines if the visa is suitable).
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of validating a user’s identity using biometric information during a boarding process as disclosed by Singh (Singh [0007]) with the system of acquire boarding pass information related to a boarding pass issued to the user by transmitting the passport information to a Departure Control System (DCS) server of the airline company corresponding to information related to the airline company included in the consent information as taught by Berini (Berini [0032]). With the motivation of helping to validate the passengers and improve boarding procedures (Berini [0003]).
Claim 7: Singh discloses the terminal as per claim 6. However, Singh does not disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to transmit, in a case where the boarding pass issued to the user has been changed, a system re-registration request including the passport information and the consent information to the control server and wherein the control server acquires the boarding pass information related to the changed boarding pass by transmitting the passport information included in the system re-registration request to the DCS server of the airline company corresponding to the information related to the airline company included in the consent information.
In the same field of endeavor of validating passenger identities during boarding procedures using biometric information Berini teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to transmit, in a case where the boarding pass issued to the user has been changed, a system re-registration request including the passport information and the consent information to the control server and wherein the control server acquires the boarding pass information related to the changed boarding pass by transmitting the passport information included in the system re-registration request to the DCS server of the airline company corresponding to the information related to the airline company included in the consent information (Paragraph [0005-0006]; [0025]; [0032]; [0049]; [0057-0058]; in one embodiment, the invention is a system for passenger verification comprising at least one check in system with a barcode reader and a biometric data collection device. When a passenger checks in, a barcode is placed on the passenger’s boarding documents, the barcode is read and biometric data is collected from the passenger. The system further contains a server with a database for storing passenger data. A token may be generated and provided to the traveler that contains some, or all of the data that has been captured at check in, and may be used in tandem or as an alternative to the barcode. One embodiment of the system contains a central server, an airport server connected to the central server by an external network, and a plurality of check in recorder systems and verifier systems connected to the airport server through an airport network. The acquired data may be stored in a storage device. In one embodiment, the data captured by the check in recorder is consolidated and then synchronized with a central server so that there is a persistent record for the time of the flight. The check in recorder may compare machine readable visas with visa requirements for the destination country and determines if the visa is suitable).
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of validating a user’s identity using biometric information during a boarding process as disclosed by Singh (Singh [0007]) with the system of wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to transmit, in a case where the boarding pass issued to the user has been changed, a system re-registration request including the passport information and the consent information to the control server and wherein the control server acquires the boarding pass information related to the changed boarding pass by transmitting the passport information included in the system re-registration request to the DCS server of the airline company corresponding to the information related to the airline company included in the consent information as taught by Berini (Berini [0032]). With the motivation of helping to validate the passengers and improve boarding procedures (Berini [0003]).
Claim 8: Singh discloses the terminal as per claim 5. However, Singh does not disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to: acquire the boarding pass information by transmitting the passport information to the DCS (Departure Control System) server of the airline company operating the aircraft on which the user is scheduled to board, and transmit a system registration request including the biometric information, the passport information, the boarding pass information, and the consent information, to the control server connected to the authentication server.
In the same field of endeavor of validating passenger identities during boarding procedures using biometric information Berini teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to: acquire the boarding pass information by transmitting the passport information to the DCS (Departure Control System) server of the airline company operating the aircraft on which the user is scheduled to board, and transmit a system registration request including the biometric information, the passport information, the boarding pass information, and the consent information, to the control server connected to the authentication server (Paragraph [0005-0006]; [0025]; [0032]; [0049]; [0057-0058]; in one embodiment, the invention is a system for passenger verification comprising at least one check in system with a barcode reader and a biometric data collection device. When a passenger checks in, a barcode is placed on the passenger’s boarding documents, the barcode is read and biometric data is collected from the passenger. The system further contains a server with a database for storing passenger data. A token may be generated and provided to the traveler that contains some, or all of the data that has been captured at check in, and may be used in tandem or as an alternative to the barcode. One embodiment of the system contains a central server, an airport server connected to the central server by an external network, and a plurality of check in recorder systems and verifier systems connected to the airport server through an airport network. The acquired data may be stored in a storage device. In one embodiment, the data captured by the check in recorder is consolidated and then synchronized with a central server so that there is a persistent record for the time of the flight. The check in recorder may compare machine readable visas with visa requirements for the destination country and determines if the visa is suitable).
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of validating a user’s identity using biometric information during a boarding process as disclosed by Singh (Singh [0007]) with the system of wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to: acquire the boarding pass information by transmitting the passport information to the DCS (Departure Control System) server of the airline company operating the aircraft on which the user is scheduled to board, and transmit a system registration request including the biometric information, the passport information, the boarding pass information, and the consent information, to the control server connected to the authentication server as taught by Berini (Berini [0032]). With the motivation of helping to validate the passengers and improve boarding procedures (Berini [0003]).
Claim 9: Singh discloses the terminal as per claim 6. However, Singh does not disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions not to acquire the consent of the user to provide the information to the external party for proceeding with the boarding procedures using the biometric information in a case where a country in which the user is located is different from a country in which the airport that the user is planning to use is located.
In the same field of endeavor of validating passenger identities during boarding procedures using biometric information Berini teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions not to acquire the consent of the user to provide the information to the external party for proceeding with the boarding procedures using the biometric information in a case where a country in which the user is located is different from a country in which the airport that the user is planning to use is located (Paragraph [0005-0006]; [0025]; [0032]; [0049]; [0057-0058]; in one embodiment, the invention is a system for passenger verification comprising at least one check in system with a barcode reader and a biometric data collection device. When a passenger checks in, a barcode is placed on the passenger’s boarding documents, the barcode is read and biometric data is collected from the passenger. The system further contains a server with a database for storing passenger data. A token may be generated and provided to the traveler that contains some, or all of the data that has been captured at check in, and may be used in tandem or as an alternative to the barcode. One embodiment of the system contains a central server, an airport server connected to the central server by an external network, and a plurality of check in recorder systems and verifier systems connected to the airport server through an airport network. The acquired data may be stored in a storage device. In one embodiment, the data captured by the check in recorder is consolidated and then synchronized with a central server so that there is a persistent record for the time of the flight. The check in recorder may compare machine readable visas with visa requirements for the destination country and determines if the visa is suitable).
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of validating a user’s identity using biometric information during a boarding process as disclosed by Singh (Singh [0007]) with the system of wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions not to acquire the consent of the user to provide the information to the external party for proceeding with the boarding procedures using the biometric information in a case where a country in which the user is located is different from a country in which the airport that the user is planning to use is located as taught by Berini (Berini [0032]). With the motivation of helping to validate the passengers and improve boarding procedures (Berini [0003]).
Claim 11: Singh discloses the system as per claim 10. However, Singh does not disclose wherein the authentication server generates a token for the user to proceed with the boarding procedures using the biometric authentication, by using the information acquired from the terminal, and stores the generated token in a token management database.
In the same field of endeavor of validating passenger identities during boarding procedures using biometric information Berini teaches wherein the authentication server generates a token for the user to proceed with the boarding procedures using the biometric authentication, by using the information acquired from the terminal, and stores the generated token in a token management database (Paragraph [0005-0006]; [0025]; [0032]; [0049]; [0057-0058]; in one embodiment, the invention is a system for passenger verification comprising at least one check in system with a barcode reader and a biometric data collection device. When a passenger checks in, a barcode is placed on the passenger’s boarding documents, the barcode is read and biometric data is collected from the passenger. The system further contains a server with a database for storing passenger data. A token may be generated and provided to the traveler that contains some, or all of the data that has been captured at check in, and may be used in tandem or as an alternative to the barcode. One embodiment of the system contains a central server, an airport server connected to the central server by an external network, and a plurality of check in recorder systems and verifier systems connected to the airport server through an airport network. The acquired data may be stored in a storage device. In one embodiment, the data captured by the check in recorder is consolidated and then synchronized with a central server so that there is a persistent record for the time of the flight. The check in recorder may compare machine readable visas with visa requirements for the destination country and determines if the visa is suitable).
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of validating a user’s identity using biometric information during a boarding process as disclosed by Singh (Singh [0007]) with the system of wherein the authentication server generates a token for the user to proceed with the boarding procedures using the biometric authentication, by using the information acquired from the terminal, and stores the generated token in a token management database as taught by Berini (Berini [0057]). With the motivation of helping to validate the passengers and improve boarding procedures (Berini [0003]).
Claim 12: Singh discloses the system as per claim 11. However, Singh does not disclose wherein the authentication server deletes the token of the user after a predetermined amount of time has elapsed since departure of an aircraft that the user boarded.
In the same field of endeavor of validating passenger identities during boarding procedures using biometric information Berini teaches wherein the authentication server deletes the token of the user after a predetermined amount of time has elapsed since departure of an aircraft that the user boarded (Paragraph [0005-0006]; [0025]; [0032]; [0049]; [0057-0058]; in one embodiment, the invention is a system for passenger verification comprising at least one check in system with a barcode reader and a biometric data collection device. When a passenger checks in, a barcode is placed on the passenger’s boarding documents, the barcode is read and biometric data is collected from the passenger. The system further contains a server with a database for storing passenger data. A token may be generated and provided to the traveler that contains some, or all of the data that has been captured at check in, and may be used in tandem or as an alternative to the barcode. One embodiment of the system contains a central server, an airport server connected to the central server by an external network, and a plurality of check in recorder systems and verifier systems connected to the airport server through an airport network. The acquired data may be stored in a storage device. In one embodiment, the data captured by the check in recorder is consolidated and then synchronized with a central server so that there is a persistent record for the time of the flight. The check in recorder may compare machine readable visas with visa requirements for the destination country and determines if the visa is suitable).
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of validating a user’s identity using biometric information during a boarding process as disclosed by Singh (Singh [0007]) with the system of wherein the authentication server deletes the token of the user after a predetermined amount of time has elapsed since departure of an aircraft that the user boarded as taught by Berini (Berini [0049]). With the motivation of helping to validate the passengers and improve boarding procedures (Berini [0003]).
Therefore, claim 6-9, 11, and 12 are rejected under U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Morris (US 2021/0049724) Passenger handling system and method.
Cornick (US 2021/0240811) Biometric ticketing.
Nohr (US 2011/0133892) Identification and communication methods.
Yamamoto (US 2023/0082618) Utilization management device, utilization management method, and program.
/COREY RUSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629