DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The Preliminary Amendment filed on 01 April 2025 has been acknowledged and entered.
Claim 14 has been canceled.
No new claims have been added.
Claims 1-13 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/01/2025, 04/14/2025, 04/16/2025, 05/15/2025, 09/03/2025, 09/04/2025, 03/17/2026, and 04/14/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement are being considered by the examiner. However, the Patent(s) and/or publication(s) cited in the office actions submitted in the information disclosure statement(s) have not been separately considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention recites an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 1-11 are directed to a system (i.e., a machine). Claim 12 is directed to a server apparatus (i.e., a machine). Claim 13 is directed to a control method (i.e., a process). Therefore, claims 1-13 all fall within the one of the four statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A Prong 1 (additional elements omitted) – Claims 1, 12, and 13 recite:
performs/performs/performs an authentication processing;
performs/performs/performs the authentication processing at a single airport;
determines/determines/determining an airport that a user is planning to use, and
transmits/transmits/transmitting information required for the user to proceed with boarding procedures using biometric authentication depending on the airport that the user is planning to use. The aforementioned limitations recite a certain method of organizing human activity which includes “Managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people” (e.g. including teaching and following rules or instructions). Further, the claims fall within a “Mental Process” which includes observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions.
Step 2A Prong 2 - This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements of “a system,” “a shared server,” “a server,” and “a control server” in claim 1; the additional elements of “a server apparatus,” “a shared server,” “a server,” “a dedicated server,” “at least one memory,” “a set of instructions,” and “at least one processor” in claim 12; and the additional element of “a server apparatus,” “a shared server,” “a server,” and “a dedicated server” are recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, the additional elements, when analyzed individually and in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims do not amount to more than a recitation of the words “apply it" (or an equivalent) or more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception in a generic computing environment (See MPEP 2106.05 (f) Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception).
Step 2B - As discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong 2, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The same analysis applies here in 2B. The additional elements, when analyzed individually and in combination, do not add significantly more to the exception. They are mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Dependent Claim 2 recites, “transmits a token issuance request including biometric information of the user, passport information related to a passport of the user, boarding pass information related to a boarding pass issued to the user, and consent information related to consent of the user for information including the biometric information to be provided to…” which is further directed to a method of organizing human activity as described in claim 9. Similar to claim 1, the recitation does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea, or significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim does not add any additional elements to evaluate at Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Dependent Claim 3 recites, “determines a destination to which the token issuance request is transmitted based on the information related to the airport included in the consent information” which is further directed to a method of organizing human activity as described in claim 9. Similar to claim 1, the recitation does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea, or significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim does not add any additional elements to evaluate at Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Dependent Claim 4 recites, “receives a system registration request including the biometric information, the passport information and the consent information from a user, and acquire the boarding pass information related to the boarding pass issued to the user by transmitting the passport information to the airline company corresponding to information related to the airline company included in the consent information” which is further directed to a method of organizing human activity as described in claim 1. Similar to claim 1, the recitation does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea, or significantly more than the abstract idea. Further, the recitation of “a DCS (Departure Control System) server” is another computer component recited at a high-level of generality and is merely invoked as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Similar to claim 1, the recitation does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea, or significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim does not add any additional elements to evaluate at Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Dependent Claim 5 recites, “issues a token for the user in response to the token issuance request received…” and “stores the issued token prepared for each of the plurality of airports” which is further directed to a method of organizing human activity as described in claim 1. Similar to claim 1, the recitation does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea, or significantly more than the abstract idea. Further, the recitation of “a token management database” is another computer component recited at a high-level of generality and is merely invoked as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Similar to claim 1, the recitation does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea, or significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim does not add any additional elements to evaluate at Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Dependent Claim 6 recites, “transmits a registration request received …“ which is further directed to a method of organizing human activity as described in claim 1. Similar to claim 1, the recitation does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea, or significantly more than the abstract idea. Further, the recitation of “another system” is another computer component recited at a high-level of generality and is merely invoked as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Similar to claim 1, the recitation does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea, or significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim does not add any additional elements to evaluate at Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Dependent Claim 7 recites, “issues the token in response to receiving the token issuance request…” which is further directed to a method of organizing human activity as described in claim 1. Similar to claim 1, the recitation does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea, or significantly more than the abstract idea. Further, the recitation of “a touch point” is another computer component recited at a high-level of generality and is merely invoked as a tool to perform the abstract idea. The claim does not add any additional elements to evaluate at Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Dependent Claim 8 recites, “assigns a virtual terminal ID to the terminal, and transmits the token issuance request including the virtual terminal ID…” which is further directed to a method of organizing human activity” as described in claim 1. Similar to claim 1, the recitation does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea, or significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim does not add any additional elements to evaluate at Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Dependent Claim 9 recites, “generates a token issuance history including a source of the token issuance request based on the terminal ID and the virtual terminal ID, and provides information related to the generated token issuance history” which are further directed to a method of organizing human activity” as described in claim 1. Similar to claim 1, the recitation does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea, or significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim does not add any additional elements to evaluate at Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B.
As per Dependent Claim 10, the limitation merely narrows the previously recited abstract limitations without adding any new additional elements beyond it. Dependent claim 10 recites the biometric information is a face image or a feature generated from the face image. For the reasons described above with respect to claim 1, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent Claim 11 recites, “a cloud” which is another computer component recited at a high-level of generality and is merely invoked as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Similar to claim 1, the recitation does not provide a practical application of the abstract idea, or significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim does not add any additional elements to evaluate at Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B.
Dependent Claims 2-11 have been given the full two part analysis including analyzing the additional limitations both individually and in combination. Dependent Claims 2-11, when analyzed individually, and in combination, are also held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101. The dependent claims fail to establish that the claims do not recite an abstract idea because the additional recited limitations of the dependent claims merely further narrow the abstract idea of the independent claims. The dependent claims recite no additional elements that would integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Simply implementing the abstract idea on generic computer components is not a practical application of the judicial exception and does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berini et al. (US PG Pub. 2008/0302870 A1) in view of Nakahira et al. (US PG Pub. 20220172218 A1).
As per claims 1 and 13, Berini et al. discloses a system, comprising:
a shared server that is shared by a plurality of airports as a server that performs an authentication processing (Berini et al.: [0036] The Central Server 100 may additionally provide outputs, including output of NFL and SL check results to the airline and an historical security data base for all passengers that can be queried by authorized airline or airport authority security personnel);
a dedicated server that performs the authentication processing at a single airport (Berini et al.: FIG. 1[300] Airport Server); and (Berini et al. [0031] Airport Servers located at Airports which compile, consolidate and log transactions and communicate with Central Servers, and Central Servers for data consolidation and processing); and
a control server, wherein the control server determines an airport that a user is planning to use (Berini et al.: FIG. 1 [500] Check In Recorder systems 500); (Berini et al.: [0051] The reader captures image of boarding card, and using optical character recognition (OCR) may additionally capture the boarding pass barcode number, the boarding sequence number, the flight number, the flight date, and the destination. If any information is not captured, the agent may enter in such information, for example, using the operator interface of the Check In Recorder, for example, the user interface implemented on the touch sensitive display 558 of computer 550 in FIG. 5., and
transmits information required for the user to proceed with boarding procedures using biometric authentication to either the shared server or the dedicated server, Berini et al.: [0048] The Check In Recorder is a device that is used to collect and verify passenger data at check in. Such data includes boarding pass and ticketing data, passport, visa, and other traveler/worker data, and passenger biometric data. The embodiment in FIG. 5 includes: a full page ID3 travel document reader and authenticator 510; a bar code reader 520; a biometric camera 530 with lighting 534; and a fingerprint capture device 540); and (Berini et al.: [0049] Finally the agent scans and verifies the passenger's passport 1040, visas 1050, entry permits and other travel documents 1060, and baggage claim checks 1070 using a document reader, for example, 510 of FIG. 5. The acquired data may then be stored on a local storage device, for example, 558 of FIG. 5, and may also be forwarded to and stored on an Airport Server and/or a Central Server. In one embodiment, the data captured by the Check In Recorder locations is consolidated in real-time at an Airport server and then synchronized with a Central Server so that there is a persistent record for the time of the flight. The information may be retained for future analysis). [0057] For example, the Check In Recorder may compare machine readable visas with visa requirements for the destination country and determines if the visa is suitable. Otherwise the Check In Recorder prompts the Agent to check the visa against visa requirements for destination country and nationality of traveler. For non-machine readable visas, the agent can check a visa help file hosted on the Check In Recorder to determine what the visa requirements are for the destination for a person of the passenger's nationality.
Berini et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Nakahira discloses the server transmits information required for the user to proceed with boarding procedures using biometric authentication to either the shared server or the dedicated server, depending on the airport that the user is planning to use (Nakahira [0185] FIG. 24 is a schematic diagram illustrating an overall configuration example of the biometrics authentication system 2 in the present example embodiment. Here, the case where the management area A is set across the airport AP1 of the country of departure (the first country) and the airport AP2 of the country of arrival (the second country) is shown. That is, the management server 10 of the present example embodiment is assumed to share the biometrics information of the user U between airports of a plurality of countries. The management server 10 distributes the registered biometrics information of the user U as a watch list (visitor registration information) to the edge terminals installed at the airport facilities of respective the country of departure and the country of arrival, because the management area includes the airport facilities of the country of departure and the country of arrival) also see [0054],[0105]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Berini et al. to include proceed with boarding procedures using biometric authentication to either the shared server or the dedicated server, depending on the airport that the user is planning to use as taught by Nakahira in order to be more efficient by sharing the biometrics information of the user between airports of a plurality of countries (Nakahira: [0185]).
As per claim 2, Berini et al., in view of Nakahira discloses the system according to claim 1. Berini et al. further discloses wherein the control server transmits, to the shared server or the dedicated server, a token issuance request (Berini et al.: [0025] In some alternate implementations, a token may be generated and provided to the traveler that contains some, or all of the data that has been captured at check in, and may be used in tandem or as an alternative to the barcode and/or server stored data),
including biometric information of the user (Berini et al.: [0005]-[0006] check in system with a barcode reader and a biometric data collection device. When a passenger checks in, a barcode is placed on the passenger's boarding documents, the barcode is read and biometric data is collected from the passenger),
passport information related to a passport of the user (Berini et al.: [0048-][0049], FIG. 5 is a conceptual illustration of one embodiment of a Check In Recorder system 500. The Check In Recorder is a device that is used to collect and verify passenger data at check in. Such data includes boarding pass and ticketing data, passport, visa, and other traveler/worker data, and passenger biometric data); [0048]),
boarding pass information related to a boarding pass issued to the user([0048] Berini et al.: [0048-][0049], FIG. 5 is a conceptual illustration of one embodiment of a Check In Recorder system 500. The Check In Recorder is a device that is used to collect and verify passenger data at check in. Such data includes boarding pass and ticketing data, passport, visa, and other traveler/worker data, and passenger biometric data).
Berini et al. does not further disclose, however, Nakahira discloses consent information related to consent of the user for information including the biometric information to be provided to the shared server or the dedicated server (Nakahira [0087] Next, the check-in terminal 20 determines whether or not the user U agrees with the face photographing (step S105). When requesting the consent of the user U, for example, the user U may be notified of the purpose of use of the captured face image, the fact that the face image is not used for other purposes, the fact that the face image is deleted after use, etc); and (Nakahira: [0088] Next, in response to determining that the user U has consented to face photographing (step S105, YES), the check-in terminal 20 captures the face of the user U standing in front of the check-in terminal 20 using the biometrics information acquisition device 209 and acquires a captured face image of the user U (step S106); and .[0089] Next, the check-in terminal 20 compares, at 1:1, a captured face image captured by the biometrics information acquisition device 209 with the passport face image acquired by the medium reading device 208 (step S107). After comparison, the process proceeds to step S109. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Berini et al. to include the consent as taught by Nakahira to avail oneself to the face photographing service to use biometric data as identity verification (Nakahira: [0092])
As per claim 12, Berini et al. discloses a server apparatus that communicates with a shared server that is shared by a plurality of airports as a server that performs an authentication processing and a dedicated server that performs the authentication processing at a single airport, wherein the server apparatus (Berini et al [0036]), comprising:
at least one memory storing a set of instructions (Berini et al.: [0093]); and
at least one processor configured to execute the set of instructions (Berini et al.: [0023]) to:
determines an airport that a user is planning to use (Berini et al.: FIG. 1 [500] Check In Recorder systems 500); (Berini et al.: [0051] The reader captures image of boarding card, and using optical character recognition (OCR) may additionally capture the boarding pass barcode number, the boarding sequence number, the flight number, the flight date, and the destination. If any information is not captured, the agent may enter in such information, for example, using the operator interface of the Check In Recorder, for example, the user interface implemented on the touch sensitive display 558 of computer 550 in FIG. 5.; and
transmit information required for the user to proceed with the boarding procedures using biometric authentication to either the shared server or the dedicated server, Berini et al.: [0048] The Check In Recorder is a device that is used to collect and verify passenger data at check in. Such data includes boarding pass and ticketing data, passport, visa, and other traveler/worker data, and passenger biometric data. The embodiment in FIG. 5 includes: a full page ID3 travel document reader and authenticator 510; a bar code reader 520; a biometric camera 530 with lighting 534; and a fingerprint capture device 540); and (Berini et al.: [0049] Finally the agent scans and verifies the passenger's passport 1040, visas 1050, entry permits and other travel documents 1060, and baggage claim checks 1070 using a document reader, for example, 510 of FIG. 5. The acquired data may then be stored on a local storage device, for example, 558 of FIG. 5, and may also be forwarded to and stored on an Airport Server and/or a Central Server. In one embodiment, the data captured by the Check In Recorder locations is consolidated in real-time at an Airport server and then synchronized with a Central Server so that there is a persistent record for the time of the flight. The information may be retained for future analysis).
Berini et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Nakahira discloses the server transmits information required for the user to proceed with boarding procedures using biometric authentication to either the shared server or the dedicated server, depending on the airport that the user is planning to use (Nakahira [0185] FIG. 24 is a schematic diagram illustrating an overall configuration example of the biometrics authentication system 2 in the present example embodiment. Here, the case where the management area A is set across the airport AP1 of the country of departure (the first country) and the airport AP2 of the country of arrival (the second country) is shown. That is, the management server 10 of the present example embodiment is assumed to share the biometrics information of the user U between airports of a plurality of countries. The management server 10 distributes the registered biometrics information of the user U as a watch list (visitor registration information) to the edge terminals installed at the airport facilities of respective the country of departure and the country of arrival, because the management area includes the airport facilities of the country of departure and the country of arrival) also see [0054],[0105]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Berini et al. to include proceed with boarding procedures using biometric authentication to either the shared server or the dedicated server, depending on the airport that the user is planning to use as taught by Nakahira in order to be more efficient by sharing the biometrics information of the user between airports of a plurality of countries (Nakahira: [0185]).
Claims 3-5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berini et al. (US PG Pub. 2008/0302870 A1) in view of Nakahira et al. (US PG Pub. 20220172218 A1) as applied to claim 2 above and in further view of Singh et al. (US PG Pub. 20180122166 A1).
As per claim 3, Berini et al. in view of Nakahira discloses the system according to claim 2. Berini et al. in view of Nakahira not further disclose, however, Singh et al. discloses,
wherein the consent information includes information related to the airport that the user is planning to use (Singh et al.: [0012] In some embodiments, the step of authorizing the user may include electronically generating a token to allow access to the facility upon presentation of the token by a user); and (Singh et al.: [0017] In some embodiments, the authorization unit may be configured to electronically generate a token to allow access to the facility by a user upon presentation of the token. The access details may include at least one of (i) information associated with the user's identity, and (ii) information associated with the user's use or reservation of the facility), and
wherein the control server determines a destination to which the token issuance request is transmitted based on the information related to the airport included in the consent information(Singh et al.: [0017] In some embodiments, the authorization unit may be configured to electronically generate a token to allow access to the facility by a user upon presentation of the token. The access details may include at least one of (i) information associated with the user's identity, and (ii) information associated with the user's use or reservation of the facility). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Berini et al. to determine a destination as taught by Singh et al. to use biometric data and access details on his or her communication device for gaining access to the boarding gate area via the SecureBoarding service (Singh et al.: [0055])
As per claim 4, Berini et al. in view of Nakahira et al. in view of Singh et al. discloses the system according to claim 3. Berini et al. further discloses acquire the boarding pass information related to the boarding pass issued to the user by transmitting the passport information to a DCS (Departure Control System) server of the airline company corresponding to information related to the airline company included in the consent information (Berini et al.: [0005]-[0006], [0025], [0032], [0049], [0057]-[0058] For example, the Check In Recorder may compare machine readable visas with visa requirements for the destination country and determines if the visa is suitable.)
Berini et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Singh et al. discloses, wherein the consent information includes information related to an airline company that operates an aircraft that the user is scheduled to board (Singh et al.: [0034], For example they may include, but are not limited to travel-related facilities (e.g. airport check-in counters or boarding gates, coaches, trains, etc.), or electronic access gates or devices), and
wherein the control server receives a system registration request including the biometric information, the passport information and the consent information from a terminal possessed by the user, (Singh et al.: [0054] At step 120, the user makes a flight booking, for example, via a website, and the user may opt for the SecureBoarding service during the booking. For example, the user may be prompted to provide his or her SecureBoarding User ID in connection with a flight booking. For a user who has not registered for the SecureBoarding service, the website may re-direct the user to a registration process for the user to complete the registration, for example, by following step 110. In some embodiments, biometric authentication from the user may be required before the flight booking is allowed, for example, if the user wishes to book a flight using the SecureBoarding application on his or her communication device 4 and automatically avails himself or herself of the SecureBoarding service for a particular flight booking. According to another example, the website may request the user to perform biometric authentication for a given User ID input by the user, using a user's input of biometric data on the user's communication device 4. If the authentication is unsuccessful after three attempts, the website may only allow the user to make a flight booking in a conventional way, and without availing the user of the SecureBoarding service. Upon successful authentication, flight booking details are communicated to the airport. The flight booking details may include one or more of the following: a departure city, a destination city, flight number, departure date, departure time, airline information, a booking reference number, as well as name and other identity information of the passenger. For example, the flight booking details may be stored in a passenger database accessible by the verification system 7. In addition, the User ID and/or flight booking details in connection with a flight booking may be transmitted to the authentication system 3. It will be understood that the user may also opt for SecureBoarding service after the booking, such as by adding relevant itinerary/flight booking reference in the SecureBoarding application to link the flight booking with the particular user). {The Examiner interprets opting-in for SecureBoarding to mean consent of the user for information including the biometric information to be provided to the shared server or the dedicated server. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Berini et al. . in view of Nakahira et al to include the consent as taught by Singh et al. to avail oneself to the SecureBooking service to use biometric data as credentials (Singh et al.: [0054])
As per claim 5, Berini et al. in view of Nakahira et al. and Singh et al. discloses the system according to claim 4. Berini et al. further discloses wherein the shared server issues a token for the user in response to the token issuance request received from the control server, and stores the issued token in a token management database prepared for each of the plurality of airports. (Berini et al.: [0025] In some alternate implementations, a token may be generated and provided to the traveler that contains some, or all of the data that has been captured at check in, and may be used in tandem or as an alternative to the barcode and/or server stored data); (Berini et al.: [0060] The Passenger Information Record may be stored on a local storage device of the Check In Recorder, for example, 558 of FIG. 5, and may also be forwarded to and stored on an Airport Server and/or a Central Server. For example, the captured by the Check In locations may be consolidated in real-time at an Airport server and then synchronized with a Central Server so that there is a persistent record for the time of the flight); ( Berini et al.: [0005]-[0006] check in system with a barcode reader and a biometric data collection device. When a passenger checks in, a barcode is placed on the passenger's boarding documents, the barcode is read and biometric data is collected from the passenger); (Berini et al.: [0048-][0049], FIG. 5 is a conceptual illustration of one embodiment of a Check In Recorder system 500. The Check In Recorder is a device that is used to collect and verify passenger data at check in. Such data includes boarding pass and ticketing data, passport, visa, and other traveler/worker data, and passenger biometric data); ([0048] Berini et al.: [0048-][0049], FIG. 5 is a conceptual illustration of one embodiment of a Check In Recorder system 500. The Check In Recorder is a device that is used to collect and verify passenger data at check in. Such data includes boarding pass and ticketing data, passport, visa, and other traveler/worker data, and passenger biometric data).
As per claim 11, Berini et al. in view of Nakahira et al. discloses the system according to claim 1. Berini et al. in view of Nakahira et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Singh et al. discloses, wherein the shared server is a server installed on a cloud (Singh et al.: [0095] In an embodiment, the functionality disclosed above may be provided by executing the application and/or applications in a cloud computing environment. Cloud computing may include providing computing services via a network connection using dynamically scalable computing resources. A cloud computing environment may be established by an enterprise and/or may be hired on an as-needed basis from a third party provider). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Berini et al. in view of Nakahira et al. to include the cloud computing as taught by Singh et al. to provide efficiency by saving the airports from having to maintain any physical infrastructure.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berini et al. (US PG Pub. 2008/0302870 A1) in view of Nakahira et al. (US PG Pub. 20220172218 A1) and Singh et al. (US PG Pub. 20180122166 A1) as applied to claim 5 above and in further view of Watanabe et al. (US PG Pub. 20240070557 A1).
As per claim 6, Berini et al. in view of Nakahira et al. and Singh et al. discloses the system according to claim 5. Berini et al. in view of Nakahira et al. and Singh et al. does not explicitly disclose, however, Watanabe et al. discloses wherein the control server transmits a system registration request received from another system to the shared server or the dedicated server (Watanabe et al.: [0041] The management server 20 confirms validity of the information acquired from the check-in terminal 10. Specifically, management server 20 determines consistency between the boarding pass and the passport and validity of the passport presented on the check-in terminal 10. The management server 20 registers the system user when having confirmed the validity of the information acquired from the check-in terminal 10); (Watanabe et al.: [0166] However, the system registration may be performed by a device or a terminal other than the check-in terminal 10. For example, a device dedicated to system registration may be installed in the airport, or system registration may be performed by a terminal (touch point) such as the baggage checking machine 11 or the passenger passage system 12). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Berini et al. in view of Nakahira et al. in view of Singh et al. to include the system registration as taught by Watanabe et al. to gain access to a network that is shared and connects airlines and booking platforms.
As per claim 7, Berini et al. in view of Nakahira et al. in view of Singh et al. and Watanabe et al. discloses the system according to claim 6. Berini et al. in view of Nakahira et al. and Singh et al. does not explicitly disclose, however Watanabe et al. discloses wherein each of the shared server and the dedicated server issues the token in response to receiving the token issuance request from a touch point installed at the airport (Watanabe et al.: Abstract; he receiving unit receives, from a terminal, a token issuance request including at least boarding pass information written on a boarding pass, and passport information written on a passport); (Watanabe et al. [0086] The token issuance request unit 203 delivers a response (a response to the token issuance request) acquired from the management server 20 to the message output unit 204); ( [0034] The check-in terminal 10, the baggage checking machine 11, the passenger passage system 12, the gate device 13, and the boarding gate device 14 are terminals (touch points) installed at the airport.. The operation information database may include fields for storing seat number, nationality, passport number, surname and first name, date of birth, gender, and the like. The operation information database stores operation information related to a predetermined operation (procedure operation performed at each touch point) for each token ID), also see FIG. 6. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Berini et al. in view of Nakahira et al. in view of Singh et al. to include a touchpoint for input as taught by Watanabe et al. to gain access to a network that is shared and connects airlines and booking platforms.
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berini et al. (US PG Pub. 2008/0302870 A1) in view of Nakahira et al. (US PG Pub. 20220172218 A1) in view of Singh et al. (US PG Pub. 20180122166 A1) and Watanabe et al. (US PG Pub. 20240070557 A1) as applied to claim 7 above and in further view Maaroufi et al. (US PG Pub. 20220108577 A1).
As per claim 8, Berini et al. in view of Nakahira et al. in view of Singh et al. and Watanabe et al. discloses the system according to claim 7, wherein the token issuance request transmitted from the touch point includes a terminal ID that identifies the touch point (Maaroufi et al.: [0085] The token issuance request unit 203 illustrated in FIG. 3 is a means that requests the management server 20 to issue a token. The token issuance request unit 203 generates the token issuance request including the boarding pass information, the passport information, and the biometric information (face image). For example, the token issuance request unit 203 generates the token issuance request including an identifier (hereinafter referred to as a check-in terminal identifier) of the local device, the boarding pass information, and the like (see FIG. 6). As the check-in terminal identifier, a media access control (MAC) address or an Internet Protocol (IP) address of the check-in terminal 10 can be used. The token issuance request unit 203 transmits the generated token issuance request to the management server 20)., and
wherein, in a case where the control server receives the system registration request from the terminal, the control server assigns a virtual terminal ID to the terminal (Maaroufi et al.: [0026]-[0027], In an example implementation, an identifier “TID.app” (4252 is created and forms a string of characters with a prefix including the ID token or TID (4113) and a suffix including, for example, the string “app”. The identifier (4252) is intended to uniquely identify an application used by the user of the ID token. The applications thus identified are for example the applications integrated into an operating system such as Android(™) or other web-based applications. These applications are typically hosted on a user's terminal (101), As indicated above, the terminal (101) is communicatively coupled to a gateway (4007). Thus the terminal (101) of the user communicates with the module (251) for managing the ID token via the gateway (4007)); and (Maaroufi et al.: [0030] the enrollment includes the registration of the biometric data as well as the registration of the biometric identifier. This enrollment/registration can be initiated via a capture device such as the user's phone (101) or via a kiosk (103)registration); and
transmits the token issuance request including the virtual terminal ID to the shared server or the dedicated server (Maaroufi et al.: [0018][0034] Referring to FIG. 2, a functional architecture is shown for implementing interoperability for a biometric identifier, and more particularly an ID token. The interoperability server (200) has an interoperability interface (206) to verify that the permanent ID token is unique and interoperable with other authentication systems. As illustrated in FIG. 2, the module (251) for managing the ID token is implemented within the interoperability server (200). The interoperability interface (206) is configured for pairing the module (251), which manages the ID token, to a biometric identity provider. In the example in FIG. 2, the biometric identity provider is a provider of ID tokens (20). In a very particular example, a provider of ID tokens is also a producer of ID tokens. The production of ID tokens can be carried out by some private providers). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Berini et al. in view of Nakahira et al. in view of Singh et al. and Watanabe et al to include the virtual terminal ID and Terminal ID as taught by Maaroufi et al. in order track and identify a user through use of the terminal in a contactless environment since the invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berini et al. (US PG Pub. 2008/0302870 A1) in view of Nakahira et al. (US PG Pub. 20220172218 A1) in view of Singh et al. (US PG Pub. 20180122166 A1) in view of Watanabe et al. (US PG Pub. 20240070557 A1) as applied to claim 8 above and in further view of Otani et al. (US PG Pub. 20230342443 A1).
As per claim 9, Berini et al. in view of Nakahira et al. in view of Singh et al. and Watanabe et al. discloses the system according to claim 8. Berini et al. in view of Nakahira et al. in view of Singh et al. and Watanabe et al. does not further disclose, however, Otani et al. discloses wherein the shared server or the dedicated server generates a token issuance history including a source of the token issuance request based on the terminal ID and the virtual terminal ID (Otani et al.: [0122] The token ID information database stores at least the token ID and the biometric information about the user in association with each other. FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating an example of a token ID information database. Referring to FIG. 9, the token ID information database has fields for storing a token ID, a registered face image, a feature amount, a token issuance time, a token issuance device name, and the like); and (Otani et al.: [0148] Alternatively, the staff terminal 30 may display a button or the like for obtaining detailed information about the person who is falsely authenticated (see FIG. 13). In a case where the staff or the like requests presentation of detailed information (in a case where the detailed information button is pressed), the staff terminal 30 notifies the server device 20 of the request. In response to the notification, the verification information generation unit 405 of the server device searches the operation information database using the token ID as a key. The verification information generation unit 405 transmits the name, the airline code, the flight number, and the like of the entry identified by the search result to the staff terminal 30. The staff terminal 30 displays the obtained information. Alternatively, the verification information generation unit 405 may generate a passage history of passing through the terminals related to a person who is falsely authenticated (a passenger selected by the staff or the like) with reference to the authentication result database to transmit the passage history to the staff terminal 30. The staff terminal 30 may display the passage history), and
provides information related to the generated token issuance history (Otani et al.: [0148] Alternatively, the staff terminal 30 may display a button or the like for obtaining detailed information about the person who is falsely authenticated (see FIG. 13). In a case where the staff or the like requests presentation of detailed information (in a case where the detailed information button is pressed), the staff terminal 30 notifies the server device 20 of the request. In response to the notification, the verification information generation unit 405 of the server device searches the operation information database using the token ID as a key). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Berini et al. in view of Nakahira et al. in view of Singh et al. in view of Watanabe et al. and Maaroufi et al. to include the terminal names and token history as taught by Otani et al. in order to search the operation information database/history using the token ID as a key to verify authentication of users (Otani et al.: [0148])
As per claim 10, Berini et al. in view of Nakahira et al. in view of Singh et al. in view of Watanabe et al. and Otani et al. discloses the system according to claim 9. Berini et al. further discloses wherein the biometric information is a face image or a feature generated from the face image (Berini et al: [0030] the capture of face or fingerprint biometrics).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1) Genter, Katie, “Your Guide to Biometric Airline Boarding in the US”, April 23, 2019, thepointsguy.com, 11 pages discloses that aiming to streamline the boarding process, biometric boarding is being implemented by several major airlines for select international flights from the US by using facial recognition technology to match passengers' faces with images stored by Customs and Border Protection, thereby eliminating the need for boarding passes or passports at the gate.
2) Youd, Frankie, “Contactless airport boarding: biometric technology with SITA”, July 2, 2021, airport-technology.com, 8 pages discloses that due to the highly transmittable nature of Covid-19, the aviation industry has been implementing an increasing amount of low contact or contactless self-check in areas, booking and payment options; and technology developed by SITA named ‘SITA Smart Path’ allows the passenger to use their face as a boarding pass, minimizing the need for contact as the passenger journeys through the airport. SITA recently signed an agreement with NEC Corporation and Star Alliance which will allow passengers to use their biometric identity across participating airlines and airports.
3) Tsukue (JP 2022044629 A) discloses a management server, system, token issuance method and computer program where a system user who has completed the check-in procedure and wishes to carry out the boarding procedure by biometric authentication performs system registration using a check-in terminal.
/F.A.N/Examiner, Art Unit 3628
/SHANNON S CAMPBELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3628