DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-6 have been examined in this application. This communication is a Non Final Office Action on the on merits. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 4/1/2025 has been acknowledged by the Office.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: path information acquisition unit, weight setting unit, and output processing unit in claims 1, 4, and 5.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof, see processing unit in P [0016] and FIG. 2 for each of the path information acquisition unit, weight setting unit, and output processing unit
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the simulati" in regards to a plurality of simulation results for the path of the robot. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Up to this point in the claim there is no simulation result specified by a user, and the claim should likely read “a simulation result specified by the user”. In the interest of compact prosecution the claim will be interpreted as “a simulation result specified by the user”.
Claim 6 similarly recites “the simulation result re-specified by the user” and will be interpreted as “a simulation result re-specified by the user”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Machino et al., hereinafter Machino (Document ID: JP2000006067A).
Regarding claim 1, Machino teaches an adjustment device that adjusts an evaluation function for generating a path of a robot under a prescribed constraint condition (see at least P [0006]: “tool conditions, sensor conditions, range of motion conditions, and operability conditions”), the adjustment device comprising:
a path information acquisition unit (teaching data creation device E) that acquires path information that relates to the path of the robot and is specified by a user (see at least P [0040] which demonstrates acquiring existing teaching data, as well as P [0050] wherein the path information is specified by a user, as “existing teaching data created by an expert”); and
a weight setting unit (weight setting unit E8) that sets, based on the path information specified by the user, a weight of the evaluation function for generating the path of the robot (see at least P [0040]: “a weight setting unit that sets the weights of each evaluation function based on information regarding the weights of each evaluation function”, as well as P [0035] wherein “a new path to be taught to the manipulator, and in creating teaching data for the hand position and orientation for a new path, changing the weights of each evaluation function and calculating the optimal weight values by comparing them with the hand position and orientation for an existing path in the existing teaching data.”).
Regarding claim 2, Machino teaches the adjustment device according to claim 1, and Machino further teaches that
the path information acquisition unit acquires as the path information a plurality of user programs input by the user (see at least P [0075] wherein “The program consists of several procedure files.”, and the teaching data comes from experienced users), and
the weight setting unit sets the weight based on the plurality of user programs (see at least P [0084] which specifies that not all procedure files need to be used but that any combination of the them can be, and that the weight is set based on the plurality of programs accordingly).
Regarding claim 3, Machino teaches the adjustment device according to claim 2, and Machino further teaches that
the weight setting unit sets the weight common to all of the plurality of user programs so as to prevent difference between the paths of the robot based on the plurality of user programs from increasing (see at least P [0082] wherein the weight is set common to “minimize the average error” across each procedure file, as well as P [0032] which links the errors to the paths and postures of the robot end effector).
Regarding claim 4, Machino teaches the adjustment device according to claim 1, and Machino further teaches that
further comprising an output processing unit that outputs information that relates to the weight and is set by the weight setting unit (see at least P [0072]-[0074] wherein the weight values are output via recording and programming media).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Machino in view of Matsumoto (Document ID: JP2014074994A).
Regarding claim 5, Machino teaches the adjustment device according to claim 1, but Machino does not explicitly teach that
further comprising an output processing unit that outputs a plurality of simulation results for the path of the robot based on a plurality of evaluation functions different in setting of the weight, wherein
the path information acquisition unit acquires, as the path information, the simulation result specified by the user out of the plurality of output simulation results, and
the weight setting unit newly sets a weight based on the weight of the evaluation function corresponding to the simulation result specified by the user.
Instead, Matsumoto, whose invention pertains to using computer simulation for parameter optimization, teaches in at least P [0077] the ability to search “for the optimal solution using genetic algorithms based on evaluation data obtained by repeatedly running computer simulations.” In P [0076] the user specifically ranks the evaluation data, and the system “calculates weight sets using constraints based on the changed rankings, thus obtaining weight sets that reflect the user's intentions”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the parameter optimization for a robotic path planning system of Machino with the simulation based multi-objective optimization of Matsumoto in order to execute a design choice to use known simulation methods to reduce the complexity of calculations when aiming to achieve the "efficient determination of evaluation functions for data that includes values from multiple evaluation metrics", as in P [0011] of Matsumoto.
Regarding claim 6, modified Machino teaches the adjustment device according to claim 5, but Machino further does not explicitly teach that
the output processing unit outputs a simulation result of the weight newly set by the weight setting unit, and
the weight setting unit newly sets a weight based on the weight of the evaluation function corresponding to the simulation result re-specified by the user.
Instead, Matsumoto teaches in P [0103]-[0104] that after a user modifies the ranking of the evaluation data “the symbolic processing unit 108 determines, through symbolic processing, whether or not a set of weights exists that fits the constraint equation.” Then in P [0105] the weight is newly set and the results are presented to the user in P [0106] accordingly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the parameter optimization for a robotic path planning system of Machino with the simulation based multi-objective optimization and user input of Matsumoto in order to execute a design choice to use known simulation methods to reduce the complexity of calculations when aiming to achieve the "efficient determination of evaluation functions for data that includes values from multiple evaluation metrics", as in P [0011] of Matsumoto.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Document ID: US 20200278647 A1
Invention pertains to controlling a robotic arm in accordance with an operation parameter.
Document ID: US 20260183935 A1
Invention pertains to presenting an operation score to a user based on a specific task conducted by a robot.
Document ID: US 20190314989 A1
Invention pertains to generating a robot motion path based on motion constraint conditions and a machine learning process for controlling the motion.
Document ID: US 20220101213 A1
Invention pertains to generating and comparing a set of robot motion parameter sets.
Document ID: US 20130338814 A1
Invention pertains to user based robot control and feedback.
Document ID: US 12697723 B2
Invention pertains to using partial paths to optimize the movement of an industrial robot.
Document ID: US 20220032461 A1
Invention pertains to a method of generating robot trajectories for a robot device.
/D.E./Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656