Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/26/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 14-27, and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “suitable” in claims 7, 14, 18, 20, and 29 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “suitable” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Here, suitable as applied to claims 7 and 29 related to a suitable transmission mechanism provides for certain examples in the specification paragraph [0058] but fails to disclose with certainty what limits would be allowed by “suitable transmission mechanisms” or what would be included or excluded by the group making it indefinite. Additionally “suitable” as applied to claims 14, 18, and 20 fail to disclose what suitable pressure would include, for example if suitable vacuum pressure is enough to barely hold the fabric to the roller or if it must be strong enough to prevent any movement on the roller. The specification does not provide any clarification. Appropriate correction is required.
All dependent claims of these claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Held (US Pre-Granted Publication No. US 2024/0083696 A1 hereinafter “Held”).
Regarding claim 35 Held discloses:
A fabric handling manipulator system for handling a subject fabric part, comprising: a first robot manipulator; (Held [0102-0104] wherein the system includes a robot manipulator to roll up fabrics) a first rolling-up end-effector positioned by the first robot manipulator, the first rolling-up end-effector configured and adapted to grasp a first end of the subject fabric part with a first roller having a first suction port; (Held [0127] wherein the robot grasps the fabric with the suction roller) a first force sensor configured and adapted to sense a force applied to the first rolling-up end-effector; (Held [0112-014] wherein the force on the roller end effector is determined) a vision sensor system configured and adapted to sense a fabric part pose of the subject fabric part and a first pose of the first rolling-up end-effector; (Held [0142] wherein the system includes a camera to determine the fabric position and the roller operation to wind up the fabric) and a controller configured and adapted to simultaneously control the fabric part pose and a tension in the fabric part via the first robot manipulator according to inputs from the vision sensor system and the first force sensor. (Held [0115] [0128] wherein the robot roller is capable of holding the fabric rolled up based on a spring clamp force with additional suction forces to adhere the fabric to the roll i.e. maintaining a tension on the fabric).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-14, 28, and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Held in view of Kosuge et al. (US Pre-Granted Publication No. US 2026/0201619 A1 hereinafter “Kosuge”).
Regarding claim 1 Held discloses:
A fabric handling manipulator system for handling a subject fabric part, comprising: a first robot manipulator; (Held [0102-0104] wherein the system includes a robot manipulator to roll up fabrics) a second robot manipulator; (Held [0104] wherein the system has a second arm)
a first rolling-up end-effector positioned by the first robot manipulator, the first rolling-up end-effector configured and adapted to grasp a first end of the subject fabric part with a roller having a suction port; (Held [0127] wherein the robots grasps the fabric with the suction roller) a second rolling-up end-effector positioned by the second robot manipulator, (Held [0127] wherein the robot grasps the fabric with the suction roller) the second rolling-up end-effector configured and adapted to … the subject fabric part with a roller having a suction port; (Held [0127] wherein the robot grasps the fabric with the suction roller) a first force sensor configured and adapted to sense a force applied to the first rolling-up end- effector; (Held [0112-014] wherein the force on the roller end effector is determined) a second force sensor configured and adapted to sense a force applied to the second rolling- up end-effector; (Held [0112-014] wherein the force on the roller end effector is determined) and a vision sensor system configured and adapted to sense a fabric part pose of the subject fabric part, a first pose of the first rolling-up end-effector, and a second pose of the second rolling- up end-effector. (Held [0142] wherein the system includes a camera to determine the fabric position and the roller operation to wind up the fabric).
Held does not appear to explicitly disclose:
the second rolling-up end-effector configured and adapted to grasp a second end of the subject fabric part with a roller having a suction port;
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls Kosuge discloses:
“the second rolling-up end-effector configured and adapted to grasp a second end of the subject fabric part with a roller having a suction port;” (Kosuge [0024] wherein the robot manipulators includes two vacuum heads to grab the workpiece)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the second arm manipulating the workpiece of Kosuge with the system of Held with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow the system to more effectively coordinate movement of the fabric more similar to how a human would be able to (Kosuge [0010]).
Regarding claim 2 Held in view of Kosuge discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 and Held further discloses:
The fabric handling manipulator system of claim 1, comprising a controller configured and adapted to simultaneously control the fabric part pose and a tension in the fabric part. (Held [0115] [0128] wherein the robot roller is capable of holding the fabric rolled up based on a spring clamp force with additional suction forces to adhere the fabric to the roll i.e. maintaining a tension on the fabric).
Regarding claim 3 Held in view of Kosuge disclose all of the limitations of claim 2 and Held further discloses:
The fabric handling manipulator system of claim 2, wherein the control is driven via the first robot manipulator and the second robot manipulator, (Held [0124] [0142] wherein the robot system is operated by a controller and the vision sensor or camera) according to inputs from the vision sensor system and one or both of the first force sensor and the second force sensor. (Held [0142] wherein the system includes a camera to determine the fabric position and the roller operation to wind up the fabric).
Regarding claim 4 Held in view of Kosuge disclose all of the limitations of claim 1 and Held further discloses:
The fabric handling manipulator system of claim 1 comprising: a … robot manipulator; (Held [0102-0104] wherein the system includes a robot manipulator to roll up fabrics) a … rolling-up end-effector positioned by the … robot manipulator, (Held [0127] wherein the robots grasps the fabric with the suction roller) the … rolling-up end-effector configured and adapted to grasp a … end of the subject fabric part with a roller having a suction port; (Held [0127] wherein the robot grasps the fabric with the suction roller) and a … force sensor configured and adapted to sense a force applied to the … rolling-up end- effector. (Held [0112-014] wherein the force on the roller end effector is determined).
While Held discloses the ability to have more multiple robotic manipulators (see Held [0099]) Held does not appear to explicitly disclose a third manipulator. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to further duplicate the manipulator to form a third manipulator with identical form of the first and second manipulator, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 5 Held in view of Kosuge disclose all of the limitations of claim 4 and Held further discloses:
The fabric handling manipulator system of claim 4, wherein the control is driven via the first robot manipulator, the second robot manipulator, (Held [0124] [0142] wherein the robot system is operated by a controller and the vision sensor or camera) and the … robot manipulator, according to inputs from the vision sensor system (Held [0124] [0142] wherein the robot system is operated by a controller and the vision sensor or camera) and two or more of the first force sensor, the second force sensor, and the … force sensor. (Held add more [0112-014] wherein the force on the roller end effector is determined).
While Held discloses the ability to have more multiple robotic manipulators (see Held [0099]) Held does not appear to explicitly disclose a third manipulator. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to further duplicate the manipulator to form a third manipulator with identical form of the first and second manipulator, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 9 Held in view of Kosuge discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 and Held further discloses:
The fabric handling manipulator system of claim 1, wherein at least the first rolling-up end-effector comprises: a shaft part affixed to a main body of the end-effector; (Held Fig. 3) a hollow tubular structure within the shaft part; (Held [0123] wherein the roller is a hollow tube with openings to apply suction) the roller part mounted on the shaft through bearings so that it can rotate freely; (Held [0142] wherein the roller is allowed to rotate to wrap fabrics) the suction port connecting an outer surface of the outer roller part to the hollow tubular structure within the shaft part; and (Held [0124] wherein the system includes hoses that supply vacuum pressure to the roller) a vacuum source connected to one end of the shaft; (Held [0124] wherein the robot roller is subject to negative vacuum pressure through the winding device and hose lines) such that the rolling-up end-effector enables a combination of suction and rolling-up operations for the manipulation of fabrics. (Held [0127] [0142] wherein the robot grasps the fabric with the suction roller).
Regarding claim 10 Held in view of Kosuge disclose all of the limitations of claim 9 and Held further discloses:
The fabric handling manipulator system of claim 9, wherein at least the first rolling-up end-effector comprises: a planar end-effector mounting surface; (Held Fig. 3 , Fig. 4 [0142] wherein the roller is mounted perpendicular to a planar face of the robotic arm) a multiplicity of mounting holes in the end-effector mounting surface, the mounting holes arranged around a primary axis of rotation running through the end-effector and substantially perpendicular to the planar end-effector mounting surface; (Held [0124] wherein the roller is mounted perpendicular to the end effector mounting surface) and a secondary axis of rotation, the roller and suction port rotatably mounted in alignment with the secondary axis; (Held [0124] wherein the hose and roller axis are rotatably mounted to the arm) wherein the primary axis of rotation crosses through and is substantially perpendicular to the secondary axis of rotation, such that the roller when oriented substantially parallel to a fabric working surface remains substantially parallel to the fabric working surface throughout a specified rotation of the end-effector around the primary axis. (Held [0105] Fig. 2 Fig. 1 wherein the manipulator includes a translatory or rotary joint that allows the roller to rotate around a secondary axis while remaining parallel with the worksurface to manipulate the workpiece fabrics).
Regarding claim 11 Held in view of Kosuge discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 and Held further discloses:
The fabric handling manipulator system of claim 1, wherein the first rolling-up end-effector and/or the second rolling-up end-effector further comprises: an air-blowing unit configured to blow air in a direction. (Held [0123-0124] wherein the system supplies positive or blowing pressure through the roller openings).
Regarding claim 12 Held in view of Kosuge discloses all of the limitations of claim 11 and Held further discloses:
The fabric handling manipulator system of claim 11, wherein the air-blowing unit comprises an air-blowing roller, on the circumference of the air-blowing roller, at least one opening for blowing the air is formed. (Held [0123-0124] wherein the system supplies positive or blowing pressure through the roller openings, where the roller includes multiple openings).
Regarding claim 13 Held in view of Kosuge discloses all of the limitations of claim 12 and Held further discloses:
The fabric handling manipulator system of claim 12, wherein the air-blowing roller is rotatable to change the direction in which the air is blown. (Held [0123-0125] wherein the system can change between positive and negative vacuum pressure i.e. blowing or suction).
Regarding claim 14 Held in view of Kosuge discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 and Held further discloses:
A method for handling a subject fabric part, comprising: providing the subject fabric part; providing a fabric handling manipulator system according to claim 1; moving, by the first manipulator, the first end-effector such that the suction port comes into contact with a first end of the subject fabric part; (Held [0127] wherein the robot grasps the fabric with the suction roller)
applying a suitable negative pressure or vacuum to the vacuum port, to hold the contacted area of the subject fabric part; (Held [0123-0124] wherein the fabric is held to the roller with negative vacuum pressure) rotating the roller while translationally moving the end-effector in a direction and with a controlled displacement that creates a rolled-up portion of the subject fabric part around the roller without perturbating the rest of the subject fabric part. (Held [0127] wherein the roller is rotated to wrap the fabric around the roller body).
Regarding claim 28 Held discloses:
A fabric handling manipulator system for handling a subject fabric part, comprising: a first robot manipulator; (Held [0102-0104] wherein the system includes a robot manipulator to roll up fabrics) a second robot manipulator; (Held [0104] wherein the system has a second arm) a first rolling-up end-effector positioned by the first robot manipulator, the first rolling-up end-effector configured and adapted to grasp a first end of the subject fabric part with a first roller having a first suction port; (Held [0127] wherein the robots grasps the fabric with the suction roller) a second rolling-up end-effector positioned by the second robot manipulator, (Held [0127] wherein the robot grasps the fabric with the suction roller) the second rolling-up end-effector configured and adapted to grasp a … end of the subject fabric part with a second roller having a second suction port; (Held [0127] wherein the robot grasps the fabric with the suction roller) a first force sensor configured and adapted to sense a force applied to the first rolling-up end- effector; (Held [0112-014] wherein the force on the roller end effector is determined) a second force sensor configured and adapted to sense a force applied to the second rolling- up end-effector; (Held [0112-014] wherein the force on the roller end effector is determined) a vision sensor system configured and adapted to sense a fabric part pose of the subject fabric part, a first pose of the first rolling-up end-effector, and a second pose of the second rolling-up end- effector; (Held [0142] wherein the system includes a camera to determine the fabric position and the roller operation to wind up the fabric) and a controller configured and adapted to simultaneously control the fabric part pose and a tension in the fabric part via the first robot manipulator and the second robot manipulator, (Held [0115] [0128] wherein the robot roller is capable of holding the fabric rolled up based on a spring clamp force with additional suction forces to adhere the fabric to the roll i.e. maintaining a tension on the fabric) according to inputs from the vision sensor system and one or both of the first force sensor and the second force sensor. (Held [0142] wherein the system includes a camera to determine the fabric position and the roller operation to wind up the fabric)
Held does not appear to explicitly disclose:
the second rolling-up end-effector configured and adapted to grasp a second end of the subject fabric part with a roller having a suction port;
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls Kosuge discloses:
“the second rolling-up end-effector configured and adapted to grasp a second end of the subject fabric part with a roller having a suction port;” (Kosuge [0024] wherein the robot manipulators includes two vacuum heads to grab the workpiece)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the second arm manipulating the workpiece of Kosuge with the system of Held with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow the system to more effectively coordinate movement of the fabric more similar to how a human would be able to (Kosuge [0010]).
Regarding claim 32 Held in view of Kosuge discloses all of the limitations of claim 28:
The fabric handling manipulator system of claim 28, wherein the first rolling-up end-effector and/or the second rolling-up end-effector further comprises: an air-blowing unit configured to blow air in a direction. (Held [0123-0124] wherein the system supplies positive or blowing pressure through the roller openings).
Regarding claim 33 Held in view of Kosuge discloses all of the limitations of claim 32 and Held further discloses:
The fabric handling manipulator system of claim 32, wherein the air-blowing unit comprises an air-blowing roller, on the circumference of the air-blowing roller, at least one opening for blowing the air is formed. (Held [0123-0124] wherein the system supplies positive or blowing pressure through the roller openings, where the roller includes multiple openings).
Claims 6-8, 15, 29-31, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Held and Kosuge as applied to claims 1 and 28 above, and further in view of Black et al. (US Pre-Granted Publication No. US 2019/0118401 A1 hereinafter “Black”).
Regarding claim 6 Held in view of Kosuge discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 but Held does not appear to disclose:
… wherein each of the first rolling-up end-effector and the second rolling-up end-effector, respectively, comprising a motor installed on the rolling-up end-effector and configured such that the motor torque can be transmitted through a transmission mechanism to control a rotation of the roller.
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls Black discloses:
“wherein each of the first rolling-up end-effector and the second rolling-up end-effector, respectively, comprising a motor installed on the rolling-up end-effector and configured such that the motor torque can be transmitted through a transmission mechanism to control a rotation of the roller.” (Black [0036] wherein the roller is powered by a motor to wrap the sheet).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the roller motor of Black with the system of Held with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow the roller to quickly wrap the fabric around the roller with a powered roller, instead of through having to roll the roller over the entire length of the fabric (Black [0036] [0041-0042] [0047]).
Regarding claim 7 Held in view of Kosuge discloses all of the limitations of claim 4 but Held does not appear to further disclose:
… wherein each of the first rolling-up end-effector, the second rolling-up end-effector, and the third rolling-up end-effector, respectively, comprising a motor installed on the rolling-up end-effector and configured such that motor torque can be transmitted through a suitable transmission mechanism to control a rotation of the roller.
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls, Black discloses:
“wherein each of the first rolling-up end-effector, the second rolling-up end-effector, and the third rolling-up end-effector, respectively, comprising a motor installed on the rolling-up end-effector and configured such that motor torque can be transmitted through a suitable transmission mechanism to control a rotation of the roller.” (Black [0036] wherein the roller is powered by a motor to wrap the sheet).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the roller motor of Black with the system of Held with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow the roller to quickly wrap the fabric around the roller with a powered roller, instead of through having to roll the roller over the entire length of the fabric (Black [0036] [0041-0042] [0047]).
Regarding claim 8 Held in view of Kosuge and Black disclose all of the limitation of claim 6 and Held further discloses:
The fabric handling manipulator system of claim 6 further comprising a worktable configured and adapted to support the subject fabric part (Held [0089] wherein the fabric is held on a conveyor i.e. table) and a frame configured and adapted to support the vision system and at least two robot manipulators above the worktable. (Held [0044] [0091] wherein the system includes a frame that may be used to support the manipulators and a camera).
Examiner interprets the “configured and adapted to” and intended use and functional language, meaning that the frame need not actually support a vision system if it were capable of doing so.
Regarding claim 15 Held in view of Kosuge discloses all of the limitations of claim 14 and Held further discloses:
The method of claim 14, comprising: further rotating the roller while translationally moving the end-effector in a direction and with a controlled displacement that increases the rolled-up portion of the subject fabric part around the roller sufficient to roll up all or substantially all of the subject fabric part, to create a rolled-up fabric; (Held [0127] [0132] wherein the fabric is rolled up around the roller until fully wrapped) lifting, by motion of the end-effector, the rolled-up fabric; (Held [0132] wherein when finished wrapping, the fabric and effector are lifted and transported away to deposit the wrapped fabric) moving, by the manipulator, the end-effector to a target end-effector position; placing, by the end-effector, the rolled-up fabric at a target fabric position; (Held [0132] wherein when finished wrapping, the fabric and effector are lifted and transported away to deposit the wrapped fabric) …
Held does not appear to disclose:
… and counter-rotating the roller while translationally moving the end-effector in a direction and with a controlled displacement that decreases the rolled-up portion of the subject fabric part around the roller sufficient to spread a portion of the rolled-up fabric, to create a placed fabric.
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls Black discloses:
“and counter-rotating the roller while translationally moving the end-effector in a direction and with a controlled displacement that decreases the rolled-up portion of the subject fabric part around the roller sufficient to spread a portion of the rolled-up fabric, to create a placed fabric.” (Black [0047] wherein the roller when loaded is unrolled to place a fabric on the surface of the workstation).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the roller motor of Black with the system of Held with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow the roller to quickly wrap the fabric around the roller with a powered roller, instead of through having to roll the roller over the entire length of the fabric (Black [0036] [0041-0042] [0047]).
Regarding claim 29 Held in view of Kosuge disclose all of the limitations of claim 28 and Held further discloses:
The fabric handling manipulator system of claim 28, … and the system comprising a worktable configured and adapted to support the subject fabric part (Held [0089] wherein the fabric is held on a conveyor i.e. table) and a frame configured and adapted to support the vision system and at least two robot manipulators above the worktable. (Held [0044] [0091] wherein the system includes a frame that may be used to support the manipulators and a camera).
Examiner interprets the “configured and adapted to” and intended use and functional language, meaning that the frame need not actually support a vision system if it were capable of doing so.
Held does not appear to explicitly disclose:
… each of the first rolling- up end-effector and the second rolling-up end-effector, respectively, comprising a motor installed on the rolling-up end-effector and configured such that the motor torque can be transmitted through a suitable transmission mechanism to control a rotation of the roller;
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls Black discloses:
“each of the first rolling- up end-effector and the second rolling-up end-effector, respectively, comprising a motor installed on the rolling-up end-effector and configured such that the motor torque can be transmitted through a suitable transmission mechanism to control a rotation of the roller;” (Black [0036] wherein the roller is powered by a motor to wrap the sheet).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the roller motor of Black with the system of Held with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow the roller to quickly wrap the fabric around the roller with a powered roller, instead of through having to roll the roller over the entire length of the fabric (Black [0036] [0041-0042] [0047]).
Regarding claim 30 Held in view of Kosuge and Black disclose all of the limitations of claim 29 and Held further discloses:
The fabric handling manipulator system of claim 29, wherein at least the first rolling-up end-effector comprises: a shaft part affixed to a main body of the end-effector; (Held Fig. 3) a hollow tubular structure within the shaft part; (Held [0123] wherein the roller is a hollow tube with openings to apply suction) the roller part mounted on the shaft through bearings so that it can rotate freely; (Held [0142] wherein the roller is allowed to rotate to wrap fabrics) the suction port connecting an outer surface of the outer roller part to the hollow tubular structure within the shaft part; (Held [0124] wherein the system includes hoses that supply vacuum pressure to the roller) and a vacuum source connected to one end of the shaft; (Held [0124] wherein the robot roller is subject to negative vacuum pressure through the winding device and hose lines) such that the rolling-up end-effector enables a combination of suction and rolling-up operations for the manipulation of fabrics. (Held [0127] [0142] wherein the robot grasps the fabric with the suction roller).
Regarding claim 31 Held in view of Kosuge and Black disclose all of the limitations of claim 30 and Held further discloses:
The fabric handling manipulator system of claim 30, wherein at least the first rolling-up end-effector comprises: a planar end-effector mounting surface; (Held Fig. 3 , Fig. 4 [0142] wherein the roller is mounted perpendicular to a planar face of the robotic arm) a multiplicity of mounting holes in the end-effector mounting surface, the mounting holes arranged around a primary axis of rotation running through the end-effector and perpendicular to the planar end-effector mounting surface; (Held [0124] wherein the roller is mounted perpendicular to the end effector mounting surface) and a secondary axis of rotation, the roller and suction port rotatably mounted in alignment with the secondary axis; (Held [0124] wherein the hose and roller axis are rotatably mounted to the arm) wherein the primary axis of rotation crosses through and is substantially perpendicular to the secondary axis of rotation, such that the roller when oriented substantially parallel to a fabric working surface remains substantially parallel to the fabric working surface throughout a specified rotation of the end-effector around the primary axis. (Held [0105] Fig. 2 Fig. 1 wherein the manipulator includes a translatory or rotary joint that allows the roller to rotate around a secondary axis while remaining parallel with the worksurface to manipulate the workpiece fabrics).
Regarding claim 34 Held in view of Kosuge and Black disclose all of the limitations of claim 33 and Held further discloses:
The fabric handling manipulator system of claim 33, … installed on the end-effector and configured such that the motor torque can be transmitted through a transmission mechanism to change the direction in which the air is blown. (Held [0123-0125] wherein the system can change between positive and negative vacuum pressure i.e. blowing or suction).
Held does not appear to disclose:
wherein the air-blowing roller is rotatable by a motor … motor torque
However, in the same field of endeavor of robotic controls Black discloses:
“wherein the air-blowing roller is rotatable by a motor … motor torque” (Black [0036] wherein the roller is powered by a motor to wrap the sheet)
“It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the roller motor of Black with the system of Held with a reasonable expectation of success because one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow the roller to quickly wrap the fabric around the roller with a powered roller, instead of through having to roll the roller over the entire length of the fabric (Black [0036] [0041-0042] [0047]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Should the outstanding rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection be overcome, the following claims would be allowable, if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Prior art fails to disclose or render obvious claims 16-27 disclosing a system for controlling a fabric robot
Regarding claims 16-27 the relevant art Held in view of Kosuge further in view of Black discloses a system with multiple arms to manipulate a fabric (Held [0104]) with vacuum and vision systems (Held [0142] [0123-0124]) along with force sensors to determine load on the roller effector (Held [0112-0114]) but fails to disclose rolling up a piece of fabric with another roller without impacting the rest of the fabric rolled on the first roller, or identifying undulations based on twists, folds, or wrinkles and correcting based on controlling effector displacement or through blowing air. Specifically, the relevant art fails to disclose “A method for handling a subject fabric part, comprising: providing the subject fabric part; providing a fabric handling manipulator system, the fabric handling manipulator system comprising: a first robot manipulator; a second robot manipulator; a first rolling-up end-effector positioned by the first robot manipulator, the first rolling-up end-effector configured and adapted to grasp a first end of the subject fabric part with a first roller having a first suction port; a second rolling-up end-effector positioned by the second robot manipulator, the second rolling-up end-effector configured and adapted to grasp a second end of the subject fabric part with a second roller having a second suction port; a first force sensor configured and adapted to sense a force applied to the first rolling-up end- effector; a second force sensor configured and adapted to sense a force applied to the second rolling- up end-effector; a vision sensor system configured and adapted to sense a fabric part pose of the subject fabric part, a first pose of the first rolling-up end-effector, and a second pose of the second rolling-up end- effector; and a controller configured and adapted to simultaneously control the fabric part pose and a tension in the fabric part via the first robot manipulator and the second robot manipulator, according to inputs from the vision sensor system and one or both of the first force sensor and the second force sensor; moving, by the first manipulator, the first end-effector such that the first suction port comes into contact with the first end of the subject fabric part; applying a negative pressure or vacuum to the first suction port, to hold the first end of the subject fabric part; rotating the first roller while translationally moving the first end-effector in a direction and with a controlled displacement that creates a first rolled-up portion of the subject fabric part around the first roller without perturbating the rest of the subject fabric part; moving, by the second manipulator, the second end-effector such that the second suction port comes into contact with the second end of the subject fabric part; applying a suitable negative pressure or vacuum to the second suction port, to hold the second end of the subject fabric part; and rotating the … roller while translationally moving the … end-effector in a direction and with a controlled displacement that creates a … rolled-up portion of the subject fabric part around the second roller without perturbating the rest of the subject fabric part.” or “identifying, by the vision sensor system, a surface undulation caused by a twist, fold, or wrinkle in the subject fabric part; and rotating or counter-rotating the roller or translationally moving the end-effector, or both, in a direction and with a controlled displacement that reduces or eliminates the surface undulation caused by the twist, fold, or wrinkle in the subject fabric part” or “identifying, by monitoring a variation in force from the first force sensor, a surface undulation caused by the twist, fold, or wrinkle in the subject fabric part; and rotating or counter-rotating the roller or translationally moving the end-effector, or both, in a direction and with a controlled displacement that reduces the variation in force from the first force sensor and reduces or eliminates the surface undulation caused by the twist, fold, or wrinkle in the subject fabric part” or “blowing air in a direction to induce vibratory motions of the fabric before applying a suitable negative pressure or vacuum to the vacuum port, to hold the contacted area of the subject fabric part” .
Claims 2-20 are also allowed due to their dependence on claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 7,601,237 B2 discloses a fabric application system to items using vacuum ports and suction to hold and manipulate the item
US 2026/0183957 A1 discloses a fabric roll dual robot manipulator where both robots operate the same piece of media
US 2025/0290247 A1 discloses a fabric folding robotic system
US 2021/0260766 A1 discloses a dual arm robot that uses both manipulators to manipulate deformable objects
US 2020/0149298 A1 discloses a robotic roller system to apply and remove material on a workspace
KR 102916939 discloses a dual arm suction robot to manipulate various cargo such as bags or pouches
EP 1992456 A2 discloses a robotic material manipulator with a rotating axis and sections to apply suction
/KYLE T JOHNSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3656