DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to correspondence received August 25, 2026.
Claims 1, 19, and 20 are amended. Claim 21 has been added. Claims 1-21 are pending and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s):
Claims 1, 19, and 20:
acquire engagement data from a user terminal in relation to a presentation of a first content for a first period;
confirm validity of the acquired engagement data;
store the acquired engagement data for which validity is confirmed to a corresponding engagement data [data store]; and
present second content for a second period,
wherein the second content is determined based on one or more pieces of the acquired engagement data stored in the corresponding engagement data [data store] to one or more behaviors indicated by the engagement data acquired during the presentation of the first content for the first period and wherein each behavior included in the engagement data is determined based on an engagement data definition list stored in association with the first content.
Claims 1, 19, and 20 recite an abstract idea that is a mental process. Mentally one could acquire engagement data from a user terminal by reading numbers or words about the presentation of a first content. Then one could confirm validity of that data by comparing it to a standard which would determine its validity. Then one could store the data in a data store by writing it down on paper. Then one could mentally perform an action such as asking for something to be done. Finally, the second content can be determined based on data acquired and stored in a data store to behaviors indicated in presentation of first content for the first period and wherein behaviors are determined in a definition list, as these steps could be done on paper. Therefore the above steps are an abstract idea that is a mental process.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements alone and in combination are computer steps and elements that are instructions to apply an abstract idea (the one above) to a computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). The additional elements are:
Claim 1:
An information processing apparatus comprising:
circuitry configured to
database
by the user terminal
initiate presentation by the user terminal
database for the user terminal
Claim 19:
Database
initiating presentation by the user terminal.
database for the user terminal
Claim 20:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium having embodied thereon a program, which when executed by a computer causes the computer to function as execute an information processing method,
Database
initiating presentation by the user terminal.
database for the user terminal
Database is generic relational storage that is being used in its ordinary capacity. Presenting on a display similar to Ultramercial v Hulu. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
In combination the additional elements amount to no more than a generic computer (circuitry, information processing device, non-transitory computer readable medium), a database which is generic storage found on any computer, and playing content on a computer. As a generic computing device would have these elements and, in their ordinary capacity they would perform their normal steps together, the combination of elements amounts to no more than instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer or other machinery (here, computer related steps). Therefore, the additional elements are not a practical application of an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because for the reasoning detailed above in the practical application section, there is also not significantly more claimed either alone or in combination. Therefore, the additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 2 recites displaying on a display device, which is an instruction to apply the abstract idea to a computer.
Claim 3 recites that the content presented is a 3D 2D moving image or audio data and this is an apply it step merely limiting it to kinds of information presented.
Claim 4 recites blocking content from invalid engagement data which is a mental process step of decisionmaking.
Claim 5 recites further mental process steps of transmitting information that prevents content from being decrypted which under a broadest reasonable interpretation could be any information that does not include the key that would decrypt something.
Claim 6 recites further abstract idea description that the content is the same.
Claim 7 recites like claim 6 but they are different and not the same.
Claim 8 recites further abstract idea description that the content is determined based on engagement data, so the mental process is observing the engagement data the determining the content therefrom.
Claims 9-10 recite further abstract idea limitations that decisions are made based on an input to edit content, the mental process being observing the edit input decision, and then the judgment being the decision. Real time is simply something done without visible processing time, and as one can make a mental decision in real time, this is also a part of the abstract idea.
Claim 11 recites that a step is performed automatically which is an apply it step for a computer as automatic steps are like programmed steps.
Claim 12 recites that the second content being as a result of analysis is a further mental process step where analyzing is a mental step. That it comes from a server is an apply it step.
Claim 13 recites presenting the content in the metaverse which is an apply it step where the presentation happens in the “metaverse.”
Claims 14-17 recite mental process steps of acquiring engagement data with respect to the metaverse.
Claim 18 recites presentation steps which are apply it steps, after further mental process steps which are decisionmaking steps similar to steps recited in the independent claims.
Claim 21 recites a further determination step which apart from the database which was analyzed above as an apply it element, these steps are further definitions of the abstract idea.
Therefore, claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Datta et al., US PGPUB 20070079331 A1 (“Datta”) in view of Bell et al., US PGPUB 20140164102 A1 (“Bell”).
Per claims 1, 19, and 20, which are similar in scope, Datta teaches An information processing apparatus comprising: circuitry configured to acquire engagement data from a user terminal in relation to a presentation of a first content for a first period in par 060: “The tracking software may directly monitor the angle and position of various advertising asserts with respect to changing camera perspectives presented to the user who controls the camera perspective utilizing a game controller. Indirect impression tracking may occur through a server or a session master client in a peer-to-peer network participating, facilitating, arbitrating or interrogating functions associated with the campaign program (e.g., extraction of data necessary to yield the determination of an ad impression). Hence, ad impression determinations may occur at, for example, ad server 130 or advertiser 160 in response to information generated or signals sent from the end-user client device 170.”
See then par 062: “For example, an advertisement located in a virtual kiosk in a virtual shopping center might be viewed by 1,000 gamers over the course of an afternoon. It could be said that the particular advertisement enjoyed 1,000 impressions as each gamer walked their gaming character past the kiosk and viewed the goods or services advertised therein. Impressions may also be calculated through a time threshold index. For example, an impression may be earned, triggered, counted or computed after a user has been exposed to the advertisement for a particular period of time. In this example, an impression may occur after 30 seconds of exposure by the user to an advertisement.” The camera angles and impressions teach acquiring engagement data from a user terminal; the threshold taught in par 062 teaches a first period.
Datta then teaches confirm validity of the acquired engagement data; in par 065: “Similar or identical advertisement state information may be provided to content author 150.sub.1 . . . 150.sub.N. This notification is made so that the advertiser 160.sub.1 . . . 160.sub.N may be properly invoiced by the contents author 150.sub.1 . . . 150.sub.N in accordance with any number of payment plans as are discussed herein. The advertisement server 130 may further provide this information to payment processing center 180 to allow for automatic billing and payment in step 285.” Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, as the advertisement state information being invoiced is a confirmation of its validity, as it is then being automatically billed and paid out. State information includes impressions as taught in par 058: “The state of the advertisement, such as the number of distributions or impressions made, may be provided to the advertisement server 130 and, if necessary or desired, to the advertiser 160.sub.1 . . . 160.sub.N in advertisement status notification step 280 so that certain determinations made be made, for example, the success of an ad campaign with regard to the number of impressions made.”
Datta then teaches store the acquired engagement data for which validity is confirmed to a corresponding engagement data database in par 042: “Advertising database is a storage mechanism for advertising content such as the aforementioned video and audio content. While advertising images are the most prevalent type of advertising content, advertising content may further comprise element types such as programs, objects, state data, control data, textures, bitmap images, compressed images, sequencing data, authentication data, public key and private key. Advertising database 140 may be integrated with advertising server 130”
State information includes impressions as taught in par 058: “The state of the advertisement, such as the number of distributions or impressions made, may be provided to the advertisement server 130 and, if necessary or desired, to the advertiser 160.sub.1 . . . 160.sub.N in advertisement status notification step 280 so that certain determinations made be made, for example, the success of an ad campaign with regard to the number of impressions made.”
Datta then teaches initiate presentation of a second content by the user terminal for a second period in par 077: “Similarly, audio may be tagged for advertising purposes. For example, if a user plays a video game with a radio (e.g., driving an automobile), the game designed can create different channels whereby actual music from actual artists is played interspersed with various advertisement that one might hear over the radio. Similarly, the actual music a user listens to may be Top 40 hits or other popular music rather than a one-time generated, static soundtrack. In that way, the user may play the game today or five years from now and be able to listen to not only relevant advertisement but relevant music that is current and popular the day the user plays the game. Similar attributes may be reserved for providing real-time television programs and the like (e.g., short films, movie previews and so forth).”
See also par 055: “The physical media may have embodied thereon instruction for accessing the present in-game advertising system 100 as it pertains specifically to advertising content versus actual video game data. In additional embodiments of the present invention, the user may access a combination of advertising content and actual game data via the exemplary in-game system 100 (e.g., new advertising content and new game levels published after the initial release of the game on physical media).” Second time period is taught in par 049 as each advertisement has a time period: “Once the advertisers 160.sub.1 . . . 160.sub.N have been established, advertiser specified information such as advertiser name, time slot, and time period of an advertisement are provided to an appropriate content author 150.sub.1 . . . 150.sub.N from the advertisement server 130 in notification step 225. Notification may occur by traditional mail, electronic mail, listservs, SMS, instant messenger, chat or any other available communication medium.”
Datta does not teach wherein the second content is determined based on one or more pieces of the acquired engagement data stored in the corresponding engagement data database for the user terminal in relation to one or more behaviors indicated by the engagement data acquired during the presentation of the first content for the first period.
Bell et all teaches method for presenting advertising, digital content to a computer user. See abstract.
Bell teaches wherein the second content is determined based on one or more pieces of the acquired engagement data stored in the corresponding engagement data database for the user terminal in relation to one or more behaviors indicated by the engagement data acquired during the presentation of the first content for the first period, and wherein each behavior included in the engagement data is determined based on an engagement data definition list stored in association with the first content in par 094: “At step S4a, responsive to determining the engagement trigger, the engagement engine 116 retrieves all behavioural metrics recorded for that consumer from the tracking database 114. Depending on the desired implementation, the engagement engine 116 may additionally or alternatively retrieve behavioural metrics in aggregated form for other consumers who have the same or like demographic (e.g. age, gender, etc.). In a particular embodiment, the engagement engine 116 may limit the behavioural metrics to be retrieved to some desired period of time (e.g. within the last 3 months).” Then for second content determined see par 0101: “At step S9a the engagement engine 116 selects the highest ranking engagement objects for inclusion in the engagement journey. According to embodiments described herein, each engagement journey consists of one engagement offer (i.e. displayed by way of an asset) followed by a number of modules and advertisements which is determined based on the determined interfacing context and/or consumer attribute(s). For example, an interfacing context representative of a consumer accessing an e-commerce website on their mobile phone may include a lesser number of modules/advertisements than for a consumer who is reading an article on a desktop computer. It will be appreciated that any number of different module/asset/offer configuration rules may be implemented utilising the gathered engagement data and behavioural data, depending only on the desired implementation.” For using the engagement data from the database for the user terminal in relation to the presentation of the first content for the first period see par 095: “At step S5a, the engagement engine 116 passes the retrieved behavioural metrics as well as the contextually relevant engagement data gathered by the widget script 121 to the ranking engine 118. The ranking engine 118 in turn retrieves objects from the engagement object database 115 that match (i.e. are stored in association with) an interfacing context and/or consumer attribute(s) derived” That it is from the user terminal is taught in par 068 and Fig 3 Item 106, 107, 121: “One or more consumer computer devices (in this case being in the form of Internet-enabled smartphones 106 or other consumer digital device) communicate with the website via a client browser 107 resident thereon. The communication is made over a network in the form of a mobile broadband communications network 108. According to embodiments described herein, the website is optimised for a mobile browser.”
Bell teaches behaviors indicated by the engagement data acquired during the presentation of the first content for the first period and wherein each behavior included in the engagement data is determined based on an engagement data definition list stored in association with the first content Is taught in pars 070-082: “The widget script 121 is further operable to track behavioural metrics which are representative of a level/measure of engagement for the consumer during an engagement journey. According to one, exemplary illustrated embodiment, the behavioural metrics are tracked by API calls generated by the widget script 121 and include the following metrics relevant to each engagement offer 18, asset, advertisement and module (hereafter collectively referred to as "engagement objects") presented to the consumer during an engagement journey: [0071] asset impressions--a count for each asset which is incremented whenever the asset was displayed in the browser 107 [0072] asset clicks--a count for each asset which is incremented whenever the consumer clicks on (or otherwise selects) the asset; [0073] engagement offer take-ups--a count for each engagement offer which is incremented whenever the consumer accepts the engagement offer (e.g. selects a button agreeing to take up the offer); [0074] engagement offer skips/declines--a count for each engagement offer which is incremented whenever the consumer exits or continues on the engagement journey without taking up the engagement offer; [0075] module impressions--a count for each module which is incremented whenever the module is rendered by the widget script 121; [0076] module completions--a count for each module which is incremented whenever the consumer completes the module (e.g. by transitioning to another module or reaching an exit stage); [0077] advertisement impressions--a count for each advertisement which is incremented whenever an advertisement is rendered into a module by the widget script 121; [0078] advertisement take-ups--a count for each advertisement which is incremented whenever the consumer accepts an advertised offer; [0079] request further information--a count for each advertisement which is incremented whenever the consumer requests further information about the advertisement before taking up the offer or passing on the offer; [0080] advertisement skips--a count for each advertisement which is incremented every time a consumer does not take up an offer; [0081] advertisement declines--a count for each advertisement which is incremented each time a consumer actively declines an advertised offer (e.g. selects a reject button for the displayed advertised offer); [0082] advertisement shares--a count for each advertisement or engagement offer which is incremented each time a consumer shares the offer/advertisement with another person (e.g. through selection of a share icon which, once selected, is operable to send a URL link for a webpage displaying the offer/advertisement to the other person by way of a sharing or social media platform/service such as Twitter, Facebook, SMS or the like)” Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, the metrics tracked by API calls teaches a list because it is a group of objects each of which, when called, counts that specific object.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the content presentation and engagement teaching of Datta with the presentation of second content based on first engagement data during a first period teaching of Bell because Bell teaches in par 005 that: “While digital search and display-based advertising are currently regarded as the most effective way for presenting advertising to consumers of digital content, the actual consumer engagement levels are still very low (often resulting in less than 0.1% of consumers actively following up on the advertisement).” This problem, lack of engagement, renders advertisements mostly useless as the advertiser cannot get users to continue onto the website of the client. Bell’s solution is taught in par 059: “Through extensive testing, it has been found that initiating engagement with the advertisement system 10 by way of an engagement offer results in a more positive and deeper engagement with advertisements subsequently presented to the consumer (i.e. during the engagement journey) than if those advertisements were presented in the traditional search or display based manner, as described in the preamble. In turn, the consumer is more likely to continue to engage with the advertisement system 10, thus creating a sustainable advertising revenue module which is of benefit to each of the advertisement system 10, publishers 12 and advertisers 14.” One ordinarily skilled would want to have better engagement and would be motivated by Bell’s taught research findings to combine the teachings of Bell and Datta for these taught benefits. For these reasons one would be motivated to modify Bell with Datta.
Per claim 2, Datta and Bell teach the limitations of claim 1, above. Datta then teaches wherein the presentation of at least one of the first or second content by the user terminal includes display of the content by a display device of the user terminal in par 062: “For example, an advertisement located in a virtual kiosk in a virtual shopping center might be viewed by 1,000 gamers over the course of an afternoon. It could be said that the particular advertisement enjoyed 1,000 impressions as each gamer walked their gaming character past the kiosk and viewed the goods or services advertised therein. Impressions may also be calculated through a time threshold index. For example, an impression may be earned, triggered, counted or computed after a user has been exposed to the advertisement for a particular period of time. In this example, an impression may occur after 30 seconds of exposure by the user to an advertisement. The impression may also be tracked and computed based on one or more user's continuous or distributed exposures to the advertisement on the virtual kiosk or as part of an overall ad campaign.”
Per claim 3, Datta and Bell teach the limitations of claim 1, above. Datta then teaches at least one of the first or second content includes at least one of a three-dimensional image, a two-dimensional image, a moving image, or audio data in par 077: “Similarly, audio may be tagged for advertising purposes. For example, if a user plays a video game with a radio (e.g., driving an automobile), the game designed can create different channels whereby actual music from actual artists is played interspersed with various advertisement that one might hear over the radio. Similarly, the actual music a user listens to may be Top 40 hits or other popular music rather than a one-time generated, static soundtrack. In that way, the user may play the game today or five years from now and be able to listen to not only relevant advertisement but relevant music that is current and popular the day the user plays the game.”
Per claim 4, Datta and Bell teach the limitations of claim 1, above. Datta then teaches wherein when the acquired engagement data is confirmed to be invalid, the circuitry is further configured to block the presentation of the second content by the user terminal in par 062 where impressions are only counted after 30 seconds of viewing time, teaching valid: “For example, an advertisement located in a virtual kiosk in a virtual shopping center might be viewed by 1,000 gamers over the course of an afternoon. It could be said that the particular advertisement enjoyed 1,000 impressions as each gamer walked their gaming character past the kiosk and viewed the goods or services advertised therein. Impressions may also be calculated through a time threshold index. For example, an impression may be earned, triggered, counted or computed after a user has been exposed to the advertisement for a particular period of time. In this example, an impression may occur after 30 seconds of exposure by the user to an advertisement. The impression may also be tracked and computed based on one or more user's continuous or distributed exposures to the advertisement on the virtual kiosk or as part of an overall ad campaign.” See also par 0113, similar to threshold but requiring a certain angle.
Then see par 0151: “While real-time advertisements may be more realistic, ensuring an impression becomes more difficult relative the portion of the advertisement the user viewed as has been previously noted. Certain impression, especially in the real-time video and audio sense, may be subject to ongoing impression limitations. For example, an impression may constitute viewing 30 seconds of a one minute advertisement. The user may, at one point in the game, view a first 10-seconds of the advertisement, view a second 10-seconds at a different point in the game and view yet another 10-seconds at another point in the game. In this instance, the user--albeit piecemeal--may have viewed enough of the ad over the course of time to constitute an impression.” Second content, different slices of an overall content, is blocked here because the user has moved on.
Per claim 6, Datta and Bell teach the limitations of claim 1, above. Datta further teaches wherein the first content for the first period is same as the second content for the second period in par 0151: “While real-time advertisements may be more realistic, ensuring an impression becomes more difficult relative the portion of the advertisement the user viewed as has been previously noted. Certain impression, especially in the real-time video and audio sense, may be subject to ongoing impression limitations. For example, an impression may constitute viewing 30 seconds of a one minute advertisement. The user may, at one point in the game, view a first 10-seconds of the advertisement, view a second 10-seconds at a different point in the game and view yet another 10-seconds at another point in the game. In this instance, the user--albeit piecemeal--may have viewed enough of the ad over the course of time to constitute an impression.” Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, different parts of content is the same content.
Per claim 7, Datta and Bell teach the limitations of claim 1, above. Datta further teaches wherein the first content for the first period is different from the second content for the second period in par 0151: “While real-time advertisements may be more realistic, ensuring an impression becomes more difficult relative the portion of the advertisement the user viewed as has been previously noted. Certain impression, especially in the real-time video and audio sense, may be subject to ongoing impression limitations. For example, an impression may constitute viewing 30 seconds of a one minute advertisement. The user may, at one point in the game, view a first 10-seconds of the advertisement, view a second 10-seconds at a different point in the game and view yet another 10-seconds at another point in the game. In this instance, the user--albeit piecemeal--may have viewed enough of the ad over the course of time to constitute an impression.” Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, each segment of content is treated as different content, therefore the first content is different from the second content.
Per claim 8, Datta and Bell teach the limitations of claim 1, above. Datta does not teach wherein the second content is further determined based on a plurality of pieces of the acquired engagement data stored in the corresponding engagement data database for the user terminal in relation to the presentation of the first content for the first period.
Bell teaches wherein the second content is further determined based on a plurality of pieces of the acquired engagement data stored in the corresponding engagement data database for the user terminal in relation to the presentation of the first content for the first period in par 094: “At step S4a, responsive to determining the engagement trigger, the engagement engine 116 retrieves all behavioural metrics recorded for that consumer from the tracking database 114. Depending on the desired implementation, the engagement engine 116 may additionally or alternatively retrieve behavioural metrics in aggregated form for other consumers who have the same or like demographic (e.g. age, gender, etc.). In a particular embodiment, the engagement engine 116 may limit the behavioural metrics to be retrieved to some desired period of time (e.g. within the last 3 months).” Then for second content determined see par 0101: “At step S9a the engagement engine 116 selects the highest ranking engagement objects for inclusion in the engagement journey. According to embodiments described herein, each engagement journey consists of one engagement offer (i.e. displayed by way of an asset) followed by a number of modules and advertisements which is determined based on the determined interfacing context and/or consumer attribute(s). For example, an interfacing context representative of a consumer accessing an e-commerce website on their mobile phone may include a lesser number of modules/advertisements than for a consumer who is reading an article on a desktop computer. It will be appreciated that any number of different module/asset/offer configuration rules may be implemented utilising the gathered engagement data and behavioural data, depending only on the desired implementation.” For using the engagement data from the database for the user terminal in relation to the presentation of the first content for the first period see par 095: “At step S5a, the engagement engine 116 passes the retrieved behavioural metrics as well as the contextually relevant engagement data gathered by the widget script 121 to the ranking engine 118. The ranking engine 118 in turn retrieves objects from the engagement object database 115 that match (i.e. are stored in association with) an interfacing context and/or consumer attribute(s) derived” That it is from the user terminal is taught in par 068 and Fig 3 Item 106, 107, 121: “One or more consumer computer devices (in this case being in the form of Internet-enabled smartphones 106 or other consumer digital device) communicate with the website via a client browser 107 resident thereon. The communication is made over a network in the form of a mobile broadband communications network 108. According to embodiments described herein, the website is optimised for a mobile browser.” See pars 070-082 for plurality of pieces.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the content presentation and engagement teaching of Datta with the presentation of second content based on first engagement data during a first period teaching of Bell because Bell teaches in par 005 that: “While digital search and display-based advertising are currently regarded as the most effective way for presenting advertising to consumers of digital content, the actual consumer engagement levels are still very low (often resulting in less than 0.1% of consumers actively following up on the advertisement).” This problem, lack of engagement, renders advertisements mostly useless as the advertiser cannot get users to continue onto the website of the client. Bell’s solution is taught in par 059: “Through extensive testing, it has been found that initiating engagement with the advertisement system 10 by way of an engagement offer results in a more positive and deeper engagement with advertisements subsequently presented to the consumer (i.e. during the engagement journey) than if those advertisements were presented in the traditional search or display based manner, as described in the preamble. In turn, the consumer is more likely to continue to engage with the advertisement system 10, thus creating a sustainable advertising revenue module which is of benefit to each of the advertisement system 10, publishers 12 and advertisers 14.” One ordinarily skilled would want to have better engagement and would be motivated by Bell’s taught research findings to combine the teachings of Bell and Datta for these taught benefits. For these reasons one would be motivated to modify Bell with Datta.
Per claim 9, Datta and Bell teach the limitations of claim 1, above. Datta further teaches wherein the second content is further determined based on an input to edit content received from a creator terminal in par 0113: “A user controlling the game character 920 within the impression area and facing the advertisement 910 will be able to view the advertisement 910. That is, an impression will be established for the advertisement 910 as would normally occur in the real world (e.g., while the user is standing in front of a billboard). Alternatively, if the game character 920 is not within the impression area 930 as defined by first ray 970, second ray 980 and surface vector 940, then no impression is generated.” Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, the character moving into the impression area teaches input to edit content (the character position) and then the second content has an impression for the user teaches further determined.
Per claim 10, Datta and Bell teach the limitations of claim 9, above. Datta further teaches wherein the input to edit the first content is based on engagement data
acquired in real time in par 0113: “A user controlling the game character 920 within the impression area and facing the advertisement 910 will be able to view the advertisement 910. That is, an impression will be established for the advertisement 910 as would normally occur in the real world (e.g., while the user is standing in front of a billboard). Alternatively, if the game character 920 is not within the impression area 930 as defined by first ray 970, second ray 980 and surface vector 940, then no impression is generated.” Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, this occurs in real time as it is during gameplay.
Per claim 11, Datta and Bell teach the limitations of claim 7, above. Datta further teaches wherein the second content is edited automatically in par 0151: “While real-time advertisements may be more realistic, ensuring an impression becomes more difficult relative the portion of the advertisement the user viewed as has been previously noted. Certain impression, especially in the real-time video and audio sense, may be subject to ongoing impression limitations. For example, an impression may constitute viewing 30 seconds of a one minute advertisement. The user may, at one point in the game, view a first 10-seconds of the advertisement, view a second 10-seconds at a different point in the game and view yet another 10-seconds at another point in the game. In this instance, the user--albeit piecemeal--may have viewed enough of the ad over the course of time to constitute an impression.” Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, the editing is done automatically because it is dependent on a character only seeing an advertisement for 10 seconds, to then save the rest of the advertising for later.
Per claim 12, Datta and Bell teach the limitations of claim 1, above. Datta further teaches wherein the second content is further determined based on an analysis result in accordance with a change scenario generated in advance and stored by a content server in par 0104: “One such inventive component--tracking what advertisements the user sees--involves monitoring the view perspective of the user (e.g., the point-of-view of the game character or of the actual user via a game camera) and calculating when the user has experienced an ad impression. One embodiment of this method further allows for object occlusion detection. Such impression information may then be returned to an ad server 130 or other component of the system 100 as described in FIG. 2.” The impression returned to the ad server then determines the second content.
Per claim 13, Datta and Bell teach the limitations of claim 1, above. Datta further teaches wherein the first content is presented in a first metaverse and a second metaverse in par 0105 where the game teaches a metaverse: “FIG. 8 illustrates line-of-sight obstacles as may be found in a game environment 800. FIG. 8 illustrates a game character 810 (as reflected by the camera icon), an advertisement 820, one or more obstacles 830-880 and line-of-sight 890 relative the game character 810 and its current viewing orientation to the advertisement 820. It should be noted that any references to a game character in the present disclosure is also inclusive of a game camera as to include various points-of-view of the game character of the video game as well as that of the actual user.” Then see par 0110 where a record store is a different metaverse: “The game character 920 may enter this particular portion of the game environment 900 (the record store) through, for example, an entryway 960. As can be seen in FIG. 9, the game character 920, upon initial entry into the game environment 900, may be standing directly adjacent to and oriented toward the advertisement 910. Due to the positioning of the game character 920 relative the advertisement 910, however, the game character may not be able to actually see or be exposed to the advertisement 910 regardless of the orientation of the game character 920 in the general direction of the poster (advertisement 910).”
Per claim 14, Datta and Bell teach the limitations of claim 13, above. Datta further teaches wherein the circuitry acquires a first engagement data with respect to the presentation of the first content in the first metaverse and acquires a second engagement data with respect to the presentation of the first content in the second metaverse in par 0105 where the game teaches a metaverse: “FIG. 8 illustrates line-of-sight obstacles as may be found in a game environment 800. FIG. 8 illustrates a game character 810 (as reflected by the camera icon), an advertisement 820, one or more obstacles 830-880 and line-of-sight 890 relative the game character 810 and its current viewing orientation to the advertisement 820. It should be noted that any references to a game character in the present disclosure is also inclusive of a game camera as to include various points-of-view of the game character of the video game as well as that of the actual user.” Then see par 0110 where a record store is a different metaverse: “The game character 920 may enter this particular portion of the game environment 900 (the record store) through, for example, an entryway 960. As can be seen in FIG. 9, the game character 920, upon initial entry into the game environment 900, may be standing directly adjacent to and oriented toward the advertisement 910. Due to the positioning of the game character 920 relative the advertisement 910, however, the game character may not be able to actually see or be exposed to the advertisement 910 regardless of the orientation of the game character 920 in the general direction of the poster (advertisement 910).” Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, the advertisements are the first content (as opposed to the game or the music – see par 077).
Per claim 15, Datta and Bell teach the limitations of claim 14, above. Datta further teaches wherein the circuitry acquires a plurality of types of the first engagement data with respect to the presentation of the first content in the first metaverse and a plurality of types of the second engagement data with respect to the presentation of the first content in the second metaverse in par 0105 where the game teaches a metaverse: “FIG. 8 illustrates line-of-sight obstacles as may be found in a game environment 800. FIG. 8 illustrates a game character 810 (as reflected by the camera icon), an advertisement 820, one or more obstacles 830-880 and line-of-sight 890 relative the game character 810 and its current viewing orientation to the advertisement 820. It should be noted that any references to a game character in the present disclosure is also inclusive of a game camera as to include various points-of-view of the game character of the video game as well as that of the actual user.” Then see par 0110 where a record store is a different metaverse: “The game character 920 may enter this particular portion of the game environment 900 (the record store) through, for example, an entryway 960. As can be seen in FIG. 9, the game character 920, upon initial entry into the game environment 900, may be standing directly adjacent to and oriented toward the advertisement 910. Due to the positioning of the game character 920 relative the advertisement 910, however, the game character may not be able to actually see or be exposed to the advertisement 910 regardless of the orientation of the game character 920 in the general direction of the poster (advertisement 910).”
Per claim 16, Datta and Bell teach the limitations of claim 14, above. Datta further teaches behaviors included in the plurality of types of the first engagement data are determined for the first metaverse based on a first engagement data definition list generated for the first metaverse, and wherein behaviors included in the plurality of types of the second engagement data are determined for the second metaverse based on a second engagement data definition list generated for the second metaverse in par 0105 where the game teaches a metaverse: “FIG. 8 illustrates line-of-sight obstacles as may be found in a game environment 800. FIG. 8 illustrates a game character 810 (as reflected by the camera icon), an advertisement 820, one or more obstacles 830-880 and line-of-sight 890 relative the game character 810 and its current viewing orientation to the advertisement 820. It should be noted that any references to a game character in the present disclosure is also inclusive of a game camera as to include various points-of-view of the game character of the video game as well as that of the actual user.” Then see par 0110 where a record store is a different metaverse: “The game character 920 may enter this particular portion of the game environment 900 (the record store) through, for example, an entryway 960. As can be seen in FIG. 9, the game character 920, upon initial entry into the game environment 900, may be standing directly adjacent to and oriented toward the advertisement 910. Due to the positioning of the game character 920 relative the advertisement 910, however, the game character may not be able to actually see or be exposed to the advertisement 910 regardless of the orientation of the game character 920 in the general direction of the poster (advertisement 910).” Behaviors in first are line of sight and in second cannot see the advertisement so there is no engagement.
Per claim 17, Datta and Bell teach the limitations of claim 14, above. Datta further teaches the second content presented in the first metaverse is further determined based on the acquired first engagement data in par 0151: “While real-time advertisements may be more realistic, ensuring an impression becomes more difficult relative the portion of the advertisement the user viewed as has been previously noted. Certain impression, especially in the real-time video and audio sense, may be subject to ongoing impression limitations. For example, an impression may constitute viewing 30 seconds of a one minute advertisement. The user may, at one point in the game, view a first 10-seconds of the advertisement, view a second 10-seconds at a different point in the game and view yet another 10-seconds at another point in the game. In this instance, the user--albeit piecemeal--may have viewed enough of the ad over the course of time to constitute an impression.” Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, the editing is done automatically because it is dependent on a character only seeing an advertisement for 10 seconds, to then save the rest of the advertising for later.
Datta then teaches and a third content presented in the second metaverse is determined based on the acquired second engagement data, and wherein the first, second, and third contents are different from each other in par 0110: “The game character 920 may enter this particular portion of the game environment 900 (the record store) through, for example, an entryway 960. As can be seen in FIG. 9, the game character 920, upon initial entry into the game environment 900, may be standing directly adjacent to and oriented toward the advertisement 910. Due to the positioning of the game character 920 relative the advertisement 910, however, the game character may not be able to actually see or be exposed to the advertisement 910 regardless of the orientation of the game character 920 in the general direction of the poster (advertisement 910).” Third content is loaded is taught in par 080: “As such, it is necessary for video games to identify references points in the video game environment (e.g., physical points in the video game or subject to the accomplishment of certain tasks or reaching a certain level) to determine when the in-game advertising system 100 should begin to be accessed to acquire the necessary advertising information. For example, while a user may not have yet reached a billboard tagged to render advertising information, the user may have surpassed a reference point earlier in the game such the content begins to load in the background to provide for instant rendering when the user finally does reach the billboard. An example of such dynamic loading methodology is described in U.S. Pat. No. 6,764,403, which is incorporated herein by reference.” Content being different is taught because it is based on physical points or the accomplishment of certain tasks.
Per claim 18, Datta and Bell teach the limitations of claim 1, above. Datta further teaches wherein the circuitry initiates the presentation of the second content by the user terminal for the second period only when the engagement data acquired from the user terminal in relation to the presentation of the first content for the first period is confirmed to be valid in par 0151: “While real-time advertisements may be more realistic, ensuring an impression becomes more difficult relative the portion of the advertisement the user viewed as has been previously noted. Certain impression, especially in the real-time video and audio sense, may be subject to ongoing impression limitations. For example, an impression may constitute viewing 30 seconds of a one minute advertisement. The user may, at one point in the game, view a first 10-seconds of the advertisement, view a second 10-seconds at a different point in the game and view yet another 10-seconds at another point in the game. In this instance, the user--albeit piecemeal--may have viewed enough of the ad over the course of time to constitute an impression.”
Per claim 21, Datta and Bell teach the limitations of claim 1, above. Datta does not teach the second content is determined based on a degree of each piece of the acquired engagement data stored in the corresponding engagement data database for the user terminal in relation to each behavior indicated by the engagement data acquired during the presentation of the first content for the first period.
Bell teaches the second content is determined based on a degree of each piece of the acquired engagement data stored in the corresponding engagement data database for the user terminal in relation to each behavior indicated by the engagement data acquired during the presentation of the first content for the first period in pars 95-98 and table 1: “At step S5a, the engagement engine 116 passes the retrieved behavioural metrics as well as the contextually relevant engagement data gathered by the widget script 121 to the ranking engine 118. The ranking engine 118 in turn retrieves objects from the engagement object database 115 that match (i.e. are stored in association with) an interfacing context and/or consumer attribute(s) derived from the engagement data provided to the ranking engine 118.
[0096] At step S6a, the ranking engine 118 filters the retrieved behavioural metrics such that only those metrics relevant to the retrieved objects are kept for evaluation.
[0097] At step S7a, the ranking engine 118 implements a ranking algorithm which ranks the retrieved objects by a combination of an engagement score and revenue score (where applicable), as will now be described.
[0098] As its name suggests, the engagement score is associated with how well the consumer engages with the object and is determined based on the behavioural metrics recorded for that object. According to the illustrated embodiment, each type of behavioural metric is assigned a particular positive or negative score per recorded count, such that each consumer interaction with that object will result in a positive or negative point score. An example metric score table is shown below in Table 1, noting that the example scoring regime should not be seen as limiting and that any suitable scoring regime could be implemented for the recorded metrics.
TABLE-US-00001 TABLE 1 Metric Type Score Per Count Asset Impressions +1 Asset Clicks +2 Engagement Offer Take-Ups +2 Engagement Offer Skips/Declines -2 Module Impressions +1 Module Completions +2 Advertisement Impressions +1 Further Information +1 Advertisement Take-Ups +2 Advertisement Skips -1 Advertisement Declines -2 Engagement Offer/Advertisement +1 Shares.”
The degree is taught by the score per count determination, where each engagement increments the score based on its particular type.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the content presentation and engagement teaching of Datta with the presentation of second content based on first engagement data during a first period teaching of Bell because Bell teaches in par 005 that: “While digital search and display-based advertising are currently regarded as the most effective way for presenting advertising to consumers of digital content, the actual consumer engagement levels are still very low (often resulting in less than 0.1% of consumers actively following up on the advertisement).” This problem, lack of engagement, renders advertisements mostly useless as the advertiser cannot get users to continue onto the website of the client. Bell’s solution is taught in par 059: “Through extensive testing, it has been found that initiating engagement with the advertisement system 10 by way of an engagement offer results in a more positive and deeper engagement with advertisements subsequently presented to the consumer (i.e. during the engagement journey) than if those advertisements were presented in the traditional search or display based manner, as described in the preamble. In turn, the consumer is more likely to continue to engage with the advertisement system 10, thus creating a sustainable advertising revenue module which is of benefit to each of the advertisement system 10, publishers 12 and advertisers 14.” One ordinarily skilled would want to have better engagement and would be motivated by Bell’s taught research findings to combine the teachings of Bell and Datta for these taught benefits. For these reasons one would be motivated to modify Bell with Datta.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Datta et al., US PGPUB 20070079331 A1 (“Datta”), in view of Bell et al., US PGPUB 20140164102 A1 (“Bell”), further in view of Dellow, US PGPUB 20100254536 A1 (“Dellow”).
Per claim 5, Datta and Bell teach the limitations of claim 4, above. Datta does not teach wherein the circuitry blocks the presentation of the second content by the user terminal by transmitting information preventing the second content from being decrypted.
Dellow teaches controlling modes in devices. See abstract.
Dellow teaches wherein the circuitry blocks the presentation of the second content by the user terminal by transmitting information preventing the second content from being decrypted in par 076: “In some embodiments, message processor 204 may utilize encrypter/decrypter module 214 to encrypt the contents of MKEY including KEY-3. The intended purpose of MKEY is to inform a controlled device such as STB 120, of the key with which the mode authorization message is encrypted by headend 110. Therefore, some embodiments in which STB 120 can be informed of the encryption key KEY-3 for encrypting the mode authorization message through other means may not include a separate MKEY message. For example, in embodiments that use the root key KEY-2 to encrypt the mode authorization message, no separate MKEY message is needed because KEY-2 can be derived by the STB 120 without a separate message from headend 110.”
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the content provision teaching of Datta with the decryption prevention teaching of Dellow because Dellow teaches in par 007 that “The pirating of programming content by third parties and the unauthorized use of content by subscribers are significant concerns to service providers. Conditional access is a framework used in many broadcast media distribution systems to prevent or reduce the pirating and unauthorized use of content.” As this would prevent pirated material and unauthorized use one would be motivated to combine Datta and Dellow so that only authorized content could be viewed by the end user. This would prevent copyright violations occurring which would protect content distributors from liability. For these reasons one would be motivated to modify Datta with Dellow.
Therefore, claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 USC 103.
Response to arguments:
35 USC 101
Applicant argues:
… In view of this, under Prong One of Step 2A, Applicant's amended independent claim 1 recites, for example, "circuitry configured to acquire engagement data from a user terminal in relation to a presentation of a first content for a first period, confirm validity of the acquired engagement data, store the acquired engagement data for which validity is confirmed to a corresponding engagement data database, and initiate presentation of a second content by the user terminal for a second period, wherein the second content is determined based on one or more pieces of the acquired engagement data stored in the corresponding engagement data database for the user terminal in relation to one or more behaviors indicated by the engagement data acquired during the presentation of the first content for the first period, and wherein each behavior included in the engagement data is determined based on an engagement data definition list stored in association with the first content." (emphasis added). Regarding Prong Two of Step 2A and Step 2B, if the claim is eligible at Prong One of Step 2A, the eligibility analysis concludes, and there is no need to analyze additional elements under the eligibility analysis.
Without acquiescing in any way to the Examiner's grounds of rejection, Applicant hereby amends the claims as noted above in an effort to expedite prosecution by clarifying the patent-eligible subject matter. Applicant respectfully submits that the present recitations of at least amended independent claim 1 amount to significantly more than merely an abstract idea such as a mental steps or processes, especially in view of the specifically recited technical solution directed toward a particular configuration of the various technical elements set forth by the particular claim recitations.
Applicant respectfully disagrees with the Examiner's allegations noted above, and Applicant submits that the claimed invention is directed to patent-eligible subject matter. That is, Applicant submits that the presently recited claims, taken as a whole, recite significant claim elements that cannot be satisfied by mental steps or processes, are not merely abstract ideas as defined by case law, and the claimed subject matter relates to a specific improvement in a computer-related technology including technical structural elements. Even assuming, arguendo, that the claims are determined to broadly relate to an abstract idea, which Applicant does not concede, there are sufficient recitations of claim elements that amount to significantly more than an abstract idea itself.
Examiner responds:
Enfish is considered but is not persuasive, it stands for the proposition that a particular data structure, for lack of a better term, is not an abstract idea as it improves upon another particular data structure in a computer. Here the claims are directed to determining user engagement and advertisement, not only a mental process but also a certain method of organizing human activity – commercial interaction. See also Ultramerical v Hulu. See MPEP 2106.04(a).
Applicant has asserted a specific improvement in computer “related” technology but under a broadest reasonable interpretation this puts the claims outside of patent eligibility as it is not specifically computer technology that is improved, see MPEP 2106.05(a). Nor is it other “technology.” It is only related to computers as the scope includes using computers. Nor has Applicant specified what technical elements Applicant is referring to either. Ultramercial is similar to Applicant’s case as it also determines advertising per user views, (engagement). Therefore this is not persuasive.
Further, in another relevant decision of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit (CAFC) in Finjan, the CAFC determined that claims directed to a non-obvious improvement in computer functionality are directed to statutory subject matter under 35 U.S.C. §101. See Finjan, Inc. v. Blue Coat Systems, Inc., 879 F.3d 1299 (Fed. Cir. 2018).
Applicant submits that the particular elements recited by independent claim 1 relate to an improvement to computer functionality itself, in that they are directed to a specific implementation of the recited solution to a problem in the relevant field.
Applicant has not stated what the problem is, just that there is a solution to a problem. Finjan is not persuasive as Finjan improved particular virus scanning software which protects a computer and therefore improves the technology of a computer. Applicant has not explained how the claims do something analogous to improve the technology of a computer. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(1).
Applicant respectfully submits that the Examiner has also "oversimplified the [technical] component of the claims and downplayed the invention's benefits." See Enfish. Moreover, similar to Desjardins, the presently claimed invention provides a specific technical solution by use of the recited elements regarding second content being determined based on one or more pieces of acquired engagement data stored in a corresponding engagement data database for a user terminal in relation to one or more behaviors indicated by the engagement data acquired during the presentation of the first content for the first period, along with each behavior included in the engagement data being determined based on an engagement data definition list stored in association with the first content in the manner particularly recited in combination with the other technical elements of independent claim 1. Thus, the specific practical application of the claimed invention demonstrates an enhancement to the functioning of a computer-related technology and is not merely directed to an abstract idea.
The presently recited claim elements provide a particular solution to a particular problem in the art, and the claimed solution is not appreciated in the prior art. Furthermore, Applicant respectfully asserts that the claimed invention is novel and nonobvious, and the deficiencies of the cited art discussed below provide an additional indication that the recited claim elements are not routine or conventional in the relevant field. Therefore, Applicant submits that the elements recited by independent claim 1
relate to an improvement at the time of invention to computer functionality itself, and so the claims are directed to subject matter that clearly provides significantly more than any underlying abstract idea
Examiner has not oversimplified the technical component of the claims as the abstract idea was defined using Applicant’s claim language. Then, the claim language was explained and Applicant has not taken issue with any particular aspect of the explanation. This is not similar to Desjardins which claimed a particular technique for improving a technical problem in machine learning. Applicant has not identified the technical problem or solution with claiming the engagement data limitations. Therefore this is unpersuasive.
35 USC 103
Applicant’s arguments are to the amendments in the claims which are rejected above, as the arguments did not address the rejection (which is understandable seeing as it had not been made yet) they are moot.
Prior Art Considered Relevant
The following prior art is considered relevant to Applicant’s disclosure but is not relied upon in the above rejection:
Holmes et al., US PGPUB 20210097578 A1, teaches collecting data which teaches first time period and engagement in par 032, and then during the second time period marketing is generated in the form of offers, see par 52.
Conclusion
/RICHARD W. CRANDALL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619