This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 7/21/2026.
Claims 1-8 & 10-19 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10 & 11 have been amended.
Rejection to claim 10 under 35 USC 101 made in the prior record Non-Final rejection dated 4/21/2026 has been withdrawn based on amendments to claim 2.
Rejections of claims 2, 6 & 7 under 35 USC 112(b) made in the prior record Non-Final rejection dated 4/21/2026 have been withdrawn based on amendments to these claims, but new grounds of rejection of claim 2 under 35 USC 112(b) has been made based on amendments to claim 2.
Rejections to claims 1-8, 10 & 11 under 35 USC 103 made in the prior record Non-Final rejection dated 4/21/2026 have been withdrawn based on amendments to claims 1-3, 6-8, 10 & 11, but new grands of rejections of claims 1-8, 10 & 11 under 35 USC 103 have been made in view of new reference Yang et al. (US 2013/0227008)(herein after “Yang”).
Claims 12-19 have been added and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 7/21/2026, with respect to rejection of claim 10 under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 10 under 35 USC 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 7/21/2026, with respect to rejection of claims 2, 6 & 7 under 35 USC 112(b) made in the prior record Non-Final rejection dated 4/21/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn. However, after further consideration, a new ground of rejection of claim 2 under 35 USC 112(b) has been made.
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 7/21/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-8, 10 & 11 under 35 USC 103 made in the prior record Non-Final rejection dated 4/21/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections to these claims are made in view of new reference Yang et al. (US 2013/0227008)(herein after “Yang”).
Regarding claim 1, applicant submits that amendments to this claim traverse the rejection of this claim under 35 USC 103 made in the Non-final Rejection 4/21/2026. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 made in the Non-final Rejection dated 4/21/2026. However, after further consideration, examiner introduces a new ground of rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Yang. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding claims 8 & 10, applicant submits that these claims traverse the rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103 made in the Non-final Rejection dated 4/21/2026 due to similar amendments and arguments as made for claim 1. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejections of claims 8 & 10 under 35 USC 103 made in the Non-final Rejection dated 4/21/2026. However, for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner introduces new grounds of rejections of claims 8 & 10 under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Yang.
Regarding claims 2-7 & 11, , applicant submits that these claims traverse the rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103 made in the Non-final Rejection dated 4/21/2026 due to amendments and arguments made for claim 1, and due to their dependency on claim 1. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejections of claims 2-7 & 11 under 35 USC 103 made in the Non-final Rejection dated 4/21/2026. However, for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner introduces new grounds of rejections of claims 2-7 & 11 under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Yang.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, this claim recites “wherein the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster is used to perform the grandmaster arbitration process for identifying the one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster and/or for identifying the new one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster and indicates a priority level of the one time-synchronization device”. The identification for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster is only determined after the grandmaster arbitration process for identifying the one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster has been performed, and thus it is impossible to use the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster, which is only known after the grandmaster arbitration process for identifying the one time-synchronization device has been performed, in the grandmaster arbitration process for identifying the one-time synchronization device. Further, the identification information is not updated when a new one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster is selected, so it is unclear how the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster can be used for identifying the new one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster. Thus, the amended claim language of claim 2 is confusing and indefinite. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting this claims as “wherein the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster indicates a priority level of the one time-synchronization device”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 10, 11, 14-16 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zinner et al. (DE 102019217037)(herein after “Zinner”) in view of Morimura et al. (US2023/0017152)(herein after “Morimura”), and further in view of Chan et al. (US 2021/0181787)(herein after “Chan”) and Yang et al. (US 2013/0227008)(herein after “Yang”).
Regarding claim 1, Zinner discloses a time-synchronization device, the time-synchronization device comprising:
processing circuitry ([0025] discloses that a network device comprises a microprocessor.);
a storage ([0025] discloses that a network device comprises non-volatile and volatile memory.); and
a transmitter-receiver ([0004] discloses that a network device can send and receive announce messages and time synchronization messages.), wherein
the processing circuitry selects a grandmaster by performing a grandmaster arbitration process for identifying, from a plurality of time-synchronization devices included in a time-synchronization system, a one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster (Fig 1 & [0030] disclose that after executing a BMCA (i.e. a grandmaster arbitration process), determining that network device 112 (i.e. a one-time-synchronization device), from the plurality of network devices 102, 104, 106, 108, 110 and 112, is the grandmaster clock.),
the processing circuitry performs time synchronization as the grandmaster when the time-synchronization device is selected as the grandmaster by being identified as the one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster (Fig 1 & [0030] discloses that device 112, that has been selected as the grandmaster by being identified as a device corresponding to the grandmaster, sends time synchronization messages to the network device 106 and other network devices not shown in the figure that are directly connected to device 112.) and performs time synchronization as a follower device when the time-synchronization device is not selected as the grandmaster by not being identified as the one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster (Fig 1 & [0030] disclose that network device 106, that has not been selected as the grandmaster by not being identified as a device corresponding to the grandmaster, corrects and forwards a modified message for time synchronization to network device 104 and other network devices not shown in the figure (i.e. performs time synchronization as a follower device). Network devices 102, 104, 108 & 110, also not selected as the grandmaster, perform similar correction and forwarding of modified messages for time synchronization to each other and other network devices not shown in the figure.),
the storage stores identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster (Fig 6 and [0011] & [0035] discloses that each network device stores a unique clock identification of the grandmaster clock determined during the initialization of time synchronization.),
Zinner fails to disclose but Morimura teaches when the one time-synchronization device is disconnected and detached from the time-synchronization system, the processing circuitry selects the grandmaster from the plurality of time-synchronization devices excluding the one time-synchronization device by performing the grandmaster arbitration process for identifying a new one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster (Figs 1 & 5 and [0029] disclose that when the power of a grandmaster apparatus is turned off or it is impossible to receive an Announce packet from the grandmaster apparatus due to degradation in the communication environment, then re-selection of a new grandmaster may be performed based on other grandmaster candidates in the network for identifying a new device corresponding to the grandmaster.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a time-synchronization device that selects a grandmaster by performing a grandmaster arbitration process for identifying, from a plurality of time-synchronization devices included in a time-synchronization system, a one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster, as disclosed by Zinner, and when the one time-synchronization device is disconnected and detached from the time-synchronization system, the processing circuitry selects the grandmaster from the plurality of time-synchronization devices excluding the one time-synchronization device by performing the grandmaster arbitration process for identifying a new one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster, as taught by Morimura. The motivation to do so would have been to have a network device, that can perform the functions of either a grandmaster device or time-sync correct and forward device, in a time-synchronization system consisting of a plurality of network devices, determine through a BMCA a grandmaster device, operate as a grandmaster for the network device selected as the grandmaster device and operate as a time-sync correct and forward device for the network devices not selected as the grandmaster device, and when the grandmaster device disconnects from the system, re-select a new grandmaster device from the remaining network devices based on a BMCA so that the best time clock available of the remaining network devices can be selected as the new grandmaster device.
Zinner fails to disclose but Chan further teaches when a new time-synchronization device is connected to the time-synchronization system and the processing circuitry identifies the new time-synchronization device as the detached one time-synchronization device based on the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster, the processing circuitry selects the new time-synchronization device as the grandmaster without performing the grandmaster arbitration process (Fig 2, [0024]-[0025] & [0032] disclose that, in step 14, identification of a clock as being a prior selection/election as the master clock (i.e. as the grandmaster) can be used to select the K best clocks for performing a BMCA in step 15. The teachings of Chan can be combined with Zinner and Morimura such that when the grandmaster device, whose clock identification is stored in each network device as disclosed by Zinner, is disconnected and a new grandmaster based on the remaining network devices is selected as taught by Morimura, and then a new device connects, the remaining network devices can determine a group of network devices for performing a BMCA by first checking to see if the new device identifies as the previous grandmaster that has been stored in the remaining network devices, as further taught by Chan, and if so then there would be only one (i.e. K=1) device used in the BMCA, which essentially bypasses the BCMA and selects the previously selected grandmaster as the grandmaster. Otherwise, the new network device could be grouped with the remaining network devices to perform a BMCA to potentially select a new grandmaster.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a time-synchronization device, that can perform time synchronization as a grandmaster or a follower device, in a time-synchronization system, select the grandmaster by performing a grandmaster arbitration process for identifying, from the plurality of time-synchronization devices included in the time-synchronization system, one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster, perform time synchronization as the grandmaster when the time-synchronization device is selected as the grandmaster, perform time synchronization as the follower device when the time-synchronization device is not selected as the grandmaster, and store identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster, and wherein when the one time-synchronization device is disconnected and detached from the time-synchronization system, the time-synchronization device can select the grandmaster from the plurality of time-synchronization devices excluding the one time-synchronization device by performing the grandmaster arbitration process, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura, when a new time-synchronization device is connected to the time-synchronization system and the processing circuitry identifies the new time-synchronization device as the detached one time-synchronization device based on the identification information, the processing circuitry selects the new time-synchronization device as the grandmaster without performing the grandmaster arbitration process, as further taught by Chan. The motivation to do so would have been to have a network device, that can perform the functions of either a grandmaster device or time-sync correct and forward device, in a time-synchronization system consisting of a plurality of network devices, determine through a BMCA a grandmaster device, operate as a grandmaster for the network device selected as the grandmaster device and operate as a time-sync correct and forward device for the network devices not selected as the grandmaster device, and when the grandmaster device disconnects from the system, re-select a new grandmaster device from the remaining network devices based on a BMCA, after which when a new network device connects, the remaining network devices can determine if the clock identification of the new device is the same as the previous grandmaster device clock identification stored in the remaining devices, and if so, perform BMCA based on the previously selected grandmaster device only (i.e. bypass BMCA), or if not then perform BMCA based on the new network device being added to the group of remaining devices, so that when the new network device that connects turns out to be the previously selected grandmaster device stored in the remaining network devices, the previously selected grandmaster device can be immediately selected as the grandmaster to avoid delays in running a BMCA that would likely select the previous grandmaster devices as the grandmaster anyways.
Zinner fails to disclose but Yang further teaches the storage does not update the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster during or after the grandmaster is selected by performing the grandmaster arbitration process for identifying the new one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster (Fig 3, [0020] & [0029]-[0030] disclose a PTP network device that stores a grandmaster candidate list that may be manually configured or generated by a management node, and when the network device receives an announce message containing grandmaster information (e.g. a new PTP device is connected, that may have been selected as a grandmaster clock based on the best master clock algorithm (BMCA)), the PTP device searches the stored grandmaster list, and if a match is found then the PTP device performs synchronization with the grandmaster in the announce message, and if a match is not found then a previous grandmaster clock or local clock may be used for synchronization. In either case, the stored grandmaster list is not updated during or after the selection of a new grandmaster through a BMCA for identifying a new PTP network device as a grandmaster.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a time-synchronization device, select a grandmaster by performing a grandmaster arbitration process for identifying, from a plurality of time-synchronization devices included in a time-synchronization system, a one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster, the storage stores identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster, when the one time-synchronization device is disconnected and detached from the time-synchronization system, the processing circuitry selects the grandmaster from the plurality of time- synchronization devices excluding the one time-synchronization device by performing the grandmaster arbitration process for identifying a new one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan, and the storage does not update the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster during or after the grandmaster is selected by performing the grandmaster arbitration process for identifying the new one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster, as further taught by Yang. The motivation to do so would have been to have a network device, in a time-synchronization system consisting of a plurality of network devices, select through a BMCA an initial grandmaster device, store the identification of the selected initial grandmaster device in a candidate grandmaster list in the network device’s storage, and when the initial grandmaster device disconnects from the system, select a new grandmaster from the remaining network devices based on a BMCA algorithm without updating the grandmaster candidate list, after which when a new network device connects, the network device determines if the clock identification of the new network device is the same as the initial grandmaster device identification stored in the grandmaster candidate list, and if so, perform synchronization with the initial grandmaster device (i.e. bypass BMCA), in order to reduce time in re-synchronizing to the initial grandmaster network device when the initial grandmaster network device returns by bypassing the BMCA algorithm.
Regarding claim 2, Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang disclose the time-synchronization device according to claim 1.
Zinner discloses wherein the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster is used to perform the grandmaster arbitration process for identifying the one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster and/or for identifying the new one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster and indicates a priority level of the one time-synchronization device ([0011] discloses that a unique clock identification, for identifying a network device as a grandmaster clock determined during initialization of time synchronization through execution of a BMCA for identifying the network device corresponding to grandmaster, is stored by each network device (i.e. the unique clock identification of the device selected to be the grandmaster was used in the BMCA). [0013] discloses that the clock parameters relevant for the execution of the BMCA include priority levels priority1 and priority2 (i.e. the unique clock identification of the device selected to be the grandmaster would indicate a priority level for performing the BMCA.).),
Zinner fails to disclose but Chan further teaches when the new time-synchronization device is connected to the time-synchronization system and the priority level indicated in the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster stored in the storage is the same as a priority level indicated in identification information acquired from the new time-synchronization device, the processing circuitry selects the new time-synchronization device as the grandmaster (Fig 2, [0024]-[0025] & [0032] disclose that, in step 14, identification of a clock as being a prior selection/election as the master clock (i.e. as the grandmaster) can be used to select the K best clocks for performing a BMCA in step 15. The teachings of Chan can be combined with Zinner and Morimura such that when a clock in a device is selected as a grandmaster, clock identification for identifying the device selected as the grandmaster and priority level is stored in each device, as disclosed by Zinner, and when the device is disconnected and a new grandmaster based on the remaining devices is selected, as taught by Morimura, and a new device connects, the remaining devices can determine a group of devices for performing a BMCA by first checking to see if the new device identifies as the previous grandmaster that has been stored in the remaining devices (e.g. by checking that both the clock identification and the priority level are the same), as further taught by Chan, and if so then there would be only one (i.e. K=1) device used in the BMCA, which essentially bypasses the BCMA and selects the previously selected grandmaster as the grandmaster. Otherwise, the new device could be grouped with the remaining devices to perform a BMCA to potentially select a new grandmaster.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the time-synchronization device of claim 1, wherein the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster is used to perform the grandmaster arbitration process for identifying the one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster and/or for identifying the new one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster and indicates a priority level of the one time-synchronization device, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang, and when the new time-synchronization device is connected to the time-synchronization system and the priority level indicated in the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster stored in the storage is the same as a priority level indicated in identification information acquired from the new time-synchronization device, the processing circuitry selects the new time-synchronization device as the grandmaster, as further taught by Chan. The motivation to do so would have been to have a network device, that can perform the functions of either a grandmaster device or time-sync correct and forward device, in a time-synchronization system consisting of a plurality of network devices, determine through a BMCA a grandmaster device, operate as a grandmaster for the network device selected as the grandmaster device and operate as a time-sync correct and forward device for the network devices not selected as the grandmaster device, and when the grandmaster device disconnects from the system, re-select a new grandmaster device from the remaining network devices based on a BMCA, after which when a new network device connects, the remaining network devices can determine if the clock identification and priority level of the new device is the same as the previous grandmaster device clock identification and priority level stored in the remaining devices, and if so, perform BMCA based on the previously selected grandmaster device only (i.e. bypass BMCA), or if not then perform BMCA based on the new network device being added to the group of remaining devices, so that when the new network device that connects turns out to be the previously selected grandmaster device based on comparing the clock identification and priority level to that stored in the remaining network devices, the previously selected grandmaster device can be immediately selected as the grandmaster to avoid delays in running a BMCA that would likely select the previous grandmaster devices as the grandmaster anyways.
Regarding claim 3, Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang disclose the time-synchronization device according to claim 1.
Zinner discloses wherein the processing circuitry compares, when the new time-synchronization device is connected to the time-synchronization system, a time of a current grandmaster with a time of the new time-synchronization device to calculate a time difference ([0004] discloses that the network device that receives a message from a directly connected network device compares the time information in the message received from the directly connected network device with the internal processing time of its own internal clock (i.e. grandmaster clock) to correct the time information before forwarding (i.e. adjust the time information by a time difference based on comparing the time information in the message received from the directly connected network device with the internal processing time of its own internal clock.).).
Regarding claim 4, Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang disclose the time-synchronization device according to claim 3.
Zinner fails to disclose but Morimura teaches wherein when the new time-synchronization device is the detached one time-synchronization device and the calculated time difference is less than or equal to a predetermined threshold, the new time-synchronization device performs time synchronization as a new grandmaster without performing time synchronization with the current grandmaster (Fig 2 & [0024] & [0031] disclose that a grandmaster apparatus 101 requests allocation of a new network slice, performs a Precision Time Protocol (PTP) and determines if a correction amount (i.e. time difference) is equal to or less than a predetermined value, in which case the apparatus 101 starts reproduction of time synchronization as a new grandmaster for the new network slice (i.e. without performing time synchronization with a current grandmaster).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the time-synchronization device of claim 3, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang, wherein when the new time-synchronization device is the detached one time-synchronization device and the calculated time difference is less than or equal to a predetermined threshold, the new time-synchronization device performs time synchronization as a new grandmaster without performing time synchronization with the current grandmaster, as taught by Morimura. The motivation to do so would have been to have a network device, that disconnected from a time synchronization system for which it was a grandmaster, that can request allocation of a network slice for a subset of network devices from the time synchronization system and when the network device determines that a time difference between the time of the current grandmaster and the time of the network device is less than or equal to a predetermined value, the network device starts to output time information as a new grandmaster with the subset of network devices without performing time synchronization with the current grandmaster, in order to have a fast means for establishing a better quality, more accurate and reliable grandmaster clock for the subset of network devices that need to be synchronized for the network slice.
Zinner fails to disclose but Chan further teaches when the new time-synchronization device is the detached one time-synchronization device, the processing circuitry in the time-synchronization device being the follower device performs time synchronization with the new time-synchronization device that has not performed time synchronization after being connected to the time-synchronization system (Fig 2, [0024]-[0025] & [0032] disclose that, in step 14, identification of a clock as being a prior selection/election as the master clock (i.e. as the grandmaster) can be used to select the K best clocks for performing a BMCA in step 15. The teachings of Chan can be combined with Zinner and Morimura such that when the grandmaster device, whose clock identification is stored in each network device as disclosed by Zinner, is disconnected and a new grandmaster based on the remaining network devices is selected as taught by Morimura, and then the previous grandmaster device re-connects, the remaining network devices can determine a group of network devices for performing a BMCA by first checking to see that the connecting device identifies as the previous grandmaster that has been stored in the remaining network devices, as further taught by Chan, and would determine there to only be one (i.e. K=1) device used in the BMCA, which essentially bypasses the BCMA (i.e. does not perform time synchronization) and would select the previously selected grandmaster as the grandmaster to synchronize to (i.e. as follower devices) immediately upon determining that a time difference of the previously selected grandmaster clock and the current grandmaster clock is less than or equal to the predetermined value.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a time-synchronization device of claim 3, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang, wherein when the new time-synchronization device is the detached one time-synchronization device, the processing circuitry in the time-synchronization device being the follower device performs time synchronization with the new time-synchronization device that has not performed time synchronization after being connected to the time-synchronization system, as further taught by Chan. The motivation to do so would have been to have a network device, that can perform the functions of a time-sync correct and forward device, in a time-synchronization system consisting of a plurality of network devices, select a re-connecting device determined to be a previous grandmaster device as a grandmaster and begin correcting and forwarding announce messages from the re-connected previous grandmaster device without performing time-synchronization with the current grandmaster, so that when the previous grandmaster device re-connects it can be immediately be used as the new grandmaster to provide a higher quality, more accurate and reliable clock with minimal delay.
Regarding claim 5, Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang the time-synchronization device according to claim 3.
Zinner fails to disclose but Morimura teaches wherein when the new time-synchronization device is the detached one time-synchronization device and the calculated time difference is greater than a predetermined threshold, the new time-synchronization device performs time synchronization as a new grandmaster after performing time synchronization with the current grandmaster (Fig 2 & [0024] & [0031] disclose that a grandmaster apparatus 101 requests allocation of a new network slice, performs a Precision Time Protocol (PTP) and determines if a correction amount (i.e. time difference) is equal to or less than a predetermined value. If not equal to or less than the predetermined value, then the apparatus 101 continues to perform the PTP (i.e. time synchronization with the current grandmaster) until the correction amount converges to less than the predetermined value, after which the apparatus 101 starts reproduction of time synchronization as a new grandmaster for the new network slice.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the time-synchronization device of claim 3, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang, wherein when the new time-synchronization device is the detached one time-synchronization device and the calculated time difference is greater than a predetermined threshold, the new time-synchronization device performs time synchronization as a new grandmaster after performing time synchronization with the current grandmaster, as taught by Morimura. The motivation to do so would have been to have a network device, that disconnected from a time synchronization system for which it was a grandmaster, that can request allocation of a network slice for a subset of network devices from the time synchronization system and when the network device determines that a time difference between the time of the current grandmaster and the time of the network device is greater that a predetermined value, the network device performs continual PTP until the time difference converges to be less than or equal to the predetermined value, after which the network device starts to output time information as a new grandmaster with the subset of network devices, in order to avoid outputting time information as a new grandmaster that is very different than the current grandmaster for the subset of network devices that could cause instability in the network causing the subset of network devices that need to be synchronized for the network slice to oscillate for seconds leading to bad quality for time sensitive services.
Zinner fails to disclose but Chan further teaches when the new time-synchronization device is the detached one time-synchronization device, the processing circuitry in the time-synchronization device being the follower device performs time synchronization with the new time-synchronization device that has performed time synchronization after being connected to the time-synchronization system (Fig 2, [0024]-[0025] & [0032] disclose that, in step 14, identification of a clock as being a prior selection/election as the master clock (i.e. as the grandmaster) can be used to select the K best clocks for performing a BMCA in step 15. The teachings of Chan can be combined with Zinner and Morimura such that when the grandmaster device, whose clock identification is stored in each network device as disclosed by Zinner, is disconnected and a new grandmaster based on the remaining network devices is selected as taught by Morimura, and then the previous grandmaster device re-connects, the remaining network devices can determine a group of network devices for performing a BMCA by first checking to see that the connecting device identifies as the previous grandmaster that has been stored in the remaining network devices, as further taught by Chan, and would determine there to only be one (i.e. K=1) device used in the BMCA, which essentially bypasses the BCMA (i.e. does not perform time synchronization) and would select the previously selected grandmaster as the grandmaster to synchronize to (i.e. as follower devices) after performing a PTP process to converge a time difference of the previously selected grandmaster clock and the current grandmaster clock from being greater than a predetermined value to being less than or equal to the predetermined value.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a time-synchronization device of claim 3, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang, wherein when the new time-synchronization device is the detached one time-synchronization device, the processing circuitry in the time-synchronization device being the follower device performs time synchronization with the new time-synchronization device that has performed time synchronization after being connected to the time-synchronization system, as further taught by Chan. The motivation to do so would have been to have a network device, that can perform the functions of a time-sync correct and forward device, in a time-synchronization system consisting of a plurality of network devices, select a re-connecting device determined to be a previous grandmaster device as a grandmaster and begin correcting and forwarding announce messages from the re-connected previous grandmaster device after the re-connecting previous grandmaster device performs time-synchronization with the current grandmaster, so that when the previous grandmaster device re-connects it can perform a PTP process to converge a clock in the previous grandmaster device with a current grandmaster clock before the previous grandmaster device starts sending time information as a new grandmaster to avoid instability and going into oscillations for seconds that leads to poor quality for time sensitive services that may have been caused by the previous grandmaster clock sending time information that is very different from the current grandmaster clock.
Regarding claim 8, Zinner discloses a time-synchronization system, comprising:
a plurality of time-synchronization devices each to perform time synchronization as a grandmaster or a follower device ([0011] discloses IEEE 802.1AS-enabled network devices that can perform initial time synchronization by executing a Best Master Clock Algorithm (BMCA) to determine a grandmaster clock. Fig 1 & [0030] disclose that each of a plurality of network devices 102, 104, 106, 108, 110 and 112 can be a grandmaster clock or device for correction and forwarding (i.e. a following device) of time synchronization messages throughout the plurality of network devices in order to provide time synchronization across all the devices (i.e. a time-synchronization system).),
wherein any time-synchronization device of the plurality of time-synchronization devices includes processing circuitry, a storage, and a transmitter-receiver ([0025] discloses that any network device comprises a microprocessor. [0025] discloses that any network device comprises non-volatile and volatile memory. [0004] discloses that any network device can send and receive announce messages and time synchronization messages.),
the processing circuitry of the time-synchronization device selects the grandmaster by performing a grandmaster arbitration process for identifying, from the plurality of time-synchronization devices, one time- synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster (Fig 1 & [0030] disclose that after executing a BMCA (i.e. a grandmaster arbitration process), determining that network device 112, from the plurality of network devices 102, 104, 106, 108, 110 and 112, is the grandmaster clock.),
the processing circuitry of the time-synchronization device performs time synchronization as the grandmaster when the time-synchronization device is selected as the grandmaster by being identified as the one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster (Fig 1 & [0030] discloses that device 112, that has been selected as the grandmaster by being identified as a device corresponding to the grandmaster, sends time synchronization messages to the network device 106 and other network devices not shown in the figure that are directly connected to device 112.) and performs time synchronization as the follower device when the time-synchronization device is not selected as the grandmaster by not being identified as the one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster (Fig 1 & [0030] disclose that network device 106, that has not been selected as the grandmaster by not being identified as the one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster, corrects and forwards a modified message for time synchronization to network device 104 and other network devices not shown in the figure (i.e. performs time synchronization as a follower device). Network devices 102, 104, 108 & 110, also not selected as the grandmaster, perform similar correction and forwarding of modified messages for time synchronization to each other and other network devices not shown in the figure.),
the storage of the time-synchronization device stores identification information for identifying the one time- synchronization device selected as the grandmaster (Fig 6 and [0011] & [0035] discloses that each network device stores a unique clock identification of the grandmaster clock determined during the initialization of time synchronization.),
Zinner fails to disclose but Morimura teaches when the one time-synchronization device is disconnected and detached from the time-synchronization system, the processing circuitry selects the grandmaster from the plurality of time-synchronization devices excluding the one time-synchronization device by performing the grandmaster arbitration process for identifying a new one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster (Figs 1 & 5 and [0029] disclose that when the power of a grandmaster apparatus is turned off or it is impossible to receive an Announce packet from the grandmaster apparatus due to degradation in the communication environment, then re-selection of a new grandmaster may be performed based on other grandmaster candidates in the network for identifying a new device corresponding to the grandmaster.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a time-synchronization system with time-synchronization devices that can perform time synchronization as a grandmaster or a follower device, select the grandmaster by performing a grandmaster arbitration process for identifying, from the plurality of time-synchronization devices included in the time-synchronization system, one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster, perform time synchronization as the grandmaster when the time-synchronization device is selected as the grandmaster by being identified as the one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster, perform time synchronization as the follower device when the time-synchronization device is not selected as the grandmaster by not being identified as the one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster, and store identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster, as disclosed by Zinner, wherein when the one time-synchronization device is disconnected and detached from the time-synchronization system, the time-synchronization system can select the grandmaster from the plurality of time-synchronization devices excluding the one time-synchronization device by performing the grandmaster arbitration process for identifying a new one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster, as taught by Morimura. The motivation to do so would have been to have a system with network devices, that can perform the functions of either a grandmaster device or time-sync correct and forward device, determine through a BMCA a grandmaster device, operate as a grandmaster for the network device selected as the grandmaster device and operate as a time-sync correct and forward device for the network devices not selected as the grandmaster device, and when the grandmaster device disconnects from the system, re-select a new grandmaster device from the remaining network devices based on a BMCA so that the best time clock available of the remaining network devices can be selected as the new grandmaster device.
Zinner fails to disclose but Chan further teaches when a new time-synchronization device is connected to the time-synchronization system and the processing circuitry of the time-synchronization device identifies the new time-synchronization device as the detached one time-synchronization device based on the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster, the processing circuitry of the time-synchronization device selects the new time-synchronization device as the grandmaster without performing the grandmaster arbitration process (Fig 2, [0024]-[0025] & [0032] disclose that, in step 14, identification of a clock as being a prior selection/election as the master clock (i.e. as the grandmaster) can be used to select the K best clocks for performing a BMCA in step 15. The teachings of Chan can be combined with Zinner and Morimura such that when the grandmaster device, whose clock identification is stored in each network device as disclosed by Zinner, is disconnected and a new grandmaster based on the remaining network devices is selected as taught by Morimura, and then a new device connects, the remaining network devices can determine a group of network devices for performing a BMCA by first checking to see if the new device identifies as the previous grandmaster that has been stored in the remaining network devices, as further taught by Chan, and if so then there would be only one (i.e. K=1) device used in the BMCA, which essentially bypasses the BCMA and selects the previously selected grandmaster as the grandmaster. Otherwise, the new network device could be grouped with the remaining network devices to perform a BMCA to potentially select a new grandmaster.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a time-synchronization system with time-synchronization devices, that can perform time synchronization as a grandmaster or a follower device, select the grandmaster by performing a grandmaster arbitration process for identifying, from the plurality of time-synchronization devices included in the time-synchronization system, one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster, perform time synchronization as the grandmaster when the time-synchronization device is selected as the grandmaster by being identified as the one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster, perform time synchronization as the follower device when the time-synchronization device is not selected as the grandmaster by not being identified as the one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster, and store identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster, and wherein when the one time-synchronization device is disconnected and detached from the time-synchronization system, the time-synchronization device can select the grandmaster from the plurality of time-synchronization devices excluding the one time-synchronization device by performing the grandmaster arbitration process for identifying a new one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura, and when a new time-synchronization device is connected to the time-synchronization system and the processing circuitry identifies the new time-synchronization device as the detached one time-synchronization device based on the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster, the processing circuitry selects the new time-synchronization device as the grandmaster without performing the grandmaster arbitration process, as further taught by Chan. The motivation to do so would have been to have a system with network devices, that can perform the functions of either a grandmaster device or time-sync correct and forward device, determine through a BMCA a grandmaster device, operate as a grandmaster for the network device selected as the grandmaster device and operate as a time-sync correct and forward device for the network devices not selected as the grandmaster device, and when the grandmaster device disconnects from the system, re-select a new grandmaster device from the remaining network devices based on a BMCA, after which when a new network device connects, the remaining network devices can determine if the clock identification of the new device is the same as the previous grandmaster device clock identification stored in the remaining devices, and if so, perform BMCA based on the previously selected grandmaster device only (i.e. bypass BMCA), or if not then perform BMCA based on the new network device being added to the group of remaining devices, so that when the new network device that connects turns out to be the previously selected grandmaster device stored in the remaining network devices, the previously selected grandmaster device can be immediately selected as the grandmaster to avoid delays in running a BMCA that would likely select the previous grandmaster devices as the grandmaster anyways.
Zinner fails to disclose but Yang further teaches the storage does not update the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster during or after the grandmaster is selected by performing the grandmaster arbitration process for identifying the new one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster (Fig 3, [0020] & [0029]-[0030] disclose a PTP network device that stores a grandmaster candidate list that may be manually configured or generated by a management node, and when the network device receives an announce message containing grandmaster information (e.g. a new PTP device is connected, that may have been selected as a grandmaster clock based on the best master clock algorithm (BMCA)), the PTP device searches the stored grandmaster list, and if a match is found then the PTP device performs synchronization with the grandmaster in the announce message, and if a match is not found then a previous grandmaster clock or local clock may be used for synchronization. In either case, the stored grandmaster list is not updated during or after the selection of a new grandmaster through a BMCA for identifying a new PTP network device as a grandmaster.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a time-synchronization system including a plurality of time-synchronization devices, wherein any of the plurality of time-synchronization devices can select a grandmaster by performing a grandmaster arbitration process for identifying, from the plurality of time-synchronization devices included in the time-synchronization system, a one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster, the storage stores identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster, when the one time-synchronization device is disconnected and detached from the time-synchronization system, the processing circuitry selects the grandmaster from the plurality of time-synchronization devices excluding the one time-synchronization device by performing the grandmaster arbitration process for identifying a new one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan, and the storage does not update the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster during or after the grandmaster is selected by performing the grandmaster arbitration process for identifying the new one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster, as further taught by Yang. The motivation to do so would have been to have a system with a plurality of network devices, wherein any one of the plurality of network devices can select, through a BMCA, an initial grandmaster device, store the identification of the selected initial grandmaster device in a candidate grandmaster list in the network device’s storage, and when the initial grandmaster device disconnects from the system, select a new grandmaster from the remaining network devices based on a BMCA algorithm without updating the grandmaster candidate list, after which when a new network device connects, the network device determines if the clock identification of the new network device is the same as the initial grandmaster device identification stored in the grandmaster candidate list, and if so, perform synchronization with the initial grandmaster device (i.e. bypass BMCA), in order to reduce time in re-synchronizing to the initial grandmaster network device when the initial grandmaster network device returns by bypassing the BMCA algorithm.
Regarding claim 10, Zinner discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program for causing a computer to perform operations ([0023]-[0025] discloses a computer readable medium, that is contained in each network device, that can store a computer program with instructions that when executed by a computer performs the embodiments of the methods disclosed.) comprising:
selecting a grandmaster of a time-synchronization system by performing a grandmaster arbitration process for identifying, from a plurality of computers included in the time-synchronization system, one computer corresponding to the grandmaster of the time-synchronization system (Fig 1 & [0030] disclose that after executing a BMCA (i.e. a grandmaster arbitration process), determining that network device 112 (including the computer in network device 112), from the plurality of network devices 102, 104, 106, 108, 110 and 112, is the grandmaster clock.);
performing time synchronization as the grandmaster when the computer is selected as the grandmaster by being identified as the one computer corresponding to the grandmaster (Fig 1 & [0030] discloses that device 112 (including the computer in network device 112), that has been selected as the grandmaster by being identified as a device corresponding to the grandmaster, sends time synchronization messages to the network device 106 and other network devices not shown in the figure that are directly connected to device 112.), and performing time synchronization as a follower device of the time-synchronization system when the computer is not selected as the grandmaster by not being identified as the one computer corresponding to the grandmaster (Fig 1 & [0030] disclose that network device 106 (including the computer in network device 106), that has not been selected as the grandmaster by not being identified as a device corresponding to the grandmaster, corrects and forwards a modified message for time synchronization to network device 104 and other network devices not shown in the figure (i.e. performs time synchronization as a follower device). Network devices 102, 104, 108 & 110 (including the computers in these network devices), also not selected as the grandmaster, perform similar correction and forwarding of modified messages for time synchronization to each other and other network devices not shown in the figure.); and
storing identification information for identifying the one computer selected as the grandmaster (Fig 6 and [0011] & [0035] discloses that each network device (including the computer in each network device) stores a unique clock identification of the grandmaster clock determined during the initialization of time synchronization.),
Zinner fails to disclose but Morimura teaches wherein the program further causes the computer to perform operations comprising
selecting, when the one computer is disconnected and detached from the time-synchronization system, the grandmaster from the plurality of computers excluding the one computer by performing the grandmaster arbitration process for identifying a new one computer corresponding to the grandmaster (Figs 1 & 5 and [0029] disclose that when the power of a grandmaster apparatus (including the computer in the apparatus) is turned off or it is impossible to receive an Announce packet from the grandmaster apparatus due to degradation in the communication environment, then re-selection of a new grandmaster may be performed based on other grandmaster candidates in the network for identifying a new grandmaster apparatus.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program that causes a computer in a time-synchronization device to perform operations comprising selecting a grandmaster of a time-synchronization system by performing a grandmaster arbitration process for identifying, from a plurality of computers included in the time-synchronization system, one computer corresponding to the grandmaster of the time-synchronization system; performing time synchronization as the grandmaster when the computer is selected as the grandmaster by being identified as the one computer corresponding to the grandmaster, and performing time synchronization as a follower device of the time-synchronization system when the computer is not selected as the grandmaster by not being identified as the one computer corresponding to the grandmaster; and storing identification information for identifying the one computer selected as the grandmaster, as disclosed by Zinner, wherein when the computer in the one time-synchronization device is disconnected and detached from the time-synchronization system, the program in the computer can select the grandmaster from the plurality of time-synchronization devices excluding the program in the computer in the one time-synchronization device by performing the grandmaster arbitration process for identifying a new one computer corresponding to the grandmaster, as taught by Morimura. The motivation to do so would have been to have a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program that causes a computer in a time-synchronization device to perform functions of either a grandmaster device or time-sync correct and forward device, determine through a BMCA a grandmaster device, operate as a grandmaster for the network device selected as the grandmaster device and operate as a time-sync correct and forward device for the network devices not selected as the grandmaster device, and when the computer program in the grandmaster device disconnects from the system, re-select a new grandmaster device from the remaining network devices based on a BMCA so that the best time clock available of the remaining network devices can be selected as the new grandmaster device.
Zinner fails to disclose but Chan further teaches selecting, when a new computer is connected to the time-synchronization system and the new computer is identified as the detached one computer based on the identification information for identifying the one computer selected as the grandmaster, the new computer as the grandmaster without performing the grandmaster arbitration process (Fig 2, [0024]-[0025] & [0032] disclose that, in step 14, identification of a clock as being a prior selection/election as the master clock (i.e. as the grandmaster) can be used to select the K best clocks for performing a BMCA in step 15. The teachings of Chan can be combined with Zinner and Morimura such that when the grandmaster device (including the computer in the device), whose clock identification is stored in each network device as disclosed by Zinner, is disconnected and a new grandmaster based on the remaining network devices is selected as taught by Morimura, and then a new device connects, the remaining network devices (including the computers in the remaining network devices) can determine a group of network devices for performing a BMCA by first checking to see if the new device identifies, based on the identification information for identifying the prior selection/election as the grandmaster, as the previous grandmaster that has been stored in the remaining network devices, as further taught by Chan, and if so then there would be only one (i.e. K=1) device used in the BMCA, which essentially bypasses the BMCA and selects the previously selected grandmaster as the grandmaster. Otherwise, the new network device could be grouped with the remaining network devices to perform a BMCA to potentially select a new grandmaster.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program that causes a computer in a time-synchronization device to perform operations comprising selecting a grandmaster of a time-synchronization system by performing a grandmaster arbitration process for identifying, from a plurality of computers included in the time-synchronization system, one computer corresponding to the grandmaster of the time-synchronization system; performing time synchronization as the grandmaster when the computer is selected as the grandmaster by being identified as the one computer corresponding to the grandmaster, and performing time synchronization as a follower device of the time-synchronization system when the computer is not selected as the grandmaster by not being identified as the one computer corresponding to the grandmaster; and storing identification information for identifying the one computer selected as the grandmaster, wherein when the computer in the one time-synchronization device is disconnected and detached from the time-synchronization system, the program in the computer can select the grandmaster from the plurality of time-synchronization devices excluding the program in the computer in the one time-synchronization device by performing the grandmaster arbitration process, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura, and selecting, when a new computer is connected to the time-synchronization system and the new computer is identified as the detached one computer based on the identification information for identifying the one computer selected as the grandmaster, the new computer as the grandmaster without performing the grandmaster arbitration process, as further taught by Chan. The motivation to do so would have been to have a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program that causes a computer in a time-synchronization device to perform functions of either a grandmaster device or time-sync correct and forward device, determine through a BMCA a grandmaster device, operate as a grandmaster for the network device selected as the grandmaster device and operate as a time-sync correct and forward device for the network devices not selected as the grandmaster device, and when the computer in the grandmaster device disconnects from the system, re-select a new grandmaster device from the remaining network devices based on a BMCA, after which when a computer in a new network device connects, the computer in the remaining network devices can determine if the clock identification of the new device is the same as the previous grandmaster device clock identification stored in the remaining devices, and if so, perform BMCA based on the previously selected grandmaster device only (i.e. bypass BMCA), or if not then perform BMCA based on the new network device being added to the group of remaining devices, so that when the computer in the new network device that connects turns out to be the previously selected grandmaster device stored in the remaining network devices, the previously selected grandmaster device can be immediately selected as the grandmaster to avoid delays in running a BMCA that would likely select the previous grandmaster device as the grandmaster anyways.
Zinner fails to disclose but Yang further teaches the identification information for identifying the one computer selected as the grandmaster not being updated during or after the grandmaster is selected by performing the grandmaster arbitration process for identifying the new one computer corresponding to the grandmaster (Fig 3, [0020] & [0029]-[0030] disclose a PTP network device that stores a grandmaster candidate list that may be manually configured or generated by a management node, and when the network device receives an announce message containing grandmaster information (e.g. a new PTP device is connected, that may have been selected as a grandmaster clock based on the best master clock algorithm (BMCA)), the PTP device searches the stored grandmaster list, and if a match is found then the PTP device performs synchronization with the grandmaster in the announce message, and if a match is not found then a previous grandmaster clock or local clock may be used for synchronization. In either case, the stored grandmaster list is not updated during or after the selection of a new grandmaster through a BMCA for identifying a new PTP network device as a grandmaster.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program that causes a computer in a time-synchronization device to perform operations comprising selecting a grandmaster of a time-synchronization system by performing a grandmaster arbitration process for identifying, from a plurality of computers included in the time-synchronization system, one computer corresponding to the grandmaster of the time-synchronization system; performing time synchronization as the grandmaster when the computer is selected as the grandmaster by being identified as the one computer corresponding to the grandmaster, and performing time synchronization as a follower device of the time-synchronization system when the computer is not selected as the grandmaster by not being identified as the one computer corresponding to the grandmaster; and storing identification information for identifying the one computer selected as the grandmaster, wherein when the computer in the one time-synchronization device is disconnected and detached from the time-synchronization system, the program in the computer can select the grandmaster from the plurality of time-synchronization devices excluding the program in the computer in the one time-synchronization device by performing the grandmaster arbitration process, and selecting, when a new computer is connected to the time-synchronization system and the new computer is identified as the detached one computer based on the identification information for identifying the one computer selected as the grandmaster, the new computer as the grandmaster without performing the grandmaster arbitration process, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan, and the identification information for identifying the one computer selected as the grandmaster not being updated during or after the grandmaster is selected by performing the grandmaster arbitration process for identifying the new one computer corresponding to the grandmaster, as further taught by Yang. The motivation to do so would have been to have a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program that causes a computer in a time-synchronization device to select, through a BMCA, an initial grandmaster device, store the identification of the selected initial grandmaster device in a candidate grandmaster list in the network device’s storage, and when the initial grandmaster device disconnects from the system, select a new grandmaster from the remaining network devices based on a BMCA algorithm without updating the grandmaster candidate list, after which when a new network device connects, the network device determines if the clock identification of the new network device is the same as the initial grandmaster device identification stored in the grandmaster candidate list, and if so, perform synchronization with the initial grandmaster device (i.e. bypass BMCA), in order to reduce time in re-synchronizing to the initial grandmaster network device when the initial grandmaster network device returns by bypassing the BMCA algorithm.
Regarding claim 11, Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang disclose the time-synchronization device according to claim 2.
Zinner discloses wherein the processing circuitry compares, when the new time-synchronization device is connected to the time-synchronization system, a time of a current grandmaster with a time of the new time-synchronization device to calculate a time difference ([0004] discloses that the network device that receives a message from a directly connected network device compares the time information in the message received from the directly connected network device with the internal processing time of its own internal clock (i.e. grandmaster clock) to correct the time information before forwarding (i.e. adjust the time information by a time difference based on comparing the time information in the message received from the directly connected network device with the internal processing time of its own internal clock.).).
Regarding claim 14, Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang disclose the time-synchronization device according to claim 1.
Zinner teaches wherein the storage further stores arbitration priority information of the time-synchronization device separate from the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster, the processing circuitry performs the grandmaster arbitration process by transmitting and receiving, through the transmitter-receiver with adjacent time-synchronization devices, an Announce frame including the arbitration priority information ([0004] discloses that network devices perform BMCA by sending and receiving Announce messages with information about their internal clocks (i.e. stored information) to immediately connected devices. [0013] disclose that the internal clock parameters relevant for execution of BMCA include priority1, priority2, clockClass, clockAccuracy, offsetScaledLogVariance, and timeSource (i.e. arbitration priority information). These clock parameters are different than the unique clock identification of the grandmaster clock determined during the initialization of time synchronization, and thus would be stored separately.).
Zinner fails to disclose but Yang further teaches wherein the storage does not update the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster upon transmission or receipt of an Announce frame including the arbitration priority information (Fig 3, [0020] & [0029]-[0030] disclose a PTP network device that stores a grandmaster candidate list that may be manually configured or generated by a management node, and when the network device receives an announce message containing grandmaster information (e.g. PTP device announcing execution of BMCA), the PTP device searches the stored grandmaster list, and if a match is found then the PTP device performs synchronization with the grandmaster in the announce message, and if a match is not found then a previous grandmaster clock or local clock may be used for synchronization. In either case, the stored grandmaster list is not updated during or after the announce message (i.e. including the arbitration priority information) sent for execution of the BMCA.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the time-synchronization device according to claim 1, wherein the storage further stores arbitration priority information of the time-synchronization device separate from the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster, the processing circuitry performs the grandmaster arbitration process by transmitting and receiving, through the transmitter-receiver with adjacent time-synchronization devices, an Announce frame including the arbitration priority information, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang, wherein the storage does not update the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster upon transmission or receipt of an Announce frame including the arbitration priority information, as further taught by Yang. The motivation to do so would have been to have a network device, in a time-synchronization system consisting of a plurality of network devices, select through a BMCA an initial grandmaster device, store the identification of the selected initial grandmaster device in a candidate grandmaster list in the network device’s storage, and when the initial grandmaster device disconnects from the system, select a new grandmaster from the remaining network devices based on transmitting or receiving an Announce message including arbitration priority information to execute a BMCA algorithm without updating the grandmaster candidate list, after which when a new network device connects, the network device determines if the clock identification of the new network device is the same as the initial grandmaster device identification stored in the grandmaster candidate list, and if so, perform synchronization with the initial grandmaster device (i.e. bypass BMCA), in order to be able to identify the initial grandmaster device even after performing a BCMA, so as to reduce time in re-synchronizing to the initial grandmaster network device when the initial grandmaster network device returns by bypassing the BMCA algorithm.
Regarding claim 15, Zinner discloses wherein the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster stored in the storage includes a value selected from a station number (optional), an Internet Protocol address (optional), or a clock identification of the one time-synchronization device ([0035] discloses that the unique clock identification of the device determined to be the grandmaster through BCMA during initialization is stored.).
Regarding claim 16, Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang disclose the time-synchronization device according to claim 1.
Zinner fails to disclose but Yang further teaches wherein the processing circuitry: upon receipt through the transmitter-receiver of an Announce frame from the new time-synchronization device, compares a value of identification information included in the received Announce frame with a value of the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster stored in the storage, identifies the new time-synchronization device as the detached one time-synchronization device when the compared values are equal, and refrains from selecting the new time-synchronization device as the grandmaster when the compared values are different (Fig 3, [0020] & [0029]-[0030] disclose a PTP network device that stores a grandmaster candidate list that may be manually configured or generated by a management node, and when the network device receives an announce message containing grandmaster information (e.g. a new PTP device is connected), the PTP device searches the stored grandmaster list, and if a match is found (i.e. if a value of identification information included in the received Announce frame from the new PTP device compares to be the same with a value of the identification information stored in the grandmaster list) then the PTP device performs synchronization with the grandmaster in the announce message (i.e. identifies the new time-synchronization devices as the detached one time-synchronization device), and if a match is not found then a previous grandmaster clock or local clock may be used for synchronization (i.e. refrains from selecting the new time-synchronization device as the grandmaster.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the time-synchronization device according to claim 1, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang, wherein the processing circuitry: upon receipt through the transmitter-receiver of an Announce frame from the new time-synchronization device, compares a value of identification information included in the received Announce frame with a value of the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster stored in the storage, identifies the new time-synchronization device as the detached one time-synchronization device when the compared values are equal, and refrains from selecting the new time-synchronization device as the grandmaster when the compared values are different, as further taught by Yang. The motivation to do so would have been to have a network device, in a time-synchronization system consisting of a plurality of network devices, select through a BMCA an initial grandmaster device, store the identification of the selected initial grandmaster device in a candidate grandmaster list in the network device’s storage, and when the initial grandmaster device disconnects from the system, select a new grandmaster from the remaining network devices based on a BMCA algorithm without updating the grandmaster candidate list, after which when a new network device connects, the network device determines if the clock identification of the new network device is the same as the initial grandmaster device identification stored in the grandmaster candidate list by determining if a value of the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster stored in the storage, matches a value of the identification information of the new time-synchronization device, and if so, performs synchronization with the initial grandmaster device (i.e. identifies the new time-synchronization device as the detached one time-synchronization device), and if not, then maintains synchronization with a current grandmaster time-synchronization device or uses a local clock, in order to reduce time in re-synchronizing to the initial grandmaster network device when the initial grandmaster network device returns by bypassing the BMCA algorithm, and otherwise refraining from synchronizing with the new time-synchronization device until a BMCA is performed with the new time-synchronization device.
Regarding claim 18, Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang disclose the time-synchronization device according to claim 1.
Zinner fails to disclose but Yang further teaches wherein the processing circuitry, when the time-synchronization device is not selected as the grandmaster, performs time synchronization with a current grandmaster during an interval between selection of the new one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster and selection of the new time-synchronization device as the grandmaster (Fig 3 & [0029]-[0030] discloses that a PTP device continues to synchronize with a previous grandmaster during a period of time when a BMCA is used to determine a new clock (i.e. a new one-time synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster) until the PTP device receives an announce message, with grandmaster identification information (i.e. a new time synchronization device) that matches identification information on a grandmaster list, and synchronizes with the grandmaster identified in the announce message (i.e. selection of the new time-synchronization device as the grandmaster).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the time-synchronization device of claim 1, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang, wherein the processing circuitry, when the time-synchronization device is not selected as the grandmaster, performs time synchronization with a current grandmaster during an interval between selection of the new one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster and selection of the new time-synchronization device as the grandmaster, as further taught by Yang . The motivation to do so would have been to have a device, that can perform the functions of a time-sync correct and forward device, in a time-synchronization system consisting of a plurality of devices, determine through a BMCA an initial device as the grandmaster, store the identification information for identifying the initial device as the grandmaster, and when the initial device disconnects from the system, select a new device from the remaining devices based on a BMCA, after which when a second new device connects, the device can determine if the clock identification of the second new device is the same as the initial device clock identification stored, and if so, perform BMCA based on the initial device only (i.e. bypass BMCA), and during a period of time between selecting the new device as the grandmaster and selecting the second new device as the grandmaster, the device performs synchronization with the new device as the grandmaster (i.e. the current grandmaster) to provide time for announce messages, providing clock identification information of the second new device as the grandmaster, to be sent from the second new device selected as the grandmaster to the device so that the clock in the device does not drift to become an issue while waiting for the announce message of the second new device as the grandmaster to arrive.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zinner et al. (DE 102019217037)(herein after “Zinner”) in view of Morimura et al. (US2023/0017152)(herein after “Morimura”) and Chan et al. (US 2021/0181787)(herein after “Chan”) and Yang et al. (US 2013/0227008)(herein after “Yang”), as applied to claim 2, and further in view of Goel et al. (US 2019/0007151)(herein after “Goel”).
Regarding claim 6, Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang disclose the time-synchronization device according to claim 2.
Zinner fails to disclose but Yang further teaches wherein when the new time-synchronization device is connected to the time-synchronization system and the priority level indicated in the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster stored in the storage is different from a priority level indicated in the identification information acquired from the new time-synchronization device, the processing circuitry does not identify the new time-synchronization device as the detached one time-synchronization device (Fig 3 & [0029]-[0030] discloses that when a PTP network device receives an announce message containing grandmaster information (e.g. a new PTP device is connected), the PTP device searches the stored grandmaster list, and if a match is found then the PTP device performs synchronization with the grandmaster in the announce message, and if a match is not found then the PTP device drops the message. The unique clock identification and priority level information of an initial grandmaster device stored, as taught by Zinner, in a grandmaster list, as taught by Yang, teaches that when the initial grandmaster device is detached, as taught by Morimura, and a new PTP device is connected, as taught by Chan, and the new devices identification information including priority level is compared against the grandmaster list, if a match is not found then the new PTP network device drops the message and does not identify the new PTP device as the initial grandmaster device that detached, otherwise the new PTP device would have performed synchronization with the grandmaster in the announce message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the time-synchronization device of claim 2, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang, wherein when the new time-synchronization device is connected to the time-synchronization system and the priority level indicated in the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster stored in the storage is different from a priority level indicated in the identification information acquired from the new time-synchronization device, the processing circuitry does not identify the new time-synchronization device as the detached one time-synchronization device, as further disclosed by Yang. The motivation to do so would have been to have a device store identification including clock identification and priority level of an initial device that has been selected as the grandmaster in a grandmaster list, and when the initial device disconnects from the system, re-select a new grandmaster device from the remaining devices based on a BMCA, after which when a new device connects, the device can determine if the clock identification and priority level of the new device is the same as the previous grandmaster device clock identification and priority level stored in the grandmaster list, and if not then, then the device would not identify the new device as the detached initial device and would not synchronize with the new device without performing a BMCA so that it can be determined if the clock in the new device is the best clock for the device to synchronize to.
Zinner fails to disclose but Goel further teaches when a priority level indicated in the identification information stored in the new time-synchronization device is lower than a priority level indicated in the identification information stored in another time-synchronization device included in the time- synchronization system, the new time-synchronization device is enabled to transmit and receive information to and from the other time-synchronization device after performing time synchronization with the grandmaster (Fig 4 & [0072] disclose that a UE may have a lower priority level than a PTP server, in which case the UE is enabled to transmit announce messages after receive timing synchronization signals from the PTP server.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the time-synchronization device of claim 2, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang, wherein when a priority level indicated in the identification information stored in the new time-synchronization device is lower than a priority level indicated in the identification information stored in another time-synchronization device included in the time-synchronization system, the new time-synchronization device is enabled to transmit and receive information to and from the other time-synchronization device after performing time synchronization with the grandmaster, as further taught by Goel. The motivation to do so would have been to have a device store identification including clock identification and priority level of an initial device, that has been selected as the grandmaster amongst a plurality of devices, in a grandmaster list, and when the initial device disconnects from the system, re-select a new grandmaster device from the remaining devices based on a BMCA, after which when a new device connects, the device can determine if the clock identification and priority level of the new device is the same as the previous grandmaster device clock identification and priority level stored in the grandmaster list, and if not, and if the priority level indicated in the identification information stored in the new device is lower than the priority level indicated in the identification information stored in another device in the time-synchronization system, then the new network device may perform PTP to synchronize with the time-synchronization system and send announce messages in order to improve network performance through addition of the new network node to the time-synchronization system.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zinner et al. (DE 102019217037)(herein after “Zinner”) in view of Morimura et al. (US2023/0017152)(herein after “Morimura”) and Chan et al. (US 2021/0181787)(herein after “Chan”) and Yang et al. (US 2013/0227008)(herein after “Yang”), as applied to claim 2, and further in view of Sakaue et al. (US 2021/0152266)(herein after “Sakaue”).
Regarding claim 7, Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang disclose the time-synchronization device according to claim 2.
Zinner fails to disclose but Yang further teaches wherein when the new time-synchronization device is connected to the time-synchronization system and the priority level indicated in the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster stored in the storage is different from a priority level indicated in the identification information acquired from the new time-synchronization device, the processing circuitry does not identify the new time-synchronization device as the detached one time-synchronization device (Fig 3 & [0029]-[0030] discloses that when a PTP network device receives an announce message containing grandmaster information (e.g. a new PTP device is connected), the PTP device searches the stored grandmaster list, and if a match is found then the PTP device performs synchronization with the grandmaster in the announce message, and if a match is not found then the PTP device drops the message. The unique clock identification and priority level information of an initial grandmaster device stored, as taught by Zinner, in a grandmaster list, as taught by Yang, teaches that when the initial grandmaster device is detached, as taught by Morimura, and a new PTP device is connected, as taught by Chan, and the new devices identification information including priority level is compared against the grandmaster list, if a match is not found then the new PTP network device drops the message and does not identify the new PTP device as the initial grandmaster device that detached, otherwise the new PTP device would have performed synchronization with the grandmaster in the announce message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the time-synchronization device of claim 2, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang, wherein when the new time-synchronization device is connected to the time-synchronization system and the priority level indicated in the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster stored in the storage is different from a priority level indicated in the identification information acquired from the new time-synchronization device, the processing circuitry does not identify the new time-synchronization device as the detached one time-synchronization device, as further disclosed by Yang. The motivation to do so would have been to have a device store identification including clock identification and priority level of an initial device that has been selected as the grandmaster in a grandmaster list, and when the initial device disconnects from the system, re-select a new grandmaster device from the remaining devices based on a BMCA, after which when a new device connects, the device can determine if the clock identification and priority level of the new device is the same as the previous grandmaster device clock identification and priority level stored in the grandmaster list, and if not then, then the device would not identify the new device as the detached initial device and would not synchronize with the new device without performing a BMCA so that it can be determined if the clock in the new device is the best clock for the device to synchronize to.
Zinner fails to disclose but Sakaue further teaches when the priority level indicated in the identification information stored in the new time-synchronization device is higher than a priority level indicated in the identification information stored in another time-synchronization device included in the time-synchronization system, the new time-synchronization device is disconnected from the time-synchronization system (Fig 4 & [0071]-[0074] discloses a new communication apparatus 3 entering a communication system and sending an announce message to a communication apparatus 2 including an indication of a higher priority than a current grandmaster. [0074]-[0077] discloses that the after verifying that the priority of new communication apparatus 3 is higher than the current grandmaster, apparatus 2 stops grandmaster mediation and waits to receive a synchronization message from communication apparatus 3. Upon receive the synchronization message from communication apparatus 3, communication apparatus 2 determines that a time difference between communication apparatus 3 and the grandmaster time stored in communication apparatus 2 is greater than a threshold and apparatus 2 ignores performing a BMCA with new communication apparatus 3 (i.e. disconnecting new communication apparatus 3 from the communication system).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the time-synchronization device of claim 2, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang, wherein when a priority level indicated in the identification information stored in the new time-synchronization device is higher than a priority level indicated in the identification information stored in another time-synchronization device included in the time-synchronization system, the new time-synchronization device is disconnected from the time-synchronization system, as further taught by Sakaue. The motivation to do so would have been to have a device store identification including clock identification and priority level of an initial device, that has been selected as the grandmaster amongst a plurality of devices, in a grandmaster list, and when the initial device disconnects from the system, re-select a new grandmaster device from the remaining devices based on a BMCA, after which when a new device connects, the device can determine if the clock identification and priority level of the new device is the same as the previous grandmaster device clock identification and priority level stored in the grandmaster list, and if not, and if the priority level indicated in the identification information stored in the new network device is higher than the priority level indicated in the identification information stored in the remaining devices in the time-synchronization system, then the new device may be disconnected so that only other devices with better clocks may be considered for being selected as a grandmaster.
Claims 12 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zinner et al. (DE 102019217037)(herein after “Zinner”) in view of Morimura et al. (US2023/0017152)(herein after “Morimura”) and Chan et al. (US 2021/0181787)(herein after “Chan”) and Yang et al. (US 2013/0227008)(herein after “Yang”), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Roberts et al. (Peter Roberts, Alcatel-Lucent & Geoffrey Garner, MIT, “IEEE 1588 BMCA Re-arrangement Times”, IEEE 802.1 TSN TG, 7/15/2013)(herein after “Roberts”).
Regarding claim 12, Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang disclose the time-synchronization device according to claim 1.
Zinner fails to disclose but Chan further teaches wherein, in response to identifying the new time-synchronization device as the detached one time-synchronization device based on the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster, the processing circuitry selects the new time-synchronization device as the grandmaster (Fig 2, [0024]-[0025] & [0032] disclose that, in step 14, identification of a clock as being a prior selection/election as the master clock (i.e. as the grandmaster) can be used to select the K best clocks for performing a BMCA in step 15. The teachings of Chan can be combined with Zinner and Morimura such that when the grandmaster device, whose clock identification is stored in each network device as disclosed by Zinner, is disconnected and a new grandmaster based on the remaining network devices is selected as taught by Morimura, and then a new device connects, the remaining network devices can determine a group of network devices for performing a BMCA by first checking to see if the new device identifies as the previous grandmaster that has been stored in the remaining network devices, as further taught by Chan, and if so then there would be only one (i.e. K=1) device used in the BMCA, which selects the previously selected grandmaster as the grandmaster. Otherwise, the new network device could be grouped with the remaining network devices to perform a BMCA to potentially select a new grandmaster.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the time-synchronization device according to claim 1, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang, wherein, in response to identifying the new time-synchronization device as the detached one time-synchronization device based on the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster, the processing circuitry selects the new time-synchronization device as the grandmaster, as further taught by Chan. The motivation to do so would have been to have a network device, that can perform the functions of either a grandmaster device or time-sync correct and forward device, in a time-synchronization system consisting of a plurality of network devices, determine through a BMCA a grandmaster device, operate as a grandmaster for the network device selected as the grandmaster device and operate as a time-sync correct and forward device for the network devices not selected as the grandmaster device, and when the grandmaster device disconnects from the system, re-select a new grandmaster device from the remaining network devices based on a BMCA, after which when a new network device connects, the remaining network devices can determine if the clock identification of the new device is the same as the previous grandmaster device clock identification stored in the remaining devices, and if so, perform BMCA based on the previously selected grandmaster device only (i.e. select the previously selected grandmaster device as the grandmaster), so that when the new network device that connects turns out to be the previously selected grandmaster device stored in the remaining network devices, the previously selected grandmaster device can be immediately selected as the grandmaster to avoid delays in running a BMCA that would likely select the previous grandmaster device as the grandmaster anyways.
Zinner fails to disclose, but Roberts further teaches transmits, through the transmitter-receiver to a time-synchronization device currently operating as the grandmaster, a precision time protocol frame transmission restart notification (Pages 3-4 (after slide deck) disclose that in response to being selected as the grandmaster, T-GM2 sends an Announce message (i.e. a frame transmission restart notification) through T-BC10 to T-BC1 to T-GM1, which is currently operating as the grandmaster, indicating that T-GM2 is the new grandmaster. Page 7 (after slide deck) discloses that Announce messages may be PTP messages.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the time-synchronization device according to claim 1, wherein, in response to identifying the new time-synchronization device as the detached one time-synchronization device based on the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster, the processing circuitry selects the new time-synchronization device as the grandmaster, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang, and transmits, through the transmitter-receiver to a time-synchronization device currently operating as the grandmaster, a precision time protocol frame transmission restart notification, as further taught by Roberts. The motivation to do so would have been to have a network device, that can perform the functions of either a grandmaster device or time-sync correct and forward device, in a time-synchronization system consisting of a plurality of network devices, determine through a BMCA a grandmaster device, operate as a grandmaster for the network device selected as the grandmaster device and operate as a time-sync correct and forward device for the network devices not selected as the grandmaster device, and when the grandmaster device disconnects from the system, re-select a new grandmaster device from the remaining network devices based on a BMCA, after which when a new network device connects, the remaining network devices can determine if the clock identification of the new device is the same as the previous grandmaster device clock identification stored in the remaining devices, and if so, perform BMCA based on the previously selected grandmaster device only (i.e. select the previously selected grandmaster device as the grandmaster), and send a PTP Announce message to the new grandmaster device so that when the new network device that connects turns out to be the previously selected grandmaster device stored in the remaining network devices, the previously selected grandmaster device can be immediately selected as the grandmaster and notify the new grandmaster device to use the previously selected grandmaster as the grandmaster to avoid delays in running a BMCA that would likely select the previous grandmaster device as the grandmaster anyways.
Regarding claim 13, Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang disclose the time-synchronization device according to claim 1.
Zinner fails to disclose but Chan further teaches wherein, in response to identifying the new time-synchronization device as the detached one time-synchronization device based on the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster, the processing circuitry selects the new time-synchronization device as the grandmaster (Fig 2, [0024]-[0025] & [0032] disclose that, in step 14, identification of a clock as being a prior selection/election as the master clock (i.e. as the grandmaster) can be used to select the K best clocks for performing a BMCA in step 15. The teachings of Chan can be combined with Zinner and Morimura such that when the grandmaster device, whose clock identification is stored in each network device as disclosed by Zinner, is disconnected and a new grandmaster based on the remaining network devices is selected as taught by Morimura, and then a new device connects, the remaining network devices can determine a group of network devices for performing a BMCA by first checking to see if the new device identifies as the previous grandmaster that has been stored in the remaining network devices, as further taught by Chan, and if so then there would be only one (i.e. K=1) device used in the BMCA, which selects the previously selected grandmaster as the grandmaster. Otherwise, the new network device could be grouped with the remaining network devices to perform a BMCA to potentially select a new grandmaster.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the time-synchronization device according to claim 1, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang, wherein, in response to identifying the new time-synchronization device as the detached one time-synchronization device based on the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster, the processing circuitry selects the new time-synchronization device as the grandmaster, as further taught by Chan. The motivation to do so would have been to have a network device, that can perform the functions of either a grandmaster device or time-sync correct and forward device, in a time-synchronization system consisting of a plurality of network devices, determine through a BMCA a grandmaster device, operate as a grandmaster for the network device selected as the grandmaster device and operate as a time-sync correct and forward device for the network devices not selected as the grandmaster device, and when the grandmaster device disconnects from the system, re-select a new grandmaster device from the remaining network devices based on a BMCA, after which when a new network device connects, the remaining network devices can determine if the clock identification of the new device is the same as the previous grandmaster device clock identification stored in the remaining devices, and if so, perform BMCA based on the previously selected grandmaster device only (i.e. select the previously selected grandmaster device as the grandmaster), so that when the new network device that connects turns out to be the previously selected grandmaster device stored in the remaining network devices, the previously selected grandmaster device can be immediately selected as the grandmaster to avoid delays in running a BMCA that would likely select the previous grandmaster device as the grandmaster anyways.
Zinner fails to disclose, but Roberts further teaches transmits, through the transmitter-receiver to the new time-synchronization device, a notification indicating that the new time-synchronization device is to be connected to the time-synchronization system as a new grandmaster (Pages 3-4 (after slide deck) disclose that in response to being selected as the grandmaster, T-GM2 sends an Announce message (i.e. a notification) through T-BC10 to T-BC1 to T-GM1, which is currently operating as the grandmaster, indicating that T-GM2 is to be connected as the new grandmaster.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the time-synchronization device according to claim 1, wherein, in response to identifying the new time-synchronization device as the detached one time-synchronization device based on the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster, the processing circuitry selects the new time-synchronization device as the grandmaster, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang, and transmits, through the transmitter-receiver to the new time-synchronization device, a notification indicating that the new time-synchronization device is to be connected to the time-synchronization system as a new grandmaster, as further taught by Roberts. The motivation to do so would have been to have a network device, that can perform the functions of either a grandmaster device or time-sync correct and forward device, in a time-synchronization system consisting of a plurality of network devices, determine through a BMCA a grandmaster device, operate as a grandmaster for the network device selected as the grandmaster device and operate as a time-sync correct and forward device for the network devices not selected as the grandmaster device, and when the grandmaster device disconnects from the system, re-select a new grandmaster device from the remaining network devices based on a BMCA, after which when a new network device connects, the remaining network devices can determine if the clock identification of the new device is the same as the previous grandmaster device clock identification stored in the remaining devices, and if so, perform BMCA based on the previously selected grandmaster device only (i.e. select the previously selected grandmaster device as the grandmaster), and send a PTP Announce message to the new grandmaster device so that when the new network device that connects turns out to be the previously selected grandmaster device stored in the remaining network devices, the previously selected grandmaster device can be immediately selected as the grandmaster and notify the new grandmaster device to connect the previously selected grandmaster as the grandmaster to avoid delays in running a BMCA that would likely select the previous grandmaster device as the grandmaster anyways.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zinner et al. (DE 102019217037)(herein after “Zinner”) in view of Morimura et al. (US2023/0017152)(herein after “Morimura”) and Chan et al. (US 2021/0181787)(herein after “Chan”) and Yang et al. (US 2013/0227008)(herein after “Yang”), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Luo et al. (CN 101394264)(herein after “Luo”).
Regarding claim 17, Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang disclose the time-synchronization device according to claim 1.
Zinner fails to disclose but Luo further teaches wherein the processing circuitry initiates the grandmaster arbitration process to select the new one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster from the plurality of time-synchronization devices excluding the one time-synchronization device after a predetermined period has elapsed from a last receipt, through the transmitter-receiver, of a Sync frame from the one time-synchronization device ([0061]-[0062] discloses that a BMC algorithm is triggered when an overtime period has been reached in which a SYNC message has not been received.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the time-synchronization device according to claim 1, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang, wherein the processing circuitry initiates the grandmaster arbitration process to select the new one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster from the plurality of time-synchronization devices excluding the one time-synchronization device after a predetermined period has elapsed from a last receipt, through the transmitter-receiver, of a Sync frame from the one time-synchronization device, as further taught by Luo. The motivation to do so would have been to have a network device, in a time-synchronization system consisting of a plurality of network devices, select through a BMCA an initial grandmaster device, store the identification of the selected initial grandmaster device in a candidate grandmaster list in the network device’s storage, and when the initial grandmaster device disconnects from the system, perform a BMCA after a time over which no SYNC message has been received from the initial grandmaster device, so that a new network device can be selected as the grandmaster without waiting so long that the drift in the local clock of the network device becomes an issue.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zinner et al. (DE 102019217037)(herein after “Zinner”) in view of Morimura et al. (US2023/0017152)(herein after “Morimura”) and Chan et al. (US 2021/0181787)(herein after “Chan”) and Yang et al. (US 2013/0227008)(herein after “Yang”), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Dror et al. (US 12160309)(herein after “Dror”).
Regarding claim 19, Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang disclose the time-synchronization device according to claim 1.
Zinner fails to disclose but Dror further teaches wherein the transmitter-receiver is connectable to a network supporting a first domain and a second domain (Fig 1, col 6, lines 25-32 disclose a network device configured to maintain a plurality of domain-specific clocks corresponding to multiple synchronization domains. An example is disclosed where the network device is configured to maintain four different synchronization domains (i.e. a first domain, a second domain, and third domain and a fourth domain.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the time-synchronization device according to claim 1, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang, wherein the transmitter-receiver is connectable to a network supporting a first domain and a second domain, as further taught by Dror. The motivation to do so would have been to have a network device that can support a first time-synchronization domain for traffic data and a second time-synchronization domain for control data in order to prevent high-bandwidth applications in the domain supporting traffic data from impacting clocks signals in the domain supporting time critical control data.
Zinner fails to disclose wherein the processing circuitry performs time synchronization in each of the first domain and the second domain, the storage stores the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster for each of the first domain and the second domain, and the processing circuitry, when the one time-synchronization device is disconnected from the time-synchronization system, selects the new one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster in each of the first domain and the second domain by performing the grandmaster arbitration process. However, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the steps of: performing time synchronization in a first domain, wherein the storage stores the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster for the first domain, and the processing circuitry, when the one time-synchronization device is disconnected from the time-synchronization system, selects the new one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster in the first domain by performing the grandmaster arbitration process; and repeat these steps for a second domain, since it has been held (see MPEP Section 2144.04, subsection VI.B) that “mere duplication of parts that does not produce new or unexpected results involves only routine skill in the art and thus has no patentable significance” - In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the time-synchronization device according to claim 1, wherein the transmitter-receiver is connectable to a network supporting a first domain and a second domain, as disclosed by Zinner in view of Morimura and Chan and Yang and Dror, wherein the processing circuitry performs time synchronization in the first domain, the storage stores the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster for the first domain, and the processing circuitry, when the one time-synchronization device is disconnected from the time-synchronization system, selects the new one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster in the first domain by performing the grandmaster arbitration process, and repeating these steps for a second domain . The motivation to do so would have been to have a network device that can support a first time-synchronization domain for traffic data and a second time-synchronization domain for control data and independently perform time synchronization in each of the first domain and the second domain, wherein the storage stores the identification information for identifying the one time-synchronization device selected as the grandmaster for each of the first domain and the second domain, and the processing circuitry, when the one time-synchronization device is disconnected from the time-synchronization system, selects the new one time-synchronization device corresponding to the grandmaster in each of the first domain and the second domain by performing the grandmaster arbitration process, in order to maintain separate clocks for control and traffic data in order to prevent high-bandwidth applications in the domain supporting traffic data from impacting clocks signals in the domain supporting time critical control data.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Seo et al. (US 2019/0394739) discloses a Method and Apparatus for Synchronization of Communication Nodes Using Multiple Domains in Vehicle Network.
Zhang et al. (CN 102904661) discloses Of the PTP Device Realize the Graceful Restart Method and the PTP Device.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419